Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: These fact sheets for families in Head Start programs cover a variety of health topics related to children. Topics include active play, health literacy, understanding and using health information, healthy breathing at home (asthma prevention), healthy eating, mental health, oral health, and safety and injury prevention. The materials are available in Amharic, Arabic, Armenian, Burmese, Chinese, English, Hmong, Marshallese, Polish, Somali, Spanish, Vietnamese, and Yiddish.

Contact: Early Childhood Learning and Knowledge Center, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Head Start, Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (866) 763-6481 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://eclkc.ohs.acf.hhs.gov Available from the website.

• English
• Spanish

Keywords: Asthma, Child safety, Consumer education materials, Families, Head Start, Health literacy, Health promotion, Injury prevention, Mental health, Nutrition, Oral health, Physical activity, Play, Smoking, Spanish language materials, Young children

Annotation: This lunch box provides parents with information about oral health and healthy eating choices and practices. The lunch box is illustrated with drawings that promote good oral health and good nutrition and contains a “Dental Care in a Carrot” case made to include a toothbrush, toothpaste, dental floss, and a rinse cup. Ordering information; downloadable files, including a description of the program, a 5-day lesson guide for teachers, and an outline of the lessons; a video about the program; and other supplemental materials are available on the website. The lunch box is also available in Braille.

Contact: Children's Oral Health Institute, 9199 Reisterstown Road, Suige 203A, Owings Mills, MD 21117, Telephone: (866) 508-7400 Fax: (410) 356-8574 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.mycohi.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Curricula, Educational materials, Health literacy, Oral health, Prevention, School health programs

Annotation: This course provides a definition of health literacy and discusses how health literacy and oral health literacy are measured, the role of oral health literacy in promoting oral health, and access to oral health care in private practice and in public health settings. The course describes ways that oral health literacy can influence long-term oral health outcomes and how oral-health-literate approaches can be integrated into private and public health organizations.

Contact: American Association of Public Health Dentistry, 136 Everett Road , Albany, NY 12205, Telephone: (518) 694-5525 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.aaphd.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Health literacy, Oral health, Professional training, Public health, Service delivery

Annotation: This handout for health professionals provides tips on how to write oral health materials that are easy for people to understand. It includes ideas about words to use and not to use, tone, voice (active vs. passive), and layout. Effectively using headings and lists is also discussed, along with the best way to write sentences and paragraphs to make the text simple and clear. How to incorporate technical words, when necessary, is explained. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Communication, Health literacy, Linguistic competence:, Oral health, Oral health equity

Annotation: This resource guide features materials on policy; professional education, tools, and training; program development; and public education. Examples of materials include a report offering guiding principles that can help Head Start staff promote health literacy, a paper discussing challenges in integrating oral health care and primary care for populations with low health literacy, and a guide describing a program that encourages parents to have a nighttime routine that includes helping their young child brush their teeth and reading a book to their child before bed. A list of relevant organizations is included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Consumer education, Health literacy, Oral health, Professional education, Program development, Resources for professionals, Training

Annotation: This toolkit offers evidence-based guidance to help health professionals make health information easier to understand and act on, make health care easier to navigate, and increase support for people of all health literacy levels. Contents include 23 tools addressing the following five domains: path to improvement, spoken communication, written communication, self-management and empowerment, and supportive systems. Additional contents include resources such as sample forms, PowerPoint presentations, and assessment tools.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov Available from the website. Document Number: AHRQ Publication no. 23-0075.

• Link

Keywords: Communication, Empowerment, Forms, Health care systems, Health literacy, Patient care, Primary care, Resources for professionals, Self care, Social support

Annotation: This report offers guiding principles that can help Head Start staff promote health literacy in their programs. The report focuses on seven core concepts: capacity, content, equity, dissemination, feedback, practice, and evaluation. Programs can use the principles to increase their capacity to implement health-literate practices and evaluate the principles’ effectiveness.

