Skip Navigation

Strengthening the evidence for maternal and child health programs

Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 20 (1,157 total).

National Center for Clinical Infant Programs. n.d.. Infancy in the eighties: Social policy and the earliest years of life. Washington, DC: National Center for Clinical Infant Programs, 20 pp.

Annotation: This small pamphlet summarizes new knowledge about infant and toddler development and its impact on public policy. New research findings and clinical experience can be used to increase the effectiveness of legislation affecting children and families, programs for health screening, disease prevention and related issues for families, and public and private policies toward parents in the workplace.

Contact: ZERO TO THREE: National Center for Infants, Toddlers and Families, 1255 23rd Street, N.W., Suite 350, Washington, DC 20037, Telephone: (202) 638-1144 Contact Phone: (202) 638-0840 Fax: (202) 638-0851 Web Site: http://www.zerotothree.org

Keywords: Family support services, Health policy, Infant health services, Policy development

Larsen,B. n.d.. Symbolic logic: A promising decision making tool. Minneapolis, MN: [University of Minnesota, School of Public Health], Systems Development Project, 25 pp. (Quantods series no.: 1-8 (5))

U.S. Indian Health Service. n.d.. Indian health manual: Professional services—Dental. Rockville, MD: U.S. Indian Health Service, 1 v.

Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services, Missouri Oral Health State Plan Workgroup, and Missouri Coalition for Oral Health. [2020]. Missouri oral health plan 2020-2025. Jefferson City, MO: Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services, 18 pp.

Annotation: This report provides information about Missouri's 2020–2025 oral health plan. The report includes a plan overview and eight goals: (1) support and enhance access to preventive oral health services and appropriate emergency dental care; (2) provide up-to-date, evidence-based oral health information and best practices to health professionals and oral health professionals, (3) support development of the oral health workforce; (4) identify, investigate, monitor, and report on oral health problems, determinants, and disparities; (5) coordinate and participate in policy development aimed at improving oral health in Missouri; (6) implement and collaborate with programs that focus on oral-disease prevention; (7) increase awareness to reduce oral health disparities across the lifespan; and (8) implement, evaluate, and report on the 2020–2025 plan. Activities are described for each goal.

Contact: Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services, 1730 East Elm, P.O. Box 570, Jefferson City, MO 65102-0570, Telephone: (573) 751-6400 Fax: (573) 751-6041 E-mail: info@dhss.mo.gov Web Site: http://www.dhss.mo.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: , Access to health care, Missouri, Oral health, Prevention, Program coordination, Public policy, State programs

Ruderman M. 2020. Children's vision and eye health: A snapshot of current national issues (2nd ed.). Chicago, IL: National Center for Children's Vision & Eye Health at Prevent Blindness, 47 pp.

Annotation: This report is a compilation of research, survey data, and best practices that outlines the landscape for children's vision and eye health in the United States. Contents include information about the prevalence and impact of vision disorders in U.S. children, receipt of vision screening for infants and children from birth through age 17, and state approaches to ensuring children's vision and eye health. Additional topics include vision screening rates and requirements by state, pediatric vision benefits available under the Affordable Care Act, what is included in a strong vision health system of care, and model children's vision legislation. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Prevent Blindness America, 211 West Wacker Drive, Suite 1700, Chicago, IL 60606, Telephone: (800) 331-2020 E-mail: info@preventblindness.org Web Site: http://www.preventblindness.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescents, Children, Costs, Health care reform, Health insurance, Health status, Policy development, Prevalence, Preventive health services, Primary care, Reimbursement, Research, Screening, Service integration, Standards, State programs, State surveys, Statistical data, Systems development, Vision, Vision disorders

National Conference of State Legislatures. 2020. Children's health insurance program overview. Denver, CO: National Conference of State Legislatures, 1 v.

Annotation: This website provides information about the history and current status of the Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP), including information about coverage for pregnant women. State examples and additional resources about federal and state CHIP policy are also included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Conference of State Legislatures, 7700 East First Place, Denver, CO 80230, Telephone: (303) 364-7700 Fax: (303) 364-7800 Web Site: http://www.ncsl.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Children's Health Insurance Program, Federal initiatives, Legislation, Policy development, Pregnant women, State programs

Po J, Brindis CD, Adams S, Teipel K, Park MJ, Sieving R. 2020. Improving young adult health: State and local strategies for success. San Francisco, CA: National Adolescent and Young Adult Health Information Center, 36 pp.

