Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: Project Copernicus, a dual-State initiative for Maryland and Virginia, developed, demonstrated, and evaluated training programs in family-centered service coordination with target groups of professional service providers and parents in urban, rural, and suburban areas of Maryland and Virginia. Project Copernicus demonstrated how to provide family-centered care for families with children with special health needs by assisting both parents and professional service providers to develop and use family-centered service coordination activities (case management). [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB97-121859.

Keywords: Access to Health Care, CSHCN, Case Management, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Coordination of Health Care, Disabled, Education of Health Professionals, Families, Family-Centered Health Care, Fragmentation of Services, Parent Education, Parents, programs

Annotation: This project sought to develop a statewide system of community-based, comprehensive care/case management and family support services. Program strategies included developing a training curriculum for the skilled delivery of home-based family support services by medical professionals, paraprofessionals, and parents; piloting a respite providers' network; providing statewide training on the provision of family support services; and developing and disseminating a statewide directory of trained family support service providers. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-158277.

Keywords: 99-457, Case Management, Chronically Ill, Community-Based Health Care, Coordination of Health Care, Family-Based Health Care, Financing Health Care, Fragmentation of Services, L, P, Parents, Rural Population

Annotation: This guide is meant to serve as a resource for school nurses and other school personnel to alert them to the signs and symptoms of complications of the sickle cell diseases and to educate them about what to do if they encounter a child with such signs and symptoms. The guide is divided into the following sections: (1) introduction, (2) what is sickle cell disease?, (3) warning signs, (4) what is sickle cell trait? (5) complications related to sickle cell disease, (6) medical management, (7) psychosocial issues, (8) the teacher, and (9) the social workers. The guide also includes the following appendices: (1) glossary, (2) bibliography, (3) New Jersey sickle cell/hemoglobinopathies treatment centers, and (4) New Jersey genetic centers for testing and family counseling.

• PDF

Keywords: Child health, Genetic counseling, Genetic disorders, Genetic services, New Jersey, Patient care management, Psychosocial factors, School health services, Sickle cell disease, Sickle cell trait, Social workers, Teachers

Annotation: This toolkit provides comprehensive guidance for healthcare organizations to enhance their climate resilience planning and emergency preparedness efforts. It presents strategies, actions, tools, and resources organized around key elements including risk assessment, health equity, community engagement, infrastructure vulnerabilities, healthcare collaboration, and communications. Developed by the Office of Climate Change and Health Equity in partnership with healthcare professionals, the toolkit includes case studies of successful climate resilience initiatives at healthcare facilities across diverse settings.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 200 Independence Avenue, S.W., Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (877) 696-6775 Web Site: http://www.hhs.gov

• PDF

Keywords: Collaboration, Community based services, Disaster planning, Emergencies, Environmental health, Model programs, Risk management

Annotation: This manual provides policies and procedures for Wisconsin Seal-A-Smile (SAS) grantees, with the goal of helping them administer programs and ensure consistency across programs. The purpose of SAS is to improve the oral health of Wisconsin children through school-based dental sealant programs. Topics include administrative and regulatory guidelines; program requirements; forms, reporting, and recording; and budget and funding information.

Contact: Children's Health Alliance of Wisconsin, 6737 West Washington Street, Suite 1111, West Allis, WI 53214, Telephone: (414) 292-4000 Secondary Telephone: (414) 337-4561 Fax: (414) 231-4972 Web Site: https://www.chawisconsin.org/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Administration, Data collection, Dental sealants, Disease prevention, Forms, Grants management, Oral health, Prevention programs, Reimbursement, School age children, School health programs, School health services, Screening, State programs, Wisconsin

Annotation: This resource povides information on breastfeeding barriers and support services centered on the needs of populations disproportionately impacted by structural barriers that lead to low rates of breastfeeding. The resource underscores the importance of breastfeeding support services that are continuous, accessible, and coordinated, and provides recommendations and strategies that are consistently supportive of chest/breastfeeding families. The targetedd audience is local-level organizations and individuals that interacts with pregnant and postpartum families.

Contact: National Association of County and City Health Officials, 1100 17th Street, N.W., Seventh Floor, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 783-5550 Fax: (202) 783-1583 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.naccho.org

• Link

Keywords: Barriers, Breast feeding promotion, Community based services, Lactation management, Public health

Annotation: This webinar reviews new clinical content in the Bright Futures Guidelines and the associated Periodicity Schedule, and discusses how to use evidence to decide on content for your practice's health supervision visits and how to identify strategies, tools, and resources to maximize efficiency for health promotion and preventive services.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: 800/433-9016 Secondary Telephone: 202/347-8600 E-mail: https://www.aap.org/en/pages/contact-us/contact-national-headquarters/ Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available from the website.

