Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This evidence report provides a systematic review of the scientific evidence about whether short stature in a child due to a medically determinable cause may be associated with disability, whether skeletal dysplasias in a child may be considered a disability, and whether decreasing growth velocity in a child with a chronic disease may serve as an indicator of severity of the disease.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov Available at no charge; also available from the website. Document Number: AHRQ Pub. No. 03-E025.

• Link

Keywords: Children, Chronic Illnesses and disabilities, Disabilities, Growth disorders, Growth monitoring, Short stature

Annotation: This tri-fold brochure provides for parents a place to record health information for infants and children through age 6. It also provides reminders about child development, well-child visits, health screening, vaccines and safety precautions. The health record is available in English and Spanish. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Bright Futures at Georgetown University, Telephone: (202) 784-9772 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.brightfutures.org/georgetown.html Available from the website. Document Number: BF0100-013.

• English Version
• Spanish Version

Keywords: Child health, Child safety, Growth monitoring, Health promotion, Health screening, Health supervision, Immunization, Infant health, Medical records, Prevention, Recordkeeping, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This packet of information is intended to assist the home visitor and the parent through the first 12 months of life. A set of fact sheets for the parent and a guideline sheet for the worker are organized by each month of development. Fact sheets include the following: activities sheets; parenting tips; and what to look for and what to expect developmentally. The curriculum guidelines for each month include information about what to do on each visit for all clients and for priority one clients; handouts to give to parents; and screening or checks on the baby for that month. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Community Oriented Primary Care Program, LifeSpan Comprehensive Services with Home Visiting, 6263 Harry Hines Boulevard, Suite 401, Dallas, TX 75235, Telephone: (214) 630-4781 Contact Phone: (214) 654-4502 Fax: (214) 630-8308 Contact E-mail: [email protected]

Keywords: Child development, Child health services, Developmental screening, Growth monitoring, Health screening, Home visiting, Infant behavior, Infants, Nutrition, Physical development, Play

Annotation: This manual outlines a two day workshop primarily designed to train field supervisors and community health workers who are trained to weigh young children as well as to chart and interpret their growth on improving their interpersonal communication with clients. It describes a set of six sessions, each of which includes: 1) title, 2) estimated time, 3) behavioral objectives for participants, 4) materials, 5) recommended activities, 6) objectives checklist, and 7) notes to the trainer. The manual also explains to trainers the logistics of preparing and conducting the workshop, how to adapt the manual to meet the group's needs, and provides some sample resources for activities and questionnaires.

Contact: FHI 360 , 359 Blackwell Street, Suite 200, Durham, NC 27701, Telephone: (919) 544-7040 Contact Phone: (202) 862-1900 Fax: (919) 544-7261 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.fhi360.org $4.00.

• PDF

Keywords: Child health, Child nutrition, Communication skills, Developing countries, Growth monitoring, Infant health, Infant nutrition, Nutrition counseling, Nutrition education, Nutrition promotion, Training materials

Annotation: This book addresses the issues that have been raised regarding the value of growth monitoring in early childhood in the international setting, including affordability of monitoring programs, cultural difficulties with illiterate community health workers and mothers, and difficulties in providing adequate followup when indicated. It discusses a range of methods and options that can be selected to fit within national constraints, training issues, and evaluation.

Contact: Oxford University Press, 198 Madison Avenue, New York, NY 10016, Telephone: (800) 451-7556 Secondary Telephone: (212)726-6000 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.oup.com/us Available in libraries.

Keywords: Child development, Child health, Developing countries, Growth monitoring

Annotation: This publication is addressed to program managers. It discusses principles of growth monitoring, the items on a growth chart, and training health workers to use the chart.

Contact: World Health Organization, 20, Avenue Appia, Geneva, Switzerland , Telephone: (+ 41 22) 791 21 11 Fax: (+ 41 22) 791 3111 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.who.int/en Photocopy available at no charge.

• Link

Keywords: Child development, Growth charts, Growth monitoring, International health, Paraprofessional personnel, Training

Keywords: Growth monitoring, International health

Annotation: The purpose of this manual is to provide information for hospital personnel on how to use the infants nutrition screening form in screening for nutrition problems in both term and low birthweight infants. The manual is divided into three main sections: 1) the self-teaching section; 2) the resource section; and 3) the audio tape section. The nutrition screening form is contained in the first section. The resource section contains background information in infant nutrition with tables and charts to provide quick summaries for common concerns in infant nutrition. The audio tape section contains forms to be used while listening to the audio tape. The manual was funded by a grant from the state of California.

Keywords: Growth monitoring, Infant nutrition, Nutrition assessment, Nutrition monitoring, Premature infants

Annotation: This report discusses research in the process of growth in humans. It begins with a list of consultants. The report discusses intrauterine growth, low birthweight babies, and the childhood years with attention to the effects of nutrition, hormones, illness and emotion on growth. It also provides information on adolescent growth, with emphasis on obesity and puberty.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent development, Child development, Fetal development, Growth monitoring, Hormones, Low birthweight infants, Nutrition, Obesity, Physical development, Research

Annotation: This book describes a wide range of pediatric conditions and other issues related to pediatric care, including respiratory conditions, nutritional and abdominal conditions; skin, contagious, and exanthem conditions; circulatory, metabolic, and glandular conditions; urogenital conditions; bone, joint, and muscle conditions; laboratory tests, feeding, diets, nursing, and therapy; growth and development; history, and physical exam; and chemotherapy and drugs.

Keywords: Bone diseases, Breastfeeding, Cardiovascular diseases, Child development, Child health, Communicable disease, Diet, Drug therapy, Feeding, Growth monitoring, Joint diseases, Medicine, Metabolic diseases, Muscular diseases, Nutrition, Pediatric care, Pediatrics, Physical examination, Respiratory disorders, Skin diseases, Tests, Urogenital diseases

Annotation: A publication of the U.S. Department of Labor, Children's Bureau.

Keywords: Breast feeding, Growth monitoring, Infant care, Infant development, Infant health, Manuals

Keywords: Diet, Food preferences, Growth monitoring, Nutrition assessment, Reports, School linked programs