Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: These 12 case studies report on cutting-edge programs and innovative approaches to address the leading causes of death and disease in cities.

Contact: National Association of County and City Health Officials, 1100 17th Street, N.W., Seventh Floor, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 783-5550 Fax: (202) 783-1583 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.naccho.org Available from the website.

• Report
• Case Studies Separately

Keywords: Barriers, Case studies, Cities, Data sources, Health status, Health status disparities, Healthy People 2020, Public health infrastructure, Systems development

Annotation: This report provides a snapshot of the progress that the Healthy People 2020 initiative has achieved in the past decade and highlights areas that need improvement. It includes background information about the initiative and covers the following topics: tracking progress of objectives; status of leading health indicators; status of objectives, including oral health objectives, by population subgroup; and transition to Healthy People 2030.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of the Assistant Secretary for Health, 200 Independence Avenue, S.W., Room 715-G, Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (202) 690-7694 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.hhs.gov/ash Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Healthy People 2020, Initiatives, Oral health, Progress reports, Statistical data

Annotation: This document describes the Healthy People 2020 methodology for measuring progress toward target attainment and the elimination of health disparities, with a particular focus on methodological considerations for the interpretation of findings. The Healthy People 2020 measurement practices are contrasted with those in place for the Healthy People 2010.

Contact: National Center for Health Statistics, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 3311 Toledo Road, Room 5419, Hyattsville, MD 20782, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 Fax: (301) 458-4020 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/nchs Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Health disparities, Healthy People 2020, Measures, Population surveillance, Research methodology, Statistical data

Annotation: This compendium of program summaries describes the approaches of American Academy of Pediatrics' state chapters to develop and implement programs focused on poverty and child health in California, New York City, Oklahoma, and Vermont. Topics include developing and using innovative technologies to address food insecurity, pediatricians promoting food security, ensuring the delivery of health and developmental screening services to young children who are homeless, supporting adolescent parents and their children, and accessing summer meal programs. Each summary includes information about program collaboration, evaluation and measurement, outcomes, barriers and lessons learned, and future plans.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescent health, Adolescent parents, Child health, Collaboration, Community action, Community based services, Developmental screening, Food, Health screening, Healthy People 2020, Homeless persons, Low income groups, Model programs, Nutrition, Poverty, Program descriptions, Public private partnerships

Annotation: This web application produces health status profiles for each of the 3,143 counties in the United States and the District of Columbia. Each county profile contains indicators of health outcomes, which describe the population health status of a county and factors that have the potential to influence health outcomes, such as health care access and quality, health behaviors, social factors, and the physical environment.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov

Keywords: Health status, Healthy People 2020, Measures, Outcome and process assessment, Planning, Population dynamics, Population surveillance, Protective factors, Public health, Risk factors, Social indicators

Annotation: This report provides a guide and benchmark on the current state of rural health priorities and disparities and serves as a roadmap for updating federal and state leaders on rural health priorities identified through the national Rural Healthy People 2020 survey. Volume one addresses each of the ten top-ranked rural health priorities and includes reviews of relevant literature, updated for those topics previously identified as priorities in Rural Healthy People 2010, and models for practice that rural practitioners can use to support community and regional programs. Volume two addresses priorities 11-20.

Contact: Southwest Rural Health Research Center, Texas A&M Health Science Center, Department of Health Policy and Management, 1266 TAMU, College Station, TX 77843-1266, Telephone: (979) 862-4238 Fax: (979) 458-0656 Web Site: http://sph.tamhsc.edu/srhrc/index.html Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 978-1-4951-5242-9.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Barriers, Child health, Community health services, Diabetes, Health care disparities, Health objectives, Health promotion, Healthy People 2020, Heart diseases, Literature reviews, Maternal health, Mental health, National initiatives, Nutrition, Physical activity, Rural populations, Strokes, Substance abuse, Tobacco use

Annotation: This report presents findings on the oral health status of children in third grade in Rhode Island. Contents include school sampling, data management and analysis, screening methods, screening participation, demographic characteristics of children, and oral health outcomes. Topics include tooth decay, dental sealants, impact of race and ethnicity, and socioeconomic status. The report also provides a comparison of the results to Healthy People 2020 objectives and to results from earlier surveys. Recommendations are included.

Contact: Rhode Island Department of Health, Oral Health Program, 3 Capitol Hill, Providence, RI 02908, Telephone: (401) 222-5960 Fax: (401) 222-4415 Web Site: http://www.health.ri.gov/programs/oralhealth/index.php Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Barriers, Comparative analysis, Dental care, Dental caries, Dental sealants, Health status, Healthy People 2020, Oral health, Preventive health services, Rhode Island, School age children, Screening, State surveys, Statistical data

Annotation: This document provides a framework for achieving optimal oral health and is intended to be a roadmap for everyone who has a stake in New Hampshire's oral health. Contents include information about the plan's purpose, the plan's relationship to other guiding documents, evaluation of the 2003 plan, oral health challenges in New Hampshire, the development process, priority areas, implementation, and a sustainability plan. Topics include access to oral health care, oral disease, injury prevention, intervention, and integration of oral health care into primary care.

