Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This manual was developed to accompany an 8-hour class. It introduces the concept of mainstreaming and relates it to the principles of early childhood education and best practice guidelines for caring for children with special needs. Module one includes sections on the importance of working with families, ethical issues, laws protecting children with special needs, typical vs. atypical development, how children learn, suggestions for working with parents are included, and diversity resources. Module two deals with motor development and concludes with a bibliography and references. Module three covers social-emotional development and behavioral issues. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: San Diego State University, Mainstreaming Project, 6505 Alvarado Road, Suite 108, San Diego, CA 92120, Telephone: (619) 594-4373 Available in libraries.

Keywords: Americans With Disabilities Act, Child behavior, Child care, Child development, Children with special health care needs, Developmental disabilities, Ethics, Families, Learning, Legislation, Mainstreaming, Motor development, Parents, Psychosocial development, Special education

Annotation: The goal of this project was to develop and implement comprehensive and family-centered approaches to early identification, assessment, and treatment of infants and young children who are at risk for or suffering from emotional and/or regulatory difficulties. To this end, the Regional Center for Infants and Young Children: (1) Monitored types of families and children referred to and receiving services from an agency specializing in the early detection of emotional disorders or potential risk; (2) developed principles and technology to identify infants and young children/families at risk for psychosocial and developmental difficulties; (3) developed comprehensive, family-centered approaches to assessment and diagnosis; (4) developed prevention-oriented, family-centered approaches to intervention; (5) developed and disseminated technical assistance and training approaches; (6) engaged State and local maternal and child health (MCH) agencies in the project; and (7) accessed multiple financial resources to support its efforts. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-158236.

Keywords: Affective Disorders, Behavioral Disorders, Data Collection, Family-Centered Health Care, High risk groups: Families, High risk infants, Parents, Regulatory Disorders, Screening Tools, Temperament

Annotation: This document describes seven science-based approaches in adolescent pregnancy, HIV, and sexually transmitted infection prevention. Topics include assessment, health education and behavior change theory, logic models, science-based programs, adaptation and fidelity, characteristics of promising programs, and process and outcome evaluation. Additional topics include the benefits of using science-based approaches, ten steps for getting to outcomes, and training and technical assistance.

Contact: Healthy Teen Network, 1501 Saint Paul Street, Suite 124, Baltimore, MD 21202, Telephone: (410) 685-0410 Fax: (410) 687-0481 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.healthyteennetwork.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy prevention, Assessment, Behavior modification, HIV, Health behavior, Health education, Methods, Models, Outcome evaluation, Prevention programs, Process evaluation, Sexually transmitted diseases

Annotation: This website describes a tobacco cessation program designed specifically for teenagers. The program emphasizes the importance of total health and encourages teens to break their nicotine dependence through a series of interactive learning strategies based on Social Cognitive Theory of behavior change. The site describes how the program works, highlights its effectiveness, outlines the content of each session, and explains how individuals or organizations can start their own program. A self-guided online adaptation of the Not On Tobacco (N-O-T)® program is also described.

Contact: American Lung Association, 1300 Pennsylvania Ave., N.W., Suite 800, Washington, DC 20004, Telephone: (202) 785-3355 Secondary Telephone: (800) 548-8252 Fax: (202) 452-1805 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.lungusa.org

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Smoking cessation, Substance use behavior, Tobacco use

Annotation: This brief provides key findings from the State of Oral Health Equity in America 2024 Survey, a nationally representative survey of over 9,000 adults’ attitudes, experiences, and behaviors related to oral health. Information is included about dental visits in the past year by home-ownership status, planned dental visits in the coming year by income level, emergency department visits for oral health care by educational attainment, having a dental home by health insurance status, self-rated oral health by sexual orientation, importance attached to cultural humility in oral health care by race, and importance attached to diversity in oral health care by income level.

Contact: CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, 465 Medford Street, Boston, MA 02129-1454, Telephone: (617) 886-1700 Web Site: https://www.carequest.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Behavior, Cultural competence, Dental care, Educational attainment, Emergency medical services, Health equity, Health insurance, Income factors, Oral health, Sexual identity, Surveys

Annotation: This flyer provides information on a training intended to help dental office staff understand the connection between behavioral health and oral health and their role in referring patients. The flyer presents percentages of those who completed the training who reported that it increased their confidence in having conversations with their patients and who recommended it to others. Also included is logistical information on the training, its cost, and requirements for participation.