Contact: National Center on Health, Behavioral Health, and Safety, Telephone: (88) 227-5125 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://eclkc.ohs.acf.hhs.gov/about-us/article/national-center-health-behavioral-health-safety-nchbhs Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Communication skills, Health care disparities, Health equity, Health literacy, Intervention

Annotation: This framework is designed to prioritize equitable access to basic health information and services. It discusses why equity-centered health communication is important and presents three phases in making progress toward such communication. The phases include (1) understanding the issues, (2) co-creating accessible products, and (3) implementing health communication interventions.

Contact: CommunicateHealth, 20 Courthouse Square, Rockville, MD 2080, Telephone: (413) 582-0425 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://communicatehealth.com Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Head Start, Health equity, Health literacy, Low income groups, Program development, Program evaluation, Young children

Annotation: This video discusses why health literacy is an overarching goal of Healthy People 2030 and explains what health literacy means. It also considers how organizations and professionals can improve their oral health literacy, why universal-health-literacy approaches benefit everyone, and how health professionals can use health-literacy strategies to encourage people to take part in health care decisions. In addition, it addresses how clear communication between health professionals and patients can improve health literacy and how being health literate can help people make informed decisions to improve their health.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 200 Independence Avenue, S.W., Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (202) 619-0257 Secondary Telephone: (877) 696-6775 Web Site: http://www.hhs.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Communication, Consumer education, Health literacy, Oral health, Videorcordings

Annotation: This framework describes the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services’ (CMS’s) plan to incorporate health equity and efforts to address health disparities as a foundational element across all its work. It discusses five priority areas: (1) expand the collection, reporting, and analysis of standardized data; (2) assess causes of disparities within CMS programs and address inequalities in policies and operations; (3) build capacity of health care organizations and the workforce to reduce health and health care disparities; (4) advance language access, health literacy, and the provision of culturally tailored services; and (5) increase access to health care and coverage.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Secondary Telephone: (410) 786-3000 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Federal programs, Health equity, Health literacy, Policy, Statistical data

Annotation: This summary describes a symposium that highlighted the career of Dr. Alice M. Horowitz and her contributions to the emergence and growth of oral health as a focus in the health literacy field and to charting a course for continued action. The summary includes symposium objectives and descriptions of presentations and breakout sessions.

Contact: University of Maryland School of Public Health, Horowitz Center for Health Literacy, Dean's Office, SPH Building, Room 2367, University of Maryland, College Park, MD 20742, Telephone: (301) 405-2356 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://sph.umd.edu/research-impact/research-centers/horowitz-center-health-literacy Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Conferences, Health literacy, Oral health, Proceedings

Annotation: This paper examines four barriers to accessing oral health care in Richmond, Virginia, that the Community Partners in Oral Health identified: (1) cost of oral health coverage and care; (2) availability of care; (3) issues related to culture, language, and health; and (4) health literacy and awareness about care options. To overcome each barrier, strategies at the community, clinic, public health system, and policy levels are listed.

Contact: Virginia Health Catalyst, 4200 Innslake Drive, Suite 103, Glen Allen, VA 23060, Telephone: (804) 269-8720 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://vahealthcatalyst.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Costs, Health literacy, Oral health, Oral health equity, Public policy, State information, Virginia

Annotation: This plan is intended to serve as a roadmap for organizations and individuals to promote oral health in Kansas. The plan focuses on four goals related to (1) financing, (2) systems collaboration, (3) oral health literacy, and (4) the oral health workforce. Goal 4, objective 1, focuses on promoting oral health awareness in schools by providing school nurses with training and tools.

Contact: Kansas Department of Health and Environment, Bureau of Oral Health, Curtis State Office Building, 1000 S.W. Jackson Street, Suite 200, Topeka, KS 66612-1274, Telephone: (785) 296-5116 Web Site: https://www.kdhe.ks.gov/619/Oral-Health Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Collaboration, Health literacy, Health promotion, Kansas, Oral health, School health, State information, Strategic plans

Annotation: This guide provides tips on how oral health professionals can make their practices more health-literate to improve compliance with oral hygiene instructions and treatment recommendations, reduce the number of missed appointments, and minimize calls to the office. It discusses how to learn about health-literacy resources, assess a practice’s oral health literacy, and effectively communicate with patients.