Annotation: This document presents key strategies that states can adopt to improve young adult health: (1) collect data and adopt a young adult measure; (2) build collaborative networks; (3) provide training on young adult health; (4) create targeted programs; and (5) use innovative outreach. Strategies are based on a review of young adult (YA) health policies and programs across all 59 states and territories and interviews with Title V leadership in states that have adopted a YA measure. The document includes lessons learned, resources, and methods.

Contact: National Adolescent and Young Adult Health Information Center, University of California, San Francisco, LHTS Suite 245, Box 0503, San Francisco, CA 94143-0503, Telephone: (415) 502-4856 Fax: (415) 502-4858 E-mail: nahic@ucsf.edu Web Site: http://nahic.ucsf.edu Available from the website.

Keywords: Health policy, Health programs, State initiatives, Young adults

National Rural Health Association. 2020. Compendium of rural oral health best practices. Kansas City, MO: National Rural Health Association, 26 pp.

Annotation: This compendium presents programs designed to improve access to high-quality oral health care in rural communities and shares best practices related to providing oral health services in these communities. The compendium is divided into topic areas: workforce development and training, care integration, telehealth, clinical, and policy and national models. Each topic area highlights specific programs and provides information on the program purpose, a program summary, and information on the program's efficacy and impact.

Contact: National Rural Health Association, 521 East 63rd Street, Kansas City, MO 64110, Telephone: (816) 756-3140 Fax: (816) 756-3144 E-mail: mail@NRHArural.org Web Site: http://www.ruralhealthweb.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Health care delivery, Oral health, Programs, Public policy, Rural population, Telemedicine, Training

Edelstein BL, Perkins J, Vargas CM. 2020. The role of law and policy in increasing the use of the oral health care system and serivces. Washington, DC: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, 99 pp.

Annotation: This report is part of the Healthy People 2020 Law and Health Policy Project, which seeks to increase awareness about the role law and policy play in improving health. The report concentrates on oral health and focuses where possible on state, tribal, and local settings. Topics include financing oral health care, the government's role in the oral health workforce, challenges in accessing available oral health care, recommendations for additional research, and emerging trends and issues.

Contact: U.S. Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, 1101 Wootton Parkway, Suite LL100, Rockville, MD 20852, Fax: (240) 453-8282 E-mail: odphpinfo@hhs.gov Web Site: https://health.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Government role, Laws, Local government, Oral health, Public policy, Regulations, State legislation

Meek S et al. 2020. Start with equity: From the early years to the early grades--Data, research, and an actionable child equity policy agenda. Phoenix, AZ: Children's Equity Project; washington, DC: Bipartisan Policy Center, 140 pp.

Annotation: This resource focuses on three policy areas with the potential to transform early learning experiences and close opportunity gaps: harsh discipline and its disproportionate application; the segregation of children with disabilities in learning settings; and inequitable and inadequate access to bilingual learning opportunities for dual language and English learners. It addresses ages birth through five and grades kindergarten through 5. It is accompanied by briefs for each topic.

Contact: Children's Equity Project, Arizona State University, T. Denny Sanford School of Social and Family Dynamics, Phoenix, AZ Web Site: https://childandfamilysuccess.asu.edu/cep Available from the website.

Keywords: Early childhood education, Mental health, Public policy

Cole PA, Schaffner M. 2020. Building for the future: Strong policies for babies and families after COVID-19. Arlington, VA: Zero to Three, 48 pp. (exec.summ. 8 pp.).

Annotation: This policy report brings together the landscape for babies and families before the pandemic as revealed in the State of Babies Yearbook: 2020 as well as observations on how they have been faring during the pandemic and economic upheaval, and the policy gaps that left families of color and with low income particularly vulnerable. Areas covered include: (1) getting the response right matters; (2) good health; (3) strong families; (4) positive learning experiences; and (5) our babies can't wait.

