Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.

Displaying records 1 through 20 (690 total).

Green G. n.d.. Systems development project integrated cost reporting system for Children and Youth projects: System users' documentation–Appendix to: Comment series no. 21—Calculating the cost of delivering health care in children and youth projects–A conceptual model and a case study. Minneapolis, MN: [University of Minnesota, School of Public Health], Systems Development Project, ca. 75 pp. (Comment series no.: 0-4 (21))

Annotation: This appendix to Comment Series no. 21 includes specimen reports, data collection documents with instructions, and sample instructions. These are designed for personnel involved in the data collection process for generating cost data to assist in the application of cost-benefit and cost-effectiveness studies in health care delivery and planning new health care facilities and programs for Children and Youth Program projects. This paper is part of the documentation and assessment of the effect of P.L. 89-97, Title II. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Children and Youth Projects, Comprehensive health care, Cost effectiveness, Data collection, Health care delivery

U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Genetic Services Branch. n.d.. Rules for the road: A handbook for consumers in leadership roles. Rockville, MD: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Genetic Services Branch,

Annotation: This handbook captures the values and beliefs of health care consumers in leadership positions in human services organizations. The handbook, which is available online only and may be printed, sets forth principles to help guide health care consumers as they assume leadership positions and provides guidance or negotiating issues that may come with their new roles. The handbook delineates eight fundamentals for practice and discusses each of them.

Contact: U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (888) 275-4772 Secondary Telephone: (877) 464-4772 Fax: (301) 443-1246 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Consumers, Health care, Leadership, Service delivery systems

National Quality Measures Clearinghouse. n.d.. Tutorials on quality measures. Rockville, MD: National Quality Measures Clearinghouse, multiple items.

Annotation: These tutorials provide an introduction to the field of quality measurement and how best to use resources available from the National Quality Measures Clearinghouse. Topics include quality care measures related to health care delivery and to population health; desired attributes, uses, selection, and validity of clinical quality measures; and finding care-coordination measures.

Contact: National Quality Measures Clearinghouse , Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality , 540 Gaither Road, Suite 2000 , Rockville, MD 20850, Telephone: (301) 427-1364 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.qualitymeasures.ahrq.gov/ Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Health care delivery, Measures, Public health, Quality assurance, Service coordination, Training

CrossBear S, LeGore S. n.d.. Family involvement in child-serving systems and the need for cross-system collaboration. Rockville, MD: U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, Center for Substance Abuse Treatment, 10 pp.

Annotation: This brief reviews what has been accomplished to date in the development of the family voice in all child-serving systems including substance abuse, mental health, child welfare, juvenile justice, trauma support, education, and primary care. The review indicates what needs to occur to create true cross-systems collaboration supporting family involvement, so that youth and their families can fully access the service and supports they need to obtain and maintain optimum health.

Contact: U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, One Choke Cherry Road, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (877) SAMHSA-7 Secondary Telephone: (877) 726-4727 E-mail: Web Site: https://www.samhsa.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Child health, Child welfare, Collaboration, Families, Family centered care, Health care systems, Interagency cooperation, Parent professional relations, Service coordination, Service delivery systems

Illinois Department of Public Health. n.d.. Maternal oral health practices: PRAM 2017-2019. Springfield, IL: Illinois Department of Public Health, 4 pp.

Annotation: This brief provides information on oral health practices of women in Illinois before and during pregnancy. Information in the brief is based on data from the 2017, 2018, and 2019 Illinois Pregnancy Risk Assessment Monitoring System (PRAMS). The brief presents background on the importance of oral health care and education before and during pregnancy. Topics include receiving a teeth cleaning before pregnancy, receiving a teeth cleaning during pregnancy, and receiving information on maternal oral health from a health professional. A summary of data related to the oral health of women before and during pregnancy is included.

Contact: Illinois Department of Public Health, 525-535 West Jefferson Street, Springfield, IL 60603, Web Site: https://dph.illinois.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to heath care, Dental caries, Health care delivery, Health education, Illinois, Oral health, Pregnant women, State information, Statistical data

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Think Cultural Health. n.d.. Cultural competency program for oral health providers. Washington, DC: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 3 courses.

