Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 20 (30 total).

National Center for Health Statistics. 2001. Healthy People 2000 final review. Hyattsville, MD: National Center for Health Statistics, 378 pp.

Annotation: This report presents the final data collected for the 376 objectives that comprise Healthy People 2000. It is organized in three major sections. The introduction provides a brief discussion of the history of the Healthy People initiative, the current effort, and the transition to the next decade in Healthy People 2010. The first section presents information on 22 Healthy People 2000 priority areas in three goal areas: 1) increasing the span of life; 2) reducing health disparities; and 3) achieving access to preventive services. The second section consists of 22 chapters providing a progress report for each of the priority areas containing progress quotient charts, summaries of progress for each objective and its significance, major results, transition to Healthy People 2010, data issues, a summary data table, and the full-text of the objectives. Section 3 contains the appendix and technical notes which present data and analysis issues involved in monitoring the objectives and subobjectives. Additional information is provided for understanding and interpreting the data. Data are presented throughout the report in graph, table, chart, and map formats.

Contact: National Center for Health Statistics, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 3311 Toledo Road, Room 5419, Hyattsville, MD 20782, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 Fax: (301) 458-4020 E-mail: nchsquery@cdc.gov Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/nchs Available from the website. Document Number: DHHS 01-0256.

Keywords: Data analysis, Disease prevention, Federal programs, Health programs, Health promotion, Healthy People 2000, National programs, Prevention programs, Program descriptions, Program evaluation, Statistics

Klahn JK, Iverson CJ. [1998]. Roles for school nurses in adolescent pregnancy prevention, intervention, and support. Lincoln, NE: Nebraska Department of Health, 58 pp.

Annotation: The goal of these guidelines is to lower the number of adolescent pregnancies through multidirectional and multifaceted solutions. The contents discusses the Healthy People 2000 and Nebraska Year 2000 goals and objectives, national and State of Nebraska facts, Nebraska Department of Health issues and recommendations, cultural competency, prevention strategies, strategies used in Nebraska, the role of the school nurse, and legal issues impacting adolescents. Key participants are listed along with an annotated list of resources and current reading list. The appendices include supporting data and documentation cross-referenced to the text.

Contact: Education Resources Information Center, Institute of Education Sciences, U.S. Department of Education, 555 New Jersey Avenue, N.W., Washington, DC 20208, Telephone: (202) 219-1385 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.eric.ed.gov Price unknown.

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescents, Bibliographies, Cultural sensitivity, Guidelines, Healthy People 2000, Legal issues, Nebraska, Prevention, School nurses

Vargas C, Schober S, Gift H. 1997. Operational definitions for Year 2000 objectives: Priority area 13, oral health. Hyattsville, MD: National Center for Health Statistics, 17 pp. (Healthy People 2000 statistical notes; no. 12)

Annotation: The purpose of this statistical note is to provide definitions and data collection specifications for objectives in Priority Area 13: Oral Health, one of 22 priority areas of Healthy People 2000. The text and operational definitions of the oral health objectives are presented, data issues are discussed, and references are cited for expanded discussions of the data systems used for the Healthy People 2000 national objectives. The appendices include questionnaire items used to measure the objectives, and a bibliography.

Contact: National Center for Health Statistics, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 3311 Toledo Road, Room 5419, Hyattsville, MD 20782, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 Fax: (301) 458-4020 E-mail: nchsquery@cdc.gov Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/nchs Available from the website. Document Number: DHHS (PHS) 97-1237.

Keywords: Children, Data collection, Dental care, Healthy People 2000, Infants, Oral health, Parents, Program descriptions, Statistical data

Boston University, School of Public Health, Maternal and Child Health Program. [1996]. Progress report: Budget period 7/1/95-6/30/96—MCH training grant, BUSPH, MCJ-259501-02. Boston, MA: Boston University, School of Public Health, Maternal and Child Health Program, 65 pp.

