Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This report highlights five demographic trends that illustrate challenges and opportunities for children. Topics include a declining federal investment in children, a growing difference between the share of the population younger than 18 that is a racial or ethnic minority compared to those who are 65 and older, a growing child population in geographic regions with the poorest outcomes in child well-being, growth in minority voters who are highly supportive of children's programs, and changing gender roles and growing support among younger men for children's issues.

Contact: First Focus, 1400 Eye Street, N.W., Suite 650, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 657-0670 Fax: (202) 657-0671 Web Site: http://www.firstfocus.net Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Age factors, Barriers, Child health, Children, Equal opportunities, Federal aid, Geographic factors, Health disparities, Minority groups, Population growth, Racial factors, Role, Trends

Annotation: This report presents key findings on oral health and growth status from a survey of students in third grade in Wisconsin public schools. Results are compared to results from earlier surveys. Topics include treated tooth decay, untreated decay, dental caries experience, urgency of need for oral health care, dental sealants, and body mass index for age (underweight, healthy weight, overweight, and obese).

Contact: Wisconsin Department of Health Services, Oral Health Program, Division of Public Health, P.O. Box 2659, Madison, WI 53701-2659, Fax: (608) 266-3483 Web Site: https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/oral-health/index.htm Available from the website.

• Full Report
• Summary

Keywords: Body weight, Dental caries, Dental sealants, Growth, Oral health, Population surveillance, School age children, State surveys, Wisconsin

Annotation: This webinar focuses on the most prevalent and significant issues involved in eye and vision care during the growth and development of premature infants. It discusses visual development, ocular growth in prematurity, and the condition known as retinopathy of prematurity resulting from the abnormal development of blood vessels. Autism warning signs which might manifest as visual cues (for example the lack of frequent eye contact by 2-3 months) are also presented. The webinar discusses the history of infant eye care and visual screening; the importance of early intervention; the various ways to test vision in infants; and the importance of addressing potential vision problems. An overview of InfantSEE -- a public health program designed to help ensure that eye and vision care becomes an integral part of infant wellness care -- is included as part of the presentation.

Contact: National Coalition for Infant Health, Alliance for Patient Access, 1275 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W., Suite 1100A, Washington, DC 20004, Telephone: (202) 499-4114 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.infanthealth.org Available from the website.

• Slides
• Audio

Keywords: Audiovisual materials, Community programs, Development, Growth, Infant health, Premature infants, Retinopathy of prematurity, Vision screening

Annotation: ‘My health record’ was developed with the assistance of parents, carers, child and family health nurses, midwives, social workers, dietitians, paediatricians, neonatologists, Aboriginal health workers and other health professionals. It is designed for parents to use from the time their baby is born through age 4. It covers birth details; tips on helping the child to grow and learn, tips on when to seek help, developmental milestones, and health checks for each year from 0 to 4; and has schedules for teeth eruption, growth charts, and immunization. It

Keywords: Guidelines, Cognitive development, Communicable diseases, Growth charts, Immunization, Infants, Language development, Medical history, Medical records, Motor development, Young children

Annotation: This report provides an overview of changes in the U.S. child population based on the first data released from the 2010 census. The report provides a review of national-level changes in the number of children historically, with a specific focus on the 2000 to 2010 period relative to changes over the past century, followed by an examination of changes in the racial composition of the child population. The report then examines state-level changes and the size and racial composition of the child population. The report also highlights some changes in large cities from 2000 to 2010. Finally, the report discusses key implications.

Contact: Annie E. Casey Foundation, 701 Saint Paul Street, Baltimore, MD 21202, Telephone: (410) 547-6600 Fax: (410) 547-6624 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.aecf.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Children, Population growth, Racial factors, Statistical data, Trends, Urban populations

Annotation: This book is a resource for those involved in the monitoring or delivery of nutrition care for children with special health care needs. It is intended to serve as a framework for developing and providing nutrition screening, assessment, and intervention as routine components of comprehensive health care for children with disabilities and chronic illnesses. The book is divided into three sections: (1) determination of nutrition status, (2) problem-based nutrition interventions, and (3) condition-specific nutrition interventions. The book includes numerous appendices, including sample screening forms, growth charts for children with a variety of different special health care needs, and other tools. New chapters included in the third edition include breastfeeding, physical acitivity, and autism spectrum disorders.

Contact: Washington State Department of Health, P.O. Box 47890, Olympia, WA 98504-7890, Telephone: (800) 525-0127 Secondary Telephone: (360) 236-4030 Web Site: http://www.doh.wa.gov Available from the website. Document Number: DOH Pub. No. 961-158.

