Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This report summarizes the results of a national survey to assess states' ability to link data systems related to government-funded early childhood education (ECE) programs and services. The updated information on states' progress in integrating their data systems is intended to help policy makers answer early childhood policy questions aimed at improving access to services, the quality of ECE programs, and the effectiveness of interventions.

Contact: Early Childhood Data Collaborative, c/o Child Trends, 7315 Wisconsin Avenue, Suite 1200, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (240) 223-9329 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ecedata.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Data linkage, Early childhood education, Health agencies, Integrated information systems, National surveys, School systems, Social service agencies, State programs

Annotation: This document outlines a strategic plan to improve population health outcomes of New Mexico residents through an engaged, empowered, and high-performing health work force and simple and effective processes that support health status improvement. Topics include mission and vision; guiding principles; strategic planning process and membership; external trends, events, and other factors affecting the work; strengths, weaknesses, opportunities, and challenges; results, priorities, and indicators; and results-based accountability and strategy execution. Strategies and actions include promoting access to person- and community-centered health and wellness by aligning and integrating public health, behavioral health, oral health, and primary care.

Contact: New Mexico Department of Health, 1190 South Saint Francis Drive, Santa Fe, NM 87505, Telephone: (505) 827-2613 Fax: (505) 827-2530 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://nmhealth.org Available from the website.

• FY17-FY19

Keywords: Accountability, Fiscal management, Health care systems, Health promotion, Health status, New Mexico, Outcome and process assessment, Program improvement, Public health agencies, Quality assurance, State programs, Strategic plans, Work force, Work force

Annotation: This document for state health departments provides guidance on developing a state health assessment. Contents include four modules on identifying and engaging system stakeholders; collecting and analyzing health status data; collecting and analyzing stakeholder and community input data; and summarizing, presenting, and communicating findings. Each module provides information about relevant Public Health Accreditation Board standards, measures, and guidance; ideas for structuring the process and conducting assessment activities; specific examples and lessons learned from states; sample tools and links to additional resources; and a summary of key products, deliverables, or processes resulting from the module activities.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org Available from the website.

• Download Requires Name, Organization, And Email Address

Keywords: Assessment, Communication, Data analysis, Data collection, Health status, State health agencies, Statewide planning, Systems development

Annotation: This paper provides a framework for health care organizations to improve health equity in the communities they serve. Topics include making health equity a strategic priority, developing structure and processes to support health equity work, deploying specific strategies to address the multiple determinants of health on which health care organizations can have a direct impact, decreasing institutional racism within the organization, and developing partnerships with community organizations to improve health and equity. The paper also describes practical issues in measuring health equity, presents a case study of the Henry Ford Health System, and includes a self-assessment tool for health care organizations to assess their current state related to each component of the framework.

Contact: Institute for Healthcare Improvement , 20 University Road, Seventh Floor , Cambridge , MA 02138, Telephone: (617) 301-4800 Secondary Telephone: (866) 787-0831 Fax: (617) 301-4830 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ihi.org Available from the website.

• Download (free) Requires Registration

Keywords: Community participation, Discrimination, Equal opportunities, Health care delivery, Health disparities, Health systems agencies, Inclusion, Measures, Organizational change, Program improvement, Quality assurance, Self evaluation, Social bias

Annotation: This document for state education and health departments focuses on ways state school nurse consultants and other state school health personnel can support schools in reducing absences for students with chronic health conditions. Topics include the context and definitions of attendance as a measure, national efforts aimed at improving school attendance, challenges and opportunities related to collecting and using data on school attendance and chronic health conditions, collecting causes of school absence including chronic conditions, and recommendations for connecting school attendance and chronic health conditions to address absenteeism. Examples from Connecticut, Kentucky, and Massachusetts are included.

