Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This policy statement expresses the vision of the Medical Library Association (MLA) of research as a foundation for excellence in health information practice, for new and expanded roles for health sciences librarians, and for attracting excellent people to the profession. It also affirms the association's commitment to collaborate with other organizations to increase support for health sciences librarians' research activities. This policy does not include a laundry list of research topics, but seeks to provide an intellectual basis and rationale for the role of research in support of professional practice. The future role of health sciences librarians, the role that current health sciences librarians must play in achieving those, and the role of MLA in this are described. A proposed action plan outlines future directions for MLA under the headings education, research, support, funding, recognition, and measurement.

Contact: Medical Library Association, 225 East Wacker Place, Suite 650, Chicago, IL 60606, Telephone: (312) 419-9094 Fax: (312) 419-8950 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.mlanet.org/ Price unknown.

Keywords: Collaboration, Health sciences libraries, Librarians, Medical Library Association, Research

Annotation: This guide is a toolkit for hospital librarians in the Southeastern/Atlantic region of the National Network of Libraries of Medicine. It includes resources, methods, and tools related to professional development, social media for libraries (including mobile app reviews), marketing and promotion, skills sets for librarians, electronic health records, policy development. disaster planning, statistics, training programs, and evidence based practices. The information included in this guide comes from a summit of hospital librarians held in Baltimore, Maryland in early 2010.

Contact: National Network of Libraries of Medicine, Middle Atlantic Region, University of Pittsburgh Health Sciences Library System, Pittsburgh, PA Web Site: http://nnlm.gov/mar/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Health sciences libraries, Hospitals, Information services, Library services, Resources for professionals

Annotation: This book discusses health science reference and information sources in various formats. The book is organized into three sections which cover the organization and management of the reference collection, bibliographic sources, and information sources. Topics covered are bibliographic sources for monographs and periodicals; indexing, abstracting, and digital database resources; U.S. government documents and technical reports; and conferences, reviews and translations. Information is also given for the following sources: terminology, handbooks, manuals, drug information, consumer health, medical and health statistics, directories and biographical sources, history, and grants. Specific sources are cited, and evaluated. The sources covered are in print, electronic, audiovisual, and multimedia formats. Appendices include a health sciences reference collections survey, frequently occurring health statistics terms, and a vital and health statistic series. An index is provided.

Contact: Neal-Schuman Publishers, 50 East Huron, Chicago, IL 60611, Telephone: (866) 672-6657 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.neal-schuman.com Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN (13) 978-1-55570-636-4; ISBN (10) 1-55570-636-3.

Keywords: Health sciences libraries, Information sources, Libraries, Library services, Reference materials, Reference services

Annotation: This booklet discusses the application of the copyright law on health sciences libraries. It describes pertinent sections of the law, the library's responsibilities within the institution, infringement and permissions. It also gives guidelines for service. Appendices include the text of relevant documents, including guidelines for the use of videotapes and software.

Contact: Medical Library Association, 225 East Wacker Place, Suite 650, Chicago, IL 60606, Telephone: (312) 419-9094 Fax: (312) 419-8950 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.mlanet.org/ $15.00, nonmembers; $10.00, members.

• PDF

Keywords: Copyright, Health sciences libraries

Annotation: This policy statement developed by the Medical Library Association (MLA) lists and describes the seven professional competency areas needed by health sciences librarians. The statement discusses the importance of placing health sciences librarianship within the appropriate context; personal attributes that contribute to success; the importance of continuing education and lifelong learning; and the knowledge and skills that health science librarians need. It includes an executive summary and recommended actions that individuals, organizations, and educational institutions can take to promote professional development and lifelong learning among health sciences librarians.

Contact: Medical Library Association, 225 East Wacker Place, Suite 650, Chicago, IL 60606, Telephone: (312) 419-9094 Fax: (312) 419-8950 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.mlanet.org/ Available from the website.

• Full Report

Keywords: Competency based education, Guidelines, Health sciences libraries, Policy, Professional education, Standards

Annotation: The kit, which is geared for health science librarians, contains a series of cards, each presenting a promotional problem to be solved, tools that can be used to solve the problem, and a reality-based example of how the problem was solved. The initial package includes the box and the first four cards of the ongoing series. Additions to the series are mailed with issues of the Journal of the Medical Library Association. Information contained on the cards will also be available on MLANET.

Contact: Medical Library Association, 225 East Wacker Place, Suite 650, Chicago, IL 60606, Telephone: (312) 419-9094 Fax: (312) 419-8950 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.mlanet.org/

Keywords: Health sciences libraries, Library services, Problem solving

Annotation: This DVD presents a symposium held at the National Library of Medicine in Rockville, MD on November 5-6, 2003, on the need for brick and mortar libraries and documented current practices in the planning, management, construction, and renovation of health sciences library facilities. Topics include the role of the library in the 21 century; library reinvention and the coexistence of computers and books; what will new physical and virtual information hubs look like; changes in teaching, learning, and technology and how are library services and spaces affected; and models already in existence and lessons learned. Contents of the DVD include searchable video of 35 symposium presentations, "thumbnails" of speakers presentations and slides, poster sessions with explanations by presenters, biographies of all presenters and additional interviews with several speakers, and Web links to symposium resources and related Web sites.

