Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This fact sheet for accreditation coordinators and local health department (LHD) practitioners outlines steps to advance public health ethics at LHDs. Topics include why it's important to understand and promote public health ethics, considerations for establishing an ethics committee, and Public Health Accreditation Board ethics requirements.

Contact: National Association of County and City Health Officials, 1100 17th Street, N.W., Seventh Floor, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 783-5550 Fax: (202) 783-1583 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.naccho.org Available from the website.

• Download Requires Registration (free)

Keywords: Accreditation, City health agencies, County health agencies, Ethics, Local government, Policy development, Public health infrastructure

Annotation: This statement updates the November 2013 report published by the U.S. Government Accountabilty Office on federal autism activities. Topics include the extent to which federal agencies fund potentially duplicative autism research and the extent to which the Interagency Autism Coordinating Committee and agencies coordinate and monitor federal autism activities. The report presents an analysis of agencies' data and documents, and interviews with federal agency officials. Recommendations are included.

Contact: U.S. Government Accountability Office, 441 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20548, Telephone: (202) 512-3000 Secondary Telephone: E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gao.gov Available from the website. Document Number: GAO-14-613T.

• PDF

Keywords: Autism, Federal agencies, Federal initiatives, Federal programs, Government financing, MCH research, Policy analysis, Program coordination

Annotation: This research brief highlights the extent to which local health departments (LHDs) provide and have the capacity to track, administer, and promote influenza (flu) vaccination for pregnant women, children with special health care needs, and adults with disabilities. Contents include data on the percentage of LHDs providing adult and child immunizations for the period 2005-2013 and findings from key informant interviews on seasonal flu vaccination rates, administering and promoting vaccinations, and partnerships. Reimbursement issues; the emergence of retail pharmacies in the immunization market; strategies used to promote flu vaccination; and opportunities, challenges, and recommendations are also discussed.

Contact: National Association of County and City Health Officials, 1100 17th Street, N.W., Seventh Floor, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 783-5550 Fax: (202) 783-1583 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.naccho.org Available from the website.

• Download Requires Registration (free)

Keywords: Adolescents with special health care needs, Adults, Children with special health care needs, Disabilities, Health agencies, Influenza, Local government, Pregnant women, Prevention services, Public health infrastructure, Vaccines

Annotation: This report outlines six recommendations for how local health departments should create infrastructure to address ethical issues that arise in public health practice. The appendices contain an in-depth summary of the process used to the develop the recommendations and examples of formal ethics infrastructures.

Contact: National Association of County and City Health Officials, 1100 17th Street, N.W., Seventh Floor, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 783-5550 Fax: (202) 783-1583 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.naccho.org Available from the website.

• Download Requires Registration (free)

Keywords: City health agencies, County health agencies, Ethics, Local government, Policy development, Public health infrastructure

Annotation: This collaborative planning tool is designed to help state and local health departments understand and apply adaptive thinking to health care reform with the goal of improving population health. Contents include a series of three guided practices that can be used by an individual or a team. The interactive tool includes prompting questions and sample courses of action, but allows the user to present their own questions and solutions. An introductory video is also available from the website.

Contact: Georgia Health Policy Center, Georgia State University, P.O. Box 3992, Atlanta, GA 30302-3992, Telephone: (404) 413-0314 Fax: (404) 413-0316 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://ghpc.gsu.edu Available from the website.

• Online Edition Is Free But Requires Registration

Keywords: Collaboration, Evaluation, Health care reform, Local government, Policy analysis, Program improvement, Program planning, Research, State health agencies, Technical assistance

Annotation: This site presents a multilingual/ multidisciplinary thesaurus covering the activities of the European Union, the European Parliament in particular. It contains terms in 24 EU languages (Bulgarian, Croatian, Czech, Danish, Dutch, English, Estonian, Finnish, French, German, Greek, Hungarian, Irish, Italian, Latvian, Lithuanian, Maltese, Polish, Portuguese, Romanian, Slovak, Slovenian, Spanish and Swedish), plus 3 languages of countries which are candidate for EU accession: Albanian, Macedonian, and Serbian. The site provides ways to view content of the thesaurus by searching, browsing, and downloading. It includes a form to suggest changes to the thesaurus.

