Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 20 (289 total).

American Dental Association. 2022. Dental sealants and disease prevention: Points for providers. Chicago, IL: American Dental Association, 1 p.

Annotation: This fact sheet for health professionals provides information about the use of dental sealants to prevent tooth decay. It includes information about the advantages of sealants, whether certain types of sealants are more effective than others, cost savings from sealant application, practice standards for sealant application, and the efficacy of sealants.

Contact: American Dental Association, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-2678, Telephone: (312) 440-2500 Fax: (312) 440-7494 E-mail: info@ada.org Web Site: http://www.ada.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Dental caries, Dental sealants, Health care costs, Oral health, Prevention

Advisory Committee on Training in Primary Care Medicine and Dentistry. 2022. Supporting dental therapy through Title VII training programs: A meaningful strategy for implementing equitable oral health care--19th annual report to the Secretary of the United States Department of Health and Human Services and the Congress of the United States. Rockville, MD: U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration, 27 pp.

Annotation: This report provides information on a government strategy for supporting dental therapy, which is practiced by members of an oral health team providing a defined set of procedures under the supervision of a dentist. Topics include recommendations, the importance of oral health, dentist shortage and maldistribution, the impact of oral health disparities, financial costs and system burden, the emerging dental therapy profession, quality of care, financial benefits, and exemplary programs. zzz

Contact: U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (888) 275-4772 Secondary Telephone: (877) 464-4772 Fax: (301) 443-1246 E-mail: ask@hrsa.gov Web Site: http://www.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Costs, Health care disparities, Health equity, Oral health

C.S. Mott Children's Hospital, University of Michigan Department of Pediatrics, and University of Michigan Susan B. Meister Child Health Evaluation and Research Center. 2021. Pandemic-posed challenges to children's oral health: Mott poll report. Ann Arbor, MI: C.S. Mott Children's Hospital, 2 pp.

Annotation: This report provides information from the results of a questionnaire that asked a national sample of parents about oral health for their children ages 3–18 during the COVID-19 pandemic. Topics include whether parents have tried to get oral health care for their child, parents’ perceptions of the safety of oral health care, changes to children’s oral health habits, and implications for children’s oral health.

Contact: C. S. Mott Children's Hospital, National Poll on Children's Health, University of Michigan Division of General Pediatrics, 300 North Ingalls Building, Ann Arbor, MI 48109-5040, Telephone: (855) 277-5404 E-mail: NPCH@med.umich.edu Web Site: http://mottnpch.org Available from the website.

Keywords: , Costs, Disease transmission, Health care utilization, Infectious diseases, Oral health, Oral hygiene, Safety, Virus diseases

Oral Health Ohio. 2021. Ohio's state oral health plan 2021-2022: Goal-Equitable systems and access to care. Cincinnati, OH: Oral Health Ohio, 1 p.

Annotation: This report provides information about Ohio’s 2021–2022 state oral health plan goal to ensure equitable health care systems and access to oral health care in the state. It discusses three policy opportunities: preserving the adult benefit under the Medicaid program; preserving Medicaid expansion, and increasing the number of oral health professionals in the state who accept patients enrolled in Medicaid by advocating for higher reimbursement rates.

Contact: Center for Reproductive Rights , 120 Wall Street , New York, NY 10005, Telephone: (917) 637-3600 Fax: (917) 637-3666 E-mail: info@reprorights.org Web Site: http://www.reproductiverights.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Costs, Medicaid, Ohio, Oral health, Reimbursement, Statewide planning

Ruderman M. 2020. Children's vision and eye health: A snapshot of current national issues (2nd ed.). Chicago, IL: National Center for Children's Vision & Eye Health at Prevent Blindness, 47 pp.

Annotation: This report is a compilation of research, survey data, and best practices that outlines the landscape for children's vision and eye health in the United States. Contents include information about the prevalence and impact of vision disorders in U.S. children, receipt of vision screening for infants and children from birth through age 17, and state approaches to ensuring children's vision and eye health. Additional topics include vision screening rates and requirements by state, pediatric vision benefits available under the Affordable Care Act, what is included in a strong vision health system of care, and model children's vision legislation. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Prevent Blindness America, 211 West Wacker Drive, Suite 1700, Chicago, IL 60606, Telephone: (800) 331-2020 E-mail: info@preventblindness.org Web Site: http://www.preventblindness.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescents, Children, Costs, Health care reform, Health insurance, Health status, Policy development, Prevalence, Preventive health services, Primary care, Reimbursement, Research, Screening, Service integration, Standards, State programs, State surveys, Statistical data, Systems development, Vision, Vision disorders

Freed M, Neuman T, Jacobson G. 2019. Drilling down on dental coverage and costs for Medicare beneficiaries. Menlo Park, CA: Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation, 25 pp. (Issue brief)

Annotation: This brief reviews the state of oral health for older adults on Medicare. It describes the health and economic consequences of foregoing oral health care, sources of dental coverage, out-of-pocket costs of oral health care, and use of oral health services. Data and methods are discussed.

