Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: [This blog focuses on health information issues related to the community, especially underserved communities. Entries include information on providing health information services, health assessments, diseases and chronic conditions, monthly health awareness observances, new mobile applications (apps), health advice and tips, as well as federal health agencies' news.

Contact: National Network of Libraries of Medicine, 8600 Rockville Pike, Building 38, Room B1-E03, Bethesda, MD 20894, Telephone: (800)338-7657 Web Site: http://nnlm.gov/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Health agencies, Health observances, Information services, Prevention services, Public awareness campaigns, Public health

Annotation: This website provides information about NICHD outreach efforts since 1974, including the Back to Sleep Campaign, that have been addressed to various audiences including Spanish-speaking individuals, African-American and American Indian/Alaska Native communities, and nurses and other health care providers. It also discusses new trends in outreach.

Contact: Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development, P.O. Box 3006, Rockville, MD 20847, Telephone: (800) 370-2943 Secondary Telephone: (888) 320-6942 Fax: (866) 760-5947 Web Site: https://www.nichd.nih.gov/Pages/index.aspx Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Health observances, Public awareness campaigns, SIDS

Annotation: This poster promotes Child Health Day for 2007 and advertises the Bright Futures web site.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org

Keywords: Adolescents, Child Health Day, Children, Health observances, Health supervision, Posters, Prevention

Annotation: This guide is designed to help individuals, organizations, and communities develop campaigns that recognize, promote, and encourage healthy behaviors regardless of the health issues. The guide includes an overview of the field of health education, information about organizing and planning for National Health Education Week 2006, and a tool kit for celebrating safe communities and schools. The guide also includes seven appendices: a fact sheet on childhood injury and violence prevention, additional health legislation resources, information about the Society for Public Health Education and the National Center for Health Education, a list of Coalition for National Health Education organizations, and National Health Education Week contest and application forms and an evaluation form.

Contact: Society for Public Health Education, 10 G Street, N.E., Suite 605, Washington, DC 20002, Telephone: (202) 408-9804 Fax: (202) 408-9815 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.sophe.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Communities, Health, Health education, Health observances, Injury prevention, Legislation, Media campaigns, Schools, Violence prevention

Annotation: This tool kit, which is geard toward educators, health professionals, community organizers, youth leaders, and caregivers, is intended to encourage readers to develop activities that promote this year's Child Health Month theme: healthy lifestyles. . . it's all in the balance. The kit contains a fall 2004 Child Health Month newsletter, activity tips and ideas, a list of resources and interactive Web sites, tip sheets, a daily meal planner and grocery checklist, fact sheets, and an activity participation form.

Contact: Association for Children of New Jersey, 35 Halsey Street, Newark, NJ 07102, Telephone: (973) 643-3876 Fax: (973) 643-9153 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.acnj.org/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child health, Health observances, Nutrition, Physical activity, Public awareness campaigns, Resource materials

Annotation: This tool kit contains information and materials for promoting National Public Health Week, April 4-11, 2004. The overview provides a general overview of public health and public health week, gives examples of community solutions, and suggests activities and approaches. The tools for planning events include tips for creating town hall meetings, press conferences, and arranging on-site visits. The section on media advocacy provides key messages and sample news releases and radio spots. Tools for legislative advocacy include sample letters, telephone scripts, talking points, and meeting pointers. Facts sheets are provided on general health disparities, cancer, diabetes, the environment, disparities by gender, health literacy, heart disease, HIV/AIDS, infant mortality, racial or ethnic disparities and rural area disparities. Additional resources and an evaluation are also included.

Contact: American Public Health Association, 800 I Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20001-3710, Telephone: (202) 777-2742 Secondary Telephone: Fax: (202) 777-2534 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.apha.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Advocacy, Community participation, Ethnic factors, Geographic factors, Health literacy, Health observances, Health promotion, Local initiatives, Mass media, Press releases, Public awareness campaigns, Public awareness materials, Public health, Public service announcements, Racial factors, Resource materials

Annotation: This kit provides information on National Child Health Day, held on October 1, 2001, which focused on children with special health care needs and their families. The kit includes a promotion guide and poster, fact sheets and reproducibles, and supplemental materials.

Contact: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Division of Services for Children with Special Health Needs, Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-2170 Secondary Telephone: (301) 945-9842 Web Site: http://mchb.hrsa.gov/maternal-child-health-topics/children-and-youth-special-health-needs Available at no charge.

Keywords: Child health, Children with special health care needs, Families, Health observances, Posters, Public awareness campaigns

Annotation: This packet provides ideas and information to assist in planning and promoting National Child Health Day as part of Child Health Month. The theme for 2000 is Early Childhood, Launching Healthy Futures and is intended to raise awareness that the first five years of a child's life are crucial to his/her physical, mental, and social development. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Bibliographies, Child health promotion, Early childhood development, Early intervention, Guidelines, Health observances, Media campaigns, Pamphlets, Parent education, Posters

Annotation: This poster lists the time, place, and speakers for a Child Health Day colloquium on inhalant abuse. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-2170 Web Site: https://mchb.hrsa.gov

Keywords: Adolescents, Child Health Day, Children, Health observances, Inhalants, Posters, Substance abuse

Annotation: This poster announces a presentation about National Child Health Day in 1997, listing time, place, and speakers. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-2170 Web Site: https://mchb.hrsa.gov

Keywords: Adolescent health, Child Health Day, Health observances, Posters, Smokeless tobacco, Smoking, Smoking cessation, Tobacco use

Annotation: This packet contains materials promoting Child Health Day 1996, which focused on violence prevention. The packet includes the history of Child Health Day; and fact sheets on the U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, the Children's Safety Network, and the Emergency Medical Services for Children program. Other fact sheets cover violence prevention in schools, preventing firearm injuries, state and local initiatives on violence prevention, suicide prevention, lists of publications, and bumper stickers.