Contact: New Hampshire Oral Health Coalition, 4 Park Street, Concord, NH 03301, Telephone: (603) 415-5550 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://nhoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Community action, Disease prevention, Healthy People 2020, Intervention, New Hampshire, Oral health, Service integration, Statewide planning

Annotation: This report provides a snapshot of the health of people living in dense, urban areas in the United States, how successfully they are addressing key health problems, and the challenges they face. Contents include information about the selection of cities and indicators, key themes, data limitations, city-by-city tables, case studies, and recommendations.

Contact: National Association of County and City Health Officials, 1100 17th Street, N.W., Seventh Floor, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 783-5550 Fax: (202) 783-1583 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.naccho.org Available from the website.

• Report
• Data Platform 2.0

Keywords: Barriers, Case studies, Cities, Data sources, Health status, Health status disparities, Healthy People 2020, Public health infrastructure, Systems development

Annotation: This report outlines key initiatives aimed at preventing oral disease and reducing the proportion of children and adults with untreated oral disease. Contents include an overview of each initiative and related goals. Topics include preventing oral disease, providing oral health education and care, and strengthening and expanding the public/private oral health safety net.

Contact: American Dental Association, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-2678, Telephone: (312) 440-2500 Fax: (312) 440-7494 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ada.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Collaboration, Community coordination, Dentistry, Financing, Goals, Health care utilization, Healthy People 2020, Oral health, Outreach, Prevention programs, Public private partnerships, Sustainability, Work force

Annotation: This document summarizes progress toward achieving national health objective targets for 26 leading health indicators (LHIs). Contents include the number and percentage of LHIs meeting or exceeding their Healthy People 2020 targets, and those that are improving, showing little or no detectable change, or getting worse. Topics include access to health services; clinical preventive services; environmental quality; injury and violence; maternal, infant, and child health; mental health; nutrition, physical activity, and obesity; oral health; reproductive and sexual health; social determinants; substance abuse; and tobacco. Information about the data sources is included.

Contact: U.S. Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, 1101 Wootton Parkway, Suite LL100, Rockville, MD 20852, Fax: (240) 453-8282 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://health.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Data sources, Health objectives, Healthy People 2020, National initiatives, Progress reports

Annotation: This guide for health professionals and communities contains an annotated list of resources and accompanying tools for implementing evidence-based adolescent health programs. The guide defines evidence-based programs, explains how they are used, and identifies limitations of existing programs. The resources in the guide are organized by health topics adapted from the focus areas of the Healthy People 2020 Core Indicators for Adolescent and Young Adult Health. Topics include healthy development, unintentional injury, violence, mental health, substance use, sexual health, obesity, physical activity, and tobacco. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Adolescent and Young Adult Health Information Center, University of California, San Francisco, LHTS Suite 245, Box 0503, San Francisco, CA 94143-0503, Telephone: (415) 502-4856 Fax: (415) 502-4858 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://nahic.ucsf.edu Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescents, Healthy People 2020, Model programs, Program planning, Resources for professionals, Young adults

Annotation: This compendium of program summaries describes the approaches of American Academy of Pediatrics' state chapters to promote adolescent health in California, Maine, New York, North Carolina, and Rhode Island. Topics include a partnership to eliminate bias and increase safety for sexual minority youth; an adolescent medicine learning collaborative; a public private partnership to connect youth transitioning out of foster care to an adolescent/young adult-friendly medical home; a project to provide comprehensive adolescent health screening; and medical-legal partnerships to foster healthy transitions. Each summary includes information about program collaboration, evaluation and measurement, outcomes, barriers and lessons learned, and future plans.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent health, Barriers, Collaboration, Community action, Foster care, Healthy People 2020, Medical home, Model programs, Program descriptions, Public private partnerships, Screening, Transitions

Annotation: This brief presents findings from a national survey to assess the oral health status of American Indian and Alaska Native (AI/AN) students in kindergarten through third grade. Contents include information about the prevalence of tooth decay in the primary and permanent teeth of AI/AN students in kindergarten through third grade compared to those in the general U.S. population and to targets for Healthy People 2020. The brief also provides information about the prevalence of dental sealants.