Contact: Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment, Oral Health Unit, 4300 Cherry Creek Drive, South, Denver, CO 80246, Telephone: (303) 692-2000 Secondary Telephone: (800) 886-7689 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://cdphe.colorado.gov/health/prevention-and-wellness/oral-health Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Behavioral medicine, Oral health, Referrals, Training

Annotation: This annual report applies a model of health to rank states across multiple measures related to the health and well-being of women of reproductive age, infants, and children. The 2023 report highlights several trends in mortality among women of reproductive age and children, including rising rates of maternal mortality, drug deaths among women and injury deaths among women and children. The 2023 report also highlights several changes that occurred during the COVID-19 pandemic, including a a drop in the percentage of 3- and 4-year-olds enrolled in early childhood education and decrease in the prevalence of electronic vapor product use among high- school students.

Contact: United Health Foundation, 9900 Bren Road East, Minnetonka, MN 55343, Telephone: (952) 936-3068 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.unitedhealthfoundation.org Available from the website.

• 2023 Full Report
• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Child health, Environmental influences, Health behavior, Health care disparities, Health disparities, Health status, Infant health, Measures, Public policy, Racial factors, Trends, Women', s health

Annotation: This brief presents findings from a review of 15 sources that include oral health risk assessment questions to ask pregnant women. The questions are organized according to the following seven themes: dental concerns/pain, diet/nutrition, pregnancy symptoms, health behaviors, fluoride, last dental visit/dental home, and concerns about getting oral health care. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Fluoride, Health behavior, Nutrition, Oral health, Oral health care, Pregnant women

Annotation: This systematic review presents evidence on the benefits and harms of screening for eating disorders in adults and adolescents; the accuracy of screening tools; and the benefits and harms of interventions for eating disorders that were screen detected or not previously treated for populations and settings relevant to primary care in the United States. PubMed/MEDLINE, the Cochrane Library, PsyINFO, and other sources were searched through December 18, 2020; additional literature, outside experts, and reviewers, were consulted through January 1, 2022.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Anorexia nervosa, Behavior disorders, Bulimia, Eating disorders, Evidence based medicine, Feeding disorders, Literature reviews, Screening, Treatment

Annotation: This brief provides findings from a project conducted to integrate oral health care into behavioral health care for health professional organizations across the country using the ECHO model—a learning framework that can be applied across disciplines to effect sustainable change. The brief includes a project summary and a discussion of project accomplishments, an explanation of the need for and barriers to advancing the integration of oral health care and behavioral health care, and recommendations.

Contact: National Council for Mental Wellbeing, 1400 K Strteet, N.W., Suite 400, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 684-7457 Web Site: http://thenationalcouncil.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Behavioral medicine, Mental health, Oral health, Service integration, Substance abuse

Annotation: This table provides examples of the relationship between oral health and mental health problems and substance use. It addresses the relationship between oral health and mental health problems (i.e., anxiety, bipolar and obsessive-compulsive disorder, depression, eating disorders, issues related to trauma). It also addresses the relationship between oral health and use of substances such as cannabis, cocaine, methamphetamine, and opioids, as well as the relationship between oral health and substance-use-disorder treatment medications. The impact of oral health problems on mental health problems and substance use is also examined.

Contact: National Council for Mental Wellbeing, 1400 K Strteet, N.W., Suite 400, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 684-7457 Web Site: http://thenationalcouncil.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Anxiety, Bipolar disorder, Compulsive behavior, Depression, Eating disorders, Emotional trauma, Mental health, Oral health, Substance abuse

Annotation: This plan focuses on how different factors affect health equity in Texas. The plan contains four sections that examine which population groups are more likely to have poor access to health care, including oral health care. The sections look at the challenges faced by those living in rural areas of the state, mental and behavioral health and the ability of the state’s behavioral health care workforce to address these issues, and the role that telehealth can play in addressing health disparities. Additionally, each section considers how COVID-19 has impacted health care in Texas.

Contact: Texas Statewide Health Coordinating Council, Texas Department of State Health Services, P.O Box 149347, Austin, TX 78714-9347, Web Site: https://www.dshs.texas.gov/chs/shcc/ Available from the website.

• Link
• Program Website

Keywords: Access to health care, Behavioral medicine, COVID-19, Disease transmission, Infectious diseases, Mental health, Oral health, Oral health equity, Rural health, State information, Strategic plans, Texas, Virus diseases

Annotation: This toolkit is designed to serve as a guide for health professionals, organizations, health systems, states, and payers interested in advancing the integration and coordination of oral health, mental health, and substance use care and treatment. It presents a coordination and integration framework based on 10 models. For each model, a description is provided, along with examples of the model in practice, key planning questions, potential funding approaches, potential data-monitoring measures, a list of tools, and an example or case study.

