Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This report provides an introduction to the Head Start-State Collaboration Projects, which involve Head Start in state planning and policy making efforts that affect low income children and families. It includes some fact sheets on the Collaboration Projects, project profiles and contact list, legislation regarding Head Start-State Collaboration Projects, and an excerpt from the report of the Advisory Committee on Head Start Quality and Expansion.

Contact: U.S. Administration for Children and Families, 370 L'Enfant Promenade, S.W., Washington, DC 20447, Telephone: (202) 401-9215 Secondary Telephone: (800) 422-4453 Web Site: http://www.acf.hhs.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Collaboration, Early childhood education, Family support, Head Start, Low income groups, Policy development, Program descriptions, Public private partnerships, State initiatives, Statewide planning

Annotation: These fact sheets for families in Head Start programs cover a variety of health topics related to children. Topics include active play, health literacy, understanding and using health information, healthy breathing at home (asthma prevention), healthy eating, mental health, oral health, and safety and injury prevention. The materials are available in Amharic, Arabic, Armenian, Burmese, Chinese, English, Hmong, Marshallese, Polish, Somali, Spanish, Vietnamese, and Yiddish.

Contact: Early Childhood Learning and Knowledge Center, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Head Start, Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (866) 763-6481 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://eclkc.ohs.acf.hhs.gov Available from the website.

• English
• Spanish

Keywords: Asthma, Child safety, Consumer education materials, Families, Head Start, Health literacy, Health promotion, Injury prevention, Mental health, Nutrition, Oral health, Physical activity, Play, Smoking, Spanish language materials, Young children

Annotation: This guide describes how Head Start and Early Head start programs can facilitate mental health screening and referrals for children and families. It explains how Head Start staff can prepare for the referrral and engage families in the process and facilitate the process once the referral has been made. A referral checklist and a guide to help facilitators locate mental health providers are included.

Contact: National Center on Early Childhood Health and Wellness, American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (888) 227-5125 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://eclkc.ohs.acf.hhs.gov/ncechw

• Link

Keywords: Early Head Start, Families, Head Start Centers, Mental health, Referrals, Young children

Annotation: This tip sheet provides an overview of the Head Start program and describes why oral health is important for school readiness. It also discusses the oral health services that Head Start programs offer and what dental hygienists can do to help.

Contact: Early Childhood Learning and Knowledge Center, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Head Start, Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (866) 763-6481 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://eclkc.ohs.acf.hhs.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Dental hygienists, Head Start, Health services, Low income groups, Oral health, School readiness, Young children

Annotation: This tip sheet provides an overview of the Head Start program and describes why oral health is important for school readiness. It also discusses the oral health services that Head Start programs offer and what dentists can do to help.

Contact: Early Childhood Learning and Knowledge Center, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Head Start, Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (866) 763-6481 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://eclkc.ohs.acf.hhs.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Head Start, Health services, Low income groups, Oral health, School readiness, Young children

Annotation: This tip sheet provides an overview of the Head Start program and describes why oral health is important for school readiness. It also discusses the oral health services that Head Start programs offer and what health professionals can do to help.

Contact: Early Childhood Learning and Knowledge Center, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Head Start, Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (866) 763-6481 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://eclkc.ohs.acf.hhs.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Dentists, Head Start, Health services, Low income groups, Oral health, School readiness, Young children

Annotation: This curriculum is designed to help health and early childhood professionals working in community settings (e.g., Head Start, home visiting, WIC staff) promote oral health in the course of promoting general health for infants, children, and their families. Topics include tooth decay, risk factors, and prevention; oral health risk assessment and oral health screening; and anticipatory guidance for parents. Each of the four modules includes an overview, learning objectives, key points, a post-test, and resources. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Anticipatory guidance, Child care providers, Child health, Curricula, Dental caries, Distance education, Families, Head Start, Health personnel, Infant health, Oral health, Parents, Prevention, Risk factors, Screening, WIC program

Annotation: This framework is designed to prioritize equitable access to basic health information and services. It discusses why equity-centered health communication is important and presents three phases in making progress toward such communication. The phases include (1) understanding the issues, (2) co-creating accessible products, and (3) implementing health communication interventions.

