Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This chart is designed to help pregnant women and parents choose which fish to eat, and how often to eat them, based on their mercury levels. Contents include best choices (lowest levels of mercury), good choices, and choices to avoid (highest mercury levels) and the number of servings per day. A description of serving sizes for adults and young children (ages 4 to 7) is included.

Contact: U.S. Food and Drug Administration, 10903 New Hampshire Ave., Silver Spring, MD 20993, Telephone: (888) 463-6332 Fax: (301) 443-3100 Web Site: http://www.fda.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child development, Child health, Children, Consumer education materials, Decision making, Environmental exposures, Environmental pollution, Nutrition, Parents, Pregnant women, Reproductive hazards

Annotation: This book, designed to be used by practicing pediatricians, offers information on the role of the environment in the illnesses of childhood and adolescence. The book is organized into five sections. Section 1 offers background information including developmental toxicity, breastfeeding, how to take an environmental history, and how to do a home inventory of environmental hazards. Sections 2 and 3 focus on chemical and physical hazards and on specific environments such as child care settings, preconceptual and prenatal exposures, schools, waste sites, and workplaces. Section 4 addresses a variety of environmental situations including arts and crafts, asthma, cancer, chemical-biological terrorism, environmental disparities, multiple chemical sensitivities, antibiotics in animal agriculture, and environmental threats in developing countries. Section 5 provides information on communicating about environmental hazards. Boxes, figures, and tables present statistical and other information throughout the book. Also included are six appendices, including the American Academy of Pediatrics' (AAP's) policy statements and technical reports, resources for environmental health, curricula for environmental education in schools, chairs of the AAP committee on environmental health, AAP patient education materials, and more. The book concludes with an index.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: 800/433-9016 Secondary Telephone: 202/347-8600 E-mail: https://www.aap.org/en/pages/contact-us/contact-national-headquarters/ Web Site: https://www.aap.org Order from the website for a charge. Document Number: ISBN 978-1-61002-218-7.

• 4th Edition
• 3rd Edition

Keywords: Adolescent health, Asthma, Chemicals, Child health, Environment, Environmental exposure, Environmental health, Environmental influences, Environmental pollution, Hazards, Pediatricians, Reference materials

Annotation: This toolkit provides resources on indoor environmental quality and children's health and ways to improve the school environment. Contents include a sample op-ed, information on buying healthy products, an indoor air quality and pest management checklist, a green cleaning checklist, a guide for parents on lead in school drinking water, and a guide on disinfecting wipes. Additional contents include research, federal resources, a position statement, and policy recommendations.

Contact: Healthy Schools Network, 773 Madison Avenue, Albany, NY 12208, Telephone: (518) 462-0632 Fax: (518) 462-0433 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.healthyschools.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Community action, Environmental exposure, Environmental health, Hazards, Prevention, Resources for professionals, Risk factors, Safety, School age children, School health, Schools

Annotation: This report examines the relationship between health and housing in urban policy; national housing trends and their implications for health; promising movements in the field to connect opportunity, health, and housing policy; and a policy framework to advance equity in health and housing.

Contact: PolicyLink, 1438 Webster Street, Suite 303, Oakland, CA 94612, Telephone: (510) 663-2333 Fax: (510) 663-9684 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.policylink.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Cities, Costs, Equal opportunities, Hazards, Health status, Housing, Policy development, Reform, Regulations, Trends, Zoning

Annotation: This document is designed to help organizations and education policymakers make decisions to reduce the presence of toxic chemicals in schools. Contents include guidance on purchasing products, equipment, and services that have reduced adverse effects on human health and on the environment, as well as costs. Topics include cleaning supplies, office equipment, interior wall and ceiling paints, office supplies, art supplies, and furniture. The document is customizable. Posters and guidelines for child care are also included as appendices.

Contact: Healthy Schools Network, 773 Madison Avenue, Albany, NY 12208, Telephone: (518) 462-0632 Fax: (518) 462-0433 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.healthyschools.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child care centers, Community action, Costs, Environmental exposure, Environmental health, Hazards, Policy development, Prevention, Resources for professionals, Risk factors, School age children, Schools

Annotation: This index identifies strengths and gaps in the protections needed to keep people safe and healthy in the face of large-scale public health threats, and tracks how these protections vary across the U.S. and change over time. Contents include current and past findings and methodology, key changes, data, measures, guiding principles, and frequently asked questions. Topics include health security surveillance, community planning and engagement coordination, incident and information management, health care delivery, countermeasure management, and environmental and occupational health.

• Link

Keywords: Community coordination, Community participation, Disaster planning, Emergencies, Environmental health, Hazards, Health care delivery, Management information systems, Measures, Occupational health, Population surveillance, Safety, Trends

Annotation: This plan provides direction for U.S. Department of Health and Human Service (HHS) efforts to achieve environmental justice as part of its mission by (1) identifying and addressing disproportionately high and adverse human health and environmental effects on populations with low incomes and Indian tribes and (2) encouraging the fair treatment and meaningful involvement of affected parties with the goal of building healthy, resilient communities and reducing disparities in health and well-being associated with environmental factors. The document outlines the following four strategic elements: policy development and dissemination; education and training; research and data collection, analysis, and use; and services. Each element is aligned with targeted goals, strategies, and actions to be undertaken by HHS.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 200 Independence Avenue, S.W., Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (877) 696-6775 Web Site: http://www.hhs.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Environment, Federal initiatives, Hazards, Health policy, Legislation, Regulations, Strategic plans

Annotation: This brief provides information about molds and the potential impact of molds on children's health. Topics include types of mold; symptoms of exposure to mold in children; allergies, asthma, and mold; monitoring, prevention, and cleanup tips; and tips on remediation for school officials, parents, and school personnel.