Contact: American Dental Association, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-2678, Telephone: (312) 440-2500 Fax: (312) 440-7494 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ada.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Communication, Health literacy, Oral health, Oral health equity, Oral hygiene, Treatment

Annotation: This plan was created with a vision of empowering all South Dakotans to embrace oral health as a critical component of overall health and well-being throughout life. The plan includes the following goals: improve oral health literacy and awareness of the importance of oral health; prevent oral diseases; increase the availability, accessibility, and use of oral health care; and coordinate state oral health efforts. For each goal, objectives and strategies are presented.

Contact: South Dakota Oral Health Coalition, South Dakota Dental Association, 804 N. Euclid Avenue, Suite 103, Pierre, SD 57501, Telephone: (605) 224-9133 Web Site: https://www.sddental.org/public-resources/oral-health-coalition Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Health care utilization, Health literacy, Oral health, Prevention, Service coordination, South Dakota, State materials

Annotation: This toolkit for oral health professionals provides an overview of oral health literacy and why it matters, as well as tools for improving dental practices’ ability to communicate clearly and effectively. Resources include a guidebook, a dental-practice-assessment checklist, a tip sheet explaining the teach-back method, a brochure explaining what to expect during a dental visit, and an oral-health-literacy action plan for dental practices.

Contact: California Oral Health Technical Assistance Center, University of California, San Francisco, 707 Parnassus Avenue, Box 0758, San Francisco, CA Web Site: https://oralhealthsupport.ucsf.edu Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Brochures, Communication skills, Guidelines, Health literacy, Oral health

Annotation: This state oral health plan (SOHP) outlines steps that the MIchigan Oral Health Coalition (MHOC) can take over the next four years to positively impact oral health in the state. The plan describes MHOC and the Michigan Department of Health and Human Services, the SOHP development and discovery process, and SOHP implementation. Other topics include optimal oral health foundational principles; oral health equity; and SOHP goals, strategies, and activities.

Contact: Michigan Oral Health Coalition, 106 W. Allegan Street, Suite 310, Lansing, MI 48933, Telephone: (517) 827-0466 Fax: (517) 381-8008 Web Site: http://www.mohc.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Health literacy, Michigan, Oral health, Oral health equity, Prevention, State information, Strategic plans

Annotation: This video series highlights motivational interviewing skills and techniques that health professionals can use to encourage patients to take care of their oral health. Videos discuss using open- and close-ended questions and the ask-tell-ask method with patients, engaging patients in agenda and goal setting, using questions and reflections while discussing patient values, and following up with patients.

Contact: CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, 465 Medford Street, Boston, MA 02129-1454, Telephone: (617) 886-1700 Web Site: https://www.carequest.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Communication, Followup, Goals, Health literacy, Oral health, Values, Videos

Annotation: This report summarizes findings and recommendations for increasing the cultural, linguistic, and health literacy competency of health professionals and health care delivery organizations throughout Maryland. Contents include recommendations for cultural competency standards and tiered reimbursement for medical and behavioral service settings, standards for multicultural health in patient-centered medical homes and other health care settings, and standards for continuing education in cultural competency for health care professionals.

Contact: Maryland Department of Health, 201 West Preston Street, Baltimore, MD 21201, Telephone: (410) 767-6500 Secondary Telephone: (877) 463-3464 Web Site: http://www.dhmh.maryland.gov Available from the website.

• 2013-2020 Report
• 2019-2020 Update

Keywords: Access to health care, Continuing education, Cultural competence, Cultural diversity, Equal opportunities, Family centered care, Health care delivery, Health care disparities, Health disparities, Health literacy, Language barriers, Maryland, Medical home, Reimbursement, Standards, Work force

Annotation: This paper examines the ways that health literacy affects (1) patients’ decision-making about their oral health, oral health care, and dental insurance; (2) oral health professionals’ communications with patients, staff, and the community; and (3) dental insurance companies’ development and provision of dental insurance plans. It discusses health literacy in dental practices, health literacy training, and social determinants of health and oral health.

Contact: Delta Dental Institute, 301 New York Avenue, N.W., Suite 310W, Washington, DC 20001, Web Site: https://www.deltadental.com/institute/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Health equity, Health insurance, Health literacy, Health services, Oral health, Training