Contact: CommunicateHealth, 20 Courthouse Square, Rockville, MD 2080, Telephone: (413) 582-0425 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://communicatehealth.com Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Head Start, Health equity, Health literacy, Low income groups, Program development, Program evaluation, Young children

Annotation: This handout provides information about the dental hygienist liaison (DHL) project coordinated by the National Center on Health, Behavioral Health, and Wellness, working in partnership with the American Dental Hygienists’ Association. Under the DHL project, volunteer dental hygienists help promote oral health for pregnant women and children enrolled in Head Start and children enrolled in child care. The handout explains the rationale for and purpose of the project and discusses the role of the DHL. Information on how to contact the DHL in each state is included.

Contact: National Center on Early Childhood Health and Wellness, American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (888) 227-5125 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://eclkc.ohs.acf.hhs.gov/ncechw

• Link

Keywords: Dental hygiene, Head Start, Health promotion, Oral health, Pregnant women, Young children

Annotation: This guide is designed to help Head Start staff understand what a dental periodicity schedule is. It provides background on the Head Start program performance standard that addresses an oral exam, describes elements of an oral exam, and offers information on the timing of oral exams and who can conduct them.

Contact: National Center on Early Childhood Health and Wellness, American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (888) 227-5125 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://eclkc.ohs.acf.hhs.gov/ncechw Available from the website.

• Link
• Spanish

Keywords: Head Start, Health screening, Infant health, Low income groups, Oral health, Prevention, Young children

Annotation: This series of tip sheets is intended for Head Start staff to use to support the oral health of children and pregnant people enrolled in Head Start programs and their families. The tip sheets include up-to-date practices and practical tips to promote good oral health. Health and social service professionals interested in improving the oral health of children and pregnant people enrolled in Head Start and their families may also find Brush Up on Oral Health tip sheets helpful.

Contact: Early Childhood Learning and Knowledge Center, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Head Start, Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (866) 763-6481 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://eclkc.ohs.acf.hhs.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Dental care, Head Start, Health promotion, Infants, Nutrition, Oral health, Oral hygiene, Pregnant women, Resources for professionals, Spanish language materials, Special health care needs, Tobacco, Young children

Annotation: This fact sheet presents best practices for toothbrushing in Head Start programs during the COVID-19 pandemic. It provides information on brushing specific to infants from age 6 months to 1 year, toddlers (ages 1–2), and young children (ages 3–5). Topics include vaccination requirements for staff, amount of toothpaste to use, toothbrush storage, and how to avoid disease transmission.

Contact: Early Childhood Learning and Knowledge Center, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Head Start, Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (866) 763-6481 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://eclkc.ohs.acf.hhs.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: COVID-19, Disease transmission, Head Start, Infant health, Infectious diseases, Oral health, Oral hygiene, Virus diseases, Young children

Annotation: This report provides information about a survey of children who were enrolled and participating in Iowa’s Head Start program from February 1, 2021, through May 31, 2021. The survey was coordinated by the Iowa Department of Public Health. This report discusses the importance of oral health, presents survey methods and results, and discusses the impact of the I-Smile Dental Home Initiative on children’s oral health in Iowa.

Contact: Iowa Department of Health and Human Services, Dental and Oral Health, Lucas State Office Building, 321 East 12th Street, Des Moines, IA 50319-0075, Telephone: (515) 242-6383 Secondary Telephone: (866) 528-4020 Fax: (515) 242-6384 Web Site: https://hhs.iowa.gov/programs/programs-and-services/dental-and-oral-health Available from the website.

• Full Report
• Summary Report

Keywords: Head Start, Iowa, Low income groups, Oral health, State surveys, Young children

Annotation: This newsletter features information and materials for Head Start staff to help families promote good oral health. It also includes a recipe for a healthy snack that children can make in a Head Start classroom or at home with their families.

