Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 12 (12 total).

National Center on Birth Defects and Developmental Disabilities, Early Hearing Detection and Intervention Program. n.d.. Hearing loss fact sheet. [Atlanta, GA: National Center on Birth Defects and Developmental Disabilities, Early Hearing Detection and Intervention Program], 1 p.

Annotation: This fact sheet for parents provides information about hearing loss in children. It explains what hearing loss in children is; discusses some signs of hearing loss, what causes it, and whether it can be prevented; and what parents can do it they suspect that their child has hearing loss. The fact sheet is printed in English on one side and in Spanish on the other.

Contact: National Center on Birth Defects and Developmental Disabilities, Early Hearing Detection and Intervention Program, 1600 Clifton Road, Mailstop E-88, Atlanta, GA 30333, Telephone: (404) 498-3032 Secondary Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Fax: (404) 498-3060 E-mail: ehdi@cdc.gov Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/ncbddd/ehdi Available at no charge; also available from the website.

Keywords: Child development, Children, Consumer education materials, Early childhood development, Hearing disorders, Hearing screening, Hearing tests, Heath services, Infant development, Infants, Prevention, Spanish language materials

HealthEfficient. 2020. TOHF workflow, configuration & billing guide. Albany, NY: HealthEfficient, 36 pp.

Annotation: This guide provides information about workflow, configuration, and billing for the Transforming Oral Health for Families project. Topics include logic, specifications, and documentation; best practice workflow; configuring required data elements; billing guidelines and resources; and additional support.[Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Telephone: (202) 784-9771 E-mail: OHRCinfo@georgetown.edu Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Educational materials, Fluoride, Health services, Oral heath, Prevention, Risk assessment, Statistical data

Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors. 2018. Best practice approach report: Use of fluoride in schools. Reno, NV: Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors, 24 pp. (Best practice approaches for state and community oral health programs)

Annotation: This report focuses on best practices for the use of fluoride in schools. It discusses fluoride as a measure to prevent tooth decay in children, different types of programs that provide fluoride to children, and different forms of fluoride. Evidence for the efficacy of fluoride in preventing tooth decay and best practice criteria are provided. The report also includes state practice examples.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors, 3858 Cashill Boulevard, Reno, NV 89509, Telephone: (775) 626-5008 Fax: (775) 626-9268 E-mail: info@astdd.org Web Site: http://www.astdd.org

Keywords: Dental caries, Fluoride, Oral heath, Prevention, School health services

National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center and Maryland Department of Health, Office of Oral Health. 2015–. Maryland Mighty Tooth: School-based dental sealant training program. Washington, DC: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center; Baltimore, MD: Maryland Department of Health, Office of Oral Health, multiple items.

Annotation: This training program for school-based dental sealant program (SBSP) staff in Maryland pro- vides information about the history, operations, and underlying principles of SBSPs. Topics include guidelines for infection control in SBSPs, tooth selection and assessment for dental seal- ants, the sealant-application process, and program operations. Self-assessment quizzes are included.

Contact: Maryland Department of Health and Mental Hygiene, Office of Oral Health, 201 West Preston Street, Third Floor, Baltimore, MD 21201, Telephone: (410) 767-5300 Secondary Telephone: (800) 735-2258 Fax: (410) 333-7392 E-mail: https://health.maryland.gov/Pages/contactus.aspx Web Site: http://phpa.dhmh.maryland.gov/oralhealth/Pages/home.aspx Available from the website.

Keywords: Continuing education, Curricula, Dental sealants, Maryland, Oral heath, Preventive health services, Program management, School age children, School health programs, State programs, Training

Genetic Alliance, Family Voices. 2013. Children and youth with special healthcare needs in Healthy People 2020: A consumer perspective. Washington, DC: Genetic Alliance; Albuquerque, NM: Family Voices, 44 pp.

Annotation: This document examines Healthy People 2020 objectives and serves as a companion to Envision 2020, the 10-year strategic plan for the Division of Services for Children with Special Heath Needs in the Health Resources and Services Administration's Maternal and Child Health Bureau. The document provides background; discusses trends in programs, legislation, and care for children and youth with special health care needs (CYSCN); provides core performance measures for CYSCN; discusses who is at risk for chronic illnesses and disabilities; and offers information about preparing children and families for the future. Stories about individual children and families are included.

Contact: Genetic Alliance, 4301 Connecticut Avenue, N.W., Suite 404, Washington, DC 20008-2369, Telephone: (202) 966-5557 Secondary Telephone: (800) 336-GENE Fax: (202) 966-8553 E-mail: info@geneticalliance.org Web Site: http://www.geneticalliance.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents with special heath care needs, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Environmental influences, Families, Health services, Healthy People 2020: Children with special health care needs, High risk children, High risk infants, Infants with special health care needs, Legislation, Programs, Transition planning, Young adults

Flores G. 2012. Community health workers, promotores, and parent workers: Innovative, community-based approaches to improving the health and healthcare of children. Washington, DC: First Focus, 9 pp. (Big ideas: Children in the Southwest)

Annotation: This paper examines how community health workers (CHWs), promotores, and parent mentors can be used to improve the health of children in the Southwest, as well as the health care available to them. The paper provides definitions of CHWs, promotores, and parent mentors and discusses a conceptual framework for providing an understanding of how they can improve children's health and health care; evidence of effectiveness and cost-effectiveness; existing programs; and implications for policy, practice, and research.