Annotation: This report explains how the 1995 Maternal and Child Health Bureau Training Grant award to the Boston University School of Public Health was used. It covers the following nine areas: (1) administration/ organization, (2) training, (3) continuing education, (4) services provided, (5) Title V relationships, (6) program development, (7) publications, (8) regional and national significance, and (9) Healthy Children 2000 objectives. Project plan amendments and value added are included. Biosketches of key personnel are in the appendix. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Boston University School of Public Health, Maternal and Child Health Program, 715 Albany Street, Talbot Building, Boston, MA 02118, Telephone: (617) 638-5375 Fax: (617) 638-5370 E-mail: askmch@bu.edu Web Site: http://sph.bu.edu/Degree-Programs-and-ConcentrationsSub-Pages/master-of-public-health-concentration-in-maternal-a-child-health/menu-id-617114.html Available from the website.

Keywords: Budgets, Continuing education, Federal grants, Healthy People 2000, MCH training programs, Program development, Program management, Resource allocation, Title V programs, Training

Fleming, M. 1996. Healthy Youth 2000: A mid-decade review. Chicago, IL: American Medical Association, 49 pp.

Annotation: This report presents data on the adolescent components of the "Healthy People 2000" objectives for 1987 through 1993. Interviews with experts include discussions on what progress is being made towards the objectives, why the objectives are not being met, and what recommendations are proposed for achieving the objectives. Subjects covered are physical activity and fitness, nutrition, tobacco, alcohol and other drugs, family planning, mental health and mental disorders, violent and abusive behavior, unintentional injuries, sexually transmitted diseases, and clinical preventive services. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: American Medical Association, Adolescent Health Program, 515 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60610, Telephone: (800) 621-8335 Web Site: http://www.ama-assn.org/ama/pub/category/1947.html Available in libraries. Document Number: HRSA Info. Ctr. MCHI115.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Disease prevention, Health promotion, Healthy People 2000, High risk populations, Statistics

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Public Health Service. 1995. Healthy People 2000: Midcourse review and 1995 revisions. [Washington, DC]: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Public Health Service, 290 pp.

Annotation: This report contains information on the progress made toward reaching the national health objectives contained in Healthy People 2000. It highlights those goals; it reports on progress towards them by topical priorities, and it includes information on consortium activities. Appendices provide the 1995 summary list of objectives, 1995 revisions, a history of the development of the objectives and the process used to revise them, and lists of the contributors and consortium members.

Contact: National Health Information Center, Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, 1101 Wootton Parkway, Suite LL100, Rockville, MD 20852, Fax: (240) 453-8281 E-mail: info@nhic.org Web Site: http://www.health.gov/nhic Available in libraries.

Keywords: Health promotion, Healthy People 2000, Progress reports

Ohio Family and Children First Initiative. 1995. The Ohio Family and Children First Initiative: A record of results toward school readiness. Columbus, OH: Ohio Department of Health, Bureau of Maternal and Child Health, 12 pp.

Annotation: This manual provides a detailed description of Ohio's Family and Children First Initiative, which is designed to bring service providers together to provide uniform health care to enable children to achieve school readiness. The initiative is also designed to help families overcome barriers to self sufficiency and improve the overall success rate of state programs. The manual also provides examples of state and local initiative successes to date. Supplementary documents that accompany this report include an organizational chart; fact sheets on Ohio's children, the Help Me Grow campaign, and Ohio Early Start; service recommendations; and a list of community resources.

Contact: Ohio Department of Health, Child and Family Health Services Program, 246 North High Street, Columbus, OH 43215, Telephone: (614) 466-5332 Fax: (614) 564-2433 E-mail: bcfhs@odh.ohio.gov Web Site: http://www.odh.ohio.gov/odhprograms/cfhs/cf_hlth/cfhs1.aspx Available from the website.

Keywords: Collaboration, Early intervention programs, Health services, Healthy People 2000, Initiatives, Ohio, Prevention programs, Public health, School readiness, State MCH programs

Coalition for Healthy Alabama Adolescents 2000. 1993. Alabama adolescents: How healthy are they?. Montgomery, AL: Coalition for Healthy Alabama Adolescents 2000, 45 pp. (Alabama adolescent health report)

Annotation: This report provides data on the major health issues facing adolescents in Alabama. The producers of the report, the Coalition for Healthy Alabama Adolescents 2000, compiled statistics on Alabama adolescents from federal and state sources. Data is divided into 9 categories: mortality; pregnancy, substance use and abuse; chronic diseases; infectious diseases; nutrition and fitness; mental health and violence; health care finance; and juvenile justice. The Coalition's recommendations, objectives and membership list are included.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescent mortality, Adolescent nutrition, Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescents, Alabama, Diseases, Health promotion, Healthy People 2000, Mental health, Sexually transmitted diseases, Statistics, Substance abuse

