Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This handbook describes best practices to help with the continuing effort to prevent HIV infection in women and infants. Topics include HIV counseling and testing during pregnancy; perinatal transmission risk; diagnostic tests; Centers for Disease Control and Prevention's classification of disease; HIV reporting requirements; medications and treatment during pregnancy, labor, delivery and postpartum; newborn treatment; and consultation and referral information. Four appendices provide a resource directory, a listing of local health jurisdictions in Washington state, free regional and national telephone consultation resources, and Web sites. References conclude the handbook.

Contact: Washington State Department of Health, P.O. Box 47890, Olympia, WA 98504-7890, Telephone: (800) 525-0127 Secondary Telephone: (360) 236-4030 Web Site: http://www.doh.wa.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Childbirth, Consultation, Counseling, Diagnostic tests, HIV, HIV screening, Labor, Medicine, Newborns, Perinatal care, Postpartum care, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Referral, Resource materials, Women', s health

Annotation: This document presents recommendations for women's preventive health care services. Topics include breast cancer screening for average-risk women, breastfeeding services and supplies, screening for cervical cancer, contraception and contraceptive counseling, screening for gestational diabetes mellitus, screening for human immunodeficiency virus, screening for interpersonal and domestic violence, counseling for sexually transmitted infections, and well-woman preventive visits.

Contact: American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, 409 12th Street S.W., P.O. Box 96920, Washington, DC 20090-6920, Telephone: (202) 638-5577 Secondary Telephone: (202) 863-2518 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.acog.org

Keywords: Breast cancer, Breastfeeding, Cervical cancer, Contraception, Counseling, Domestic violence, Gestational diabetes, Guidelines, HIV screening, Health screening, Health services delivery, Interpersonal violence, Preventive health services, Sexually transmitted diseases, Women', s health

Annotation: This web resource provides recommendations for screening for HIV infection. It also provides evidence reviews, a clinical summary, and related information for consumers and health professionals. It is being updated in 2018 to two sections: screening for nonpregnant adolescents and adults, and screening for pregnant women.

Contact: U.S. Preventive Services Task Force, 540 Gaither Road, Rockville, MD 20850, Telephone: (301) 427-1584 Web Site: http://www.uspreventiveservicestaskforce.org Available from the website.

• Link
• Consumer Fact Sheet

Keywords: HIV screening

Annotation: This brief provides an overview of recent findings from a cross-section of Agency of Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)-supported research projects on conditions especially important to women's health. Examples of topics included in the brief are cardiovascular disease, cancer screening and treatment, reproductive health, women and medications, and prevention. For each topic, facts are presented and then elaborated upon. The studies from which the facts are drawn are identified by author names, journal in which the study appears, and (in some cases) AHRQ grant or contract number.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov Available from the website. Document Number: AHRQ pub. no.10-P005.

• Link

Keywords: AIDS, Access to health care, Alternative medicine, Cancer, Cardiovascular diseases, Costs, Family planning, HIV, Homelessness, Hysterectomy, Osteoporosis, Pregnancy, Prevention, Reproductive health, Research, Screening, Treatment, Violence, Women', Working women, s health

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information about HIV and AIDS during pregnancy. The fact sheet offers background information and answers questions about HIV and AIDS during pregnancy, included who should be tested, what types of treatment are available, symptoms of AIDS in infants, and steps women can take to remain uninfected. References are included.

Contact: March of Dimes, 1275 Mamaroneck Avenue, White Plains, NY 10605, Telephone: (914) 997-4488 Secondary Telephone: Web Site: http://www.marchofdimes.com Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: AIDS, HIV, Pediatric AIDS, Pregnancy, Prevention, Screening tests, Treatment

Annotation: This report provides information about the FIMR/HIV Pilot Project (FHPP), the goal of which was to adapt the Fetal and Infant Mortality Review process in order to identify and address missed opportunities for perinatal HIV prevention and treatment in pilot sites. The report discusses perinatal HIV, the Fetal and Infant Mortality Review (FIMR), the FIMR/HIV prevention methodology, FHPP, and the experiences of three pilot sites (Baton Rouge, Louisianna; Detroit, Michigan; and Jacksonville, Florida).

