Skip Navigation

Strengthening the evidence for maternal and child health programs

Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 17 (17 total).

Children's Health Alliance of Wisconsin. 2018. Wisconsin Seal-A-Smile Administration Manual. Milwaukee, WI: Children's Health Alliance of Wisconsin, 35 pp.

Annotation: This manual provides policies and procedures for all Wisconsin Seal-A-Smile (SAS) grantees, with the goal of helping them administer programs and ensure consistency across programs. The purpose of SAS is to improve the oral health of Wisconsin children through school-based dental sealant programs. Topics include administrative and regulatory guidelines; program requirements; forms, reporting, and recording; and budget and funding information. Information about infection control and safe delivery of oral health care outside the dental office is included in appendices.

Contact: Children's Health Alliance of Wisconsin, 620 South 76th Street, Suite 120, Milwaukee, WI 53214, Telephone: (414) 292-4000 Secondary Telephone: (414) 337-4561 Fax: (414) 231-4972 Web Site: http://www.chawisconsin.org/oral-health.php?pg=13 Available from the website.

Keywords: Administration, Data collection, Dental sealants, Disease prevention, Forms, Grants management, Oral health, Prevention programs, Reimbursement, School age children, School health programs, School health services, Screening, State programs, Wisconsin

Michigan Department of Health and Human Services, Oral Health. 2016. Michigan state oral health plan implementation progress report. Lansing, MI: Michigan Department of Health and Human Services, Oral Health, 13 pp.

Annotation: This report summarizes successful activities and initiatives to improve oral health in Michigan. Contents include success stories about the oral health surveillance system, the Boyne city water fluoridation vote, connecting oral health to diabetes management, the Michigan Oral Health Coalition mini-grant program, increasing age 1 dental visits, the Healthy Kids Dental expansion, the Seal! Michigan Dental Sealant Program, donated dental services, an older adult oral health assessment pilot, and strengthening oral health programs.

Contact: Michigan Department of Health and Human Services, Oral Health, 201 Townsend Street, Box 30195, Lansing, MI 48913, Telephone: (517) 373-3740 Web Site: http://www.michigan.gov/mdch/0,1607,7-132-2942_4911_4912_6226---,00.html Available from the website.

Keywords: Assessment, Children, Coalitions, Dental sealants, Disease management, Fluorides, Grants, Infants, Michigan, Older adults, Oral health, Population surveillance, Pregnant women, Preventive health services, Progress reports, State programs, Statewide planning, Water

Jones W, Lao S, Lilly S, Waters A. 2015. Evaluation of the Carol M. White Physical Education Program: Final report. Washington, DC: U.S. Department of Education, Policy and Program Studies Service, 95 pp.

Annotation: This report examines how the Carol M. White Physical Education Program (PEP) projects were administered and implemented under revised regulations to align relevant program objectives with the Let's Move! Initiative. The report focuses on projects funded by fiscal year 2010 grant awards, the first cohort of grantees to implement projects under the revised PEP. Contents include a program overview, study purpose and design, a description of PEP projects, project implementation, new PEP priorities, project challenges, and summary and lessons learned. Topics include the role of community partnerships and grantee experiences with collecting and using body mass index data.

Contact: U.S. Department of Education, Policy and Program Studies Service, Washington, DC Web Site: http://www2.ed.gov/about/offices/list/opepd/ppss/index.html Available from the website.

Keywords: Prevention programs, Body height, Body weight, Data collection, Federal grants, Federal programs, Grants management, Measures, Obesity, Physical education, Program evaluation, Public private partnerships

Virginia Department of Health, Office of Family Health Services. 2014. Virginia's 2015 Maternal and Child Health Block Grant (Title V): Executive summary. Richmond, VA; Virginia Department of Health, Office of Family Health Services, 11 pp.

Annotation: This document outlines a plan for maternal and child health services and services for children with special health care needs using Title V funds in Virginia. Topics include needs assessment priorities, planned activities, health status and health system capacity indicators, national and state performance measures, and outcome measures.

Contact: Virginia Department of Health, Office of Family Health Services, P.O. Box 2448, Richmond, VA 23218, Telephone: (804) 864-7660 Web Site: http://www.vahealth.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Block grants, Children, Health status, Infants, Measures, Needs assessment, Outcome and process assessment, Pregnant women, Program management, Service delivery systems, Special health care needs, State MCH programs, Statewide planning, Title V programs, Virginia, Women's health

U.S. Office of Rural Health Policy. 2009. Rural health outreach grantee directory. [Rockville, MD]: U.S. Office of Rural Health Policy, annual.

Annotation: This directory provides a short description of the Rural Services Outreach Grant Program and the types of projects that are funded under it. The directory lists currently funded projects alphabetically by state and city. Each listing includes the grantee organization's name and address, the contact person including their phone number, a brief description of the services delivered through the project, and the population that is served.

Contact: Rural Health Information Hub, School of Medicine and Health Sciences, 501 North Columbia Road Stop 9037, Room 4520, Grand Forks, ND 58202-9037, Telephone: (800) 270-1898 E-mail: info@ruralhealthinfo.org Web Site: https://www.ruralhealthinfo.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Directories, Federal grants, Grants management, Outreach, Rural health

U.S. Government Accountability Office. 2008. Head Start: A more comprehensive risk management strategy and data improvements could further strengthen program oversight. Washington, DC: U.S. Government Accountability Office, 36 pp.