• PDF

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Children with special health care needs, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Dietary assessment, Forms, Growth charts, Intervention, Nutrition, Physical activity, Resources for professionals, Screening, Washington

Annotation: This book singles out the trends most likely to influence the course of Americans' health and the state of the American health care delivery system between now and 2010. Chapter 1 presents an overview of a 10-year forecast in health and health care including three different scenarios describing emerging visions of health care in this country. An additional 11 chapters have the following headings: health and the health care forecast, demographic trends and the burden of disease, health care's demand side, health insurance, health care providers, health care workforce, medical technologies, information technologies, health care consumers, public health services, health behaviors, and expanded perspective on health. Statistics are provided in numerous charts and graphs throughout the publication. It contains a glossary and index, and concludes with a flow-chart illustrating the three scenarios presented in the first chapter.

Contact: Jossey-Bass Publishers, John Wiley & Sons, Inc. Corporate Headquarters, 111 River Street, Hoboken, NJ 07030, Telephone: (201) 748-6000 Fax: (201) 748-6088 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.JosseyBass.com Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-7879-5974-X.

Keywords: Access to health care, Cultural diversity, Demography, Health behaviors, Health care utilization, Health insurance, Health services delivery, Health statistics, Medical technology, Population dynamics, Population growth, Provider participation, Public health services, Socioeconomic factors, Trends

Annotation: This evidence report provides a systematic review of the scientific evidence about whether short stature in a child due to a medically determinable cause may be associated with disability, whether skeletal dysplasias in a child may be considered a disability, and whether decreasing growth velocity in a child with a chronic disease may serve as an indicator of severity of the disease.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov Available at no charge; also available from the website. Document Number: AHRQ Pub. No. 03-E025.

• Link

Keywords: Children, Chronic Illnesses and disabilities, Disabilities, Growth disorders, Growth monitoring, Short stature

Annotation: This two-volume set examines evidence to determine if very-low-birthweight in infants, with or without other conditions, is associated with long-term disabling outcomes. Volume one reviews six primary outcomes of interest included in this report: (1) cerebral palsy and neurologic disability, (2) abnormal cognitive development and mental retardation, (3) hearing/speech/language impairments, (4) visual disability, (5) adverse pulmonary function, and (6) impaired growth. Report sections include a topic overview, reporting the evidence, study methods, an outline of the findings, and future research. Two additional sections review conclusions and future research. References and a bibliography are provided along with appendices including search strategies, a data abstraction form, acronyms and abbreviations, and acknowledgments. Statistics are included throughout the report. Volume two contains the evidence tables evaluating associations between low-birth-weight and 13 outcomes or disorders.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov Available in libraries.

• Link

Keywords: Cerebral palsy, Congenital abnormalities, Growth disorders, Infants with developmental disabilities, Low birthweight infants, Physical disabilities, Pregnancy complications, Pregnancy outcome, Premature infants, Preterm birth, Research, Sensory impairments, Statistical data

Annotation: This manual is part of a three volume set designed to provide information to teachers about the many facets of the Bright Futures Pediatric Education Project. Part one of this manual focuses on teaching Bright Futures by providing an overview of the project and a guide to facilitating case discussion; and discussing implementing a Bright Futures curriculum and adapting the approach based on medical specialty. The second part discusses five cases on these topics: growth issues; understanding normal vs. abnormal growth patterns; constitutional short stature; Turner's syndrome (in short stature and delayed puberty); and growth and chronic disease. The manual concludes with examples of facilitator and learner evaluation forms. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau and the Genentech Foundation for Growth and Development]

Contact: Bright Futures Center for Pediatric Education in Growth and Development, Behavior, and Adolescent Health, Children's Hospital, 300 Longwood Avenue, Boston, MA 02115, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.pedicases.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent development, Bright Futures, Case studies, Child development, Child health supervision, Diagnosis, Educational materials, Growth disorders, Professional education, Teaching, Training materials

Annotation: This tri-fold brochure provides for parents a place to record health information for infants and children through age 6. It also provides reminders about child development, well-child visits, health screening, vaccines and safety precautions. The health record is available in English and Spanish. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Bright Futures at Georgetown University, Telephone: (202) 784-9772 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.brightfutures.org/georgetown.html Available from the website. Document Number: BF0100-013.

• English Version
• Spanish Version

Keywords: Child health, Child safety, Growth monitoring, Health promotion, Health screening, Health supervision, Immunization, Infant health, Medical records, Prevention, Recordkeeping, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This resource discusses assessment and intervention techniques, the medical and developmental consequences of pediatric undernutrition, interdisciplinary teamwork and service coordination, and nutrition and feeding issues from medical care and child development to community planning and advocacy. Also discussed are numerous difficulties associated with inadequate nutrition in children younger than age 3, including developmental delays, medical conditions that impair growth, and cognitive deficits. The book also addresses nonmedical issues including the feeding relationship, nutrition, cultural diversity, working with families, and infant mental health. Clinically related appendices provide scales for assessing childhood feeding disorders and emotional health, growth charts, diet records, and clinical questionnaires.

Contact: Brookes Publishing, P.O. Box 10624, Baltimore, MD 21285-0624, Telephone: (800) 638-3775 Secondary Telephone: (410) 337-9580 Fax: (410) 337-8539 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.brookespublishing.com Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 1-55766-348-3.