Contact: CityMatCH, University of Nebraska Medical Center, Department of Pediatrics, 982170 Nebraska Medical Center, Omaha, NE 68198-2170, Telephone: (402) 552-9500 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.citymatch.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Community programs, Florida, HIV, HIV, HIV infected patients, HIV screening, Infant mortality, Louisiana, Michigan, Perinatal health, Pilot projects, Pregnancy, Prevention, Treatment

Annotation: This information kit contains tools for a health communications program developed by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) which includes CDC recommendations for HIV testing, American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists Committee Opinion, American College of Nurse-Midwives statement, provider and patient materials, and due date projection wheel with HIV testing reminders as examples.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available at no charge; also available from the website.

• Link
• Link

Keywords: AIDS, HIV, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Resources for professionals, Screening

Annotation: This evidence synthesis focuses on screening for unsuspected human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) using HIV antibody tests in pregnant women, including adolescents. Although this report reviews the overall body of evidence on screening for HIV infection in pregnant women, it focuses on more recent data on the efficacy of combination antiretroviral regimens in prevention of mother-to-child transmission, harms associated with receipt of antiretrovirals in pregnancy, and the accuracy and acceptability of rapid testing. The report, which includes an abstract, discusses the study methods and results and offers a discussion. Statistical information is presented in figures and tables throughout the report. The report includes six appendices: (1) search strategies, (2) inclusion and exclusion criteria by key question, (3) quality rating criteria, (4) search and selection of literature, (5) statistical methods used for outcome tables, and (6) reviewers. References are included.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Drug therapies, HIV, HIV screening, Literature reviews, MCH research, Pregnant adolescents, Pregnant women

Annotation: This evidence synthesis focuses on screening for unsuspected human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) using HIV antibody tests in non-pregnant adolescents ages 13-18 and adults. Although this report reviews the overall body of evidence on screening for HIV infection, it focuses on more recent data on the efficacy of highly active antiretroviral therapy regimens, the accuracy and acceptability of new test methods, long-term risks of antiretroviral therapy regimens, and the optimal timing of therapy in asymptomatic patients. The report, which includes an abstract, discusses the study methods and results and offers a discussion. Statistical information is presented in figures and tables throughout the report. The report includes seven appendices: (1) search strategies, (2) inclusion and exclusion criteria by key question, (3) quality rating criteria, (4) search and selection of literature, (5) statistical methods used for outcome tables, (6) reviewers, and (7) evidence tables. References are included. It has been archived and is for historical reference only.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Drug therapies, HIV, HIV screening, Literature reviews, MCH research, Women

Annotation: This webcast on the prevention of the perinatal transition of HIV AIDS was held on February 17, 2005. The webcast featured three presenters: (1) Margaret Lampe, from the Division of HIV/AIDS Prevention-Epidemiology, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, who discussed Rapid HIV-1 testing for women in labor with unknown HIV status; (2) Ana Rua-Dobles, from the HUG-Me Program in Orlando, FL, who presented on the perinatal nurse's role in the prevention of HIV vertical transmission; and (3) Jackie Nash, Regional HIV/AIDS Prevention Coordinator, Duval County Health Dept. in Jacksonville, FL, who talked about Florida's Targeted Outreach for Pregnant Women Act Program (TOPWA). The complete audio recording, along with all three powerpoint presentations, are available online. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: CityMatCH, University of Nebraska Medical Center, Department of Pediatrics, 982170 Nebraska Medical Center, Omaha, NE 68198-2170, Telephone: (402) 552-9500 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.citymatch.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Multimedia, AIDS, Disease prevention, Disease transmission, Florida, HIV, HIV screening, Infant health, Maternal health, Perinatal influences, Pregnancy complications, Prenatal care, State programs

Annotation: This compendium includes selected resources and abstracts on the following topics: (1) general newborn screening; (2) biotinidase deficiency, (2) congenital adrenal hyperplasia, (3) congenital hypothyroidism, (4) cystic fibrosis, (5) drug exposure, (6) galactosemia, (7) hearing screening, (8) hemoglobinapathies, (9) HIV, (10) medium chain co-A dehydrogenase deficiency, (11) phenylketonuria. Additional resources are provided on newborn screening policy; ethical, legal, and social issues; costs and financing of screening newborns; laboratory analysis; research and new technologies; and treatment and management. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Resource Center for Patient/Family-Centered Medical Home, American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (847) 434-7605 Secondary Telephone: (800) 433-9016, ext. 7605 Web Site: https://www.aap.org/en/practice-management/medical-home