Contact: National Library of Medicine, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 8600 Rockville Pike, Bethesda, MD 20894, Telephone: (301) 594-5983 Secondary Telephone: (888) 346-3656 Fax: (301) 402-1384 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nlm.nih.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Audiovisual materials, Conferences, DVDs, Health sciences libraries, Information services, Library services, Planning, Trends

Annotation: These standards have been developed as a guide for hospital administrators, librarians,and accrediting bodies to ensure that hospitals have the resources and services to effectively meet their needs for knowledge-based information. They cover staffing, library services, and the physical library. A glossary is included. A Frequently Asked Questions sheet that provides more information about the standards is available at http://www.hls.mlanet.org/faq.doc.

• PDF

Keywords: Health sciences libraries, Standards

Annotation: This book is designed for librarians and their patrons and is divided into four chapters. Chapter one includes descriptions of 20 important bibliographic sources that make up a ready reference shelf on the history of the health sciences for the frontline public services librarian. Chapters two and three include descriptions of 150 primary sources and 120 secondary sources in the history of the health sciences. Chapter 4 includes Web links to sites related to the history of the health sciences. A 3-1/2 inch diskette is also included.

Contact: Medical Library Association, 225 East Wacker Place, Suite 650, Chicago, IL 60606, Telephone: (312) 419-9094 Fax: (312) 419-8950 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.mlanet.org/ $27.00, includes shipping and handling.

Keywords: Health sciences libraries, History, Library services, Medicine, Reference materials, Resources for professionals

Annotation: This long range plan covers these goals: (1) organize health-related information and provide access to it; (2) promote use of health information by health professionals and the public; (3) strengthen the informatics infrastructure for biomedicine and health; and (4) conduct and support informatics research.

Contact: National Library of Medicine, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 8600 Rockville Pike, Bethesda, MD 20894, Telephone: (301) 594-5983 Secondary Telephone: (888) 346-3656 Fax: (301) 402-1384 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nlm.nih.gov Available from the website.

• PDF
• Program Website

Keywords: Federal agencies, Health sciences libraries, Information services, Libraries, Library collection development, Library services, Management

Annotation: This book is primarily focused on libraries that provide services to physicians and other professional patient caregivers. The two introductory chapters describe the current state of health care libraries and provide an overview of the health care environment. Chapters 3-9 provide guidance on the overall management of the library. Chapters 10-14 cover basic operational and technical aspects of providing library services, including information services and resources, collection development, access to resources, and document delivery. Chapters 15 and 16 focus on audiovisual services and health information for patients and consumers. The book also contains many figures and an index.

Contact: Neal-Schuman Publishers, 50 East Huron, Chicago, IL 60611, Telephone: (866) 672-6657 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.neal-schuman.com Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 1-5570-397-6.

Keywords: Administration, Health sciences libraries, Information services, Libraries, Management, Reference materials, Resources for professionals

Annotation: This guide for health information outreach programs presents a programmatic and goal-oriented approach to outreach, in which activities are directed toward the accomplishment of goals and objectives. The six stages described in this manual show how the various phases of evaluation are integrated into the whole process of planning and implementing outreach activities. The six stages covered are: 1) conducting a community assessment; 2) developing goals and objectives; 3) planning activities and strategies; 4) planning evaluation; 5) gathering data and assessing results; and 6) utilizing and reporting results. Extensive flow charts, charts, and tables illustrate the topics. The appendices are arranged by process stage and include sample surveys, questions, formats, theories, and a bibliography. The guide concludes with an index.

Contact: National Network of Libraries of Medicine, Pacific Northwest Region, University of Washington, Health Sciences Bldg, Rm T227, 1949 NE Pacific Avenue, Box 357155, Seattle, WA 98195-7155, Telephone: (206) 543-8262 Secondary Telephone: (800) 338-7657* Fax: (206) 543-2469 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://nnlm.gov/pnr Single copies available at no charge; also available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Case studies, Evaluation methods, Goals, Health sciences libraries, Information services, Libraries, Manuals, National Library of Medicine, Needs assessment, Outreach, Program planning, Questionnaires, Surveys

Annotation: This book is intended for professional librarians who are responsible for collection development, particularly in health sciences libraries. Chapters cover various aspects of collection development, including policies, selection of books and journals, and selection of electronic resources. The book offers information about materials selection in special settings, such as reference, audiovisual, consumer health, rare book, and history of medicine collections. In addition, chapters cover budgeting, collection assessment, cooperative collection development, preservation, and research questions in collection development. Appendices contain examples of collection development policies. Also included are a bibliography, glossary, and index.

Contact: Scarecrow Press, 4501 Forbes Blvd., Suite 200, Lanham, MD 20706, Telephone: (301) 459-3366 Secondary Telephone: (800) 462-6420 Fax: (301) 429-5748 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.scarecrowpress.com Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-8108-3201-1.

