Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.

Displaying records 1 through 14 (14 total).

Felt-Lisk S, Higgins T. 2011. Exploring the promise of population health management. Washington, DC: Mathematica, 4 pp. (Issue brief)

Annotation: This issue brief looks at the state of population health management (PHM), which consists of programs that target defined populations using a variety of interventions to improve health outcomes. The brief examines the desirable features of PHM, highlights the evidence related to PHM programs, and explores the future of PHM in the United States. A conceptional framework and a table listing the advantages and disadvantages of various PHM components are included.

Keywords: Analysis, Groups, Health programs, Management, Population dynamics, Program improvement

Greenspan S., Shanker SG. 2002. Toward a psychology of global interdependency: A framework for international collaboration. Bethesda, MD: Interdisciplinary Council on Developmental and Learning Disorders, Council on Human Developmen, 70 pp. (Council on Human Development monographs)

Annotation: This monograph seeks to formulate a psychology of interdependency that will characterize the elements of personal and social organization to help readers understand and prepare for a rapidly advancing interdependent future, particularly in the wake of the terrorist actions on September 11, 2001. Section topics include the different ways groups and nations meet their basic needs; the group processes that will be required to cope with the newly defined unit of survival, "the global group"; the paradigm shift required for understanding human behaviors that will enable individuals to move from deterministic thinking to interdependent, dynamic approaches; and the policies that will be needed to enable families and communities to participate in global interdependency adaptively, rather than destructively.

Keywords: Behavioral sciences, Collaboration, Group dynamics, International organizations, Social interaction

Council of Economic Advisers. 1998. Changing America: Indicators of social and economic well-being by race and Hispanic origin. [Washington, DC]: Council of Economic Advisers; for sale by U.S. Government Printing Office, 74 pp.

Annotation: This chart book is intended to document current differences in well-being by race and Hispanic origin and to describe how such differences have evolved over the past several decades. The book is designed to educate Americans about the facts surrounding the issue of race in America. The charts show key indicators of well-being in seven broad categories: population, education, labor markets, economic status, health, crime and criminal justice, and housing and neighborhoods. This information is provided to be used as a benchmark for measuring future progress and can highlight priority areas for reducing disparities in well-being across racial and ethnic groups. The indicators in the charts were selected on the basis of their importance for economic well-being, as well as the quality and availability of data. The appendix indicates how to access additional information on these topics from federal government agencies.

Keywords: Benchmarking, Bibliographies, Crime, Economics, Education, Health status, Housing, Minority groups, Population dynamics, Race, Racial factors, Socioeconomic factors, Statistics, United States, World Wide Web

Study Circles Resource Center. 1995. Education: How can schools and communities work together to meet the challenge?—A guide for involving community members in public dialogue and problem-solving. Pomfret, CT: Study Circles Resource Center, 39 pp.

Annotation: This teaching guide explains how to lead study circles in which the participants discuss public education and schools. It provides a rationale for focusing on schools, offers guidance for four discussion sessions, and includes an overview of using the study circle method promote communication and problem solving in small groups. Supplemental materials include case studies of five schools and resources for further discussion and action. A companion publication for the participants is called " The Busy Citizen's Discussion Guide: Education in Our Communities."

Keywords: Case studies, Communication, Community action, Conflict resolution, Education, Group dynamics, Problem solving, Resources for professionals

Study Circles Resource Center. 1995. The busy citizen's discussion guide: Education in our communities. Pomfret, CT: Study Circles Resource Center, 32 pp.

Annotation: This study guide is for the use of participants in study circles that are discussing public education and community schools. It provides an overview of challenges that are facing schools and educational systems, includes discussion topics for four sessions, and contains ground rules for discussing these problems in groups. This guide is a companion to the study circle leader's guide, "Education: How Can Schools and Communities Work Together to Meet the Challenge."

Keywords: Communication, Community action, Conflict resolution, Education, Educational materials, Group dynamics, Problem solving

Gibbs J. 1994. Tribes: A new way of learning together. Santa Rosa, CA: Center Source Publications, 432 pp.

Annotation: This manual advances an educational theory called Tribes which encourages teachers to develop a community that values individual differences while encouraging each member to contribute based on their unique gifts. The theory moves across socioeconomic and ethnic differences and encourages children to discover different perspectives. The manual discusses moving toward a new pattern of interaction, reviews how children learn, describes the Tribes concept, and indicates ways to create a learning community and build Tribes within them. The manual also examines methods for developing self-worth and eliciting participation, designing and implementing learning experiences, applying the theory to middle schools, and integrating the theory in the larger school environment. The manual also includes information on strategies, resources, and supporting materials.

Link

Keywords: Child development, Cultural diversity, Curriculum development, Educational change, Group dynamics, Self esteem, Social development

Study Circles Resource Center. 1994. Guidelines for creating effective study circle material. Pomfret, CT: Study Circles Resource Center, 19 pp.

Annotation: This manual describes how to develop written materials for use with study circles; which use group discussions to promote learning between the participants and to promote communication and understanding. The manual discusses suggestions on creating materials, describes the process of determining the goals of the study circle as a component of developing materials, covers steps involved in developing materials, reviews common questions, and includes models and samples of materials.