Contact: Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation, 2400 Sand Hill Road, Menlo Park, CA 94025, Telephone: (650) 854-9400 Secondary Telephone: (202) 347-5270 Fax: (650) 854-4800 Web Site: http://www.kff.org Available from the website.

Keywords: , Costs, Health care utilization, Low income groups, Medicare, Older adults, Oral health, Statistical data

Lustig A, Cabrera M. 2019. Promoting health and cost control in states: How states can improve community health & well-being through policy change. Washington, DC: Trust for America's Health, 87 pp. (Issue report)

Annotation: This report highlights evidence-based and -informed policies that states can adopt to improve health and well-being of their residents and to control healthcare costs. Policies cover these areas: the connection between health and learning; healthy living and connectedness through the built environment; healthy behaviors; healthy and affordable housing; and economic opportunities. It provides descriptions of the policies, summaries of the health and economic evidence, case examples of policy implementation, and considerations for implementation.

Contact: Trust for America's Health, 1730 M Street, N.W., Suite 900, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 223-9870 Fax: (202) 223-9871 E-mail: info@tfah.org Web Site: http://healthyamericans.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Cost effectiveness, Evidence, Health care costs, Health policy, Public policy, State initiatives

Baker SD, Lee JY, Wright R. 2019. The importance of the age one dental visit. Chicago, IL: American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry, Pediatric Oral Health Research and Policy Center, 16 pp.

Annotation: This report focuses on the importance of taking a child to the dentist by age 1 to prevent oral disease. It discusses the prevalence of tooth decay in children, the effectiveness of prevention and early intervention, the consequences of delaying treatment, and barriers to accessing care early. It also discusses the benefits of integrating oral health care into primary care.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry, Pediatric Oral Health Research and Policy Center, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Suite 1600, Chicago, IL 60611-2637, Telephone: (312) 337-2169 Secondary Telephone: (800) 544-2174 Fax: (312) 337-6329 E-mail: pohrpc@aapd.org Web Site: https://www.aapd.org/research/policy-center/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Costs, Early intervention, Oral health, Prevention, Service integration, Young children

Gupta N, Vujicic M. 2019. Main barriers to getting needed dental care all relate to affordability. Chicago, IL: American Dental Association, Health Policy Institute, 7 pp. (Research brief)

Annotation: This brief examines the percentage of the U.S. population that indicated oral health care was needed but not obtained during the period 2013–2016. In particular, the brief compares financial and non-financial barriers to receiving oral health care among different age groups and income levels during the period. The brief introduces the issue, presents results, and discusses data and methods. Key points are included. zzz

Contact: American Dental Association, Health Policy Institute, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-2678, Telephone: (312) 440-2500 Web Site: http://www.ada.org/en/science-research/health-policy-institute Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Costs, Financial barriers, Health insurance, Low-income groups, Medicaid, Oral health

Honigfeld L, Dworkin P. 2018. Investing in child health to ensure equity, population health, and long term cost savings: Opportunities in state health care reform. Farmington, CT: Child Health and Development Institute of Connecticut, 3 pp. (Issue brief; no. 62)

Annotation: This issue brief addresses value based payment as an important model in health care reform for children's services and offers recommendations for including children's health in health care reform efforts. Efforts in Connecticut are described.

Contact: Child Health and Development Institute of Connecticut, 270 Farmington Avenue, Suite 367, Farmington, CT 06032, Telephone: (860) 679-1519 Fax: (860) 679-1521 E-mail: info@chdi.org Web Site: http://www.chdi.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Child health, Children, Connecticut, Costs, Health care reform, Health equity, State programs

Fish-Parcham C. 2018. Treating pain is not enough: Why states' emergency dental benefits fall short. Washington, DC: Families USA, 12 pp. (Issue brief)

Annotation: This document presents information from a survey conducted by Families USA of 14 states that cover emergency-only oral health services. Selected topics include what can be learned from states that offer emergency-only coverage, how responding states’ dental benefits differ, states in which managed-care plans provide adults with extra offerings, costs to states of paying for emergency department visits when appropriate oral health services are not available, the limited availability of alternative oral health care resources for adults, and the inadequacy of emergency-only dental care for individuals with serious medical conditions.