Bronheim SM, Keefe ML, Morgan CC. 1993. Building blocks of a community-based system of care: The Communities Can Campaign experience. Washington, DC: Georgetown University Child Development Center, 91 pp. (Communities can; v. 1)

Annotation: This report is the first in a series focused on the details of how individual communities can realize the vision of providing family-centered, community-based, coordinated care for children with special health needs and their families. It describes lessons learned from localities honored in the Communities Can Campaign, which identified communities that have made substantial progress toward realizing this vision. Winning strategies included fostering interagency collaboration, establishing public/private partnerships, identifying nonmonetary resources, promoting active participation by physicians and families in system development, building on existing programs, developing generic systems of care to serve all children, and developing cultural competence. This campaign was implemented as part of the Healthy People 2000 objectives for the nation, and funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, and by the American Academy of Pediatrics.

Contact: Georgetown University Center for Child and Human Development, Box 571485, Washington, DC 20057-1485, Telephone: (202) 687-5503 Secondary Telephone: (202) 687-5000 Fax: (202) 687-8899 E-mail: gucdc@georgetown.edu Web Site: http://gucchd.georgetown.edu Available from the website.

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Community programs, Family centered community based care, Health care systems, Healthy People 2000, Service coordination

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Public Health Service, Office of the Assistant Secretary of Health, Office of Women's Health. 1993. Healthy People 2000: National health promotion and disease prevention objectives—Progress review: Women . [Washington, DC]: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Women's Health, 67 pp.

Annotation: This collection of fact sheets outlines the national health promotion and disease prevention objectives that have been addressed for women for many U.S. Public Health Service agencies. Written as part of a larger briefing book, the fact sheets highlight women's health programs and accomplishments for the Agency for Health Care Policy and Research (AHCPR), the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), the Food and Drug Administration (FDA), the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA), the Indian Health Service (IHS), the Office of Research on Women's Health (ORWH), the National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID), the National Institute of Dental Research (NIDR), the National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA), the National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH), the National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke (NINDS), and the National Center for Nursing Research (NCNR), all at the National Institutes of Health (NIH), and finally, the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA). The last section of this progress review lists regional women's health highlights for many of the ten regional Public Health Service offices.

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Health promotion, Healthy People 2000, Women's health

University of Illinois at Chicago, School of Public Health, Community Health Sciences, Maternal and Child Health Training Program. 1993. Making change happen: On target for 2000!—Proceedings of the eighth annual Maternal and Child Health Leadership Conference. Chicago, IL: University of Illinois at Chicago, Maternal and Child Health Training Program, 138 pp.

Annotation: These proceedings summarize information presented at the eighth annual U.S. Department of Health and Human Services Regions V and VII Maternal and Child Health Leadership Conference, held March 6–9, 1993. The purpose of the conference was to increase the capabilities of multidisciplinary professionals to deliver health care to their target populations. Major plenary sessions covered barriers to meeting "Healthy People 2000" objectives, preconception and reproductive health care, adolescent health, and health care financing. Focus group topic summaries include community-based needs assessment, services for homeless pregnant adolescents, immunizations in urban populations, health care needs of underserved minority populations, support services for children with special health needs, quality assurance in child health assessments, and adolescent peer educators. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: University of Illinois at Chicago School of Public Health, Maternal and Child Health Program, 1603 West Taylor Street (M-C923), Chicago, IL 60612-7259, Telephone: (312) 996-0724 Fax: (312) 996-3551 Web Site: http://www.uic.edu/sph/mch Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Children with special health care needs, Community based services, Data collection, Health care delivery, Health care financing, Healthy people 2000, Immunization, Minority health, Needs assessment, Policy development, Quality assurance

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Public Health and Science, Office of Minority Health. 1993. Toward equality of well-being: Strategies for improving minority health—Strategic planning and coordination process. Washington, DC: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Minority Health, 112 pp.

Annotation: This manual discusses the goals and objectives of Healthy People 2000 and presents strategies for reaching those goals that also insure the access of minorities to health care; it was developed for use by government agencies, policymakers, private and public organizations, communities, and other interested parties. The manual discusses the strategies and methods for utilizing them and reviews techniques for tracking progress toward the goals. It then presents over 500 strategies in these topical areas: cancer, cardiovascular disease, diabetes, HIV and AIDS, infant mortality, intentional violence, and substance abuse. These cross-cutting subjects that affect the health status of minorities are also covered: access and financing, data collection and analysis, and health professions development.