Annotation: This program is intended for dentists, dental assistants, dental hygienists, dental specialists, and other oral health professionals interested in learning about culturally and linguistically appropriate services. The program aims to provide professionals with the knowledge, skills, and awareness they need to provide high-quality oral health services to everyone, regardless of their cultural or linguistic background. The program also aims to support the implementation of National Standards for Culturally and Linguistically Appropriate Services (CLAS) in Health and Health Care.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 200 Independence Avenue, S.W., Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (202) 619-0257 Secondary Telephone: (877) 696-6775 Web Site: http://www.hhs.gov Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Diversity, Health care delivery, Health care disparities, Health equity, Oral health, Oral health equity, Professional education

Steward M, Howe G, Tran T. 2024. Emerging approaches in oral health care: Considerations for minimally invasive care in Medicaid. Hamilton, NJ: Center for Health Care Strategies, 18 pp. (Brief)

Annotation: This report discusses minimally invasive care (MIC), how state Medicaid agencies' support of MIC can contribute to improving oral health, and opportunities for these agencies to support the availability of MIC through payment strategies that encourage oral health professionals to use this approach to providing care. Topics include what MIC is, avenues toward supporting it, supporting an expanded oral health workforce, promoting opportunities for clinical integration, and identifying oral health Medicaid payment strategies. Spotlights describing programs that use MIC are included.

Contact: Center for Health Care Strategies, 200 American Metro Boulevard, Suite 119, Hamilton, NJ 08619, Telephone: (609) 528-8400 Fax: (609) 586-3679 Web Site: http://www.chcs.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Health care delivery, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral health, Oral health equity, Reimbursement, Service integration

Oral Health Ohio and Carequest Institute for Oral Health. 2024. MORE care in Ohio: Medical oral expanded care. Boston, MA: CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, 2 pp.

Annotation: This brief provides information about MORE Care, an Ohio program conducted by Health Ohio and CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, in partnership, to improve children's oral health and reduce costly, invasive dental procedures by advancing value-based care and integrating oral health care into primary care. The brief describes how the program works, offers information about Health Ohio and CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, and presents an example of how MORE Care is being implemented.

Contact: CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, 465 Medford Street, Boston, MA 02129-1454, Telephone: (617) 886-1700 Web Site: https://www.carequest.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Costs, Health care delivery, Low income groups, Ohio, Oral health, Oral health equity, Prevention, Primary care, Service integration, State programs

AcademyHealth. 2024. Toolkit for assessing health equity. Washington, DC: AcademyHealth,

Annotation: This toolkit provides guidance for healthcare organizations to assess and improve health equity among children with medical complexity (CMC) and their families in service delivery settings. It outlines an eight-step process for conducting health equity assessments at the patient level, emphasizing the importance of participatory approaches that involve caregivers, youth, families, providers, and community organizations. The toolkit addresses the unique challenges faced by CMC and their families, including social complexity factors such as poverty, housing instability, and transportation barriers that can impact their ability to navigate systems of care. Content is released on a rolling basis with ongoing updates to the roadmap and resources.

Contact: AcademyHealth, 1150 17th Street, N.W., Suite 600, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 292-6700 Fax: (202) 292-6800 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.academyhealth.org

Link

Keywords: Assessment, Children with special health care needs, Evaluation methods, Health equity, Service delivery

Michigan Health Council. [2023]. Michigan healthcare workforce index: Ranking the health of Michigan's healthcare orgnizations. Okemos, MI: Michigan Health Council, 65 pp. (MHC insight)

Annotation: This index provides information on current and projected statewide health care workforce shortages for 36 health care occupations in Michigan. The methodology for creating the index is described, and report regions are presented in a figure. Each occupation is ranked according to growth, shortages, wages, and turnover and is given an overall rank. Results are discussed, and recommendations for how to reduce shortages are presented.

Contact: Michigan Health Council, 2121 University Park Drive, Suite 150, Okemos, MI 48864, Telephone: (517) 347-3332 Web Site: https://www.mhc.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Health care delivery, Michigan, Oral health, State information

Wilson K. 2023. Adopting oral health integration to advance minimally-invasive care. Boston, MA: Community Catalyst, Dental Access Project, 4 pp.

