Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This patient safety bundle provides actionable steps that can be adapted to a variety of health care facilities and resource levels to improve the quality of care and outcomes for patients with perinatal mental health conditions. It provides broad direction for incorporating perinatal mood and anxiety disorder screening, intervention, referral, and follow-up into maternity care practice across health care settings. Components include implementation details and resources, a data collection plan, an evidence-informed "change package," and learning modules.

Contact: Alliance for Innovation on Maternal Health, 409 12th Street, S.W., Washington, DC 20024, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://saferbirth.org/

• Link

Keywords: Data collection, Evidence-based medicine, Health care quality indicators, Health metrics, Maternal morbidity, Maternal mortality, Measures, Mental health, Perinatal care, Postpartum care, Prevention, Protocols, Quality improvement, Resources for professionals, Safety

Annotation: The Postpartum Discharge Patient Safety Bundle was revised in 2021 to incorporate respectful concepts and data collection tools. The bundle provides actionable steps that can be adapted to a variety of facilities and resource levels to improve quality of care and outcomes during a critical period in which patients are at risk for maternal morbidity and mortality. It emphasizes the importance of establishing systems for scheduling timely postpartum visits, screening for risk factors, providing standardized discharge education about warning signs including mental health concerns, and ensuring patients receive a comprehensive discharge summary. It also highlights the importance of coordinated clinical pathways between inpatient and outpatient settings, trauma-informed care, and addressing biases that affect quality of care. Bundle components include implementation details and resources, a data collection plan, an evidence-informed "change package," and learning modules.

Contact: Alliance for Innovation on Maternal Health, 409 12th Street, S.W., Washington, DC 20024, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://saferbirth.org/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Data collection, Evidence-based medicine, Health care quality indicators, Health metrics, Maternal morbidity, Maternal mortality, Measures, Postpartum care, Prevention, Protocols, Quality improvement, Resources for professionals, Safety

Annotation: These patient safety bundles are the core building blocks of the AIM program’s efforts to address the leading known causes of preventable severe maternal morbidity and mortality in the United States. Supported by quality metrics and measures through the AIM Data Center, each bundle provides actionable steps that can be adapted to a variety of facilities and resource levels to improve quality of care and outcomes for patients. Individual safety bundles cover the following: obstetric hemorrhage, severe hypertension in pregnancy, safe reduction of primary cesarean birth, cardiac conditions in obstetric care, care for pregnant and postpartum people with substance use disorder, perinatal mental health conditions, postpartum discharge transition, and sepsis in obstetric care. Some materials are available in English, Spanish, and French.

Contact: Alliance for Innovation on Maternal Health, 409 12th Street, S.W., Washington, DC 20024, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://saferbirth.org/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Evidence based medicine, Health care quality indicators, Health metrics, Maternal health, Maternal morbidity, Maternal mortality, Measures, Perinatal care, Postpartum care, Protocols, Quality improvement, Resources for professionals , Safety, prevention programs