Contact: National Association of Chronic Disease Directors, 2200 Century Parkway, Suite 250, Atlanta, GA 30345, Telephone: (770) 458-7400 Web Site: https://chronicdisease.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Community action, Data analysis, Data collection, Leadership, Management information systems, Measures, Nursing, Program improvement, School attendance, School health services, School nurses, Schools, State departments of education, State health agencies, Students

Annotation: This module is designed to assist state and territorial Title V agencies in planning and implementing programs in an environment of health reform and health system transformation. The module describes a five-step planning process and practice examples. Each example guides users in defining a question, collecting information, selecting an option, applying adaptive actions, and creating a simplified implementation plan. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Georgia Health Policy Center, Georgia State University, P.O. Box 3992, Atlanta, GA 30302-3992, Telephone: (404) 413-0314 Fax: (404) 413-0316 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://ghpc.gsu.edu Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Evolution, Health care reform, Health care systems, Organizational change, Program development, Program improvement, Program planning, State agencies, Systems development, Title V programs, Training, Work force

Annotation: This report presents five case studies of state, local, and tribal health agency efforts to shift their thinking and their work from focusing on health disparities to advancing health equity. Contents include efforts to address the root causes of health inequities in Colorado, Oregon, Texas, Virginia, and Wisconsin. Topics include racism and unequal distribution and access to resources such as a living wage, health care, and quality education and housing.

Contact: American Public Health Association, 800 I Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20001-3710, Telephone: (202) 777-2742 Secondary Telephone: Fax: (202) 777-2534 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.apha.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Barriers, Case studies, Collaboration, Community based services, Equal opportunities, Health agencies, Health care delivery, Public health infrastructure, Service integration, State programs, Systems development

Annotation: This website provides leaders and stakeholders with expert-vetted tools and resources to support collaborative, impactful community health improvement work. Contents include a database of interventions focused on the following four action areas: socioeconomic factors, physical environment, health behaviors, and clinical care.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: https://www.cdc.gov/cdc-info/forms/contact-us.html Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Collaboration, Communities, Community action, Community organizations, Databases, Health systems agencies, Intervention, Program improvement, Resources for professionals, Systems development

Annotation: This document describes a tool designed to assist community leaders and stakeholders in making decisions about how to invest in their community and address community health needs. Topics include how to find interventions for seven target risk factors related to the leading causes of illness and death in the United States. The fact sheet also describes how to find interventions by target population, by target outcome or indicator, by intervention setting/location, by intervention type, and by assets (people or organizations, physical or virtual space). Information about data sources for interventions is included.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: https://www.cdc.gov/cdc-info/forms/contact-us.html Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

• PDF
• Link

Keywords: Collaboration, Communities, Community action, Community organizations, Databases, Health systems agencies, Intervention, Program improvement, Resources for professionals, Systems development

Annotation: This video examines adaptive leadership as a practical framework for leading consequential change in the midst of significant market and sociopolitical transformation. Topics include how local health officials and their staff are exploring innovative partnerships with other agencies in health care and beyond and identifying new ways of operating within and influencing the economic and social conditions of the health system.

Contact: National Association of County and City Health Officials, 1100 17th Street, N.W., Seventh Floor, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 783-5550 Fax: (202) 783-1583 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.naccho.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Barriers, Community action, Health care reform, Health systems agencies, Leadership, Local health agencies, Organizational change, Policy development, Political systems, Public private partnerships, Social conditions, Socioeconomic factors, Systems development, Transitions

Annotation: This 2013 report presents findings from a survey to assess state early childhood data systems. The report focuses on state data systems' ability to securely link child-level early childhood education (ECE) data across ECE programs and to K-12, health, and social services data systems. Topics include states collecting state-level developmental screening, assessment, and kindergarten entry assessments; status of state ECE data governance structure, authority, and function; and action steps for policymakers and practitioners.

Contact: Early Childhood Data Collaborative, c/o Child Trends, 7315 Wisconsin Avenue, Suite 1200, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (240) 223-9329 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ecedata.org Available from the website.

