Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This issue brief provides background information on rural healthcare access and focuses attention on the need for national, state, and community-based organizations to collaborate on developing an action plan to improve access to maternal health care and improve outcomes for rural women and their babies. It addresses the challenges that rural women face before, during, and after pregnancy and highlights promising approaches and opportunities to improve maternal health care in rural communities. Six case studies address several factors contributing to problems accessing maternal health care in rural communities, including workforce shortages and access to care challenges associated with social determinants of health. They illustrate efforts to stabilize rural hospital obstetrical services, regionalization and coordination of care, quality improvement initiatives, training and guideline development, provider recruitment and retention strategies, and expansion of care models

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Secondary Telephone: (410) 786-3000 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov

• PDF

Keywords: Barriers, Case studies, Health care access, Health equity, Maternal health, Rural health, Rural population, Statistics

Annotation: This program is intended for dentists, dental assistants, dental hygienists, dental specialists, and other oral health professionals interested in learning about culturally and linguistically appropriate services. The program aims to provide professionals with the knowledge, skills, and awareness they need to provide high-quality oral health services to everyone, regardless of their cultural or linguistic background. The program also aims to support the implementation of National Standards for Culturally and Linguistically Appropriate Services (CLAS) in Health and Health Care.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 200 Independence Avenue, S.W., Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (202) 619-0257 Secondary Telephone: (877) 696-6775 Web Site: http://www.hhs.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Diversity, Health care delivery, Health care disparities, Health equity, Oral health, Oral health equity, Professional education

Annotation: This website offers a collection of resources focused on improving the health and well-being of children and youth with special health care needs and their families by enhancing the patient/family-centered medical home. Included are tools for medical home implementation; care coordination materials, health equity resources; Information for families and caregivers; state and national initiatives; and promising program models.

Contact: National Resource Center for Patient/Family-Centered Medical Home, American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (847) 434-7605 Secondary Telephone: (800) 433-9016, ext. 7605 Web Site: https://www.aap.org/en/practice-management/medical-home

• Link

Keywords: Care coordination, Family centered care, Federal initiatives, Health equity, Medical home, Patient education materials, Professional education, State initiatives

Annotation: This tool was developed to assist states in their efforts to improve their capacity to integrate oral health care and primary care for pregnant women. The purpose of the tool is to help state oral health program staff assess systems-level capacity factors and prioritize needs. Staff can use the tool to consider factors that facilitate integration of oral health care and primary care for pregnant women and to look for opportunities to improve integration. A companion brief with more information on the tool’s development is also available. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• Pdf Version
• Word Version

Keywords: Oral health, Oral health equity, Pregnant women, Primary care, Service integration, State programs

Annotation: This collection of online tools is intended to accelerate the work of communities, coalitions, and funders in strategically assessing their efforts, identifying opportunities, and committing to actions aimed at assuring conditions that lead to optimal births for all people. The tools include: (1) The Birth Equity Action Map, which describes actions needed by specific birth equity partners to improve birth and racial equity; (2) the Birth Equity Ecosystem Map, which visualizes the factors and conditions needed to achieve equitable outcomes; and (3) the Birth Equity Iceberg, which offers insights on the barriers that perpetuate inequitable outcomes and limit efforts to advance birth equity.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Barriers, Childbirth, Health care systems, Health equity, Racism

Annotation: This report discusses minimally invasive care (MIC), how state Medicaid agencies' support of MIC can contribute to improving oral health, and opportunities for these agencies to support the availability of MIC through payment strategies that encourage oral health professionals to use this approach to providing care. Topics include what MIC is, avenues toward supporting it, supporting an expanded oral health workforce, promoting opportunities for clinical integration, and identifying oral health Medicaid payment strategies. Spotlights describing programs that use MIC are included.

Contact: Center for Health Care Strategies, 200 American Metro Boulevard, Suite 119, Hamilton, NJ 08619, Telephone: (609) 528-8400 Fax: (609) 586-3679 Web Site: http://www.chcs.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Health care delivery, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral health, Oral health equity, Reimbursement, Service integration

Annotation: This brief provides information about MORE Care, an Ohio program conducted by Health Ohio and CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, in partnership, to improve children's oral health and reduce costly, invasive dental procedures by advancing value-based care and integrating oral health care into primary care. The brief describes how the program works, offers information about Health Ohio and CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, and presents an example of how MORE Care is being implemented.

