Skip Navigation

Strengthening the evidence for maternal and child health programs

Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 19 (19 total).

National Birth Defects Prevention Network. 2017. National birth defects prevention month. Houston, TX: National Birth Defects Prevention Network, multiple items.

Annotation: These materials and resources are designed to assist state program staff and others interested in promoting birth defects prevention during "January is Birth Defects Prevention Month." Contents include fact sheets, pamphlets, and posters about birth defects, preconception health, infections and immunizations, and healthy lifestyle. Topics include what you should know about birth defects, including congenital heart defects; folic acid and fetal alcohol syndrome; toxoplasmosis, cytomegalovirus, and tips on preventing infections during pregnancy; and diabetes, smoking, and domestic violence. The resources are available in English and Spanish.

Contact: National Birth Defects Prevention Network, 1321 Upland Drive, Suite 1561, Houston, TX 77043, E-mail: nbdpn@nbdpn.org Web Site: https://www.nbdpn.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Congenital abnormalities, Gestational diabetes, Preconception care, Prevention, Public awareness campaigns, Reproductive health, Spanish language materials

U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration. 2016. Women's preventive services: Required health plan coverage guidelines. [Rockville, MD]: U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration,

Annotation: This website provides information about required health plan coverage guidelines for women's preventive services under the Affordable Care Act. It includes a table listing type of preventive service, guidelines for health insurance coverage, and frequency of coverage. Preventive service types listed include well-woman visits, gestational diabetes screening, human papillomavirus testing, counseling for sexually transmitted infections, counseling and screening for human immune-deficiency virus, contraceptive methods and counseling, and screening and counseling for interpersonal and domestic violence.

Contact: U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (888) 275-4772 Secondary Telephone: (877) 464-4772 Fax: (301) 443-1246 E-mail: ask@hrsa.gov Web Site: http://www.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Contraception, Counseling, Domestic violence, Gestational diabetes, HIV screening, Health care reform, Health insurance, Health services, Human papillomavirus, Interpersonal violence, Legislation, Prevention, Reproductive health, Screening, Sexually transmitted infections, Testing, Women's health

Women's Preventive Services Initiative. 2016. Final report to the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Health Resources & Services Administration: Recommendations for preventive services for women (abridged report). Washington, DC: American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, 33 pp.

Annotation: This document presents recommendations for women's preventive health care services. Topics include breast cancer screening for average-risk women, breastfeeding services and supplies, screening for cervical cancer, contraception and contraceptive counseling, screening for gestational diabetes mellitus, screening for human immunodeficiency virus, screening for interpersonal and domestic violence, counseling for sexually transmitted infections, and well-woman preventive visits.

Contact: American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, 409 12th Street S.W., P.O. Box 96920, Washington, DC 20090-6920, Telephone: (202) 638-5577 Secondary Telephone: (202) 863-2518 E-mail: resources@acog.org Web Site: http://www.acog.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Breast cancer, Breastfeeding, Cervical cancer, Contraception, Counseling, Domestic violence, Gestational diabetes, Guidelines, HIV screening, Health screening, Health services delivery, Interpersonal violence, Preventive health services, Sexually transmitted diseases, Women's health

Shields L, Guey-Shiang T, eds. 2015. CDAPP sweet success: Guidelines for care. Sacramento, CA: California Department of Health, Center for Family Health, Maternal, Child and Adolescent Health Division, 1 v.

Annotation: This state program guide for the California Diabetes and Pregnancy Program contains these chapters: (1) overview; (2) preconception and interconception care for preexisting diabetes; (3) medical management and education for preexisting diabetes during pregnancy; (4) medical management and education for gestational diabetes mellitus; (5) impact of maternal diabetes on fetal development and neonatal care; (6) exercise; (7) medical nutrition therapy; (8) breastfeeding; (9) behavioral and psychosocial components of care; and (10) cultural competency. The program website contains additional program information and professional and consumer information including materials in Spanish.

Keywords: Diabetes mellitus, Gestational diabetes, Maternal Nutrition, Maternal health, Nutrition education, Pregnancy, Prenatal care, Spanish language materials

U.S. Preventive Services Task Force. 2014. Gestational diabetes mellitus: Screening. Rockville, MD: U.S. Preventive Services Task Force, multiple items.