• 2013 Report

Keywords: Data linkage, Early childhood education, Health agencies, Integrated information systems, National surveys, School systems, Social service agencies, State programs

Annotation: This tool provides guidance to support state and local decision makers, administrators, providers, and youth and family advocates in building and enhancing a trauma-informed work force. Contents include eight modules on the following topics: understanding the impact of trauma, trauma-informed child-serving systems, creating trauma-informed provider organizations, evidence-based treatments addressing trauma, public health approach and cost-benefits of trauma-informed care, youth and family perspectives on trauma-informed care, trauma-informed efforts in eight states, and research and practice in trauma-informed care. Each module contains an issue brief, video interviews with individuals in the field, and lists of resources.

Contact: National Technical Assistance Center for Children's Mental Health, Georgetown University Center for Child and Human Development, 3300 Whitehaven Street, NW, Suite 3300, Washington, DC 20007, Telephone: (202) 687-5000 Fax: (202) 687-8899 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://gucchdtacenter.georgetown.edu/index.html Available from the website.

• Link
• Program Fact Sheet

Keywords: Case studies, Children, Evidence based medicine, Families, Interdisciplinary approach, Mental health, Models, Organizational change, Resources for professionals, Service delivery systems, Trauma care, Work force, Youth, Youth agencies

Annotation: This document provides guidance to local health departments (LHDs) on progressing through six phases or levels of quality improvement (QI) integration until a culture of QI has been reached and can be sustained. For each phase, the document presents common organizational characteristics and incremental strategies for transitioning to the next stage. The document also describes six foundational elements of a QI culture that LHDs should cultivate over time.

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.ncemch.org

Keywords: City health agencies, County health agencies, Evolution, Leadership, Learning, Local government, Organizational change, Outcome and process assessment, Program improvement, Public health infrastructure, Quality assurance, Sustainability, Systems development, Transitions

Annotation: This brief discusses efforts to integrate oral health activities and information into state maternal and child health (MCH) early childhood programs to improve oral health status. The brief focuses on MCH state-level early childhood programs relevant to oral health, specifically the Early Childhood Comprehensive System (ECCS) and the Maternal, Infant, and Early Childhood Home Visiting Program. The brief also presents examples of oral health integration into state ECCS programs, other opportunities to collaborate with state MCH programs, and resources. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors, 3858 Cashill Boulevard, Reno, NV 89509, Telephone: (775) 626-5008 Fax: (775) 626-9268 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.astdd.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Collaboration, Early childhood development, Federal MCH programs, Health agencies, Home visiting, Oral health, Service delivery systems, Service integration, State MCH programs, Young children

Annotation: This strategic plan for the U.S. Department of Health and Human Service' for fiscal years 2010-2015 discusses five strategic goals: (1) strengthen health care; (2) advance scientific knowledge and innovation; (3) advance the health, safety, and well-being of the American people; (4) increase efficiency, transparency, and accountability of DHHS programs; and (5) strengthen the nation's health and human services infrastructure and work force. Each chapter on a specific goal presents strategic goals and objectives for the major functions of DHHS. Primary strategies for accomplishing DHHS's goals are included. The strategic plan for 2022-2026 is published as a Web document.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 200 Independence Avenue, S.W., Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (877) 696-6775 Web Site: http://www.hhs.gov Available from the website.

• PDF
• 2022-2026

Keywords: Federal programs, Health, Health agencies, Health care, Health care systems, Health personnel, Health services, Health services delivery, Human services, Safety, Strategic plans, Work force

Annotation: This chartbook, which is designed to serve as a volume for statistical reference and as a resource for state and local health departments, policymakers, federal agencies, governing bodies, researchers, and others to help them better understand the U.S. public health infrastructure, contains numeric and tabular data derived from the Association of State and Territorial Health Officials' State Public Health Survey conducted in 2007. The chartbook addresses four major topic areas: public health responsibilities, organization and structure, state health planning and quality improvement, and state health agency work force.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Health care systems, Public health, Quality assurance, State health agencies, Statistical data, Surveys, Work force

Annotation: This book examines the role of poison control services within the context of the larger public health system, the injury prevention and control field, and the fields of general medical care and medical and clinical toxicology. It also examines how poison control centers function relative to the functions performed by other health care agencies and government organizations at the federal, state, and local levels. The book, which includes an executive summary, is presented in three parts. Part 1 provides an overview of the Institute of Medicine's Committee on Poison Prevention and Control's proposal for a future poison prevention and control system. Part 2 reviews the historical development of the poison control network, the current status of poisoning as a public health problem, and the principal functional elements of the system. Part 3 summarizes arguments for a new poison prevention control system by focusing on the committee's conclusions and recommendations. Statistical information and other information is presented in tables and figures throughout the book. Two appendices include a list of contributors and committee and staff biographies. The book also includes a list of references and an index. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nap.edu Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 0-309-09194-2.

