Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This report describes a project to develop a scientifically vetted style guide for communicating health data. Contents include examples of tested visualizations (graphic displays of health information that have been evaluated through research among the general public) including graphs, charts, and images that effectively communicate risk information.

Contact: Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, 50 College Road East, Princeton, NJ 08540-6614, Telephone: (877) 843-7953 Fax: Web Site: http://www.rwjf.org Available from the website.

• PDF
• Program Website

Keywords: Communication, Data, Graphic design, Guidelines, Multimedia, Risk assessment

Annotation: This guide provides information about and examples of critical components of high-quality websites that support early hearing detection and intervention (EDHI). The guide is designed to increase EDHI administrators' knowledge about key elements of effective websites. The guide also helps administrators work with partners, particularly those that design, develop, and market their sites. The guide includes information about the importance of creating standards-compliant sites that are accessible to those with disabilities. Topics include content, design and layout, key components, and marketing and management. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Hearing Assessment and Management, Utah Sate University, 2615 Old Main Hill, Logan, UT 84322, Telephone: (435) 797-3584 Web Site: http://www.infanthearing.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Collaboration, Design, Diagnosis, Disabilities, Early intervention, Graphic design, Hearing screening, Hearing tests, Marketing, Resource materials, Screening, Standards, World wide web

Annotation: This toolkit provides guidance about creating material that is easy for people to read, understand, and use. Contents focus on creating material intended for use by individuals eligible for or enrolled in Medicare, Medicaid, or the Children’s Health Insurance Program and by those who serve or assist them. Topics include a reader-centered approach, writing and graphic design, testing material with readers, readability formulas, and translation.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (800) 633-4227 Secondary Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Graphic design, Guidelines, Health literacy, Low literacy materials, Oral health, Resources for professionals, Translations, Writing

Annotation: These revised guidelines were developed to help managers, designers, and others involved in creating websites base their decisions on the most current and best available information. The guidelines are particularly relevant to the design of information-oriented sites but can be applied across a wide spectrum of sites. Researchers who investigate web design issues may also find the guidelines useful. The guidelines strive to contribute to the creation of better health and human services websites, provide quantified peer-reviewed website design guidelines, and stimulate research in areas that will influence the creation of useful websites.

Contact: U.S. Government Publishing Office, 732 North Capitol Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20401, Telephone: (202) 512-1800 Secondary Telephone: (866) 512-1800 Fax: (202) 512-2104 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gpo.gov Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 0-16-076270-7.

• PDF

Keywords: Design, Graphic design, Guidelines, Health, Information, Information sources, Research, Resource materials, World wide web

Annotation: This book is written specifically for the technical or nontechnical Web designer about homepage usability and the needs of the customer. It is written in two parts: (1) a general guidelines for homepages and statistics about homepage designs; and (2) 50 examples of individual homepages and their usability issues. Guideline topics include content writing, links, navigation, searching, shortcuts, design, graphics, and animation. The design statistics section discusses page sizes, frames, logos, site maps, frequent features such as "about us" and "contact info," graphics and multimedia, advertising, and typography. There is a concluding section of specific homepage design recommendations.

Contact: New Riders, Peachpit, 1249 Eighth Street, Berkley, CA 94710, Telephone: (800) 428-5331 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.peachpit.com/imprint/index.aspx?st=61074 $39.99 . Document Number: ISBN 0-7357-1102-X.

Keywords: Design, Graphic design, Guidelines, Information networks, Internet, Technology, World Wide Web

Annotation: This book discusses the approaches and working methods of book designers. Designed for professionals in the publishing industry as well as readers and authors interested in book design, this book discusses selection of a book's size and shape, choice of typeface for text and display, arrangement of type on the page, and determination of typographic details for all parts of the book within manufacturing and budget limitations.

Contact: Yale University Press, P.O. Box 209040, New Haven, CT 06520-9040, Telephone: (203) 432-0960 Fax: (203) 432-0948 Web Site: http://yalepress.yale.edu/yupbooks/home.asp Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-300-07-570-7.

Keywords: Graphic design

Annotation: This book explores how to depict the multidimensional world on flat paper. Examples include Galileo's drawings, dance notation, timetables, electrocardiograms, and computer visualizations. The text points out confusing and obscuring aspects of the accompanying design, including use of line and color, and examples where the design clearly presents the desired information.

