Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This directory lists federal maternal and child health information centers arranged by topic. Each entry includes annotations.

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org

Keywords: Child health, Federal government, Information centers, Maternal health

Annotation: The goal of this project was to improve the knowledge base from which policymakers and program directors make decisions regarding implementation of community-based and home-based services for children with long-term health care needs. Strategies included a literature review, a review of current innovative home and community-based programs, and the dissemination of findings and recommendations by means of publications and a state-of-the-art conference. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB94-106358.

Keywords: Children, Chronically Ill, Community-Based Health Services, Data Collection from, Home-Based Health Care, Primary Care Centers, Technology Dependence

Annotation: This guide describes how Head Start and Early Head start programs can facilitate mental health screening and referrals for children and families. It explains how Head Start staff can prepare for the referrral and engage families in the process and facilitate the process once the referral has been made. A referral checklist and a guide to help facilitators locate mental health providers are included.

Contact: National Center on Early Childhood Health and Wellness, American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (888) 227-5125 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://headstart.gov/about-us/article/national-center-health-behavioral-health-safety-nchbhs

• Link

Keywords: Early Head Start, Families, Head Start Centers, Mental health, Referrals, Young children

Annotation: This guide for health center staff describes a set of interprofessional oral health core clinical competencies designed to foster integration of oral health care into primary care. The guide also provides information about three pilot projects’ experiences related to implementing the competencies. Contents include recommendations to inform planning, training systems, health information systems, clinical care systems, and evaluation systems.

Contact: National Network for Oral Health Access, 181 East 56th Avenue, Suite 410, Denver, CO 80216, Telephone: (303) 957-0635 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nnoha.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Barriers, Clinics, Community health centers, Interdisciplinary approach, Oral health, Primary care, Program development, Service integration, Systems development

Annotation: This starter kit contains resources to help health centers better understand health equity as a broad framework to explain and address structural factors, social determinants of health, and health disparities. The kit includes a collection of innovative strategies, as well as examples of data and measures to track and evaluate health equity efforts. A 13-minute video offers an overview of the starter kit as well as tips for easily navigating through the available tools and resources.

Contact: Health Outreach Partners, 405 14th Street, Suite 909, Oakland, CA 94612, Telephone: (510) 268-0091 Fax: (510) 268-0093 E-mail: http://outreach-partners.org/contact Web Site: http://outreach-partners.org/

• Link

Keywords: Community health centers, Community organizations, Health equity, Models, Outreach, Social determinants of health

Annotation: This data dictionary specifies elements required for data collection, analysis and reporting by the community health centers participating in the Rocky Mountain Network of Oral Health project (RoMoNOH). RoMoNOH focuses on primary prevention of dental caries in infants and children from birth to age 40 months and pregnant women who are receiving health care in participating community health centers (CHCs) throughout Arizona, Colorado, Montana, and Wyoming.

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• Excel Document

Keywords: Community health centers, Data analysis, Data collection, Infant health, Oral health, Pregnant women, Prevention, Young children

Annotation: In this podcast episode, host Christie Allen sits down with Dr. Andrea Greiner, a maternal-fetal medicine specialist at the University of Iowa, to discuss the unique challenges of rural maternity care. Dr. Greiner shares her experiences working at a perinatal regional center, offering insight into how larger facilities can support rural hospitals and providers. Together, they explore the importance of individualized care, the complexities of coordinating care across diverse healthcare settings, and the logistical hurdles rural patients face. The episode is part of the AIM for Safer Birth series of podcasts that dive deeper into the rising severe maternal morbidity and maternal mortality rates in the United States through a data-driven, quality improvement lens.

Contact: Alliance for Innovation on Maternal Health, 409 12th Street, S.W., Washington, DC 20024, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://saferbirth.org/

• Link
• Series Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Barriers, Coordination, Maternal health, Perinatal health, Regional factors, Regional medical centers, Rural health

Annotation: Podcast host Christie Allen talks with Amy Romano, founder and CEO of Primary Maternity Care. Romano, a nurse midwife with an MBA, who shares her experience blending clinical expertise with system-level healthcare leadership to revolutionize maternity care in rural communities. They discuss the critical role of freestanding birth centers, their capacity to offer low-risk, community-based care, and how these centers could be a key part of the solution to the growing issue of maternity deserts. Romano also dives into the challenges of regulatory barriers, the importance of risk-appropriate care, and the unique quality improvement strategies needed for safe community births. From pandemic-driven innovations to rethinking the future of rural maternity care, this episode is packed with actionable insights for improving maternal health outcomes in underserved areas. It is part of the AIM for safer Birth podcast series that dive deeper into the rising severe maternal morbidity and maternal mortality rates in the United States through a data-driven, quality improvement lens.

