Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This systematic review addresses healthcare for postpartum individuals within 1 year after pregnancy. It addresses the comparative benefits and harms of (1) alternative strategies for postpartum healthcare delivery, and (2) extension of postpartum health insurance coverage or improvements in access to care. The target audience includes policymakers, Ob/Gyn's, Midwives, maternal-fetal medicine specialists, family medicine clinicians, primary care physicians, nurse practitioners, clinical guidelines, and other providers of care or support for postpartum individuals.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov Document Number: 23-EHC010.

• Full Report
• Executive Summary

Keywords: Evidence based medicine , Health insurance, Healthcare delivery, Postpartum care, Prevention services

Annotation: This report focuses on aspects of Medicaid's mission to ensure access to high-quality health services and the program's future as a major health care payer driving health system change toward value. The report focuses on topics of interest to Congress, including Medicaid’s responsiveness during economic downturns; concerns about high rates of maternal morbidity and mortality; improving hospital payment policy for the nation's safetynet hospitals, and the integration of care for people who are dually eligible for Medicaid and Medicare.

Contact: Medicaid and CHIP Payment and Access Commission, 1800 M Street, N.W., Suite 360 South, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 350-2000 Fax: (202) 273-2452 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.macpac.gov Available from the website.

• 2022
• 2021

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescents, Children, Children', Costs, Financing, Health care reform, Health services delivery, Medicaid, Medications, Mental health, Oral health, Organizational change, Pregnant women, Reimbursement, Systems development, s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: This systematic review evaluates whether participation in the Special Supplemental Nutrition Program for Women, Infants, and Children (WIC) is associated with nutrition and health outcomes for women, infants, and children, and whether the associations vary by duration of participation or across subgroups. The review prioritized studies published since 2009 and included studies comparing outcomes before and after the 2009 food package change. Conclusions showed that maternal WIC participation was associated with improved birth outcomes, lower infant mortality, and better child cognitive development, as well as purchasing healthier foods and improved diets for pregnant women and children.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov

• PDF

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Child health, Child nutrition, Infant health, MCH programs, Maternal health, Nutrition, Nutrition policy, Nutrition services, Pregnant women, Preterm delivery, Program evaluation, WIC Program

Annotation: This brief presents a range of strategies for improving access to oral health care. It provides recommendations for how to focus efforts to address the problem of poor access to care, the limits of reimbursement rates on improving access to care, and strategies for improving access. Strategies offered include expanding coverage; broadening the oral health workforce; and adopting solutions that deliver care in communities while removing long-standing structural hurdles.

Contact: Community Catalyst, Dental Access Project, 30 Winter Street, 10th Floor, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 338-6035 Fax: (617) 451-5838 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://communitycatalyst.org/work/projects/dental-access-project/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Community health services, Health care delivery, Oral health, Reimbursement

Annotation: This review evaluates the effectiveness, use, and implementation of telehealth for women’s preventive services for reproductive healthcare and interpersonal violence (IPV). It examines patient preferences and engagement in telehealth and explores how this form of health care delivery affects health outcomes, particularly for those who are geographically isolated or in underserved settings or populations. The use of telehealth services during the COVID-19 pandemic is highlighted.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Health care systems, Health care delivery, Health screening, Prevention services, Telecommunications, Telehealth, Telemedicine, Women', s health

Annotation: This report discusses the impact of behavioral issues on the oral health of people experiencing homelessness (PEH) and how behavioral health and oral health professionals can work together to address behavioral health and oral health issues in this population. The report discusses the prevalence of behavioral issues and oral diseases among PEH, barriers to accessing health care in this population, consequences of behavioral issues and oral diseases, access to care, access to coordinated care challenges, recommendations for behavioral health and oral health integration, and the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic on health care delivery.