• Link

Keywords: Foreign language materials, Government agencies, International organizations, Thesauri

Annotation: This website describes a project to examine the use of, barriers to, and methods for enhancing evidence-based programs and policies (EBPP) in local health departments. Contents include the project goals, dates, and target audience; implications for research and practice; project staff, partners, and funders; and a list of related publications and presentations. A series of issue briefs on topics such as workforce development, leadership, organizational culture, relationships and partnerships, and financial practices are included. The website also contains the national survey instrument, an information brief, and the case study qualitative survey guide.

Contact: Prevention Research Center in St. Louis, Washington University in St. Louis, 621 N. Skinker Boulevard, Campus Box 1006, St. Louis, MO 63130, Telephone: (314) 935-0121 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://prcstl.wustl.edu Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Administration, Case studies, Evidence based medicine, Financing, Local government, Model programs, National surveys, Policy development, Public health agencies, Research, Work force

Annotation: This document provides guidance to local health departments (LHDs) on progressing through six phases or levels of quality improvement (QI) integration until a culture of QI has been reached and can be sustained. For each phase, the document presents common organizational characteristics and incremental strategies for transitioning to the next stage. The document also describes six foundational elements of a QI culture that LHDs should cultivate over time.

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.ncemch.org

Keywords: City health agencies, County health agencies, Evolution, Leadership, Learning, Local government, Organizational change, Outcome and process assessment, Program improvement, Public health infrastructure, Quality assurance, Sustainability, Systems development, Transitions

Annotation: This report describes the results of an environmental scan commissioned by the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation to gain a better understanding of the issues involved in creating formal collaborative relationships between local health departments residing in different communities. The report examines the types of relationships that currently exist between health departments—how they are structured, how and why they were created, and how well they are working. It also looks at the language used by stakeholders to define and describe these relationships. The report, which is based on information gathered during site visits and in-person visits with key stakeholders, summarizes barriers to improving public health capacity through cross-jurisdictional relationships and highlights considerations towards moving forward with cross-jurisdictional collaboration.

Contact: Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, 50 College Road East, Princeton, NJ 08540-6614, Telephone: (877) 843-7953 Fax: Web Site: http://www.rwjf.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Collaboration, Community based services, County health agencies, Local government, Public health infrastructure, Relationships

Annotation: This report offers a blueprint for the development of benchmarks to assist local health departments in meeting current staffing standards and workforce development needs. The report reviews historical and currently available measures of the local public health workforce, which serves as a context for the assessment of local public health factors that may affect staffing and composition. Tables include statistics on occupational categories relevant to local public health departments; trends in the numbers of state and local health department employees in the United States; and numbers of full-time local health department employees based on population served, clinical service characteristics, and other variables. The report includes descriptions of data and information sources that can be useful in developing benchmarks along with examples of potential workforce benchmarks. Recommendations for developing local public health benchmark applications are included.

Contact: National Association of County and City Health Officials, 1100 17th Street, N.W., Seventh Floor, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 783-5550 Fax: (202) 783-1583 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.naccho.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Benchmarking, Local government, Measures, Public health agencies, Staff development, Standards, Work force

Annotation: This document summarizes discussions held on June 25, 2008, concerning the role of government in assisting low-income families, income supports and low-income families, early care and education for low-income children, education for disadvantaged children, health care and low-income children and families, and the long-term fiscal challenges faced by the federal government in providing assistance to disadvantaged children and families. Appendices include two presentations addressing the role of federal spending on children and families to ensure the nation's future, and the changing roles of children in an aging society.