• Webinar Only
• Bright Futures 4th Edition Webinars And Slide Decks

Keywords: Adolescent development, Adolescent health, Anticipatory guidance, Child development, Child health, Communities, Disease prevention, Emotional development, Evidence based medicine, Families, Guidelines, Health promotion, Health screening, Health supervision, Infant development, Infant health, Injury prevention, Mental health, Nutrition, Oral health, Pediatric care, Perinatal health, Physical activity, Preventive health services, Protective factors, Psychosocial development, Safety, Sexual health, Standards, Videos, Weight management

Annotation: This companion to the most current edition of the Bright Futures Guidelines for Health Supervision of Infants, Children and Adolescents, the national standard for well-child care provides updated forms and materials relate to preventive health supervision and health screening for infants, children, and adolescents. These include pre-visit questionnaires, visit documentation forms, parent and patient handouts, supplemental education handouts, and medical screening reference tables.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: 800/433-9016 Secondary Telephone: 202/347-8600 E-mail: https://www.aap.org/en/pages/contact-us/contact-national-headquarters/ Web Site: https://www.aap.org Order from the website for a charge.

• Link
• Downloadable Forms And Handouts

Keywords: Adolescent development, Adolescent health, Anticipatory guidance, Child development, Child health, Communities, Disease prevention, Emotional development, Families, Guidelines, Health promotion, Health screening, Health supervision, Infant development, Infant health, Injury prevention, Mental health, Nutrition, Oral health, Pediatric care, Perinatal health, Physical activity, Preventive health services, Professional resources, Protective factors, Psychosocial development, Safety, Sexual health, Standards, Weight management

Annotation: These guidelines provide background information and recommendations for promoting the healthy development of infants, children, and adolescents from birth to age 21, as well as standards for health supervision visits. Topics include lifelong health for families and communities, family support, health for children and adolescents with special health care needs, development, mental health, weight, nutrition, physical activity, oral health, use of social media, and safety and injury prevention. A companion pocket guide is also available. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: 800/433-9016 Secondary Telephone: 202/347-8600 E-mail: https://www.aap.org/en/pages/contact-us/contact-national-headquarters/ Web Site: https://www.aap.org Order from the website for a charge. Document Number: ISBN 978-1-61002-082-4.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent development, Adolescent health, Anticipatory guidance, Child development, Child health, Communities, Disease prevention, Emotional development, Families, Guidelines, Health promotion, Health screening, Health supervision, Infant development, Infant health, Injury prevention, Mental health, Nutrition, Oral health, Pediatric care, Perinatal health, Physical activity, Preventive health services, Protective factors, Psychosocial development, Safety, Sexual health, Standards, Weight management

Annotation: These practice guidelines provide information on the oral health care of pregnant women in South Carolina. They contain data on infant mortality and preterm birth, oral health care and counseling utilization, and key findings from the South Carolina Pregnancy Risk Assessment Monitoring Systems (PRAMS) for 2012–2013. The guidelines also include recommendations for health professionals and for oral health professionals, referral forms for oral health care, and dentists’ reports for prenatal care professionals. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: South Carolina Department of Health and Environmental Control, 2600 Bull Street, Columbia, SC 29201, Telephone: (803) 898-3432 Fax: (803) 898-3323 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.scdhec.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Dental care, Disease management, Forms, Guidelines, Oral health, Pregnant women, Prevention services, Referrals, Resources for professionals, Service coordination, South Carolina, State programs

Annotation: This checklist is a companion to Summary of Infection Prevention Practices in Dental Settings: Basic Expectations for Safe Care. The checklist is divided into two categories: (1) policies and practices and (2) direct observation of personnel and patient-care practices. Each category is broken into subcategories, and each subcategory includes checkboxes to indicate whether an assessment has been done and space to record notes and areas for improvement.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Division of Oral Health, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/OralHealth Available from the website.

• Mobile Application
• Program Website

Keywords: Clinic administration, Disease prevention, Health facilities, Health services delivery, Infection control, Injury prevention, Mobile applications, Oral health, Patient care, Policy development, Program improvement, Quality assurance, Records management, Safety

Annotation: This report provides recommendations for states to strengthen the ability of school-based dental sealant programs to reach more children, especially those at high risk for dental caries. Contents include recommendations in the following priority areas: promoting evidence-based and promising practices; communicating with families, the community, and school staff; collecting, analyzing, and reporting data; addressing Medicaid and reporting data; and addressing Medicaid and regulatory hurdles. A summary of the recommendations, an infographic, a questions-and-answers document, and a communications plan worksheet are also available.

• PDF

Keywords: Costs, Access to health care, Case management, Certification, Children, Communication, Data analysis, Data collection, Dental care, Dental caries, Dental sealants, Disease prevention, Licensing, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral health, Policy development, Prevention programs, Preventive health services, Program development, Program planning, Public health infrastructure, Regulations, Resources for professionals, School health programs, School health services, Schools, Standards, State health agencies, State programs, Vulnerability, Work force

Annotation: This fact sheet describes the role of school nurses in improving student academic achievement and decreasing absenteeism by helping students with chronic health conditions manage their condition. Topics include providing direct care such as giving children medications, providing case management, and advocating for students and their families to help them get the resources and support they need.

Contact: National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, Division of Population Health, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/NCCDPHP/dph Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Academic achievement, Case management, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Disease management, Elementary schools, Families, Family support services, Health services delivery, Homeless persons, Program coordination, Role, School age children, School nurses, Students

Annotation: This document outlines competencies for health professionals engaged in obesity prevention and management. Contents include general concepts related to core obesity knowledge, interprofessional obesity care, and patient interactions related to obesity that can be integrated into existing curricula or used as a model for chronic disease curricula.

