Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This manual provides professional recommendations and states’ expectations for school-based dental sealant programs (SBSPs) under the Ohio Department of Health (ODH). Contents include local program operations, regulatory compliance, compliance with ODH policies, SBSP eligibility, sample program forms, site assessment, infection control, clinical materials and methods, quality assurance, performance benchmarks and standards, reporting, ODH program reviews, compliance with other ODH requirements, Medicaid billing and collection, reimbursement, and filing claims. The appendices contain sample forms, records, letters, and other practice-related materials.

Contact: Ohio Department of Health, 246 North High Street, Columbus, OH 43215, Telephone: (614) 466-3543 Web Site: http://www.odh.ohio.gov Available from the website.

• PDF
• Program Website

Keywords: Children, Dental sealants, Forms, Guideline adherence, Manuals, Ohio, Oral health, Parents, Resources for professionals, School based clinics, State programs

Annotation: This checklist is designed to help multiple audiences assess whether a child care program complies with national health and safety standards. Topics include staffing; program activities and healthy development; health promotion and protection; nutrition and food service; safe sleep; facilities supplies, equipment, and environmental health; play areas, playgrounds, and transportation; infectious disease; policies; and licensing and community action. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Resource Center for Health and Safety in Child Care and Early Education, University of Colorado Denver, 13120 East 19th Avenue, Mail Stop F541, P.O. Box 6511, Aurora, CO 80045, Telephone: (800) 598-5437 (598-KIDS) Fax: (303) 724-0960 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://nrckids.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child care facilities, Child health, Guideline adherence, Health policy, Regulations, Safety, Standards

Annotation: This publication is designed to aid hospitals and maternity facilities in complying with the Joint Commission's exclusive breast milk feeding core measure. Contents include guidelines for data collection and recommendations for documentation including charting samples. The publication also provides information on implementing evidence-based practices that improve exclusive breast milk feeding. Topics include labor and delivery care, postpartum care, facility discharge care, staff training, structural and organizational aspects of care delivery. Additional resources are available from the website. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: United States Breastfeeding Committee, 2025 M Street, N.W., Suite 800, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 367-1132 Fax: (202) 367-2132 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.usbreastfeeding.org Available from the website.

• Link
• Toolkit

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Data collection, Evidence-based practice, Guideline adherence, Measures, Perinatal care, Program improvement, Quality assurance

Annotation: These resources are designed to support compliance with best practice for preventing and controlling Hepatitis C virus and other infections. Contents include regulations and guidelines; articles and frequently asked questions; and instructional resources such as videos in English and Spanish, fact sheets, and training courses. Client resources are also available.

Contact: Organization for Safety, Asepsis, and Prevention, One Glenlake Parkway, NE, Suite 1200, Atlanta, GA 30328, Telephone: (410) 571-0003 Secondary Telephone: (800) 298-6727 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.osap.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Disease prevention, Guideline adherence, Guidelines, Hepatitis, Infection control, Model programs, Multimedia, Oral health, Regulations, Training

Annotation: This resource provides information and tools related to Head Start monitoring, including the onsite review protocol (in English and Spanish), video and slides from a grantee webcast, and monitoring guides. The guides are organized by reviewer roles and evidence-collection methods. In each guide, the evidence collected is linked to compliance indicators and frameworks within the protocol. Topics include management systems and program governance, fiscal integrity, staff and child file, family and community engagement, child health and safety, and child development and education.

Contact: Early Childhood Learning and Knowledge Center, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Head Start, Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (866) 763-6481 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://eclkc.ohs.acf.hhs.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Guideline adherence, Head Start, Manuals, Multimedia, Protocols, Resources for professionals, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This report contains the findings and recommendations offered following the conclusion of a focus group study with child care center directors, child care home providers, and parents of children in child care centers across the state of Delaware. The purposes of the study, conducted in partnership with Nemours Health and Prevention Services and Delaware's Office of Child care Licensing and Child and Adult Care Food Program, were (1) to learn how child care providers and parents are responding to Delaware’s comprehensive nutrition and physical activity standards for child care facilities and (2) to understand what child care providers need to do to achieve compliance with nutrition and physical activity standards and to develop a set of recommendations to address these needs. Included in the report are a list of the questions presented to focus group participants; a summary of the focus group study findings; and recommendations related to the state guidelines and their implementation by child care providers.