Annotation: This brief provides information on how minimally invasive health care can be used in conjunction with the integration of oral health care and medical care to improve oral health and overall health, as well as people’s experiences with receiving oral health care. The brief presents strategies for integrating oral health care and medical care to promote minimally invasive health care, including cross-training oral health professionals, Medicaid billing and reimbursement, dental hygienists, dental therapists, community health workers, and teledentistry. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Community Catalyst, Dental Access Project, 30 Winter Street, 10th Floor, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 338-6035 Fax: (617) 451-5838 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://communitycatalyst.org/work/projects/dental-access-project/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Health care delivery, Health equity, Oral health, Public policy

Wilson K. 2023. Minimally-invasive care and a representative oral health workforce. Boston, MA: Community Catalyst, Dental Access Project, 5 pp.

Annotation: This brief provides information on how minimally invasive oral health care can be used to improve oral health and overall health, as well as on people’s experiences with receiving oral health care. It presents policy opportunities and other approaches to help ensure that people can regularly access oral health care from health professionals they trust—a necessity for minimally invasive oral health care to be effective. It also discusses building a representative oral health workforce, strategies to promote trust between patients and health professionals, and opportunities for improving access to oral health care and advancing oral health equity through the provision of minimally invasive oral health care.

Contact: Community Catalyst, Dental Access Project, 30 Winter Street, 10th Floor, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 338-6035 Fax: (617) 451-5838 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://communitycatalyst.org/work/projects/dental-access-project/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Health care delivery, Health equity, Oral health, Public policy

Saldanha IJ, Adam GP, Kanaan G, Zahradnik ML, Steele DW, Danilack VA, Peahl AF, Chen KK, Stuebe AM, Balk EM. 2023. Postpartum care up to 1 year after pregnancy: A systematic review and meta-analysis . Rockville, MD: U.S. Agency for Healthccare Research and Quality , 271 pp. (Comparative effectiveness review #261 )

Annotation: This systematic review addresses healthcare for postpartum individuals within 1 year after pregnancy. It addresses the comparative benefits and harms of (1) alternative strategies for postpartum healthcare delivery, and (2) extension of postpartum health insurance coverage or improvements in access to care. The target audience includes policymakers, Ob/Gyn's, Midwives, maternal-fetal medicine specialists, family medicine clinicians, primary care physicians, nurse practitioners, clinical guidelines, and other providers of care or support for postpartum individuals.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov Document Number: 23-EHC010.

Keywords: Evidence based medicine , Health insurance, Healthcare delivery, Postpartum care, Prevention services

Davis M, Holt K, Kolo S. 2023. Snapshot of the U.S. jurisdictions' activities addressing Title V National Performance Measure 13 (Oral Health) during fiscal year 2022. Washington, DC: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, 25 pp.

Annotation: This snapshot highlights activities conducted by American Samoa, Guam, the Marshall Islands, Palau, Puerto Rico, and the U.S. Virgin Islands. The report presents a snapshot of jurisdictions’ experiences with implementing strategies to promote preventive dental visits for pregnant women, children, and adolescents. Challenges, accomplishments, and technical assistance needs related to each jurisdiction are discussed. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescent health, American Samoa, Guam, Health care delivery, Health promotion, Marshall Islands, Oral health, Pregnant women, Prevention, Virgin Islands

Heaton LJ, Tiwari T, Tranby E. 2023. Oral-systemic interactions and medical-dental integration: A life course approach. Boston, MA: CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, 18 pp. (Research report)

Annotation: This report provides information on a life course approach to oral health that focuses on the oral-systemic interactions upon which a medical-dental integration (MDI) model can be built. The report offers an overview of the bidirectional nature of oral and systemic diseases across different life phases and how integrated health care delivery can improve access to care and health outcomes. It also discusses gaps in, challenges to, and barriers to creating integrated models and provides recommendations to improve the future of MDI.

