Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This directory lists federal maternal and child health information centers arranged by topic. Each entry includes annotations.

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org

Keywords: Child health, Federal government, Information centers, Maternal health

Annotation: This report examines the use of technology to overcome barriers to learning. Topics include information systems management, multimedia aids to facilitate intervention, in situ and distance learning, and model programs and guides. A list of additional references is also included. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Center for Mental Health in Schools, UCLA School Mental Health Project, Box 951563, Los Angeles, CA 90095-1563, Telephone: (310) 825-3634 Secondary Telephone: (866) 846-4843 Fax: (310) 206-8716 E-mail: smhp@ucla.edu Web Site: http://smhp.psych.ucla.edu Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Barriers, Education, Information systems, Intervention, Learning, Mental health, Model programs, Technology

Annotation: This project was designed to improve the ability of State Maternal and Child Health Programs to: (1) effectively implement Title V of the Social Security Act; (2) coordinate with other related Federal programs; and (3) develop creative approaches for utilizing other such programs to meet the needs of mothers, children, adolescents, children with special health care needs, and families. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: customerservice@ntis.gov Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-196897.

Keywords: Access to Health Care, Coordination of Health Care, Data Collection, Information Dissemination, Medicaid, PL 99-457, Social Security Act, Title V, State MCH directors, WIC Program

Annotation: This project sought to reduce the rate of unintentional injuries and deaths among Native American adolescents in New Mexico and the Southwest. Specific goals were to: (1) Improve existing data bases on deaths and disabilities from unintentional injuries among Native American teens; (2) improve culturally relevant injury prevention materials and methodologies for these teens; (3) improve the knowledge, attitudes, and prevention practices regarding unintentional injuries among this population; (4) increase the availability of injury prevention materials and methodologies in Native American junior and senior high schools; and (5) increase the quality and quantity of injury prevention services provided to these teens by health care and tribal agencies. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: customerservice@ntis.gov Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-199206.

Keywords: Southwestern United States, Adolescents, American Indians, Data Bases, Indian Health Service (IHS), Information Clearinghouses, Injuries, Injury Prevention, Mortality

Annotation: The goals of this project were to: (1) Develop and demonstrate office-based models that assure comprehensive services through the medical home for all children, especially those served under Part H of P.L. 99-457; (2) promote effective linkages and coordination of care between the medical home and early intervention service providers through community forums; and (3) gather, develop, and disseminate nationally creative strategies that promote comprehensive care through the medical home. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: customerservice@ntis.gov Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB97-121-891.

Keywords: Children with Special Health care Needs, Early Intervention, Information dissemination, Medical Home, Minority Groups, PL 99-457, Service Coordination

Annotation: The project's goals were to: (1) Develop and implement structures and processes in defined community areas to plan and implement a family-centered, community-based health care delivery system for children; (2) develop data system capacity and function statewide to ensure family-centered, community-based primary care services for children; and (3) share experiences in family-centered, community-based system change in the area of primary health care for children with other State, regional, and national maternal and child health providers. At the State level, strategies were directed toward developing a system of children's primary health care delivery that was family centered and community based. At the local level, child health steering committees in established projects were to continue to plan and implement child health system changes in their service areas. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Access to Health Care, Child Mortality, Community Based Health Services, Databases, Family Centered Health Care, Information Systems, Primary Care, Standards of Care, State Programs

Annotation: The project objectives were to: (1) Develop community capability to increase breastfeeding incidence and duration through education and advocacy, specifically through Breastfeeding Action Teams composed of Title V and other health professionals; (2) incorporate breastfeeding promotion and lactation management into curriculums of student/resident health professionals; and (3) establish a clearinghouse of breastfeeding resources at the Best Beginnings Program at Kansas University Medical Center, to be available to health care providers statewide. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: customerservice@ntis.gov Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB97-121842.