Contact: Altarum Institute, 3520 Green Court, Suite 300, Ann Arbor, MI 48105, Telephone: (734) 302-4600 Secondary Telephone: (800) 879-6505 Fax: (734) 302-4991 Web Site: http://www.altarum.org/contact Available from the website.

• Full Report

Keywords: Child care, Child care centers, Child care workers, Delaware, Focus groups, Guideline adherence, Licensing, Program improvement, Recommendations, Standards, State programs, Studies

Annotation: This document contains testimony presented at the U.S. House of Representatives hearing on the oversight of oral health programs for children eligible for Medicaid held on May 2, 2007, in Washington, DC. The testimony addresses the performance of states in ensuring that children obtain oral health care services through the Medicaid Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis, and Treatment (EPSDT) program. A discussion of the role of managed care organizations in the provision of EPSDT oral health services and oversight by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services in ensuring that states operate their programs in compliance with the Medicaid Act and implementing rules is included. References are provided.

Contact: National Health Law Program, North Carolina Office, 1512 E. Franklin St., Suite 110, Chapel Hill, NC 27514, Telephone: (919) 968-6308 Fax: (919) 968-8855 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.healthlaw.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Children, EPSDT, Guideline adherence, Health care utilization, Medicaid managed care, Oral health, Program improvement, Regulations, State programs, Utilization review

Annotation: This report resents the findings of a study taken of 149 Pennsylvania child care centers and family day care programs. The child care and family child care versions of the Child Development Program Evaluation Licensing Scale (CDPE) was used to test for compliance with state health and safety regulations, and the Early Childhood Environmental Rating Scale (ECERS) and the Family Day Care Homes Rating Scale (FDCRS) to evaluate the quality of the programs. The study was undertaken to determine whether there would be differences in the quality of service 1) between non-profit and profit centers; 2) between agency sponsored centers and family child care programs; 3) between child care centers and family child care programs; 4) that there would be a linear relationship between the CDPE scores and the ECERS scores, and 5) that there would be no difference between urban, suburban, and rural child care centers and family day care programs. Slightly different versions of this study have been published as Licensure and Program Quality in Early Childhood and child Care Programs and as Licensure and Program Quality in Child Care and Early Childhood Programs.

Contact: Education Resources Information Center, Institute of Education Sciences, U.S. Department of Education, 555 New Jersey Avenue, N.W., Washington, DC 20208, Telephone: (202) 219-1385 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.eric.ed.gov Document Number: ERIC ED 314 185.

Keywords: Child care, Evaluation, Family child care, Guideline adherence, Health and safety, Licensing, Pennsylvania, Quality assurance

Annotation: This report considers the effectiveness of using the Child Care Indicator Checklist Statistical Model developed by the Children's Services Monitoring Transfer Consortium. The model is a regulatory, monitoring, and evaluation systems model. It relies upon identifying predictors that correlate regulatory compliance and the quality of programs in a child care center to positive impacts in a child's development. The implications of previous research in compliance and quality studies based on the Child Development Program Evaluation Licensing Scale (CDPE) and the Early Childhood Environment Rating Scale (ECERS) are compared to this model. Possible policy implications for state child care regulatory agencies and for child care centers if this model were to be used are noted.

Contact: Education Resources Information Center, Institute of Education Sciences, U.S. Department of Education, 555 New Jersey Avenue, N.W., Washington, DC 20208, Telephone: (202) 219-1385 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.eric.ed.gov Available from the website. Document Number: ERIC ED 322 997.

• Link

Keywords: Child care, Family child care, Guideline adherence, Health and safety, Measurement tools, Quality assurance

Annotation: This report provides a checklist of generic predictor items based on research on day care monitoring methods conducted by the Children's Services Monitoring Transfer Consortium. The checklist can be used to determine the compliance of child care centers with standards in the following areas: administration, staff qualifications, environmental safety, health, and nutrition. The report discusses the generic indicators and then suggests ways of using them to monitor a day care program. Related research that is being done on this subject is noted in an appendix.

Contact: Education Resources Information Center, Institute of Education Sciences, U.S. Department of Education, 555 New Jersey Avenue, N.W., Washington, DC 20208, Telephone: (202) 219-1385 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.eric.ed.gov Document Number: ERIC ED 255 291.

Keywords: Guideline adherence, Child care, Child care workers, Family child care, Health and safety, Measurement tools, Nutrition, Quality assurance, Standards