Contact: ZERO TO THREE: National Center for Infants, Toddlers and Families, 1255 23rd Street, N.W., Suite 350, Washington, DC 20037, Telephone: (202) 638-1144 Fax: (202) 638-0851 Web Site: http://www.zerotothree.org

Keywords: Families, Infant health, Public policy

North Carolina Oral Health Collaborative. [2019]. 2019-2024 strategic plan: A roadmap for oral health equity & access in NC. Cary, NC: North Carolina Oral Health Collaborative, 25 pp.

Annotation: This document offers strategies for developing an effective oral health system in North Carolina and identifies three strategic priorities: advance systemic change, influence policy, and increase organizational effectiveness. For each priority, goals, sub-goals, and targeted actions are presented. A strategic planning overview and a timeline are included.

Contact: North Carolina Oral Health Collaborative, Foundation for Health Leadership & Innovation, Cary, NC Telephone: 919-589-7524 Web Site: http://www.oralhealthnc.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, North Carolina, Oral health, Public policy, State initiatives, Strategic plans

Center for Connected Health Policy. 2019-. State telehealth laws & reimbursement policies. Sacramento, CA: Center for Connected Health Policy, semi-annual.

Annotation: This report provides a guide to telehealth-related policies, laws, and regulations for all states and the District of Columbia. The report contains information about Medicaid fee-for-service and managed care policies. Telehealth policies are organized into three areas: Medicaid reimbursement; private payer law; and professional regulation, health, and safety. Within these category areas, topic focuses include modality of reimbursement (for Medicaid); requirements and parity (for private payer law); and licensing, consent, and online prescribing (for professional regulation/health and safety).

Contact: Center for Connected Health Policy, 2520 Venture Oaks Way, Suite 180, Sacramento, CA 95833, E-mail: info@cchpca.org Web Site: https://www.cchpca.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Legislation, Managed care, Oral health, Medicaid, Public policy, Regulations, Telemedicine

Wisconsin Oral Health Coalition. 2019. Check-up on oral health: A call to action. Milwaukee, WI: Children's Health Alliance of Wisconsin, Wisconsin Oral Health Coalition, 5 pp.

Annotation: This document provides information about the importance of oral health throughout the lifespan, the economic costs of oral disease and oral health disparities, and efforts to improve access to preventive oral health services in Michigan. Topics include gains made in increasing access statewide through the expansion of Healthy Kids Dental, a public-private partnership between the Michigan Department of Community Health and Delta Dental; maintenance of dental benefits for adults enrolled in Medicaid; community water fluoridation; and dental sealants.

Contact: Children's Health Alliance of Wisconsin, 620 South 76th Street, Suite 120, Milwaukee, WI 53214, Telephone: (414) 292-4000 Secondary Telephone: (414) 337-4561 Fax: (414) 231-4972 Web Site: https://www.chawisconsin.org/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Adults, Barriers, Children, Coalitions, Community action, Dental sealants, Fluorides, Health care disparities, Infants, Life course, Medicaid, Michigan, Older adults, Oral health, Policy development, Preventive health services, Public private partnerships, State programs, Statewide planning, Water, Wisconsin

Fleming E. 2019. State dental screening laws for children: Examining the trend and impact—An update to the 2008 report. Washington, DC: Children's Dental Health Project, 17 pp.

Annotation: This report discusses whether state dental screening laws have expanded since the original report was published in 2008 and the degree to which these laws are advancing broader goals to improve access to oral health care and reduce oral disease. The report provides background information on how dental screening laws can serve as a policy approach to ensure that children are ready for school, reviews methods and results, and offers a discussion and recommendations.

Contact: Children's Dental Health Project, 1020 19th Street, N.W., Suite 400, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 833-8288 Fax: (202) 331-1432 E-mail: info@cdhp.org Web Site: https://www.cdhp.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Dental caries, Health screening, Oral health, Public policy, School readiness, State legislation, State programs, Young children

Children’s Partnership and the Pacific Center for Special Care. 2019. From pilot to systems change: Integrating the virtual dental home into California's system of oral health care for children. Los Angeles, CA: Children's Partnership , 6 pp.