Contact: Alliance for Innovation on Maternal Health, 409 12th Street, S.W., Washington, DC 20024, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://saferbirth.org/

• Link
• Series Link

Keywords: Birthing centers, Childbirth, Maternal health, Quality assurance, Risk factors, Rural health, Safety, Underserved communities

Annotation: This chartbook provides information on facilitators of and barriers to integrating oral health care into primary care for pregnant women and children in Arizona. The chartbook provides data related to scope of practice for oral health professionals and other health professionals, Medicaid billing and reimbursement, dental hygienists, dental therapists, community health workers, and teledentistry. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Arizona, Community health centers, Fluoride, Oral health, Pregnant women, Primary care, Service integration, State information

Annotation: This chartbook provides information on facilitators of and barriers to integrating oral care into primary care for pregnant women and children in Colorado. The chartbook presents information on fluoride varnish application; fluoride varnish billing; dental hygienist, therapist, and assistant scopes of practice; teledentistry; community water fluoridation; state strengths related to allowable activities for dental hygienists; and opportunities. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Colorado, Community health centers, Fluoride, Oral health, Pregnant women, Primary care, Service integration, State information

Annotation: This chartbook provides information on facilitators of and barriers to integrating oral health into primary care for pregnant women and children in Montana. It provides information on fluoride varnish application; fluoride varnish billing; dental hygienist, therapist, and assistant scopes of practice; teledentistry; community water fluoridation; state strengths related to allowable activities for dental hygienists; and opportunities. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Community health centers, Fluoride, Montana, Oral health, Pregnant women, Primary care, Service integration, State information

Annotation: This chartbook provides information on facilitators of and barriers to integrating oral health care into primary care for pregnant women and children in Wyoming. The chartbook provides data related to scope of practice for oral health professionals and other health professionals, Medicaid billing and reimbursement, dental hygienists, dental therapists, community health workers, and teledentistry. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Community health centers, Fluoride, Oral health, Pregnant women, Primary care, Service integration, State information, Wyoming

Annotation: This guide describes strategies that community health centers can use to implement in-house dental-assistant-training programs. The guide presents background information and discusses things to consider when planning a training program, including evaluating the need for a program,engaging key stakeholders, selecting leaders, developing a budget,selecting trainers, establishing trainee requirements and recruitment strategies, and other considerations. The guide also includes a readiness assessment and examples of organizations that have established dental assistant career ladders.

Contact: National Network for Oral Health Access, 181 East 56th Avenue, Suite 410, Denver, CO 80216, Telephone: (303) 957-0635 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nnoha.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Careers, Community health centers, Dental assistants, Oral health, Training: Program planning

Annotation: This report focuses on a 2023 survey of community health center (CHC) dentists, dental hygienists, dental assistants, and executive leadership, with the purpose of providing information about and analysis of oral health team member salaries, satisfaction, and recruitment. The report introduces the issues and presents an overview of respondents. Also discussed are practice autonomy and working at a CHC, hours and accountability, salary and benefits, CHC conditions and experience, and job satisfaction.

Contact: National Network for Oral Health Access, 181 East 56th Avenue, Suite 410, Denver, CO 80216, Telephone: (303) 957-0635 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nnoha.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Dental assistants, Dental hygienists, Dentists, Health centers, Job satisfaction, Leadership, Oral health, Recruitment, Salaries, Surveys

Annotation: This assessment provides information for community health centers (CHCs) to help them determine their readiness for integrating oral health care and primary care. The assessment poses questions for CHC staff to answer and score. Questions relate to leadership vision and support, an integrated executive team, team member buy-in, champions, co-location, quality improvement, and integrated electronic health records. A scoring guide is included.