Contact: Families USA, 1225 New York Avenue, N.W., Suite 800, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 628-3030 Fax: (202) 347-2417 E-mail: info@familiesusa.org Web Site: http://www.familiesusa.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Costs, Dental insurance, Emergency medical services, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral health, Oral health care, State programs, Surveys

Skinner E. 2017. Oral health care and coverage during pregnancy. Denver, CO: National Conference of State Legislatures, 2 pp. (Legisbrief; v. 24, no. 48)

Annotation: This brief provides information about the effects of oral disease on pregnant women and infants and state actions to prevent disease and reduce costs. It examines insurance coverage for care, including publicly funded coverage and reimbursement rates; dental expenditures; and where to find state-specific statistics on health status and coverage rates. The brief also discusses state strategies to help pregnant women receive care and provisions in the Affordable Care Act, such as public education and tobacco-cessation services.

Contact: National Conference of State Legislatures, 7700 East First Place, Denver, CO 80230, Telephone: (303) 364-7700 Fax: (303) 364-7800 Web Site: http://www.ncsl.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Costs, Dental care, Dental insurance, Federal initiatives, Medicaid, Oral health, Policy development, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Preventive health services, Reimbursement, Smoking cessation, State legislation

Shapiro L. 2017. Medicaid: Cost-effective coverage that works for kids. Washington, DC: First Focus, 4 pp.

Annotation: This fact sheet describes the Medicaid program and the benefits of Medicaid coverage for children. Topics include reducing the number of uninsured children; covering children in times of economic crisis; providing primary coverage for children of color; and ensuring access to comprehensive, child-specific services including services for children with special health care needs. Additional topics include program design and operation, affordability, and spending on children compared with spending on other populations.

Contact: First Focus, 1400 Eye Street, N.W., Suite 650, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 657-0670 Fax: (202) 657-0671 Web Site: http://www.firstfocus.net Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Children, Costs, Families, Health insurance, Low income groups, Medicaid, Vulnerability

Sealant Work Group. 2017. Report of the Sealant Work Group: Recommendations & products. Washington, DC: Children's Dental Health Project, 19 pp.

Annotation: This report provides recommendations for states to strengthen the ability of school-based dental sealant programs to reach more children, especially those at high risk for dental caries. Contents include recommendations in the following priority areas: promoting evidence-based and promising practices; communicating with families, the community, and school staff; collecting, analyzing, and reporting data; addressing Medicaid and reporting data; and addressing Medicaid and regulatory hurdles. A summary of the recommendations, an infographic, a questions-and-answers document, and a communications plan worksheet are also available.

Contact: Children's Dental Health Project, 1020 19th Street, N.W., Suite 400, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 833-8288 Fax: (202) 331-1432 E-mail: info@cdhp.org Web Site: https://www.cdhp.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Costs, Access to health care, Case management, Certification, Children, Communication, Data analysis, Data collection, Dental care, Dental caries, Dental sealants, Disease prevention, Licensing, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral health, Policy development, Prevention programs, Preventive health services, Program development, Program planning, Public health infrastructure, Regulations, Resources for professionals, School health programs, School health services, Schools, Standards, State health agencies, State programs, Vulnerability, Work force

Children's Dental Health Project. 2017. Why dental coverage matters: A tool-kit. Washington, DC: Children's Dental Health Project, multiple items.

Annotation: This toolkit is designed to help educate policymakers about the importance of oral health coverage. Topics include why oral health is important, consequences of poor oral health, the need for affordable oral health coverage, key messages about oral health coverage, and oral health for children in health reform discussions.

Contact: Children's Dental Health Project, 1020 19th Street, N.W., Suite 400, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 833-8288 Fax: (202) 331-1432 E-mail: info@cdhp.org Web Site: https://www.cdhp.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Advocacy, Barriers, Children, Communication, Costs, Dental care, Health insurance, Medicaid, Multimedia, Oral health, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Policy development, Resources for professionals

Gupta N, Yarbrough C, Vujicic M, Blatz A, Harrison B. 2017. Medicaid fee-for-service reimbursement rates for child and adult dental care services for all states, 2016. Chicago, IL: American Dental Association, Health Policy Institute, 15 pp.