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Price unknown.

Keywords: Child health, Health observances, Violence prevention

Annotation: This packet contains materials promoting Child Health Day, October 2, 1995, which focused on violence prevention. The packet includes the history of Child Health Day, and fact sheets on the U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, the Children's Safety Network, and the Emergency Medical Services for Children program. Other fact sheets and brochures cover firearms and safety, child abuse and neglect, building safe communities, and bibliographies. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, Contact Fax: xxx E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Photocopy available at no charge.

Keywords: Child abuse, Child health, Child neglect, Community action, Firearm safety, Firearms, Health observances, Public awareness campaigns, Public awareness materials, Violence prevention

Annotation: This booklet provides information which can be used to promote oral health, the focus of World Health Day, April 7, 1994. It includes a message from the Director-General of the World Health Organization (WHO), background articles on oral health, statistics on oral health conditions, the addresses of WHO offices around the world, promotional materials for two videotapes, and the rules for a board game that promotes oral health.

• Link

Keywords: Health observances, Health promotion, Oral health, Statistics

Annotation: This resource booklet provides materials for promoting World Health Day, April 7, 1994, which focuses on oral health. It emphasizes the correlation between oral health and a person's general health and notes progress in achieving better oral health. The booklet reviews challenges in the United States and reports on oral disease among school children, adults, and the elderly. It includes information on oral diseases and risk factors, the dangers of using tobacco, patterns in oral health around the world, and particular challenges in developing countries. It presents future initiatives, reviews basic points in oral care, and provides information on promoting and participating in the 1994 World Health Day observations. The booklet is available in English and Spanish.

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• English
• Spanish

Keywords: Developing countries, Health observances, Health promotion, Oral health, Spanish language materials, United States

Annotation: This information package contains materials designed to be used in planning activities for Child Health Month (October). The purpose of the Children: Our Future campaign is to raise public awareness about child health issues. The theme of the campaign is prevention, and the specific focus of the campaign is major health issues affecting children where prevention can make a difference; these vary from year to year and include such topics as injuries, violence, disease, and substance abuse. Packets contain brochures, reproducible masters, order forms, stickers, and other materials.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Contact E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.aap.org Price unknown.

Keywords: Child health promotion, Child nutrition, Child safety, Health observances, Injury prevention, Media campaigns, Motor vehicle safety, Parent education, Substance abuse prevention

Annotation: This packet of materials was used to promote Child Health Day 1993. It includes the history of Child Health Day, a sample proclamation that can be used by a state or city, a description of the Bright Futures project, an outline of Child Health Month at a glance, and fact sheets on injury prevention, immunization, and substance abuse prevention. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available for loan. Document Number: HRSA Info. Ctr. MCHG049.

Keywords: Child health, Disease prevention, Health observances

Annotation: The 1992 Child Health Day was celebrated on October 5. Each year the celebration of Child Health Day focuses national attention on an important issue affecting the well-being of children. This year the theme was childhood immunization. This packet was produced to help child advocates throughout the nation plan events tailored to their own communities around this theme. It consists of articles, flyers, fact sheets, a poster, a pamphlet, and a bibliography.

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available for loan. Document Number: HRSA Info. Ctr. MCHF015.

Keywords: Child health, Health observances, Immunization, Immunization programs, Infant health

Annotation: These framed prints describe the importance of children in American society and proclaim the first Monday in October to be Child Health Day. Each is signed by the U.S. President. This series covers 1991-2001 (George H.W. Bush, William Clinton, and George W. Bush).

Contact: White House, Executive Office of the President, 1600 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W., Washington, DC 20500, Web Site: http://www.whitehouse.gov/administration/eop

• Recent Proclamations
• Set Of Presidential Proclamations From Washington To Current President

Keywords: Child Health Day, Child advocacy, Child welfare, Children, Health observances, History

Annotation: This publication provides an annual listing of special months, weeks, or days that promote particular health concerns. The presentation varies yearly; some use a chronological list for each month; some are displayed as calendars, and some use both formats. The chronological lists include the sponsoring organization's name, address and phone number, contact name, and types of materials that are available to promote the event. The lists are occasionally supplemented by information on federal health information centers and clearinghouses, and toll-free phone numbers providing access to health information. The publication has been issued as part of the Healthfinder series, as a special issue of "Prevention Report, " and as a separate document.

Contact: National Health Information Center, Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, 1101 Wootton Parkway, Suite LL100, Rockville, MD 20852, Fax: (240) 453-8281 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.health.gov/nhic Available at no charge.

• Link

Keywords: Clearinghouses, Federal programs, Health observances, Health promotion, Hotlines., Resource centers

Annotation: This packet was designed to assist individuals and groups planning activities for Child Health Day 1991, which focused on preventing injuries to children. It includes historical information about Child Health Day, a listing of landmark injury prevention events, an annotated bibliography of recent reports on injury, selected statistics, strategies for community action, a sample proclamation, a sample news release, and sample public service announcements for radio which can be adapted, lists of organizations dealing with injury prevention, and a reproducible letterhead with a unifying element for Child Health Day 1991. It contains an order form for a videotape (available free of charge) entitled "It Can't Happen to My Child: Understanding and Preventing Childhood Injuries," and an order form for injury-related publications available from the National Maternal and Child Health Clearinghouse.

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available for loan. Document Number: HRSA Info. Ctr. MCHE034 (VHS video), MCHE035 (3/4" video).

Keywords: Children, Educational materials, Health observances, Injuries, Injury prevention, Outreach