Keywords: Advocacy, Breastfeeding, Breastfeeding Promotion, Curricula, Health Promotion, Information Services, Information Sources, Patient Education

Annotation: This resource provides a geographic representation of child health in the United States. Contents include national and state-specific data on pediatric health care delivery at the Primary Care Service Area level. A range of maps is available including the number of children under age 18 per pediatrician, the number of children in linguistically-isolated households, median household income, the number of pediatric residents and fellows, and estimated vaccine coverage rates. An interactive mapping tool is available to members of the American Academy of Pediatrics.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Children, Data sources, Geographic regions, Health care disparities, Immunization, Integrated information systems, Interactive media, Language barriers, Low income groups, Patient care planning, Pediatricians, Statewide planning, Work force

Annotation: This 2023–2027 state oral health plan for Ohio was designed to guide actions taken by policymakers, advocates, educators, providers, and funders in the state. The plan's vision is that all Ohioans will have optimal oral health during every stage of life. The plan includes background on the issue, purpose, and progress; information on taking action to achieve the plan's vision; and key findings. zzz

Contact: Oral Health Ohio, 720 E. Pete Rose Way, Suite 120, Cincinnati, OH 45202, Telephone: (513) 768-6137 Web Site: https://www.oralhealthohio.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Health care utilization, Ohio, Oral health, Prevention, Public policy, State information, State programs

Annotation: This snapshot provides information about how states can increase access to oral health care by supporting, strengthening and expanding their oral health workforce. The snapshot presents five things to know about access to oral heat care and the oral health workforce. It also presents for opportunities for states to consider to strengthen their oral health workforce.

Contact: National Conference of State Legislatures, 7700 East First Place, Denver, CO 80230, Telephone: (303) 364-7700 Fax: (303) 364-7800 Web Site: http://www.ncsl.org

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Low income groups, Oral health, Racial and ethnic factors, State information, Work force

Annotation: This environmental scan provides information about facilitators of and barriers to integrating oral health into primary care for pregnant women and children in community health centers that are part of the Networks for Oral Health Integration Within the Maternal and Child Health Safety Net in Arizona. The scan provides background information about oral health in Arizona. It addresses the following topics as they pertain to Arizona: fluoride varnish application; fluoride varnish billing; dental hygienist, therapist, and assistant scopes of practice; teledentistry; community water fluoridation; state strengths related to allowable activities for dental hygienists; and opportunities. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: OHRCinfo@georgetown.edu Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Arizona, Community health centers, Fluoride, Oral health, Pregnant women, Primary care, Service integration, State information

Annotation: This environmental scan provides information about facilitators of and barriers to integrating oral health into primary care for pregnant women and children in community health centers that are part of the Networks for Oral Health Integration Within the Maternal and Child Health Safety Net in Colorado. The scan provides background information about oral health in Colorado. It addresses the following topics as they pertain to Colorado: fluoride varnish application; fluoride varnish billing; dental hygienist, therapist, and assistant scopes of practice; teledentistry; community water fluoridation; state strengths related to allowable activities for dental hygienists; and opportunities. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: OHRCinfo@georgetown.edu Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Colorado, Community health centers, Fluoride, Oral health, Pregnant women, Primary care, Service integration, State information

Annotation: This environmental scan provides information about facilitators of and barriers to integrating oral health into primary care for pregnant women and children in community health centers that are part of the Networks for Oral Health Integration Within the Maternal and Child Health Safety Net in Montana. The scan provides background information about oral health in Montana. It addresses the following topics as they pertain to Montana: fluoride varnish application; fluoride varnish billing; dental hygienist, therapist, and assistant scopes of practice; teledentistry; community water fluoridation; state strengths related to allowable activities for dental hygienists; and opportunities. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: OHRCinfo@georgetown.edu Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Community health centers, Fluoride, Montana, Oral health, Pregnant women, Primary care, Service integration, State information

Annotation: This environmental scan provides information about facilitators of and barriers to integrating oral health into primary care for pregnant women and children in community health centers that are part of the Networks for Oral Health Integration Within the Maternal and Child Health Safety Net in Wyoming. The scan provides background information about oral health in Wyoming. It addresses the following topics as they pertain to Wyoming: fluoride varnish application; fluoride varnish billing; dental hygienist, therapist, and assistant scopes of practice; teledentistry; community water fluoridation; state strengths related to allowable activities for dental hygienists; and opportunities. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: OHRCinfo@georgetown.edu Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Community health centers, Fluoride, Oral health, Pregnant women, Primary care, Service integration, State information, Wyoming

Annotation: This brief offers information about community members’ attitudes in several states about oral health. It discusses how important it is to community members to get a dental check-up, compared with a medical check-up; how important it is to parents that their child has good oral health; and how institutional and structural factors limit community members’ access to clear information about oral health. Also discussed are community members’ understanding of the importance of oral health to overall health and how the COVID-19 pandemic has impacted their attitudes about getting oral health care.