Keywords: Health sciences libraries, Information services, Libraries, Library collection development, Library services, Management

Annotation: This book describes how to plan and manage the operations of a health sciences library. It covers the role of biomedical journals in the dissemination of medical information and the role of the library in providing access to them; indexing and abstracting services; using MEDLINE and other electronic bibliographic networks; the tasks associated with developing the collection, acquiring and cataloging materials, and computerizing biomedical information; reference services and sources, and the general working environments of health sciences librarians.

Contact: Greenwood Publishing Group, Customer Service Department, 130 Cremona Drive , Santa Barbara, CA 93117, Telephone: (805) 968-1911 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.greenwood.com Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-313-29761-4.

Keywords: Cataloging, Health sciences libraries, Information networks, Information systems, Library collection development, Library services, Management, Reference services

Annotation: This book provides information and guidance on developing and managing information resources and services for nurses in a variety of settings, including clinical units and centers, laboratories and learning resource centers, and nursing libraries in hospitals, colleges, and universities. It provides resources to answer frequent and recurring queries from nurses and nursing school librarians and provides an overview of issues and practical advice relating to the development, management, and provision of information services. Chapters include information on administration; information and educational services; collection development and evaluation; cataloging and processing; special collections; preservation; learning resource centers, computer laboratories, and clinical simulation laboratories; and a review of the programs and services of the National Library of Medicine. An index concludes the book.

Contact: NLN Press, Jones and Bartlett Publishers, 40 Tall Pine Drive, Sudbury, MA 01776, Telephone: (800) 832-0034 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.jbpub.com Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-88737-729-7.

Keywords: Health sciences libraries, Information services, Laboratories, Libraries, Library collection development, Nurses, Nursing education, Reference materials, Resource centers, Resources for professionals

Annotation: This book provides information about the operation, programming, and goals of a library in a pediatric setting. The second edition includes guidelines for serving an increasingly large number of preschool-age, technology-dependent, and chronically ill children. Services discussed include story hours, read-aloud times, book carts, bibliotherapy, poetry writing, a family health resource center, and community outreach. Lists of books for children and of books and other resources for adults are included.

Contact: Scarecrow Press, 4501 Forbes Blvd., Suite 200, Lanham, MD 20706, Telephone: (301) 459-3366 Secondary Telephone: (800) 462-6420 Contact Phone: (800) 537-7107 Fax: (301) 429-5748 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.scarecrowpress.com Available in libraries.

Keywords: Bibliotherapy, Children, Children', Coping, Health sciences libraries, Hospitalization, Reading, s literature

Annotation: This book provides guidance in the development and operation of consumer health information services in the hospital and community environments. Part I discusses current trends in medical consumerism and the nature of the library response over the past decade. Part II describes 13 programs, including those in public libraries, academic medical centers, hospital libraries, medical society libraries, and special libraries. Part III discusses collection development and reference services. Part IV describes health information services in Canada, the United Kingdom, Australia, and New Zealand.

Keywords: Consumer education, Health education, Health sciences libraries, Information services, Management

Annotation: This shelf classification scheme provides an alpha-numerical system for arranging materials on maternal and child health in a library or resource collection. Sections of the scheme cover these topics: (A) women's health; (B) infant and child health; (C) adolescent health; (D) nutrition; (E) injury and violence prevention; (F) chronic illnesses and disabling conditions; (G) special health needs; (H) genetic services; and (J) public health programs and services. An alphabetical index is included. The classification is updated periodically. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Photocopy available at no charge.

Keywords: Classification, Health sciences libraries

Annotation: This handbook serves as a practical manual reflecting accepted current methods for organizing and providing service from information resources to users of health science libraries of all types. It is aimed at the recent recruit from library school, the transfer from other areas of librarianship, and the student preparing to be a health science librarian. The three volumes cover public services, technical services, and librarianship and administration.

Contact: Scarecrow Press, 4501 Forbes Blvd., Suite 200, Lanham, MD 20706, Telephone: (301) 459-3366 Secondary Telephone: (800) 462-6420 Contact Phone: (800) 537-7107 Fax: (301) 429-5748 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.scarecrowpress.com Available in libraries.

Keywords: Health sciences libraries, Manuals

Annotation: This issue of Library Trends offers an exploration of prospects, challenges, and newly created services at various libraries providing online support to remote users. The topics discussed are using computerized monitoring to study remote use, marketing the library's role in services to remote users, needs and expectations of remote users, off-campus library support for distance adult learners, remote users of health sciences libraries, Web information services, service perspectives for the remote digital library reference services, patron initiated interlibrary loan, and online services to corporate users.

Contact: University of Illinois Press, 1325 South Oak Street, Champaign, IL 61820, Telephone: (217) 333-0950 Fax: (217) 244-8082 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.press.uillinois.edu/ $18.50 including shipping and handling.

Keywords: Adult education, Distance education, Health sciences libraries, Information systems, Library services, Marketing, World Wide Web