Contact: CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, 465 Medford Street, Boston, MA 02129-1454, Telephone: (617) 886-1700 Web Site: https://www.carequest.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Costs, Health care delivery, Low income groups, Ohio, Oral health, Oral health equity, Prevention, Primary care, Service integration, State programs

Annotation: This handout for health professionals provides tips on how to write oral health materials that are easy for people to understand. It includes ideas about words to use and not to use, tone, voice (active vs. passive), and layout. Effectively using headings and lists is also discussed, along with the best way to write sentences and paragraphs to make the text simple and clear. How to incorporate technical words, when necessary, is explained. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Communication, Health literacy, Linguistic competence:, Oral health, Oral health equity

Annotation: This brief highlights state approaches and innovations to support equitable systems of care for children and youth with special health care needs (CYSHCN).

Contact: National Academy for State Health Policy, 10 Free Street, Second Floor, Portland, ME 04101, Telephone: (207) 874-6524 Secondary Telephone: (202) 903-0101 Fax: (207) 874-6527 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nashp.org

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents with special health care needs, Children with special health care needs, Health equity, Policy development, Public policy, State initiatives

Annotation: This roadmap presents goals and action steps to promote the ability of health professionals working in the areas of primary care, mental health, behavioral health, emergency care, sexual/reproductive health, and dentistry to serve people with intellectual and/or developmental disabilities (IDD) equitably and effectively. Topics include the need for a national strategy to improve health care for people with IDD, initiatives to improve training for health professionals, building the roadmap, building consensus, priority action steps, and accrediting bodies for health care facilities.

Contact: Institute for Exceptional Care, 1717 K Street, N.S., Suite 900, Washington, DC 20006, Telephone: (202) 843-9260 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.ie-care.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Health equity, Oral health, Oral health equity, Special health care needs, Training

Annotation: This starter kit contains resources to help health centers better understand health equity as a broad framework to explain and address structural factors, social determinants of health, and health disparities. The kit includes a collection of innovative strategies, as well as examples of data and measures to track and evaluate health equity efforts. A 13-minute video offers an overview of the starter kit as well as tips for easily navigating through the available tools and resources.

Contact: Health Outreach Partners, 405 14th Street, Suite 909, Oakland, CA 94612, Telephone: (510) 268-0091 Fax: (510) 268-0093 E-mail: http://outreach-partners.org/contact Web Site: http://outreach-partners.org/

• Link

Keywords: Community health centers, Community organizations, Health equity, Models, Outreach, Social determinants of health

Annotation: This resource for professionals provides actionable guidance that encourages collaboration across diverse sectors to address and improve inequities and maternal health outcomes. It provides examples of partnerships that leverage new ideas and resources, including innovative approaches to gathering and using data; highlights policies and practices that are improving the health and well-being of birthing people and children across the United States; and includes stories from birthing people and women about their pregnancy and childbirth experiences. Graphics and sample text for social media posts are also provided.

Contact: Maternal Health Learning and Innovation Center , University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Chapel Hill, NC Web Site: https://maternalhealthlearning.org/

• Link
• PDF

Keywords: Prenatal care, Advocacy, Childbirth, Colllaboration, Community action, Data, Health equity, Maternal health, Models, Policy, Pregnancy, Resources for professionals

Annotation: This guide presents an overview of inequities in access to health care and insurance coverage in the U.S. and highlights policy and accountability levers that advocates and other change-makers can use to advance equity. Among the topics addressed are providers and service delivery, financing, barriers to obtaining health insurance, barriers to accessing health care, disparities in coverage, accountability and oversight, and policies and actions that could lesson barriers. Links to additional sources of information are included.

Contact: Urban Institute, 2100 M Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20037, Telephone: (202) 833-7200 Fax: (202) 467-5775 E-mail: http://www.urban.org/about/contact.cfm Web Site: http://www.urban.org

• PDF

Keywords: Access to care, Barriers, Health care disparities, Health equity, Health insurance, Initiatives, Policy, Uninsured persons

Annotation: This guide presents an overview of the Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP), including system inequities, and highlights policy and accountability levers that advocates and other change-makers can use to advance equity. Among the topics addressed are financing, providers and service delivery, barriers to accessing and maintaining CHIP coverage, barriers to accessing health care services in CHIP, accountability and oversight, and policies and actions that could lesson barriers. Links to additional sources of information are included.