Contact: Community Catalyst, Dental Access Project, 30 Winter Street, 10th Floor, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 338-6035 Fax: (617) 451-5838 E-mail: info@communitycatalyst.org Web Site: http://www.communitycatalyst.org/projects?id=0014 Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Attitudes, COVID-19, Communities, Disease transmission, Health information, Infectious diseases, Oral health, Underserved communities, Virus diseases

Annotation: This roadmap presents four goals toward achieving oral health equity for young children in Colorado. For each goal, an introduction and context, a set of associated strategies, proposed actions for each strategy, a suggested timeline, a list of potential partners, and a workbook are included. The roadmap also includes information about Colorado’s early childhood oral health system, especially for communities of color, and information about related frameworks, plans, and recommendations.

Contact: Early Milestones Colorado, 1536 Wynkoop St #902, Denver, CO 80202, Telephone: (720) 639-9000 Web Site: https://earlymilestones.org/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Children, Colorado, Health care systems, Health equity, Oral health, State information

Annotation: This report provides information from a study that examined Arizona Health Care Cost Containment System health claims data to determine patterns of use of well-child medical visits and dental services in Arizona children enrolled in Medicaid from April 2016 to March 2020. The report introduces the issue and discusses methods. Results are presented on the following topics: demographic data of the study sample, days since the last dental or well child visit benefit was used, distance traveled to health care visit, procedure groupings by age group, access points to dental care by race, and a care-utilization model with presence of 1+ claims as the outcome variable.

Contact: CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, 465 Medford Street, Boston, MA 02129-1454, Telephone: (617) 886-1700 Web Site: https://www.carequest.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Age factors, Arizona, Health insurance, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral health, Racial factors, State information, Statistical data

Annotation: This report describes a study to inform policy decisions to improve access to and use of oral health care in Arkansas and to establish baseline measures for coverage and use indicators. Topics include data sources, key findings, study demographics and dental insurance coverage profile, use of care, fluoride varnish applications, dental sealant applications, use of oral health care in medical care settings, hospital emergency department use among uninsured individuals, population-to-active-dentist ratio profile, tooth-extraction-related opioid-prescribing profile, and future research.

Contact: Arkansas Center for Health Improvement, 1401 W. Capitol Avenue, Suite 300 (Victory Building), Little Rock, AR 72201, Telephone: (501) 526-2244 Web Site: https://achi.net/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Arkansas, Data, Dental sealants, Fluoride, Health care utilization, Health insurance, Oral health, Public policy, State information, Uninsured persons

Annotation: This report offers a snapshot of states’ experiences with implementing strategies to address NPM 13. It presents challenges, lessons learned, and accomplishments in promoting preventive dental visits for pregnant women and children and adolescents, ages 1 through 17. The report introduces the topic and provides background; presents information about the Title V Maternal and Child Health Services Block Grant Program; and discusses methods, limitations, results, and next steps for states.

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: OHRCinfo@georgetown.edu Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Dental care, Oral health, Pregnant women, Prevention, State information

Annotation: This report provides information about oral health care for tribes in Oklahoma and steps that are being taken to improve access to care for this population. It explains what the Indian Health Service is and how services are reimbursed. It also discusses Oklahoma Medicaid’s addition of a dental benefit, its plans to transition to managed care, and its tribal consultation policy.

Contact: National Academy for State Health Policy, 10 Free Street, Second Floor, Portland, ME 04101, Telephone: (207) 874-6524 Secondary Telephone: (202) 903-0101 Fax: (207) 874-6527 E-mail: info@nashp.org Web Site: http://www.nashp.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Community health, Medicaid, Native Americans, Oklahoma, Oral health, State information