Contact: U.S. Government Accountability Office, 441 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20548, Telephone: (202) 512-3000 Secondary Telephone: E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gao.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Budgets, Education, Federal agencies, Federal government, Financial support, Low income groups, Public policy

Annotation: This book examines the role of poison control services within the context of the larger public health system, the injury prevention and control field, and the fields of general medical care and medical and clinical toxicology. It also examines how poison control centers function relative to the functions performed by other health care agencies and government organizations at the federal, state, and local levels. The book, which includes an executive summary, is presented in three parts. Part 1 provides an overview of the Institute of Medicine's Committee on Poison Prevention and Control's proposal for a future poison prevention and control system. Part 2 reviews the historical development of the poison control network, the current status of poisoning as a public health problem, and the principal functional elements of the system. Part 3 summarizes arguments for a new poison prevention control system by focusing on the committee's conclusions and recommendations. Statistical information and other information is presented in tables and figures throughout the book. Two appendices include a list of contributors and committee and staff biographies. The book also includes a list of references and an index. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nap.edu Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 0-309-09194-2.

• Link

Keywords: Federal government, Health agencies, Health care systems, Injury prevention, Local government, Poison control centers, Poisoning, Public health, State government, Toxicology

Annotation: This guide is designed to serve as a road map for governors and their staffs interested in designing their own successful governor's children's cabinets -- collaborative governance structures that seek to promote coordination across state agencies and improve the well-being of children and families. The content is drawn from the experiences of existing children's cabinets, including case studies of two long-standing cabinets in Louisianna and West Virginia. The guide, which includes an executive summary, discusses the basic concepts behind children's cabinets and the nuts and bolts of building such cabinets (e.g., staffing and resources, who serves on the cabinet, how to launch the cabinet, moving from mission to action), and guiding principles for children's cabinets. The guide includes two appendices, one about two case studies of governors' children's cabinets and one listing governors' children's cabinets or similiar bodies. The guide concludes with endnotes.

Contact: National Governors Association, 444 North Capitol Street, Suite 267, Washington, DC 20001-1512, Telephone: (202) 624-5300 Secondary Telephone: Fax: (202) 624-5313 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nga.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Case studies, Children, Families, Government, Guidelines, Service coordination, State agencies

Annotation: This book provides an overview of the past, present, and future of public health education, assessing its readiness to provide the training and education needed to prepare for 21st-century challenges. Eight areas of importance to public health education are examined: informatics, genomics, communication, cultural competence, community-based participatory research, global health, policy and law, and public health ethics. Recommendations address the content of public health education, qualifications for faculty, availability of supervised practice, opportunities for cross-disciplinary research and education, cooperation with government agencies, and government funding for education. Statistical information is presented in tables throughout the book. Eight appendices include: a school of public health catalogue abstract, a school of public health survey instrument, the Association of Schools of Public Health survey answers, a paper on the education of public health professionals by Elizabeth Fee, a listing of occupational classifications, a collection of competency sets, an outline of public meetings held in 2001 and 2002, and committee member biographies. References and an index are provided.

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nap.edu Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 0-309-08542-X.

• Link

Keywords: Communication, Cultural sensitivity, Ethics, Government financing, Professional education, Professional personnel, Public health agencies, Public health education, Public health infrastructure, Public health schools, Public policy, Questionnaires, Surveys

Annotation: The purpose of this manual is to assist local public health agencies in conducting a needs-based, rational planning and resource allocation process. It describes processes generic to all planning efforts at the local level and provides case examples specific to maternal and child health programs that are required to conduct a formal needs assessment and planning process every 3-5 years to receive their annual block grant funds. The manual includes the following chapters: (1) building a constituency for community assessment and date-based planning, (2) community health assessment, (3) conducting a formal problem analysis and identifying effective interventions, (4) developing objectives, performance measures, and an action plan, (5) program evaluation and performance monitoring, (6) putting it all together: creating a planning document, and (7) available tools for public health core data functions. Extensive appendices include public health indicators and their use, California county data resources on the Web, and much more.

Contact: Family Health Outcomes Project, University of California San Francisco School of Medicine, Department of Family and Community Medicine, 500 Parnassus Ave. Room MU-337, San Francisco, CA 94143, Telephone: (415) 476-5283 Contact Phone: (415) 476-5283 Fax: (415) 476-6051 E-mail: [email protected] Contact E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://fhop.ucsf.edu/fhop $30.00, includes shipping and handling.