Keywords: Biotinidase deficiency, Congenital adrenal hyperplasia, Congenital hypothyroidism, Cystic fibrosis, Drug affected infants, EPSDT, Ethics, Financing, Galactosemia, HIV, Hearing screening, Hemoglobinopathies, Laboratories, Legal issues, Management, Neonatal screening, Phenylketonuria, Research, Technology

Annotation: This poster encourages pregnant women to test for HIV. It provides a toll-free hotline for the Indiana Family Helpline.

Contact: Indiana Perinatal Network, 1991 East 56th Street , Indianapolis, IN 46220, Telephone: (317) 924-0825 Fax: (317) 924-0831 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.indianaperinatal.org/ Available at no charge.

Keywords: Consumer education materials, HIV, Health screening, Hotlines, Outreach, Posters, Pregnancy, Prenatal screening

Annotation: This manual is part of a three volume set designed to provide information to teachers about the many facets of the Bright Futures Pediatric Education Project. Part one of this manual discusses screening and health promotion in the young, middle, and older adolescent. Section two presents issues of sexuality and reproductive health at the adolescent stage. Topics include sexually transmitted diseases; contraception, pregnancy; HIV and dysfunctional uterine bleeding. The third section presents three case studies in mental health: anorexia nervosa, depression, and substance abuse. The manual concludes with Bright Futures evaluation questions for adolescent health. In 2015 the cases in this manual are available separately at the program website. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau and the Genentech Foundation for Growth and Development]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available in libraries. Document Number: HRSA Info. Ctr. MCHN100 (3 vol set.).

• Program Website

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescent pregnancy, Anorexia nervosa, Bright Futures, Child health supervision, Contraception, Depression, Dysfunctional uterine bleeding, HIV, Health promotion, Health screening, Oral contraceptives, Reproductive health, Sexuality, Sexually transmitted diseases, Substance abuse, Young adults

Annotation: This report (from a committee on prenatal and newborn screening for HIV infection) explores the salient technical, medical, legal, and ethical aspects of HIV screening proposals for pregnant women and newborns, whether such proposals are appropriate, and discusses the process by which such policies should be developed and maintained. It is designed to offer guidance to state policymakers faced with decisions about instituting publicly sponsored prenatal or newborn HIV screening programs. Following an introduction, Chapter 2 considers the current magnitude of the problem of HIV infection and AIDS among women and children and the distribution of infection. Chapter 3 discusses the distinction between testing and screening, the technical characteristics of screening tests, an algorithm for HIV testing, and the range of screening formats. Chapter 4 reviews the possible goals of neonatal HIV screening and the committee's judgment of whether these objectives are currently achievable. Chapter 5 synthesizes the committee's deliberations on screening pregnant women for HIV and presents the resulting conclusions and recommendations. Chapter 6 explores if such screening is epidemiologically justified. The report concludes with the laying out of the specific components that a prenatal HIV screening program should consists of before being considered. An appendix contains the program of the conference and a summary of the presentations and discussions.

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Contact Phone: (800) 624-6242 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nap.edu Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-309-04428-6.

Keywords: AIDS, HIV, Infants, Policy development, Pregnant women, Screening, Screening tests

Annotation: These are the proceedings of the 6th National Neonatal Screening Symposium, held May 22-25, 1988 in Portland, Oregon. The symposium brings together practitioners, laboratory specialists, program managers, and medical consultants with an interest in this field. Some of the major topics covered in the contributed papers include laboratory considerations, maternal and child health considerations, computerization, hemoglobin screening, and HIV screening. The "National Neonatal Screening Symposium: Program and Abstracts" are available in a separate volume.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Public Health Laboratory Directors, 1211 Connecticut Avenue, N.W., Suite 608, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 822-5227 Contact Phone: (703) 556-9222

Keywords: Conference proceedings, HIV, Hemoglobinopathies, Neonatal screening, Sickle cell disease