Annotation: This issue brief provides information about the effectiveness of the virtual dental home in meeting the oral health care needs of California’s children who are underserved. The brief summarizes the evolution of policies that have supported the spread of the virtual dental home throughout California and identifies what is needed to integrate this model into oral-health-care-delivery systems in California to improve access to services for children and families.

Contact: Children's Partnership, 1351 Third Street Promenade, Suite 206, Santa Monica, CA 90401-1321, Telephone: (310) 260-1220 Fax: (310) 260-1921 E-mail: frontdoor@childrenspartnership.org Web Site: http://www.childrenspartnership.org Available from the website.

Keywords: California, Child health, Low income groups, Oral health, Public policy, State programs

Children's Dental Health Project. 2019. Medicaid dental guidance to states: An opportunity to aim for equity. Washington, DC: Children's Dental Health Project, 14 pp.

Annotation: This report is intended to assist advocates in capitalizing on information in a 2018 Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services information bulletin that explains how state agencies administering Medicaid and the Children’s Health Insurance Program can better address children’s oral health needs. The report explains why the bulletin is important and discusses opportunities to improve oral health care for children. Strategies for implementing change are discussed, and a checklist for advocates is provided.

Contact: Children's Dental Health Project, 1020 19th Street, N.W., Suite 400, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 833-8288 Fax: (202) 331-1432 E-mail: info@cdhp.org Web Site: https://www.cdhp.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Advocacy, Access to health care, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral health, Public policy, State Children's Health Insurance Program, State agencies

Bauerly BC. 2019. Policy frameworks supporting school-based dental sealant programs and their application in Minnesota. St. Paul, MN: Network for Public Health Law, 13 pp. (Oral health issue brief)

Annotation: This brief identifies innovative laws and policies that could encourage consideration, adoption, and implementation of state-level school-based dental sealant programs. The brief examines the state of the law as it relates to such programs in Minnesota. Topics include considerations for forming partnerships between schools and oral health professionals, overcoming policy barriers, and statewide coordination.

Contact: Network for Public Health Law, 875 Summit Avenue, St. Paul, MN 55105, Telephone: (651) 695-7749 Fax: (651) 695-7749 Web Site: https://www.networkforphl.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Dental sealants, State programs, Legislation, Minnesota, , Oral health, Public policy, School health programs

Amah G, Jura M, Mertz E. 2019. Practice patterns of postgraduate dental residency completers from select long-term HRSA-funded primary dental care training programs. Rensselaer, NY: Oral Health Workforce Resource Center, 54 pp.

Annotation: This report describes a study conducted to examine practice patterns of graduates of primary care dental postgraduate training programs with a history of Health Resources and Services Administration funding. The study aims were to assess the impact of graduates’ training experience on current practice patterns and subsequent patient access to care and to measure the long-term impact of these programs on improving dentists’ capacity to meet the needs of those who are underserved. The report provides background and discusses study methods, findings, and limitations. A discussion of the findings, including information about policy implications, is included.

Contact: Oral Health Workforce Research Center, New York Center for Health Workforce Studies, University of Albany, SUNY, School of Public Health, 1 University Place, Suite 220, Rensselaer, NY 12144-3445, Telephone: (518) 402-0250 Fax: (518) 402-0252 Web Site: http://www.oralhealthworkforce.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Dental schools, Dentists, Graduate education, Low income groups, Oral health, Public policy, Research

Kreuger J. 2019. Medical-dental integration in Minnesota: Benefits from changes in law and policy. St Paul, MN: Network for Public Health Law, 8 pp. (Oral health issue brief)

Annotation: This brief summarizes the emergence of a conceptual framework for medical-dental integration and describes the need to address practical and legal barriers to integration to promote emerging strategies to encourage increased collaboration among oral health professionals and non-oral-health professionals in Minnesota. The brief describes ways that medical-dental integration can take place, provides a national and a Minnesota context, discusses models of integrated care and barriers and strategies in law and policy, and provides examples of medical-dental integration.

Contact: Network for Public Health Law, 875 Summit Avenue, St. Paul, MN 55105, Telephone: (651) 695-7749 Fax: (651) 695-7749 Web Site: https://www.networkforphl.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Collaboration, Minnesota, Oral health, Public policy, Service integration, State programs

    Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.