Contact: Early Childhood Learning and Knowledge Center, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Head Start, Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (866) 763-6481 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://eclkc.ohs.acf.hhs.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Fluoride, Head Start, Health promotion, Nutrition, Oral health, Pregnant women, Young children

Annotation: This video provides information about the importance of good oral health for young children and on how to promote oral health for this population. Topics include providing oral health education, using fluoridated toothpaste and helping children brush their teeth in the classroom, advising parents to brush a child’s teeth with fluoridated toothpaste in the morning and before bed, talking o parents about food choices that promote oral health, and advising parents to seek care for their child from a dentist or dental hygienist.

Contact: National Center on Early Childhood Health and Wellness, American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (888) 227-5125 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://eclkc.ohs.acf.hhs.gov/ncechw Available from the website.

• Link
• Spanish

Keywords: Head Start, Health care utilization, Oral health, Oral hygiene, Prevention, Videotapes, Young children

Annotation: This resource first defines childhood adversity, and briefly describes how adversity experienced in childhood does (or does not) affect outcomes later in life. Next, it provides an overview of research on the effects that Early Head Start (EHS) and Head Start (HS) have on participating children and families who have experienced adversity. It then shifts to discussing adversity that EHS-CCP staff may have experienced and the effects of their experiences on their work with children, using a case study to illustrate approaches for supporting staff. The resource also highlights work that the University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff (one of the six grantees involved in Child Trends’ study) has done to support staff who have experienced adversity and facilitate their work with children and families.

Contact: Child Trends , 7315 Wisconsin Avenue, Suite 1200 W, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (240) 223-9200 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.childtrends.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child health, Early Head Start, Trauma, Young children

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information about oral health in Wisconsin, with a focus on how community water fluoridation (CWF) can improve oral health status. The fact sheet includes an overview of the effects of tooth decay and information on how it affects children enrolled in Head Start, children in third grade, and older adults in the state. The impact of CWF on tooth decay is discussed. Strategies to promote oral health and CWF in Wisconsin are included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Wisconsin Department of Health Services, Oral Health Program, Division of Public Health, P.O. Box 2659, Madison, WI 53701-2659, Fax: (608) 266-3483 Web Site: https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/oral-health/index.htm Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: , Fluoride, Head start, Older adults, Oral health, Prevention, State materials, Wisconsin, Young children

Annotation: This video provides information about how successful consultation strategies can help child care health consultants address children’s oral health in Head Start and other early childhood education and care programs. The video discusses why good oral health in early childhood is important and includes a scenario in which a child care health consultant advises teachers in a Head Start program on how to determine whether a child with behavior issues may have an underlying health problem—specifically, an oral health problem—and how they can address it.

Contact: National Center on Early Childhood Health and Wellness, American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (888) 227-5125 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://eclkc.ohs.acf.hhs.gov/ncechw Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Consultation, Head Start, Oral healthy, Preschool children, Preschool education, Teachers, Young children

Annotation: This report is designed to help Migrant and Seasonal Head Start (MSHS) grantees and federally qualified health centers establish partnerships that increase access to oral health services for children in MSHS and their families. The report provides information about MSHS programs, oral health in the programs, and the Health Resources and Services Administration’s Health Center Program. Topics include Head Start, oral health, oral health care, financing oral health care, and planning.

Contact: Early Childhood Learning and Knowledge Center, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Head Start, Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (866) 763-6481 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://eclkc.ohs.acf.hhs.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Collaboration, Community health centers, Financing, Head Start, Health care delivery, Migrant health centers, Migrants, Oral health, Public private partnerships, Young children

Annotation: This environmental scan identifies oral health educational resources for home visitors and the families they serve. It also addresses gaps in existing resources and opportunities to promote oral health in home visiting programs. Methods of conducting the scan are described. A list of resources with a description of each is included.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors, 3858 Cashill Boulevard, Reno, NV 89509, Telephone: (775) 626-5008 Fax: (775) 626-9268 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.astdd.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Early Head Start, Families, Head Start, Health promotion, Home visits, Oral health, Resource materials