Contact: National Council for Mental Wellbeing, 1400 K Strteet, N.W., Suite 400, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 684-7457 Web Site: http://thenationalcouncil.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Care coordination, Health care systems, Mental health, Oral health, Service integration, Substance use behavior, Treatment

Annotation: This report presents data about consumers’ oral-health-related behaviors throughout 2020. It provides insights into the public’s awareness of the connection between oral health and overall health. Topics include the importance of oral health to overall health, oral hygiene practices, prioritization of preventive dental visits, and the relationship between having dental insurance and oral health status.

Contact: Delta Dental Plans Association, 1515 West 22nd Street, Suite 450, Oak Brook, IL 60523, Web Site: https://www.deltadental.com Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Dental hygiene, Health behavior, Health insurance, Oral health, Prevention, Statistical data

Annotation: This report discusses the impact of behavioral issues on the oral health of people experiencing homelessness (PEH) and how behavioral health and oral health professionals can work together to address behavioral health and oral health issues in this population. The report discusses the prevalence of behavioral issues and oral diseases among PEH, barriers to accessing health care in this population, consequences of behavioral issues and oral diseases, access to care, access to coordinated care challenges, recommendations for behavioral health and oral health integration, and the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic on health care delivery.

Contact: National Health Care for the Homeless Council, P.O. Box 60427, Nashville, TN 37206-0427, Telephone: (615) 226-2292 Fax: (615) 226-1656 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nhchc.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Behavioral medicine, Disease transmission, Health services delivery, Homeless persons, Infectious diseases, Oral health, Service coordination, Service integration, Virus diseases

Annotation: In this video presentation, Dr. Nancy Byatt shares information on MCPAP-- the Massachusetts Child Pscychiatry for Moms program--which provides consultation to health care providers regarding behavioral/mental health and safe medications for pregnant or breastfeeding patients. MCPAP also helps to connect people to support groups and community-based services and serves as an example of behavioral and primary care integration that can be replicated.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Behavioral medicine, Depression, Maternal health, Mental health, Model programs, Perinatal health, Primary care, Service integration

Annotation: This toolkit provides information about an environmental scan of emerging models of behavioral and oral health integration, as well as organizational or service-delivery barriers that organizations face when attempting to adopt coordinated or integrated care models. Topics include background and rationale for oral health and behavioral health integration, an environmental scan of integrated models, and policy considerations. Examples of models are presented.

Contact: National Council for Mental Wellbeing, 1400 K Strteet, N.W., Suite 400, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 684-7457 Web Site: http://thenationalcouncil.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: , Behavioral medicine, Health services delivery, Mental health, Oral health, Service coordination, Service integration

Annotation: These resources are designed to help child care centers improve practices and policies that will create healthier environments for infants and children from birth to age 5. Topics include nutrition, physical education, screen time, and infant feeding.

Contact: American Heart Association, 7272 Greenville Avenue, Dallas, TX 75231-4596, Telephone: (800) AHA-USA1 Secondary Telephone: 1-800-242-8721 Web Site: http://www.americanheart.org Available from the website.

• Link
• Evaluation Of Healthy Way To Grow (2020)

Keywords: Behavior change, Child care centers, Health policy, Infant feeding, National initiatives, Nutrition, Obesity, Physical activity, Young children

Annotation: This Surgeon General’s report examines the effectiveness of various smoking cessation tools and resources; reviews the health effects of smoking and catalogues the improvements to health that can occur when smokers quit; highlights important new data on populations in which the prevalence of smoking is high and quit rates are low; and identifies gaps in the availability and utilization of programs, policies, and resources that can improve cessation rates and help smokers quit.

Contact: U.S. Office of the Surgeon General, Tower Building, Plaza Level 1, Room 100, 1101 Wootton Parkway, Rockville, MD 20852, Telephone: (240) 276-8853 Fax: (240) 453-6141 Web Site: http://www.surgeongeneral.gov/index.html Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Federal initiatives, Health behavior, Passive smoking, Research, Risk taking, Smoking, Smoking cessation, Smoking during pregnancy, Tobacco use

Annotation: This infographic summarizes themes related to successful program implementation strategies of the Pediatric Mental Health Care Access (PMHCA) Program and Screening and Treatment for Maternal Depression and Related Behavioral Disorders (MDRBD) Program, which support pediatric primary care and maternal health care providers address behavioral health disorders. Areas noted include engaging with partners, training and online offerings, and identifying a local champion. Also mentioned are communication, policy, marketing, evaluation data, varied implementation approaches, flexible enrollment methods, and targeting hard to reach areas. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-2170 Web Site: https://mchb.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Behavior disorders, Child health, Federal programs, Maternal health