Keywords: Assessment, Child development, Child mental health, Child nutrition, Children, Cognitive development, Cultural diversity, Early childhood development, Failure to thrive, Feeding, Growth charts, Infant nutrition, Interdisciplinary cooperation, Intervention, Nutrition disorders, Pediatrics, Questionnaires, Records, Service coordination

Annotation: This poster, based on Bright Futures Health Supervision Guidelines for Infants, Children and Adolescents, is a developmental growth chart for children from one year through five years of age. The chart is designed to teach families what children can do at differing ages and stages and what families can do for the health and well-being of children. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available at no charge. Document Number: HRSA Info. Ctr. MCHL025.

Keywords: Child development, Growth charts, Posters

Annotation: This packet of information is intended to assist the home visitor and the parent through the first 12 months of life. A set of fact sheets for the parent and a guideline sheet for the worker are organized by each month of development. Fact sheets include the following: activities sheets; parenting tips; and what to look for and what to expect developmentally. The curriculum guidelines for each month include information about what to do on each visit for all clients and for priority one clients; handouts to give to parents; and screening or checks on the baby for that month. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Community Oriented Primary Care Program, LifeSpan Comprehensive Services with Home Visiting, 6263 Harry Hines Boulevard, Suite 401, Dallas, TX 75235, Telephone: (214) 630-4781 Contact Phone: (214) 654-4502 Fax: (214) 630-8308 Contact E-mail: [email protected]

Keywords: Child development, Child health services, Developmental screening, Growth monitoring, Health screening, Home visiting, Infant behavior, Infants, Nutrition, Physical development, Play

Annotation: The purpose of this 3-year longitudinal intervention study was to: (1) Examine the effectiveness of a parent-infant based behavioral intervention during the neonatal period to prevent or ameliorate the negative consequences of intrauterine growth retardation (IUGR) on maternal-child sensitivity and infant physical growth, caloric intake, cognitive development, and language development; and (2) examine the mediating effects of cultural context and risk status on the effectiveness of intervention with IUGR infants. The planned intervention was expected to affect outcomes directly by improving caloric intake and indirectly by improving mother-infant interactions. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB96-187281.

Keywords: Bayley Scales of Infant Development, Fetal growth Retardation, Hispanics, Intervention

Annotation: This manual outlines a two day workshop primarily designed to train field supervisors and community health workers who are trained to weigh young children as well as to chart and interpret their growth on improving their interpersonal communication with clients. It describes a set of six sessions, each of which includes: 1) title, 2) estimated time, 3) behavioral objectives for participants, 4) materials, 5) recommended activities, 6) objectives checklist, and 7) notes to the trainer. The manual also explains to trainers the logistics of preparing and conducting the workshop, how to adapt the manual to meet the group's needs, and provides some sample resources for activities and questionnaires.

Contact: FHI 360 , 359 Blackwell Street, Suite 200, Durham, NC 27701, Telephone: (919) 544-7040 Contact Phone: (202) 862-1900 Fax: (919) 544-7261 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.fhi360.org $4.00.

• PDF

Keywords: Child health, Child nutrition, Communication skills, Developing countries, Growth monitoring, Infant health, Infant nutrition, Nutrition counseling, Nutrition education, Nutrition promotion, Training materials

Annotation: This book addresses the issues that have been raised regarding the value of growth monitoring in early childhood in the international setting, including affordability of monitoring programs, cultural difficulties with illiterate community health workers and mothers, and difficulties in providing adequate followup when indicated. It discusses a range of methods and options that can be selected to fit within national constraints, training issues, and evaluation.

Contact: Oxford University Press, 198 Madison Avenue, New York, NY 10016, Telephone: (800) 451-7556 Secondary Telephone: (212)726-6000 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.oup.com/us Available in libraries.

Keywords: Child development, Child health, Developing countries, Growth monitoring

Annotation: This project's primary goal was to reduce the number of low birthweight babies born to women in Davidson County by reducing both preterm births and intrauterine growth retardation. The focus of the support services was on psychosocial risk factors of preterm labor, such as low self-esteem, poor problem-solving abilities, and financial difficulty. Volunteers were recruited, trained, and matched with pregnant women in need of care. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB92-103357.

Keywords: Advisory Committees, Blacks, Childbirth Classes, Databases, Fetal growth retardation, Financial Difficulty, Growth Retardation, Infant Morbidity, Infant Mortality, Low Birthweight, Minorities, Premature Labor, Substance Abuse, WIC Program

Annotation: This publication is addressed to program managers. It discusses principles of growth monitoring, the items on a growth chart, and training health workers to use the chart.

Contact: World Health Organization, 20, Avenue Appia, Geneva, Switzerland , Telephone: (+ 41 22) 791 21 11 Fax: (+ 41 22) 791 3111 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.who.int/en Photocopy available at no charge.

• Link

Keywords: Child development, Growth charts, Growth monitoring, International health, Paraprofessional personnel, Training

Keywords: Growth monitoring, International health