Annotation: This web site provides the current recommendation, evidence reports, clinical summaries, consumer fact sheet, and comparative effectiveness review for screening asymptomatic pregnant women after 24 weeks for gestational diabetes mellitus.

Contact: U.S. Preventive Services Task Force, 540 Gaither Road, Rockville, MD 20850, Telephone: (301) 427-1584 Web Site: http://www.uspreventiveservicestaskforce.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Diabetes mellitus, Gestational diabetes, Literature reviews, MCH research, Pregnant women, Screening

National Diabetes Education Program. 2014. Did you have gestational diabetes when you were pregnant? What you need to know [rev. ed.]. [Bethesda, MD]: National Diabetes Educational Program, 2 pp.

Annotation: This fact sheet for consumers provides information about gestational diabetes and about what women who had this condition while pregnant can do to reduce the chances that they or their child will get diabetes later in life. The fact sheet provides action steps for women (including getting tested for diabetes, eating healthy foods and being more active) and for the whole family.

Contact: National Diabetes Education Program, One Diabetes Way, Bethesda, MD 20841-9692, Telephone: (301) 496-3583 Web Site: http://ndep.nih.gov Available from the website. Document Number: NIH Publication No. 12-6019; NDEP-88.

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Child health, Consumer education materials, Diabetes mellitus, Families, Gestational diabetes, Nutrition, Obesity, Physical activity, Pregnancy, Prevention, Screening tests, Women's health

National Institutes of Health, Office of Disease Prevention. 2013. NIH Consensus Development Conference on Diagnosing Gestational Diabetes Mellitus. Bethesda, MD: National Institutes of Health, 31 pp. (NIH consensus development conference statements; 29(1))

Annotation: This document provides health professionals, patients, and the general public with an assessment of currently available data on diagnosing gestational diabetes mellitus (GDM). The document provides an overview of GDM and how health professionals screen for it; a discussion of the controversy over screening, diagnosis, and treatment; and information from a consensus development conference held on March 4-6, 2013, to assess available evidence.

Contact: National Institutes of Health, 9000 Rockville Pike, Bethesda, MD 20892, Telephone: (301) 496-4000 Secondary Telephone: (301) 402-9612 Fax: (301) 496-0017 E-mail: NIHInfo@OD.NIH.GOV Web Site: http://www.nih.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Diagnosis, Treatment, Evidence, Gestational diabetes, Research, Screening, Statistical data

Davis E, Schechtel M, Rugge B, King V, Hickam D. 2010, 2009. Gestational diabetes: A guide for pregnant women. Rockville, MD: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 3 items. (Effective health care program)

Annotation: This guide provides pregnant women with information about gestational diabetes to help them talk with their doctor or midwife about the condition. Topics include what gestational diabetes is, how it is treated, and how to follow up after pregnancy. The guide is available in English and Spanish. An audio (MP3) version and other publications related to the topic are also available.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov Available from the website. Document Number: AHRQ Pub. No. 09-EHC014-A (English); 09(10)-EHC014-B (Spanish).

Keywords: Audiovisual materials, Consumer education materials, Gestational diabetes, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Spanish language materials, Treatment

National Diabetes Education Program. 2010. It's never too early to prevent diabetes: A lifetime of small steps for a healthy family. [Bethesda, MD]: National Diabetes Education Program, 2 pp.

Annotation: This flyer defines gestational diabetes, describes the link between gestational diabetes and type 2 diabetes and lists preventive actions to assist someone who had gestational diabetes from getting type 2 diabetes.

Contact: National Diabetes Education Program, One Diabetes Way, Bethesda, MD 20841-9692, Telephone: (301) 496-3583 Web Site: http://ndep.nih.gov Available at no charge; also available from the website. Document Number: NIH Pub. No. 08-6019.

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Diabetes mellitus, Disease prevention, Gestational diabetes

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. 2010. Diabetes and pregnancy: Gestational diabetes. Atlanta, GA: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 12 pp.

Annotation: This booklet was developed for women who have been diagnosed with diabetes during pregnancy and want to learn how to take care of themselves during and after pregnancy. Topics include what gestational diabetes is, how it can affect the health of mom and baby, and how it can be controlled. A log for monitoring blood sugar and diet is included.