Contact: U.S. Government Publishing Office, 732 North Capitol Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20401, Telephone: (202) 512-1800 Secondary Telephone: (866) 512-1800 Fax: (202) 512-2104 E-mail: contactcenter@gpo.gov Web Site: http://www.gpo.gov Price unknown. Document Number: ISBN 0-16-04714-7.

Keywords: AIDS, Access to health care, Access to health care, Cancer, Cardiovascular diseases, Data analysis, Data collection, Diabetes insipidus, Diabetes mellitus, HIV, Health care financing, Health occupations, Health promotion, Healthy People 2000, Infant mortality, Manuals, Minority groups, Program coordination, Program development, Strategic plans, Substance abuse, Violence

U.S. National Center for Health Statistics. 1992-1999. Healthy People 2000 review. Hyattsville, MD: National Center for Health Statistics, annual.

Annotation: This report continues the series of annual profiles produced by the National Center for Health Statistics. This publication provides annual tracking data, if available, for objectives and sub-objectives in all priority areas of the Department of Health and Human Service's disease prevention and health promotion initiative for the year 2000. Other annual publications in this series are "Health United States," and the "Health United States Chartbook." The 1992 "Healthy People 2000 Review" profile was published as a section in the "Health United States, 1992."

Contact: U.S. Government Publishing Office, 732 North Capitol Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20401, Telephone: (202) 512-1800 Secondary Telephone: (866) 512-1800 Fax: (202) 512-2104 E-mail: contactcenter@gpo.gov Web Site: http://www.gpo.gov Available from the website. Document Number: DHHS (PHS) 94-1232-1.

Keywords: Health objectives, Health promotion, Health statistics, Healthy People 2000

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Public Health Service. 1992. Healthy People 2000: State action. Washington, DC: U.S. Public Health Service, 146 pp.

Annotation: The "Healthy People 2000 Action Series" demonstrates that achieving the goals and objectives of "Healthy People 2000" is a responsibility shared by the federal government, state governments, and private organizations. The series is intended to be used as an information resource, a baseline against which new efforts and expanded activities can be measured, and an integral element of strategic planning for the Public Health Service. "State Action" contains profiles from all 50 states and the District of Columbia, describing their objectives-related actions, their plans for achieving their objectives, and who has been involved in their efforts. An overview of the states' priority areas and the status of state objectives is also included.

Contact: U.S. Government Publishing Office, 732 North Capitol Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20401, Telephone: (202) 512-1800 Secondary Telephone: (866) 512-1800 Fax: (202) 512-2104 E-mail: contactcenter@gpo.gov Web Site: http://www.gpo.gov Available in libraries.

Keywords: Disease prevention, Health promotion, Healthy People 2000, Public health programs, State health agencies

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Public Health Service. 1992. Healthy People 2000: Public Health Service action. Washington, DC: U.S. Public Health Service, 146 pp.

Annotation: The "Healthy People 2000 Action Series" demonstrates that achieving the goals and objectives of "Healthy People 2000" is a responsibility shared by the federal government, state governments, and private organizations. The series is intended to be used as an information resource, a baseline against which new efforts and expanded activities can be measured, and an integral element of strategic planning for the Public Health Service. The "Public Health Service Action" describes the programs and activities of the U.S. Public Health Service (PHS), listing activities of the eight PHS agencies and noting resource levels for their Healthy People 2000 activities in Fiscal Year 1991. Each agency description begins with a chart that indicates the "Healthy People 2000" priority areas supported by the agency's activities. A discussion of the strategies the PHS agencies have for accomplishing the objectives for which the Assistant Secretary for Health has given them lead responsibility is also included. Following the agency descriptions are 22 detailed tables, one for each priority area, describing the specific activities of each PHS agency directed at achievement of the objectives.

Contact: U.S. Government Publishing Office, 732 North Capitol Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20401, Telephone: (202) 512-1800 Secondary Telephone: (866) 512-1800 Fax: (202) 512-2104 E-mail: contactcenter@gpo.gov Web Site: http://www.gpo.gov Available in libraries.