• Link

Keywords: Block grants, Community health services, Community programs, Evaluation, Intervention, Local MCH programs, Local government, Needs assessment, Planning, Public health agencies, Resource allocation

Annotation: This report reviews the National Archives and Records Administration's (NARA) response to the difficulties of managing, preserving, and providing access to federal agencies' electronic records. Also reviewed are NARA's efforts to acquire an advanced electronic records archiving system, which will be based on new technologies that are still the subject of research. The report includes the following sections: results in brief; conclusions; recommendations for executive action; agency comments, and a glossary. The appendices provide information on the report's objectives, scope, and methodology; an evaluation of approaches to archiving electronic records; a review of agencies managing large volumes of important electronic records; and comments from NARA.

Contact: U.S. Government Accountability Office, 441 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20548, Telephone: (202) 512-3000 Secondary Telephone: E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gao.gov Available from the website. Document Number: GAO-02-586.

• PDF

Keywords: Electronic publications, Federal agencies, Government records, Information systems, Process evaluation, Records management

Annotation: The purpose of this report is to describe accountability and quality improvement functions undertaken by local health departments. Topics include four essential public health functions for pregnant women and infants: (1) assessing and monitoring health status to identify and address problems; (2)ensuring public accountability for pregnant women's and infants' well-being; (3) ensuring the capacity and competency of the perinatal health work force; and (4) ensuring access to comprehensive, quality systems of care. Statistical information is provided in map and chart formats. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, Women's and Children's Health Policy Center, 615 North Wolfe Street, Room E4143, Baltimore, MD 21205, Telephone: (410) 502-5450 Fax: (410) 502-5831 Web Site: http://www.jhsph.edu/wchpc Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, City health agencies, County health agencies, Local government, MCH services, Perinatal health, Personnel, Quality assurance, Statistical data, Women', s health

Annotation: This report describes three innovative examples of ways the Office of Community Oriented Policing Services has worked with local agencies to develop partnership-based programs for youth. Programs described include (1) Home Run Program, with probation officers working with students in schools to identify and address behavioral problems to prevent entrance into the juvenile justice system in the future; (2) Stop the Violence, empowering youth to find ways to address school violence; and (23 police magnet schools, encouraging students to view law enforcement as a rewarding career path.

Contact: U.S. Department of Justice, Office of Community Oriented Policing Services, 1100 Vermont Avenue, N.W., Washington, DC 20530, Telephone: (800) 421-6770 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cops.usdoj.gov Available at no charge; also available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Agencies, Community organizations, Community programs, Government, Interagency cooperation, Law enforcement, Schools

Annotation: This list of acronyms is designed to assist parents, educators, and health care professionals understand the terminology related to care of special needs children. The list is organized in two ways, alphabetical order by acronym or word and by subject. Subject categories are: developmental delay; education; health; legislative; mental health; neonatal; and transition. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Parents Helping Parents, Sobrato Center For Nonprofits-San Jose, 1400 Parkmoor Avenue Suite 100, San Jose, CA 95126, Telephone: (408) 727-5775 Fax: (408) 727-0182 Web Site: http://www.php.com Available in libraries.

Keywords: Acronyms, Child development disorders, Children with special health care needs, Education, Government agencies, Health, Legislation, Mental health, Neonatology, Transitions

Annotation: This volume provides an overview of the status of cultural competence development and implementation within state and local child mental health systems over the period from 1991 to 1995. It reviews the types of activities and tasks that have been undertaken by state mental health agencies in order to address federal funding mandates in the area of cultural competence, shifting demographics, and increasing concerns for more efficient and effective services from state legislators and taxpayers. The volume also attempts to address shifts that states have made within their policy and administrative structures, as well as those changes related to service delivery goals and outcomes.

Contact: National Technical Assistance Center for Children's Mental Health, Georgetown University Center for Child and Human Development, 3300 Whitehaven Street, NW, Suite 3300, Washington, DC 20007, Telephone: (202) 687-5000 Fax: (202) 687-8899 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://gucchdtacenter.georgetown.edu/index.html Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child mental health, Culturally competent services, Government financing, Minority groups, State mental health agencies