Contact: Urban Institute, 2100 M Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20037, Telephone: (202) 833-7200 Fax: (202) 467-5775 E-mail: http://www.urban.org/about/contact.cfm Web Site: http://www.urban.org

• PDF

Keywords: Access to care, Barriers, Children', Health care disparities, Health equity, Initiatives, Policy, s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: This toolkit introduces community-based strategies for addressing vaccine equity, drawing lessons from the Association of State and Territorial Health Officials' Vaccine Equity Project. It provides guidance on partnering with community organizations, tailoring outreach to diverse populations, and implementing evidence-based practices to increase vaccination rates among racial and ethnic minority groups and in rural areas. The document outlines key strategies, shares case studies and insights from community action agencies, and includes a comprehensive resource section with tools for advancing vaccine equity. It emphasizes the importance of trust-building, addressing social determinants of health, and planning for program sustainability. The toolkit is intended for state and territorial health agencies and other organizations working to improve equity in public health initiatives.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org

• PDF

Keywords: Community participation, Health equity, Outreach, Vaccination

Annotation: This report provides information about the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services' (CMS) Oral Health Cross-Cutting Initiative (CCI), which works across the agency to enhance alignment of and focus on oral health in CMS programs and policies. CCI seeks to achieve equal access to oral health care, eliminate persistent oral health disparities, expand access to oral health services, foster collaborative engagement with stakeholders, and use data analytics and innovation to inform policy priorities. The report discusses key results and oral health analytics: data- and evidence-driven insights.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Secondary Telephone: (410) 786-3000 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Collaboration, Data, Medicaid, Medicare: Initiatives, Oral health, Oral health equity, Public policy

Annotation: This toolkit provides guidance for healthcare organizations to assess and improve health equity among children with medical complexity (CMC) and their families in service delivery settings. It outlines an eight-step process for conducting health equity assessments at the patient level, emphasizing the importance of participatory approaches that involve caregivers, youth, families, providers, and community organizations. The toolkit addresses the unique challenges faced by CMC and their families, including social complexity factors such as poverty, housing instability, and transportation barriers that can impact their ability to navigate systems of care. Content is released on a rolling basis with ongoing updates to the roadmap and resources.

Contact: AcademyHealth, 1150 17th Street, N.W., Suite 600, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 292-6700 Fax: (202) 292-6800 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.academyhealth.org

• Link

Keywords: Assessment, Children with special health care needs, Evaluation methods, Health equity, Service delivery

Annotation: This brief provides key findings from the State of Oral Health Equity in America 2024 Survey, a nationally representative survey of over 9,000 adults’ attitudes, experiences, and behaviors related to oral health. Information is included about dental visits in the past year by home-ownership status, planned dental visits in the coming year by income level, emergency department visits for oral health care by educational attainment, having a dental home by health insurance status, self-rated oral health by sexual orientation, importance attached to cultural humility in oral health care by race, and importance attached to diversity in oral health care by income level.

Contact: CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, 465 Medford Street, Boston, MA 02129-1454, Telephone: (617) 886-1700 Web Site: https://www.carequest.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Behavior, Cultural competence, Dental care, Educational attainment, Emergency medical services, Health equity, Health insurance, Income factors, Oral health, Sexual identity, Surveys

Annotation: This webinar focuses on integrating community health workers (CHWs) into maternal mental health services. Cosponsored by Funders for Maternal Mental Health, the webinar explores how CHWs can help address maternal mental health conditions, which affect 1 in 5 expectant and postpartum mothers and disproportionately impact women of color and those living in poverty. Speakers include experts from the National Academy for State Health Policy, The Children's Partnership, California Department of Health Care Services, and Connecticut Office of Health Strategy. The session examines state financing strategies, implementation experiences from California and Connecticut, and opportunities for philanthropy to support CHW integration into healthcare systems through Medicaid and other public financing mechanisms.

Contact: Grantmakers In Health, 1100 Connecticut Avenue, N.W., Suite 1200, Washington, DC 20036-4101, Telephone: (202) 452-8331 Fax: (202) 452-8340 Web Site: http://www.gih.org

• Link

Keywords: Community health workers, Health equity, Maternal health, Mental health, State initiatives

Annotation: This report outlines state Medicaid policy recommendations to support mental health for mothers and babies during the 12-month postpartum period. It draws from an October 2023 meeting of Medicaid policy and maternal health experts to recommend concrete steps for state agencies in five key areas: enhancing primary care as a family hub, monitoring care connections, financing appropriate services, supporting workforce capacity, and prioritizing maternal and infant-early childhood mental health in Medicaid. The document examines recent federal policy changes and includes detailed implementation guidance for states adopting extended postpartum coverage. It aims to help states leverage Medicaid to advance health equity and improve mental health outcomes for mothers and infants in the critical year following birth.

Contact: Georgetown University McCourt School of Public Policy , Center for Children and Families, 600 New Jersey Avenue , Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 687-0880 Fax: (202) 687-3110 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://ccf.georgetown.edu

• Link

Keywords: Federal policy, Health equity, Infant health, Maternal health, Medicaid, Mental health, Postpartum care, State policy