Contact: Bipartisan Policy Center, 1225 Eye Street NW, Suite 1000, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 204-2400 Fax: (202) 318-0876 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://bipartisanpolicy.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Competence, Competency-based education, Curriculum development, Disease management, Models, Nutrition, Obesity, Prevention programs, Preventive health services, Resources for professionals

Annotation: This brief examines states' use of Medicaid as a key source of funding for early childhood mental health services. Contents include the rationale for Medicaid coverage of key EMCH services, the methods and results of a 50-state survey to gather information from state administrators about Medicaid coverage of the following services for children from birth to age 6: child screening for social-emotional problems, maternal depression screening in pediatric and family medicine settings, mental health services in a pediatric or family medicine setting, mental health services in child care and early education settings, mental health services in the home setting, parent-child treatment, parenting programs to address child mental health needs, and case management / care coordination. Recommendations are also included.

Contact: National Center for Children in Poverty, 215 West 125th Street, Third Floor, New York, NY 10027, Telephone: (646) 284-9600 Fax: (646) 284-9623 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nccp.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Case management, Financing, Health services, Medicaid, Mental health, Program coordination, Screening, State surveys, Young children

Annotation: These guidelines provide background information and recommendations for promoting the healthy development of infants, children, and adolescents from birth to age 21, as well as standards for health supervision visits. Topics include lifelong health for families and communities, family support, health for children and adolescents with special health care needs, development, mental health, weight, nutrition, physical activity, oral health, use of social media, and safety and injury prevention. A companion pocket guide is also available. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: 800/433-9016 Secondary Telephone: 202/347-8600 E-mail: https://www.aap.org/en/pages/contact-us/contact-national-headquarters/ Web Site: https://www.aap.org Order from the website for a charge.

• Ebook

Keywords: Adolescent development, Adolescent health, Anticipatory guidance, Child development, Child health, Communities, Disease prevention, Emotional development, Families, Guidelines, Health promotion, Health screening, Health supervision, Infant development, Infant health, Injury prevention, Mental health, Nutrition, Oral health, Pediatric care, Perinatal health, Physical activity, Preventive health services, Protective factors, Psychosocial development, Safety, Sexual health, Standards, Weight management

Annotation: This manual provides school personnel and volunteers with procedures and requirements for administering and implementing a school-based fluoride mouthrinse program in Ohio. Topics include program roles, responsibilities, and operation; administration guidelines; recommendations for teachers; and program implementation and site visits. Forms and procedural options, including adaptations for students with special health care needs, are included.

Contact: Ohio Department of Health, Oral Health Program, 246 North High Street, Columbus, OH 43215, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://odh.ohio.gov/wps/portal/gov/odh/know-our-programs/oral-health-program/welcome-to Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Dental caries, Disease prevention, Fluorides, Ohio, Oral health, Preventive health services, School age children, School based management, School health services, State programs

Annotation: This manual documents how the Dental Quality Alliance develops performance measures for oral health care. Topics include the roles of the research and development advisory committee and chair, conflict-of-interest procedures, confidentiality, and copyright. The report describes the measure-development process and discusses measure identification, development, evaluation, dissemination, maintenance, and updates.

Contact: American Dental Association, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-2678, Telephone: (312) 440-2500 Fax: (312) 440-7494 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ada.org Available from the website.

• PDF
• Program Website

Keywords: Dental care, Disease management, Disease prevention, Group processes, Health care utilization, Information dissemination, Measures, Oral health, Outcome and process assessment, Preventive health services, Program development, Program evaluation, Quality assurance

Annotation: This toolkit contains information that details five high impact opportunities for states and local school districts to support communities through collaboration between the education and health sectors, highlighting best practices and key research in both areas. Contents include resources, programs, and services offered by non-governmental organizations.

Contact: U.S. Department of Education, 400 Maryland Avenue, S.W., Washington, DC 20202, Telephone: (800) 872-5327 Secondary Telephone: (800) 437-0833 Web Site: http://www.ed.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Case management, Collaboration, Communities, Community action, Educational reform, Eligibility, Health care reform, Health education, Health insurance, Health services delivery, Hospitals, Medicaid managed care, Needs assessment, Nutrition, Physical activity, Public private partnerships, Reimbursement, Role, School districts, State government, Students

Annotation: This report summarizes outcomes of an annual review of a set of measures whose goal is to prevent and manage dental caries in children. Topics include utilization and access, cost, and quality of oral health services for children enrolled in public and private insurance programs. Contents include information about the purpose of the review, the review process, the call for public comments, user groups, code updates, and efforts to streamline the starter set of measures.

Contact: American Dental Association, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-2678, Telephone: (312) 440-2500 Fax: (312) 440-7494 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ada.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Children, Costs, Data collection, Data sources, Dental care, Dental caries, Dental sealants, Disease management, Disease prevention, Enrollment, Health care utilization, Health insurance, Measures, Oral health, Outcome and process assessment, Preventive health services, Quality assurance, Risk assessment