Contact: National Network for Oral Health Access, 181 East 56th Avenue, Suite 410, Denver, CO 80216, Telephone: (303) 957-0635 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nnoha.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Community health centers, Oral health, Primary care, Quality assurance, Service integration

Annotation: This evidence-to-action brief focuses on Action 1.4 of the White House Blueprint for Addressing the Maternal Health Crisis, which aims to strengthen risk-appropriate care in rural and urban areas by encouraging states to implement the CDC Levels of Care Assessment Tool (LOCATe). The document explains that LOCATe is a web-based, standardized assessment of birthing facilities that allows states to see the distribution of levels of care throughout the state, supporting perinatal regionalization to ensure pregnant people receive care in facilities with appropriate capabilities. It presents maternal mortality data showing significant racial disparities, with non-Hispanic Black women being 2.6 times more likely to experience maternal death compared to non-Hispanic White women in 2021, and highlights that more than 2.2 million women of childbearing age live in maternity care deserts. The document includes examples of state maternal health innovations and evidence-based strategies, emphasizing that risk-appropriate care implementation should occur alongside efforts to address unconscious racial bias in healthcare to effectively reduce severe maternal morbidity and mortality.

Contact: Maternal Health Learning and Innovation Center , University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Chapel Hill, NC Web Site: https://maternalhealthlearning.org/

• Link

Keywords: Birthing centers, Data, Health facilities, Maternal morbidity, Maternal mortality, Perinatal care, Prevention, Regional factors, Rural health, Standards, Urban health

Annotation: This set of national health and safety standards provides information about high-quality health and safety practices and policies for early care and education settings. Topics include staffing; program activities for healthy development; health promotion and protection; nutrition and food service; facilities, supplies, equipment, and environmental health; play areas, playgrounds, and transportation; infectious diseases; children with special health care needs and disabilities; policies; and licensing and community action. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Resource Center for Health and Safety in Child Care and Early Education, University of Colorado Denver, 13120 East 19th Avenue, Mail Stop F541, P.O. Box 6511, Aurora, CO 80045, Telephone: (800) 598-5437 (598-KIDS) Fax: (303) 724-0960 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://nrckids.org Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 1-58110-438-7 (American Academy of Pediatrics).

• Link

Keywords: Administrative policy, Child care centers, Child development centers, Child health, Child safety, Children, Early childhood development, Health promotion, Infant health, Infants, Model programs, Standards, Young children

Annotation: These guidelines contain a set of standards to advance the quality and safety of early care and education environments. It is a companion to Caring for Our Children: National Health and Safety Performance Standards -- Guidelines for Early Care and Education Programs, 3rd edition. Included are new and updated standards on on safe sleep, handling and feeding of human milk, introducing solid foods to infants, monitoring children's development, unimmunized children, preventing expulsions, and availability of drinking water. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Resource Center for Health and Safety in Child Care and Early Education, University of Colorado Denver, 13120 East 19th Avenue, Mail Stop F541, P.O. Box 6511, Aurora, CO 80045, Telephone: (800) 598-5437 (598-KIDS) Fax: (303) 724-0960 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://nrckids.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child care, Child care centers, Children with special health care needs, Facilities, Health promotion, Learning activities, Management, Nutrition, Out of home care, Personnel, Prevention, Safety, Spanish language materials , Standards

Annotation: This checklist and readiness assessment provides information to help community health centers determine whether teledentistry is an appropriate strategy for their center to implement and to assist in planning its implementation. It discusses leadership vision and support, infrastructure, policies, and protocols to review in evaluating whether to add teledentistry as a service.

Contact: National Network for Oral Health Access, 181 East 56th Avenue, Suite 410, Denver, CO 80216, Telephone: (303) 957-0635 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nnoha.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Community health centers, Health services, Oral health, Teledentistry

Annotation: This brief presents lessons learned and recommendations for maintaining and building on community health worker (CHW) deployment during the first 2 years of the COVID-19 pandemic. It discusses who CHWs are and what they do and provides information about the policy landscape, taking into consideration the American Rescue Plan Act’s allocation of funds for the public health workforce to support pandemic-relief efforts.

Contact: Families USA, 1225 New York Avenue, N.W., Suite 800, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 628-3030 Fax: (202) 347-2417 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.familiesusa.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: , COVID-19, Community health centers, Community health workers, Disease transmission, Financing, Infectious diseases, Oral health, Public policy, Virus diseases