Contact: National Health Care for the Homeless Council, P.O. Box 60427, Nashville, TN 37206-0427, Telephone: (615) 226-2292 Fax: (615) 226-1656 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nhchc.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Behavioral medicine, Disease transmission, Health services delivery, Homeless persons, Infectious diseases, Oral health, Service coordination, Service integration, Virus diseases

Annotation: This webinar focuses on maternal mental health within a cultural context, highlighting factors to consider when addressing the mental health needs of Black, Indigenous, and People of Color (BIPOC) in underserved communities. Culturally-sensitive approaches to MCH services that address postpartum depression and other mental health concerns are discussed by a variety of panelists during the hour-long video presentation.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Access to care, Cultural barriers, Cultural factors, Health equity, MCH services, Maternal health, Mental health, Postpartum depression, Racial factors, Risk factors, Service delivery

Annotation: This toolkit provides information about an environmental scan of emerging models of behavioral and oral health integration, as well as organizational or service-delivery barriers that organizations face when attempting to adopt coordinated or integrated care models. Topics include background and rationale for oral health and behavioral health integration, an environmental scan of integrated models, and policy considerations. Examples of models are presented.

Contact: National Council for Mental Wellbeing, 1400 K Strteet, N.W., Suite 400, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 684-7457 Web Site: http://thenationalcouncil.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: , Behavioral medicine, Health services delivery, Mental health, Oral health, Service coordination, Service integration

Annotation: This issue brief provides a definition of equity in telehealth, describes four dimensions of equity in telehealth policy, and provides case study examples of how these dimensions can be applied when assessing the equity impacts of a given maternal and child health (MCH) telehealth policy solution.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Health care delivery, Health equity, MCH services, Policy, Public health, Telecommunications, Telehealth, Telemedicine

Annotation: This infographic provides information for oral health professionals about benefits of and barriers to preventive dental visits for pregnant women. It discusses the safety of visiting the dentist during pregnancy, Medicaid dental coverage available during pregnancy, physiological changes that occur during pregnancy that may affect oral health, and how receiving oral health services can improve overall health and reduce the likelihood of transmission of cavity-causing bacteria from mothers to young children. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• English
• Spanish

Keywords: Health services delivery, Medicaid, Non English language materials, Oral health, Pregnant women, Prevention, Safety, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This document requests input on a blueprint designed to inform programs and policy at the community, state, and federal levels on how systems of care for children and youth with special health care needs (CYSHCN) can be operationalized in the key areas of health equity, access to services and supports, family/child well-being and quality of life, and financing of services. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-2170 Web Site: https://mchb.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents with special health care needs, Children with special health care needs, Health care systems, Public health services, Service delivery systems

Annotation: This issue brief provides information about the Early Childhood Oral Health Assessment (ECOHA) mobile app designed for community health workers (CHWs) to use in addressing oral health needs of young children, particularly those from minority groups and from families with low incomes. The brief outlines how ECOHA has been used; identifies lessons learned and best practices related to its use; and provides recommendations for integrating these into health, oral health, and social support systems. It also addresses how CHWs have continued to support children’s oral health throughout the COVID-19 pandemic.

Contact: Children's Partnership, 811 Wilshire Boulevard, Suite 1000, Los Angeles, CA 90017, Telephone: (213) 341-1222 Fax: (213) 293-1483 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.childrenspartnership.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: COVID-19, Community health services, Disease transmission, Health care delivery, Infectious diseases, Minority groups, Oral health, Virus diseases, Young children

Annotation: This brief provides information about the virtual dental home (VDH) implemented by four communities in five California counties as part of their local dental pilot projects (LDPPs). The aim of the LDPPs is to increase use of oral health care among children enrolled in Medi-Cal through innovative pilot projects. The brief outlines implementation of the VDH, identifies lessons learned and best practices, and provides recommendations for sustaining the VDH and integrating best practices into the oral health care delivery system. It also considers the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic on VDH implementation.

Contact: Children's Partnership, 811 Wilshire Boulevard, Suite 1000, Los Angeles, CA 90017, Telephone: (213) 341-1222 Fax: (213) 293-1483 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.childrenspartnership.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: , California, Community health services, Disease transmission, Health care delivery, Infectious diseases, Oral health, State programs, Virus diseases

Annotation: This document provides information about quality improvement (QI) measures that reflect components of the Bright Futures™ guidelines. The list combines nationally endorsed measures and measures tested in, or adopted from, previous QI preventive services projects. Contents include measures for infancy and early childhood, middle childhood and adolescence, and office-based system measures for both groups. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Bright Futures™ at AAP, American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (847) 434-7785 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://brightfutures.aap.org/Pages/default.aspx Available from the website.