Contact: CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, 465 Medford Street, Boston, MA 02129-1454, Telephone: (617) 886-1700 Web Site: https://www.carequest.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Health care delivery, Oral health, Prevention, Program coordination, Service integration

Glassman P, Sanchez AM. 2023. Teledentistry regulation and policy guidance: A toolkit for dental boards, policymakers, providers, and oral health care advocates for promoting access and quality care through teledentistry. Boston, MA: CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, 10 pp. (Advocacy toolkit)

Annotation: This toolkit focuses on how teledentistry can be used to maintain oral health and improve access to oral health care. It is intended for for dental boards, policymakers, health professionals, and advocates. The toolkit provides background information and discusses technology and practice and payment as they relate to teledentistry. A note for policymakers is included.

Contact: CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, 465 Medford Street, Boston, MA 02129-1454, Telephone: (617) 886-1700 Web Site: https://www.carequest.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Health care delivery, Oral health, Public policy, Reimbursement, Teledentistry

District of Columbia Department of Health, Community Health Administration. 2023. 2022 oral health needs assessment. Washington, DC: District of Columbia Department of Health, Community Health Administration, 52 pp.

Annotation: This report provides information about oral health in the District of Columbia (DC). It discusses characteristics of DC's diverse population and social determinants of health, It also describes the District's oral health landscape, including the safety net infrastructure, and where Federally Qualified Health Centers that provide oral health care and other types of health care are located. Also discussed are the oral health workforce, efforts to integrate oral health care into primary care, and challenges related to achieving equitable access to oral health care.

Contact: District of Columbia Department of Health, Community Health Administration, 899 North Capitol Street, N.E., Washington, DC 20002, Telephone: (202) 442-5925 Fax: (202) 535-1710 Web Site: http://doh.dc.gov/page/community-health-administration Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, District of Columbia, Health care delivery, Oral health, Oral health equity, Service integration, Socioeconomic factors, State information

Medicaid and CHIP Payment and Access Commission. 2022. Report to the Congress on Medicaid and CHIP. Washington, DC: Medicaid and CHIP Payment and Access Commission, 196 pp.

Annotation: This report focuses on aspects of Medicaid's mission to ensure access to high-quality health services and the program's future as a major health care payer driving health system change toward value. The report focuses on topics of interest to Congress, including Medicaid’s responsiveness during economic downturns; concerns about high rates of maternal morbidity and mortality; improving hospital payment policy for the nation's safetynet hospitals, and the integration of care for people who are dually eligible for Medicaid and Medicare.

Contact: Medicaid and CHIP Payment and Access Commission, 1800 M Street, N.W., Suite 360 South, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 350-2000 Fax: (202) 273-2452 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.macpac.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescents, Children, Children', Costs, Financing, Health care reform, Health services delivery, Medicaid, Medications, Mental health, Oral health, Organizational change, Pregnant women, Reimbursement, Systems development, s Health Insurance Program

National Center for Medical Home Implementation. 2022. Fostering partnership and teamwork in the pediatric medical home: A "how to" webinar series. Elk Grove Village, IL: National Center for Medical Home Implementation, multiple items.

Annotation: This video series for primary care health professionals and others focuses on partnership and teamwork in pediatric care delivery. Contents include prerequisites of and strategies for implementation and examples of best practice. Topics include implementing team huddles, enhancing care partnership support, and starting and supporting family advisory groups [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Resource Center for Patient/Family-Centered Medical Home, American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (847) 434-7605 Secondary Telephone: (800) 433-9016, ext. 7605 Web Site: https://www.aap.org/en/practice-management/medical-home Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Continuing education, Family centered care, Health care delivery, Medical home, Model programs, Multimedia, Patient care teams, Pediatric care, Primary care, Teamwork

Community Catalyst. 2022. Improving access to dental care beyond reimbursement rates. Boston, MA: Community Catalyst, 5 pp.

Annotation: This brief presents a range of strategies for improving access to oral health care. It provides recommendations for how to focus efforts to address the problem of poor access to care, the limits of reimbursement rates on improving access to care, and strategies for improving access. Strategies offered include expanding coverage; broadening the oral health workforce; and adopting solutions that deliver care in communities while removing long-standing structural hurdles.

Contact: Community Catalyst, Dental Access Project, 30 Winter Street, 10th Floor, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 338-6035 Fax: (617) 451-5838 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://communitycatalyst.org/work/projects/dental-access-project/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Community health services, Health care delivery, Oral health, Reimbursement