Contact: Healthy Schools Network, 773 Madison Avenue, Albany, NY 12208, Telephone: (518) 462-0632 Fax: (518) 462-0433 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.healthyschools.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Allergies, Asthma, Environmental exposure, Environmental health, Environmental pollution, Hazards, Respiratory diseases, Risk factors, School age children, Schools, Testing, Toxic disorders

Annotation: This report discusses the factors that influence health and safety in the home and the steps that people can take to prevent injury, disability, and disease that may result from an unhealthy housing environment. The report addresses (1) the need for healthy homes; (2) the connection between health and homes; (3) promoting healthy homes through prevention; (4) homes and health research; and (5) translating research into practical application and policy. Among the topics covered are air quality, water quality, residential chemicals, housing structure and design, elevated lead levels, structural deficiencies, mental health, access disparities, housing instability, and homelessness. A series of coordinated action steps call on individuals, families, educators, scientists, businesses, agencies, and organizations, to join in a discussion about healthy home issues; to make informed decisions; and to develop imaginative and realistic solutions that will help ensure that safe, healthy, affordable, and accessible homes are available to everyone in the United States. Related materials include materials from the launch of this program, actions for consumers, a checklist, resources, and a strategic plan.

Contact: U.S. Office of the Surgeon General, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 200 Independence Ave., SW, Humphrey Bldg., Suite 701H, Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (240) 276-8853 Fax: (202) 401-7529 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.surgeongeneral.gov/index.html Available from the website.

• Report
• Related Materials

Keywords: Air pollution, Building codes, Environmental health, Hazards, Household safety, Housing, Public health, Public policy, Risk factors

Annotation: This report focuses on the health effects of active smoking and on diseases related to active smoking. The report, which includes an executive summary, covers major groups of the many diseases associated with smoking: cancers, cardiovascular diseases, respiratory diseases, reproductive effects, and other adverse health consequences. The report also discusses the impact of smoking on disease and the benefits of smoking reduction. A vision for the future is included, as well. Each chapter includes a reference list. Statistical information is presented in figures and tables throughout the report. One appendix lists recent studies that represent major additions to the literature. The report concludes with a list of abbreviations, a list of tables and figures, and an index.

Contact: U.S. Office of the Surgeon General, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 200 Independence Ave., SW, Humphrey Bldg., Suite 701H, Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (240) 276-8853 Fax: (202) 401-7529 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.surgeongeneral.gov/index.html Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Cancer, Cardiovascular diseases, Health, Health behavior, Reproductive hazards, Reproductive health, Respiratory diseases, Smoking, Smoking cessation

Annotation: This book documents and explains the wide variety of workplace hazards faced by women with the purpose of helping women to reduce occupational risks while achieving the larger social objective of protecting all women's occupational health and safety. Key topics include: the biology of reproduction; the impact of the physical and social work environment on the pregnant woman; how to identify and minimize or avoid hazards in various types of work environments; how to weigh risks in the workplace and obtain accurate information about risks; and innovative approaches taken by women to make work safe and healthy, including successful organizing and lobbying techniques. Appendices contain lists of protective legislation, governmental regulatory agencies, and resource organizations.

Contact: Haworth Press, Taylor and Francis, 7625 Empire Drive, Florence, KY 41042, Telephone: (800) 634-7064 Secondary Telephone: Fax: E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.tandfonline.com/ Available in libraries.

Keywords: Occupational safety and health, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Reproductive hazards, Teratology, Women', s health

Annotation: This report reviews current knowledge of hazards and suspected hazards to the reproductive health of America's working men and women and to the health and well-being of their children. The nature and actions of the chemical, biological, and physical factors that may cause reproductive or developmental impairment are described, as is the complexity of measuring reproductive endpoints. The first section reviews current technologies for assessing reproductive function. The second section reviews the role of the regulatory process in preventing workplace exposure to reproductive health hazards, and the redress from either State workers' compensation programs or the legal system available to those affected. The third section discusses the ethical principles underlying the protection of reproductive health in the workplace. The report was requested by the House Committee on Science and Technology, with letters of support from the Senate Committee on Labor and Human Resources, and the House Committee on Agriculture, Subcommittee on Department Operations, Research, and Foreign Agriculture.

Contact: U.S. Government Publishing Office, 732 North Capitol Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20401, Telephone: (202) 512-1800 Secondary Telephone: (866) 512-1800 Fax: (202) 512-2104 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gpo.gov Available from the website. Document Number: OTA-BA-266.

• PDF

Keywords: Environmental exposure, Ethics, Occupational safety and health, Regulations, Reproductive hazards

Annotation: Proceedings of a conferenece held January 26-27, 1981, Washington, D. C.

Contact: March of Dimes, 1275 Mamaroneck Avenue, White Plains, NY 10605, Telephone: (914) 997-4488 Secondary Telephone: Web Site: http://www.marchofdimes.com Available in libraries.

Keywords: Environmental exposure, Reproductive hazards