• PDF
• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Child development, Child health, Health promotion, Infant health, Measures, Organizational change, Pediatric care, Preventive health services, Program improvement, Quality assurance, Service delivery systems

Annotation: This issue brief provides an overview of the Bright Futures guidelines and how the guidelines correlate with the Title V National Performance Measures.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Block grants, Bright Futures, Child development, Child health, Child health supervision, Health promotion, Infant health, Measures, Model programs, Pediatric care, Policy development, Preventive health services, Program planning, Resources for professionals, Service delivery systems, Title V programs

Annotation: This handout outlines a set of maternal and child health quality indicators to monitor oral health services delivered in public health programs and systems of care. Indicators for women of childbearing age and pregnant women are broken into three categories: access, utilization, and outcomes. Indicators for children are broken into four categories: access, utilization, process, and outcomes. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Health services delivery, Oral health, Public health, Quality assurance, Service delivery systems, Title V programs

Annotation: This document describes the Maternal, Infant, and Early Childhood Home Visiting Program (Home Visiting Program) to support voluntary, evidence-based home visiting services for at-risk pregnant women and parents with young children up to kindergarten entry. Topics include efforts to expand services to more families and communities, program participants, notable achievements, the Tribal Home Visiting Program, and research and evaluation. State fact sheets are also available. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (888) 275-4772 Secondary Telephone: (877) 464-4772 Fax: (301) 443-1246 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Families, Health services delivery, Home visiting, Infants, Parents, Pregnant women, Preventive health services, Program descriptions, School readiness, State MCH programs, Young children

Annotation: This document offers information about federal programs that provide funding to health centers, states, academic institutions, and other entities to recruit, train, and retain health professionals, including dentists and dental hygienists, in efforts to increase access to oral health care. The document also highlights program efforts to establish benchmarks for the nation’s oral health status and for oral health care and to ensure that oral health care is available to people living with HIV/AIDS; mothers, children, and adolescents, including those with special health care needs; and those who receive care at health centers.

Contact: U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (888) 275-4772 Secondary Telephone: (877) 464-4772 Fax: (301) 443-1246 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescents, Benchmarking, Children, Community health centers, Federal programs, HIV infected patients, Health care delivery, Health occupations, Health status, Low income groups, MCH services, Mothers, Oral health, Primary care, Quality assurance, Recruitment, Service integration, Special health care needs, State MCH programs, Training, Work force, Young adults

Annotation: This checklist is a companion to Summary of Infection Prevention Practices in Dental Settings: Basic Expectations for Safe Care. The checklist is divided into two categories: (1) policies and practices and (2) direct observation of personnel and patient-care practices. Each category is broken into subcategories, and each subcategory includes checkboxes to indicate whether an assessment has been done and space to record notes and areas for improvement.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Division of Oral Health, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/OralHealth Available from the website.

• Mobile Application
• Program Website

Keywords: Clinic administration, Disease prevention, Health facilities, Health services delivery, Infection control, Injury prevention, Mobile applications, Oral health, Patient care, Policy development, Program improvement, Quality assurance, Records management, Safety

Annotation: This article describes a project to increase the use of oral health care for pregnant women and infants in Wisconsin by integrating oral health care into the state’s health-care-delivery system. The article also presents findings from a survey of dentists about their current practice, knowledge, and interest in continuing education related to oral health care during pregnancy. Topics include dentists’ opinions about the barriers that pregnant women face and strategies to increase their use of oral health services. Information about how findings will be implemented is included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Children's Health Alliance of Wisconsin, 6737 West Washington Street, Suite 1111, West Allis, WI 53214, Telephone: (414) 292-4000 Secondary Telephone: (414) 337-4561 Fax: (414) 231-4972 Web Site: https://www.chawisconsin.org/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Barriers, Continuing education, Health care delivery, Health care utilization, Oral health, Pregnant women, Preventive health services, Program descriptions, State surveys, Statewide planning, Systems development, Training