Contact: U.S. Indian Health Service, Division of Oral Health, 5600 Fishers Lane, Mail Stop 08N34 A, Rockville, MD 20852, Telephone: (800) 447-3368 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ihs.gov/dentistry Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Alaska Natives, American Indians, Comparative analysis, Dental caries, Dental sealants, Health status, Healthy People 2020, National surveys, Oral health, Population surveillance, Prevalence, School age children, Statistical data

Annotation: This brief presents findings from a national survey to assess the oral health status of American Indian and Alaska Native (AI/AN) adolescents ages 13–15. Contents include information on the prevalence of tooth decay in the permanent teeth of AI/AN adolescents compared to the prevalence in their counterparts in the general U.S. population and to Healthy People 2020 targets. The brief also describes the prevalence of dental sealants.

Contact: U.S. Indian Health Service, Division of Oral Health, 5600 Fishers Lane, Mail Stop 08N34 A, Rockville, MD 20852, Telephone: (800) 447-3368 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ihs.gov/dentistry Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Alaska Natives, American Indians, Comparative analysis, Dental caries, Dental sealants, Health status, Healthy People 2020, National surveys, Oral health, Population surveillance, Prevalence, Statistical data

Annotation: This report presents findings from an oral health survey of students in Head Start in Nevada. Topics include population estimates on four indicators: untreated tooth decay, treated decay, dental caries experience, and early childhood caries. Estimates are also presented relative to Healthy People 2020 targets. Additional topics include demographics, affordability and accessibility of oral health care, and the relationship between body mass index and overall oral health. A summary of key findings is also available.

Contact: Nevada Division of Public and Behavioral Health, Oral Health Program, 4150 Technology Way, Carson City, NV 89706, Telephone: (775) 684-4200 Fax: (775) 684-4211 Web Site: http://dpbh.nv.gov/Programs/OH/OH-Home Available from the website.

• 2011-2012
• 2003, 2007

Keywords: Access to health care, Child health, Data, Dental care, Dental caries, Early childhood caries, Head Start, Healthy People 2020, Nevada, Oral health, State surveys, Young children

Annotation: This document examines Healthy People 2020 objectives and serves as a companion to Envision 2020, the 10-year strategic plan for the Division of Services for Children with Special Heath Needs in the Health Resources and Services Administration's Maternal and Child Health Bureau. The document provides background; discusses trends in programs, legislation, and care for children and youth with special health care needs (CYSCN); provides core performance measures for CYSCN; discusses who is at risk for chronic illnesses and disabilities; and offers information about preparing children and families for the future. Stories about individual children and families are included.

Contact: Genetic Alliance, 4301 Connecticut Avenue, N.W., Suite 404, Washington, DC 20008-2369, Telephone: (202) 966-5557 Secondary Telephone: (800) 336-GENE Fax: (202) 966-8553 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.geneticalliance.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents with special health care needs, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Environmental influences, Families, Health services, Healthy People 2020: Children with special health care needs, High risk children, High risk infants, Infants with special health care needs, Legislation, Programs, Transition planning, Young adults

Annotation: This report identifies measures of quality for the 12 Leading Health Indicator (LHI) topics and 26 Leading Health Indicators in Healthy People 2020 (HP2020), the current 10-year agenda for improving the nation's health. It addresses data reporting and analytical capacities that must be available to capture the measures and for demonstrating the value of the measures to improving population health. The report also provides recommendations for how the measures can be used across sectors of the public health and health care systems. The six priority areas (also known as drivers) are population health metrics and information technology; evidence-based practices, research, and evaluation; systems thinking; sustainability and stewardship; policy; and workforce and education.

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nap.edu Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 978-0-309-28557-5.

• Link

Keywords: Health care systems, Healthy People 2020, Measures, National surveys, Population surveillance, Public health, Research, Strategic plans

Annotation: This paper discusses the public health implications of poor oral health, the role of public health surveillance, and efforts to improve national and state oral health surveillance systems (SOHSSs). Topics include efforts to align national and state oral health surveillance system indicators with Healthy People 2020 objectives, assess new information technologies and the availability of data sources, and expand the operational definition of a SOHSS.

Contact: Council of State and Territorial Epidemiologists, 2872 Woodcock Boulevard, Suite 250, Atlanta, GA 30341, Telephone: (770) 458-3811 Fax: (770) 458-8516 Web Site: https://www.cste.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Craniofacial abnormalities, Healthy People 2020, Oral health, Population surveillance, Systems development

Annotation: This compendium summarizes pilot programs on early brain and child development that were funded by the American Academy of Pediatric's (AAP's) Healthy People 2020 Grant Program for Chapters. The programs addressed early screening improvement (Alabama), increasing the proportion of children ready for school (District of Columbia), outreach to the Somali community (Minnesota), and linking pediatricians to childcare referral agencies (New York). Contents also include information on the grant program's selection criteria, topical summaries by state, and related AAP initiatives and resources.

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Brain, Community based services, Early childhood development, Grants, Healthy People 2020, Pediatric care, Prevention programs, Professional societies