Annotation: This report examines the Administration for Children and Families' (ACF's) progress related to the oversight of local organizations that receive Head Start program grants and the grantees' financial management. Also examined are ACF's progress in conducting a risk assessment of the Head Start program and ensuring the accuracy and reliability of data from its annual Program Information Report survey of grantees, ACF's efforts to improve its on-site monitoring processes, and ACF's use of data to improve oversight and help grantees meet performance standards.

Contact: U.S. Government Accountability Office, 441 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20548, Telephone: (202) 512-3000 Secondary Telephone: E-mail: contact@gao.gov Web Site: http://www.gao.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Children, Families, Grants management, Head Start, Monitoring, Oral health, Program evaluation, Risk management

U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau. 2000. Title V: A snapshot of maternal and child health 2000. Rockville, MD: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, 296 pp.

Annotation: This report describes the Title V Maternal and Child Health Block Grant to States program and provides a national statistical overview of Title V programs. The report includes a listing of the Special Projects of Regional and National Significance (SPRANS) and other federal MCH grants to each state and jurisdiction. The data presented are for FY 98. The bulk of the report consists of a statistical summary for individual states. Each summary includes data about (1) the number of pregnant women, infants, children, and children with special health care needs (CSHCN) who were served by Title V; (2) a full picture of the sources of funding for maternal and child health (MCH); (3) the relative allocation of resources among four levels of service on the MCH pyramid of services; and (4) a selection of performance and outcome measures. The report also describes the electronic reporting package (ERP) used for data collection, and includes the Maternal and Child Health Bureau strategic plan, a list of resource organizations, and a glossary. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Block grants, Child health, Children with special health care needs, Financing, Fiscal management, MCH programs, Maternal health, Outcome and process assessment, Outcome evaluation, Resource allocation, SPRANS, State programs, Statistics, Title V programs

Lightsey D, Vandenberg G, Montes E, de la Cruz D. 1999. The Healthy Start initiative: A community-driven approach to infant mortality reduction—Volume VI: Replicating the Healthy Start models of intervention. Arlington, VA: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, 92 pp. (The Healthy Start initiative: A community-driven approach to infant mortality reduction)

Annotation: This report presents lessons learned from Healthy Start grantees as they planned and implemented the Healthy Start Initiative, a five-year demonstration program that uses a community-driven, systems development approach to reduce infant mortality and improve the health and well-being of women, infants, children, and families. This volume focuses on replicating the Healthy Start models. Those are (1) community-based consortia, (2) outreach and client recruitment, (3) case coordination/case management, (4) family resource centers, (5) enhanced clinical services, (6) risk prevention and reduction, (7) facilitating services, (8) training and education, and (9) adolescent programs. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Adolescent health, Case management, Case studies, Clinics, Community programs, Demonstration programs, Family resource centers, Grants, Healthy Start, Infant health, Infant mortality, Maternal health, Mentors, Model programs, Outreach, Perinatal health, Prenatal care, Prevention programs, Risk factors

U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Title V Maternal and Child Health Block Grant to State Programs. 1999. Title V: A snapshot of maternal and child health 1997. Rockville, MD: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, 164 pp.

Annotation: This report describes the Title V Maternal and Child Health Block Grant to State program and provides a national statistical overview of Title V programs. The bulk of the report consists of a statistical summary for individual states. Each summary includes data about (1) the number of pregnant women, infants, children, and children with special health care needs (CSHCN) who were served by Title V; (2) a full picture of the sources of funding for maternal and child health (MCH); (3) the relative allocation of resources among four levels of service on the MCH pyramid of services; and (4) a selection of performance and outcome measures. The report also describes the electronic reporting package (ERP) used for data collection, and includes a list of resource organizations and a glossary. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Block grants, Child health, Children with special health care needs, Financing, Fiscal management, MCH programs, Maternal health, Outcome and process assessment, Outcome evaluation, Resource allocation, State programs, Statistics, Title V programs

Frechtling J, Lockwood J, Silverstein G, Somers L, Tuss P. 1999. Evaluation of the Telecommunications and Information Infrastructure Assistance Program for the 1994 and 1995 grant years. Washington, DC: National Telecommunications and Information Administration, ca. 130 pp. (Evaluation report)

Boston University, School of Public Health, Maternal and Child Health Program. [1996]. Progress report: Budget period 7/1/95-6/30/96—MCH training grant, BUSPH, MCJ-259501-02. Boston, MA: Boston University, School of Public Health, Maternal and Child Health Program, 65 pp.