Contact: First Focus, 1400 Eye Street, N.W., Suite 650, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 657-0670 Fax: (202) 657-0671 Web Site: http://www.firstfocus.net Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Child abuse, Child health, Community health workers, Community heath services, Costs, Ethnic factors, Health services, High risk groups, Hispanic Americans, Income factors, Low income groups, Low income groups, Programs, Public policy, Racial factors, Research, Southwestern United States, Uninsured persons

Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Public Health, School Health Program. 2012. Nebraska school health guidelines = Guidelines for school health services in Nebraska. Lincoln, NE: Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services,

Annotation: This website, which presents guidelines for Nebraska schools, focuses on the activities and practices of school nurses and other non-nurse school personnel who provide health services. The site includes information about school health services; school nursing scope and standards; individualized health care plans; the role of the school nurse in special education; school health screening; emergency guidelines; guidelines related to methicillin-resistant staphylococcus aureus in schools, athletics, and child care; and the Medication Aide Act.

Contact: Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services, P.O. Box 95026, Lincoln, NE 68509-5026, Telephone: (402) 471-3121 E-mail: dhhs.helpline@nebraska.gov Web Site: http://www.hhs.state.ne.us Available from the website.

Keywords: Child care, Emergencies, Guidelines, Individualized health plans, Legislation, Nebraska, School health services, School heath, School nurses, School personnel, Screening, Special education, State programs

Donoghue EA, Kraft CA, eds. 2010. Managing chronic health needs in child care and schools: A quick reference guide. Elk Grove Village, IL: American Academy of Pediatrics, 214 pp.

Annotation: This book is designed to serve as a quick reference that addresses a variety of common chronic health problems that children face. The first half of the book provides background on the services and systems that support the care of children with chronic medical conditions and special health care needs, discusses the treatment team, reviews different types of care plans and methods for implementing a care plan, and addresses new conditions and signs of concern. The second half of the book consists of condition-specific quick-reference sheets.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org $45.00, plus shipping and handling. Document Number: ISBN 978-1-58110-299-4.

Keywords: Child health, Children with special heath care needs, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Health care, Health care systems, Health services, Treatment

Somers SA, Mahadevan R. 2010. Health literacy implications of the Affordable Care Act. Hamilton, NJ: Center for Health Care Strategies, 31 pp.

Annotation: This report identifies provisions in the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act (PPACA) that directly and/or indirectly address health literacy, to inform efforts to implement related enrollment, care delivery, and public health strategies that support and respond to health literacy levels in the expansion population.

Contact: Center for Health Care Strategies, 200 American Metro Boulevard, Suite 119, Hamilton, NJ 08619, Telephone: (609) 528-8400 Fax: (609) 586-3679 Web Site: http://www.chcs.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Enrollment, Expanded eligibility, Health care reform, Health care services, Health insurance, Health literacy, Heath care delivery, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act

Helm T, Rice G, Hein J. 2009. Yuma County needs assessment. [Tuscon, AZ]: University of Arizona, Mel and Enid Zuckerman College of Public Health, Center for Rural Health, 68 pp.

Annotation: This document is a needs assessment for Yuma Country, Arizona. The document includes a summary of county characteristics (history and description, demographic indicators, marital status, economic indicators, and education) and discusses general health indicators, materal and perinatal health indicators, infant and child health indicators; Healthy People 2010; Title V block grant performance measures; and a survey of prenatal care in Yuma County.

Contact: University of Arizona, Center for Rural Health, 1295 N Martin - P.O. Box 245163, Tucson, AZ 85724, Telephone: (520) 626-5823 Fax: (520) 626-3101 E-mail: http://crh.arizona.edu/contact Web Site: http://www.crh.arizona.edu Available from the website.

Keywords: Child health, Domestic violence, Economic factors, Education, Educational attainment, Health, Health care utilization, Health services, Healthy People 2010, Infant health, Low birthweight, Low income groups, Marital status, Perinatal health, Prenatal care, Statistical data, Title V of the Social Security Act, Unemployment, lead poisoning, oral heath

American Academy of Pediatrics District II and New York State Task Force on Health Care for Children in Foster Care. 2005. Fostering health: Health care for children and adolescents in foster care. (2nd ed.). Elk Grove Village, IL: American Academy of Pediatrics, 170 pp.

Annotation: This book defines standards of health care delivery and management that promote quality health care and wellness for children and adolescents with special health care needs who are in foster care. Topics include practice parameters for primary health care, developmental and mental health care, and child abuse and neglect; health care management; and chapters on medical consents, confidentiality, qualifications of health professionals, quality assessment and improvement, and financing. American Academy of Pediatrics' policy statements on foster care are provided as appendices.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Children with special heath care needs, Foster care, Health care delivery, Health services management, Quality assurance, Standards

Koop CE. 1989. Remarks by C. Everett Koop, M.D., Sc.D., Surgeon General of the U.S. Public Health Service. Presented at the 100th Anniversary of the P.H.S. Commissioned Corps, January 4, 1989, Washington, DC.. , 36 pp.

Annotation: This document presents remarks delivered by the U.S. Surgeon General on January 4, 1989, at the 100th anniversary of the Public Health Service Commissioned Corps.

Contact: National Library of Medicine, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 8600 Rockville Pike, Bethesda, MD 20894, Telephone: (301) 594-5983 Secondary Telephone: (888) 346-3656 Fax: (301) 402-1384 E-mail: custserv@nlm.nih.gov Web Site: http://www.nlm.nih.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Federal programs, Health services, History, Oral health, Public heath agencies

   

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.