Annotation: This brief presents findings from an analysis of Medicaid reimbursement rates for oral health care in all states and the District of Columbia. The brief discusses Medicaid fee-for-service (FFS) reimbursement for child and adult services relative to dentists’ fees and private dental insurance reimbursement, as well as other aspects of Medic- aid FFS reimbursement, including reimbursement for adult services in states with extensive adult benefits within their Medicaid programs.

Contact: American Dental Association, Health Policy Institute, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-2678, Telephone: (312) 440-2500 Web Site: http://www.ada.org/en/science-research/health-policy-institute Available from the website.

Keywords: Dental care, Dentists, Health care costs, Health insurance, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral health, Physicians, Provider participation, Reimbursement, State programs

Children's Dental Services. 2017. Dental therapy: How mid-level providers can increase access to care, lower costs, and help increase the effectiveness of community clinics. Minneapolis, MN: Children's Dental Services, 4 pp.

Annotation: This document provides information about how using mid-level oral health professionals instead of dentists to perform some oral health services can help increase access to care, lower costs, and increase the effectiveness of community clinics in Minnesota. The document explains why Minnesota needs mid-level oral health professionals, lists universities in the state that offer dental therapy and advanced dental therapy degrees, and provides specifics showing how using dental therapists can decrease per-patient costs and increase the number of patients served. [Partially funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Children's Dental Services, 636 Broadway Street, N.E., Minneapolis, MN 55413, Telephone: (612) 746-1530 Secondary Telephone: (866) 543-6009 Fax: (612) 746-1531 Web Site: http://childrensdentalservices.org Available from the website.

Keywords: , Access to health care, Health care costs, Minnesota, Oral health, State programs

Children's Dental Health Project. 2016–. EndCavities. Washington, DC: Children's Dental Health Project, multiple items.

Annotation: These resources for policymakers, health professionals, and health advocates provide information about and strategies for preventing dental caries in young children. Contents include talking points, fact sheets, an issue brief, infographics, and videos. Topics include risk-based care, oral health during pregnancy, and what states can do to prevent dental caries in early childhood. Findings on adults’ knowledge of oral health and prevention, strategies for reducing caries in a Medicaid population, and tips for encouraging local media to cover early childhood caries are also included.

Contact: Children's Dental Health Project, 1020 19th Street, N.W., Suite 400, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 833-8288 Fax: (202) 331-1432 E-mail: info@cdhp.org Web Site: https://www.cdhp.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Advocacy, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Costs, Dental care, Dental caries, Dental insurance, Disease prevention, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral health, Policy development, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Risk factors, Safety, Young children

National Center for Health Statistics. 2016. Health, United States 20__. Hyattsville, MD: National Center for Health Statistics, annual.

Annotation: This annual report presents an overview of national trends in health statistics. Contents include charts with information on selected measures of life expectancy and mortality, fertility and natality, morbidity, disability measures, health risk factors, measures of health and disease prevalence, prevention, health insurance, use and access, and personal health care expenditures. The report also contains trend tables organized around four major subject areas: health status and determinants, use of health resources, health care resources, and health care expenditures and payers. Previous editions and related data products are available from the website.

Contact: U.S. Government Publishing Office, 732 North Capitol Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20401, Telephone: (202) 512-1800 Secondary Telephone: (866) 512-1800 Fax: (202) 512-2104 E-mail: contactcenter@gpo.gov Web Site: http://www.gpo.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Costs, Data, Health care utilization, Health objectives, Health statistics, Measures, Risk factors, Trends

Reusch C. 2016. Preventing early childhood tooth decay: What states can do. Washington, DC: Children's Dental Health Project, Multiple items.

Annotation: This brief explains the implications of a simulation model for preventing dental caries in early childhood in New York and discusses opportunities to implement policies to align the oral-health-care-delivery system with established science. The brief describes a risk-based approach to oral health care and a number of other approaches for crafting dental benefits in a cost-effective manner. Contents include program-specific recommendations, systems-change opportunities, and Medicaid reform options.

Contact: Children's Dental Health Project, 1020 19th Street, N.W., Suite 400, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 833-8288 Fax: (202) 331-1432 E-mail: info@cdhp.org Web Site: https://www.cdhp.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Costs, Dental caries, Disease management, Disease prevention, Health care delivery, Intervention, Models, New York, Oral health, Policy development, Program improvement, Risk assessment, Service delivery systems, State initiatives, Young children

    Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.