Annotation: This report explains how the 1995 Maternal and Child Health Bureau Training Grant award to the Boston University School of Public Health was used. It covers the following nine areas: (1) administration/ organization, (2) training, (3) continuing education, (4) services provided, (5) Title V relationships, (6) program development, (7) publications, (8) regional and national significance, and (9) Healthy Children 2000 objectives. Project plan amendments and value added are included. Biosketches of key personnel are in the appendix. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Boston University School of Public Health, Maternal and Child Health Program, 715 Albany Street, Talbot Building, Boston, MA 02118, Telephone: (617) 638-5375 Fax: (617) 638-5370 E-mail: askmch@bu.edu Web Site: http://sph.bu.edu/Degree-Programs-and-ConcentrationsSub-Pages/master-of-public-health-concentration-in-maternal-a-child-health/menu-id-617114.html Available from the website.

Keywords: Budgets, Continuing education, Federal grants, Healthy People 2000, MCH training programs, Program development, Program management, Resource allocation, Title V programs, Training

Wallin HK, Printz TJ, Coughlan P. 1996. Fundraising for family-centered organizations in the District of Columbia. Washington, DC: Georgetown University, Graduate Public Policy Program; Arlington, VA: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, 2 v. (DC Family Policy Seminar background briefing report)

Annotation: This report provides a brief introduction to issues addressed by a DC Family Policy Seminar in July 1996 that focused on identifying proven and successful practices for local nonprofit organizations to access funds from public and private sources. Volume 1 (written by Helena Wallin, Tobi Printz, and Pamela Coughlan) serves as a resource guide for District of Columbia organizations looking for funding sources and information on applying for and managing the grant/fundraising process. It provides a annotated bibliography on a number of topics that include: 1) federal resources and block grants, 2) resources for managing grants and the grant application process, 3) issue-specific funding resources and technical reports, and 4) private sector resources. Volume 2 provides highlights of the seminar's discussions. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Box 571272, Washington, DC 20057-1272, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu Web Site: https://www.ncemch.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Community programs, District of Columbia, Family centered care, Family centered services, Financing, Foundations, Fundraising, Grant management, Grants, Nonprofit organizations

National Telecommunications and Information Administration. 1996. Lessons learned from the Telecommunications and Information Infrastructure Assistance Program. Washington, DC: National Telecommunications and Information Administration, 48 pp.

National Clearinghouse on Families and Youth. 1995. A guide to implementing research and demonstration grants for the Family and Youth Services Bureau. [Washington, DC]: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Family and Youth Services Bureau, 86 pp.

Annotation: This report provides information on the Family and Youth Services Bureau (FYSB) Research and Demonstration Program grants for independent living and outreach services for runaway and homeless youth. It offers guidance for planning a research and demonstration project, implementing a research and demonstration project, networking, project evaluation, project documentation, disseminating project results, and institutionalizing successful project activities. It ends with appendices on Runaway and Homeless Youth Program research and demonstration priority areas 1983-1994, Youth Gang Drug Prevention Program research and development priority areas 1989-1994, FYSB funded national and regional organizations, national clearinghouses and resource centers, and selected evaluation references.

Contact: National Clearinghouse on Families and Youth, 5515 Security Lane, Suite 800, North Bethesda, MD 20852, Telephone: (301) 608-8098 Contact Phone: (301) 608-3505 Fax: (301) 587-4352 E-mail: ncfy@acf.hhs.gov Web Site: http://ncfy.acf.hhs.gov Available at no charge.

Keywords: Demonstration programs, Federal programs, Grants management, Guidelines, Homeless persons, Outreach, Research programs, Runaways, Youth

U.S. Department of Health, Education, and Welfare. 1972. Responsibility and responsiveness: The HEW potential for the seventies. Washington, DC: U.S. Department of Health, Education, and Welfare, 31 pp.

[University of Minnesota, College of Medical Sciences, School of Public Health], Systems Development Project . 1971. Progress report: of child health care delivery and organization. Minneapolis, MN: [University of Minnesota, College of Medical Sciences, School of Public Health], Systems Development Project , 123 pp. (Comment series no: 1-12 (40))

Annotation: This report summarizes a number of special analyses and assessments which depend on the ongoing reporting maintenance and the resultant outputs from two major efforts to develop the forms and statistical reporting system for administrative purposes and asses the effect of unique organization on the delivery of comprehensive health services by projects funded under PL 89-97 title II. The contents are the charge, expectations and relationships; elements of project and program performance; special studies and activities; economic considerations; and special quantitative efforts. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Administration, Children and Youth Projects, Federal MCH programs, Federal legislation, Grants, Health services, Management information systems, Reports, Statistics

Wekckwerth VE, University of Minnesota, College of Medical Sciences, School of Public Health, Systems Development Project . 1970. Progress report: Assessment of child health care delivery and organization. Minneapolis, MN: [University of Minnesota, School of Public Health], Systems Development Project , 62 pp. (Comment series no: 0-7 (29))

Annotation: This issue of the Comment Series is a copy of the body of the written report made by the Systems Development Project to fulfill the requirement of a progress report under the terms of their grant from the Maternal and Child Health Services. The paper addresses the original charge of the grant to develop the forms and statistical reporting system for administrative purposes and assess the effect of unique organizations on the delivery of comprehensive health services by projects funded under PL 89-97 title II. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Administration, Children and Youth Projects, Federal MCH programs, Federal legislation, Grants, Health services, Management information systems, Reports, Statistics

   

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.