Keywords: Disease prevention, Health promotion, Healthy People 2000, Public health programs, U.S. Public Health Service

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Public Health Service. 1992. Healthy People 2000: Consortium action. Washington, DC: U.S. Public Health Service, 321 pp.

Annotation: The "Healthy People 2000 Action Series" demonstrates that achieving the goals and objectives of "Healthy People 2000" is a responsibility shared by the federal government, state governments, and private organizations. The series is intended to be used as an information resource, a baseline against which new efforts and expanded activities can be measured, and an integral element of strategic planning for the Public Health Service. The "Consortium Action" describes support for the national health objectives arising from the more than 325 national membership organizations of the Healthy People 2000 Consortium. This report begins the process of documenting activities in the private and nonprofit sectors that will help the nation achieve its health objectives.

Contact: U.S. Government Publishing Office, 732 North Capitol Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20401, Telephone: (202) 512-1800 Secondary Telephone: (866) 512-1800 Fax: (202) 512-2104 E-mail: contactcenter@gpo.gov Web Site: http://www.gpo.gov Available in libraries.

Keywords: Disease prevention, Health promotion, Healthy People 2000, Public health programs

U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau. 1992. Healthy People 2000: Maternal and infant health—Progress review. Rockville, MD: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, ca. 175 pp.

Annotation: This compilation provides data on progress to date in meeting the goals for maternal and infant health in the year 2000. Topics include infant mortality, fetal death, maternal mortality, fetal alcohol syndrome, low birthweight, weight gain, pregnancy complications, cesarean delivery, breastfeeding, substance abuse, prenatal care, age-appropriate care, screening and counseling, risk-appropriate care, newborn screening, and pediatric primary care. Appendices list the agenda for the progress review and a roster of participants, Public Health Service agency assignments, non-Public Health Service partnerships, state and local data, and a survey on child health funding.

Contact: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-2170 Web Site: https://mchb.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Healthy People 2000, Infant health, Maternal health, Statistics

U.S. Office of the President. 1992. A culture of caring: America's commitment to children and families. Washington, DC: U.S. Office of the President, 239 pp.

Annotation: This report, in response to the World Summit for Children in 1990, describes the programs that the United States implements to aid children and families domestically and internationally. It covers an extremely broad scope including maternal health, nutrition, education, and many others. Each topic includes: 1) a statement of what the World Summit Plan urges, 2) U.S. objectives for the year 2000, 3) progress made in the United States, 4) current needs and nature of the problem, 5) federal action—programs, and 6) federal action—research. The international section looks at the international challenges and U.S. domestic resources for international cooperation. An appendix provides a bibliography.

Keywords: Child advocacy, Child health programs, Child health promotion, Child health services, Family health, Family support, Family support programs, Healthy People 2000, Program descriptions, Progress reports

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Public Health Service. 1991. Healthy People 2000: National health promotion and disease prevention objectives. Washington, DC: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Public Health Service, 2 v.

Annotation: This report identifies a national strategy for improving the health of the nation by addressing the prevention of major chronic illnesses, injuries, and infectious diseases. It provides a discussion of the health needs of different age groups and special populations, the goals for the nation, the priorities for health promotion and disease prevention, and the commitment of shared responsibility. Also provided are the national health promotion and disease prevention objectives for the year 2000. A list of the lead agencies in each priority area is included in the appendices. A summary report is available which contains an overview of Healthy People and summarizes the national health promotion and disease prevention objectives and highlights specific objectives under each topic area.

Contact: U.S. Government Publishing Office, 732 North Capitol Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20401, Telephone: (202) 512-1800 Secondary Telephone: (866) 512-1800 Fax: (202) 512-2104 E-mail: contactcenter@gpo.gov Web Site: http://www.gpo.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Disease prevention, Health promotion, Healthy People 2000, Injury prevention

U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau. 1991. Healthy children 2000: National health promotion and disease prevention objectives related to mothers, infants, children, adolescents, and youth. Rockville, MD: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, 244 pp.

Annotation: This is a special compendium of the approximately 170 national health promotion and disease prevention objectives affecting mothers, infants, children, adolescents, and youth contained in Healthy People 2000.

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website. Document Number: DHHS HRSA-M-CH 91-2.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Child health, Health promotion, Healthy People 2000, Infant health, Nutrition policy

    Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.