• Link

Keywords: Federal government, Health agencies, Health care systems, Injury prevention, Local government, Poison control centers, Poisoning, Public health, State government, Toxicology

Annotation: This summary report assesses the state of America's health care safety net, a term that has come to refer broadly to public hospitals, community health centers, public health departments, faith-based clinics, and others who, either by mission or mandate, provide significant amounts of health care to people who are uninsured or underinsured and who cannot cover the costs of care from their own resources. Ten communities across the country were assessed: Memphis, TN; Detroit, MI; Phoenix, AZ; San Diego, CA; Lincoln, NE; Boston, MA; Queens, NY; Fairfax County, VA; San Antonio, TX; and Atlanta, GA. Chapter contents include descriptions of the following from the ten communities studied: structure and financing, availability of services for uninsured and underserved patients, results from focus group meetings with residents in the ten communities, care and use of emergency departments of hospitals in the areas studied, and key findings and strategies for strengthening the safety net. The report also contains an executive summary, end notes, and reports on the assessment including partners and contact information. Separate and detailed reports are provided for each of the ten communities. Statistical information is provided in charts, tables, and graphs throughout the summary and in each individual community report.

Contact: Urgent Matters, 2121 K Street, N. W., Suite 210, Washington, DC 20037, Telephone: (202) 994-8642 Fax: (202) 973-1150 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.urgentmatters.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Arizona, California, Clinics, Georgia, Health agencies, Health care delivery, Health care systems, Health facilities, Health programs, Health services delivery, Massachusetts, Michigan, Nebraska, New York, Program evaluation, Public health programs, Public hospitals, Tennessee, Texas, Underserved communities, Uninsured persons, Virginia

Annotation: This document explores important elements of early learning systems to aid young children in being prepared to start school ready to learn. It describes multiple strategies and service components, including ones to ensure that children's health care needs are addressed, that parents can provide the nurturing and stability young children need to grow and develop, and that early care and education settings meet children's supervision and developmental needs. Contents include defining and describing an early learning system; financing, planning, implementing, and managing an early learning system; the role of governance; governance and devolution; and state experiences to date. Appendices provide state structure descriptions and contact information as well as a chart of early childhood and school readiness structures in the 40 states.

Contact: State Early Childhood Policy Technical Assistance Network, 505 5th Avenue, Suite 404, Des Moines, IA 50309-4013, Telephone: (515) 280-9027 Fax: (515) 244-8997 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.finebynine.org/index.php Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child health, Early childhood development, Family support, Learning, Planning, School readiness, State agencies, Strategic plans, Systems development, Young children

Annotation: This report focuses on the following issues: (1) states' experiences in developing child welfare information systems and the Department of Health and Human Services' (DHHS') role in assisting in their development, (2) factors that affect the reliability of data that states collect and report on children served by their welfare agencies, and DHHS's role in ensuring the reliability of those data, and (3) practices that child welfare agencies use to overcome challenges associated with the Statewide Automated Child Welfare Information System's (SACWIS's) development and data reliability. Four appendices include the scope and methodology, state SACWIS stages of development, comments from DHHS, and General Accounting Office (GAO) contacts and acknowledgments. Statistical information is presented in tables and figures throughout the report. The report concludes with a bibliography and a list of related GAO products.

Contact: U.S. Government Accountability Office, 441 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20548, Telephone: (202) 512-3000 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gao.gov Available from the website. Document Number: GAO-03-809.

• Full Report

Keywords: Child welfare agencies, Data, Data collection, Department of Health and Human Services, Information systems