Keywords: Communication, Conflict resolution, Educational materials, Group dynamics, Manuals, Problem solving, Resources for professionals

Study Circles Resource Center. 1994. Confronting violence in our communities: A guide for involving citizens in public dialogue and problem solving. Pomfret, CT: Study Circles Resource Center, 35 pp.

Annotation: This teaching guide explains how to lead study circles in which the participants discuss preventing violence in their communities. It includes a rationale for holding study circles on this topic, provides the leader discussion materials for four discussion sessions, and describes the study circle methodology for promoting communication and problem solving. Supplemental materials include readings on violence and list resources for further action. A study guide for participants is called "The Busy Citizen's Discussion Guide: Violence in Our Communities."

Keywords: Communication, Community action, Conflict resolution, Group dynamics, Problem solving, Resources for professionals, Violence prevention

Study Circles Resource Center. 1994. Can't we all just get along?: A manual for discussion programs on racism and race relations (2nd ed.). Pomfret, CT: Study Circles Resource Center, 41 pp.

Annotation: This teaching guide explains how to lead study circles in which the participants discuss race relations and racism in their communities. The guide contains two sections; the first contains materials necessary to develop a discussion program on this topic. It provides a context, core materials for five discussion sessions, suggestions for organizing and leading the sessions, and general information on the study circle method of promoting communication and problem solving. The second section provides suggestions for tailoring the material to specific communities or organizations, contains readings, and includes an annotated bibliography. A handbook for participants is available in English and Spanish; it is called "The Busy Citizen's Discussion Guide: Racism and Race Relations."

Keywords: Communication, Community action, Conflict resolution, Group dynamics, Problem solving, Racism, Resources for professionals, Social problems, Spanish language materials

Study Circles Resource Center. 1994. The busy citizen's discussion guide: Racism and race relations (2nd ed.). Pomfret, CT: Study Circles Resource Center, 16 pp.

Annotation: This study guide is for the use of participants in study circles that are discussing racism and race relations in their communities. It discusses the rationale for talking about this problem, provides an overview, includes discussion topics for five sessions, and contains ground rules for discussing these problems in groups. This guide is a companion to the study circle leader's guide, "Can't We All Just Get Along;" it is available in English and Spanish.

Keywords: Communication, Community action, Conflict resolution, Educational materials, Group dynamics, Problem solving, Racism, Social problems, Spanish language materials

Study Circles Resource Center. 1994. The busy citizen's discussion guide: Violence in our communities. Pomfret, CT: Study Circles Resource Center, 24 pp.

Annotation: This study guide is for the use of participants in study circles that are discussing violence in their communities. It provides an overview of the topic, includes discussion topics for four sessions, and contains ground rules for discussing these problems in groups. This guide is a companion to the study circle leader's guide, "Confronting Violence in Our Communities."

Keywords: Communication, Community action, Conflict resolution, Educational materials, Group dynamics, Problem solving, Violence prevention

Study Circles Resource Center. 1993. The study circle handbook: A manual for study circle discussion leaders, organizers, and participants. Pomfret, CT: Study Circles Resource Center, 15 pp.

Annotation: This manual describes study circles and explains how they can be used to promote discussions between group members to learn from one another and to promote communication and understanding. It underscores the significance of the discussion leader in this process, provides an overview of a typical study circle, includes suggestions for effective discussion leadership, describes the roles of the leader and the participants, and reviews differences between a dialogue and a debate. This manual contains information found in the participant's section of "A Guide to Training Study Circle Leaders."

Keywords: Communication, Conflict resolution, Group dynamics, Manuals, Problem solving, Resources for professionals

Study Circles Resource Center. 1993. A guide to training study circle leaders. Pomfret, CT: Study Circles Resource Center, 27 pp.

Annotation: This guide describes study circles which encourage people working in groups to use discussions as a means of learning from each other and to promote communication and understanding. It is designed to be used to train study circle leaders; and it contains two sections. The first section is a study guide for the participants in the training sessions; it provides an overview of study circles, includes tips for being an effective leader, and suggests ways to deal with challenges encountered in study circles. This section is also available as "The Study Circle Handbook." The second section is a teaching guide for the instructors; it includes an agenda and exercises. An appendix includes materials on the roles of the study circle leader and the participants, and a comparison of dialogues and debates.

Keywords: Communication, Conflict resolution, Group dynamics, Manuals, Problem solving, Resources for professionals

Study Circles Resource Center. 1992. The busy citizen's discussion guide: Sexual harassment. Pomfret, CT: Study Circles Resource Center, 16 pp.

Annotation: This study guide is for the use of participants in study circles as they discuss sexual harassment. The introduction describes the purpose of the guide, defines sexual harassment, and provides suggestions on using the guide. The guide contains two sections, one on sharing attitudes, experiences, and perceptions and the other on the problems relationship to society as a whole. It includes background information, lists additional resources, and provides ground rules for useful discussions.

Keywords: Communication, Conflict resolution, Educational materials, Group dynamics, Problem solving, Sexual harassment