Contact: Graphics Press LLC, Box 430, Cheshire, CT 06410, Telephone: (800) 822-2454 Fax: (203) 272-8600 Web Site: http://www.edwardtufte.com/tufte/ $48.00 includes shipping for 4th class mail; add $3.00 shipping for 1st class mail. A shipping charge will be added to orders that are not prepaid. Document Number: ISBN 0-9613-9211-8 .

Keywords: Communication, Graphic design, Information

Annotation: This book describes design strategies—the proper arrangement in space and time of images, words, and numbers—for presenting information about motion, process, mechanism, cause and effect. Images used range from centuries-old drawings to the latest computer-assisted design, and the accompanying text points out how the image aids or hinders understanding of the concept.

Contact: Graphics Press LLC, Box 430, Cheshire, CT 06410, Telephone: (800) 822-2454 Fax: (203) 272-8600 Web Site: http://www.edwardtufte.com/tufte/ $45.00 includes shipping for 4th class mail; add $3.00 shipping for 1st class mail. A shipping charge will be added to orders that are not prepaid. Document Number: ISBN 0-9613-9212-6 .

Keywords: Graphic design, Information, Statistics

Annotation: This book contain examples of innovative graphic designs that were created using a minimal number of colors. The book is organized into three sections: the best examples, the editor's choice, and examples of merit. Within the last two sections, the examples are organized by the number of colors used in them: one, two, or three colors. The book contains two indexes, one for the clients and the other for the design firms.

Keywords: Graphic design, Manuals

Annotation: This book illustrates trends in logo design. There is no text; instead the editor presents logos organized along themes, naming their designer and the company represented by the logo.

Contact: Print, 3200 Tower Oaks Boulevard, Rockville, MD 20852, Telephone: (800) 222-2654 $29.50. Document Number: ISBN 0-942604-28-8.

Keywords: Art, Graphic design

Annotation: This book contains examples of typographic designs selected from entries submitted in response to an international competition. It represents all facets of designing promotional materials including annual reports and books. It covers the last decade and provides a history of recent changes that have occurred in the design process.

Keywords: Graphic design, Reference materials

Annotation: This annual publication shows winners of the Society of Publication Designers annual competetion of magazine design. Approximately 500 pieces from 6500 entered in the competition are illustrated in this book. Categories include covers, design, illustration, and photography.

Contact: Printbooks, 3200 Tower Oaks Boulevard, Rockville, MD 20852, Telephone: (800) 222-2654 Fax: (301) 984-3203 $55.00.

Keywords: Awards, Graphic design

Annotation: This yearbook presents information on medalist award winners, a feature article on design leadership, and illustrations of materials from awards shows.

Contact: Printbooks, 3200 Tower Oaks Boulevard, Rockville, MD 20852, Telephone: (800) 222-2654 Fax: (301) 984-3203 $65.00.

Keywords: Awards, Graphic design

Annotation: This book provides an integrated approach to developing printed materials that includes marketing, writing, and graphic design. Specific topics are understanding the medium, getting organized, getting and holding attention, writing for printed materials, design for communication, and production and distribution. Worksheets, a resource list, and a glossary are included.

Contact: Bull Publishing Company, P.O. Box 1377, Boulder, CO 80306, Telephone: (800) 676-2855 Fax: (303) 545-6354 Web Site: http://www.bullpub.com/ $23.95 plus $3.00 shipping and handling.

Keywords: Communication, Graphic design, Writing

Annotation: This book is designed to help designers, illustrators and artists learn more about what is happening in the field of computer art. It consists of pictures in color of illustration and information graphics, experimental and fine art, graphic design, and electronic media.

Contact: Printbooks, 3200 Tower Oaks Boulevard, Rockville, MD 20852, Telephone: (800) 222-2654 Fax: (301) 984-3203 $39.95.

Keywords: Computer art, Graphic design

Annotation: This book discusses the design of statistical graphics. It is also about how to communicate information through the simultaneous presentation of words, numbers, and pictures. The first part reviews the graphical practice of the last two centuries, including successes and failures. The second part discusses graphics and a practical theory of data graphics.

Contact: Graphics Press LLC, Box 430, Cheshire, CT 06410, Telephone: (800) 822-2454 Fax: (203) 272-8600 Web Site: http://www.edwardtufte.com/tufte/ $40.00.

Keywords: Graphic design, Statistics