Contact: National Center on Birth Defects and Developmental Disabilities, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: cdcinfo@cdc.gov Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/ncbddd Available from the website.

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Gestational diabetes, Low literacy materials, Pregnancy complications, Pregnancy outcome, Pregnant women, Self care, Women's health promotion

Rugge B, King V, Davis E, Schechtel M, Hickam D. 2009. Gestational diabetes: Caring for women during and after pregnancy—Clinician's guide. Rockville, MD: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 2 pp. (Effective health care program)

Annotation: This guide summarizes clinical evidence about prenatal treatment and delivery management for women with gestational diabetes. It also summarizes evidence about follow-up for the development of type 2 diabetes among women who have had gestational diabetes. The guide discusses the clinical issue, insulin and hypoglycemic medications, the timing and mode of delivery, considerations, and a resource for women.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Diabetes mellitus, Gestational diabetes, Hypoglycemia, Pregnant women, Prenatal care, Treatment, Women's health

National Institute of Child Health and Human Development. 2004. Managing gestational diabetes: A patient's guide to a healthy pregnancy. Bethesda, MD: National Institute of Child Health and Human Development, 45 pp.

Annotation: This guide provides general guidelines for pregnant women with gestational diabetes for keeping healthy during pregnancy and for promoting the best outcome for the baby. It describes gestational diabetes, its causes and its features, includes a general treatment plan to help control the condition in making informed decisions about care with their health care providers, dietitians, and family members. Appendices provide information on high-fiber foods, a sample menu, and sample record sheets for monitoring glucose, food, and physical activity.

Contact: Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development, P.O. Box 3006, Rockville, MD 20847, Telephone: (800) 370-2943 Secondary Telephone: (888) 320-6942 Fax: (866) 760-5947 Web Site: https://www.nichd.nih.gov/Pages/index.aspx Available at no charge; also available from the website. Document Number: NIH Pub. No. 04-2788.

Keywords: Blood glucose self monitoring, Gestational diabetes, Nutrition, Patient education materials, Physical activity, Pregnancy complications, Pregnant women, Prenatal care

Keiffer EC. 2003. Maternal health and pregnancy outcomes among Hispanics: Final report. Ann Arbor, MI: University of Michigan, Department of Health Behavior and Health Education, 60 pp.

Annotation: This final report describes a prospective, longitudinal cohort study of Hispanic mother-infant pairs to examine the extent and impact of maternal central body obesity, abnormal glucose tolerance, and other metabolic abnormalities among pregnant Hispanic women and their infants. The report includes sections on the nature, purpose, scope, methods, and aims of the study; a literature review; an overview of the statistical analyses; the presentation of findings in narrative and statistical table formats; a discussion of findings including conclusions, explanations of limitations, comparisons with other findings; and a final section listing products of the study. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, Box 571272, Washington, DC 20057-1272, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Body composition, Diabetes mellitus, Fetal development, Final reports, Gestational diabetes, Hispanic Americans, Infant health, MCH research, Maternal health, Metabolic disorders, Michigan, Obesity, Pregnancy outcome, Prenatal care, Research methodology

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. 2003. National diabetes fact sheet: United States, November 2003. Atlanta, GA: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 8 pp. (Secretary's edition)

Annotation: This fact sheet provides general information on diabetes and discusses different types of diabetes. It offers strategies for treating and preventing or delaying the disease. The fact sheet also includes national estimates on the prevalence of diabetes among various population groups, the incidence of diabetes, complications from diabetes, and deaths among individuals with diabetes.Data are presented in figures within the fact sheet. The Web site had an additional document, Data Sources, References, and Methods, which gives citations to literature related to various aspects of diabetes.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: cdcinfo@cdc.gov Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Asian Americans, Blacks, Child health, Data, Diabetes mellitus, Gestational diabetes, Hawaiians, Hispanic Americans, Mortality, Older adults, Pacific Islanders, Physical activity, Prevention

Emanuel I. 2002. Maternal birthweight and reproductive outcomes: Final report. Seattle, WA: University of Washington, Department of Epidemiology, 8 pp.

Annotation: This final report describes a retrospective cohort study to investigate intergenerational relationships between the mother's birthweight and suboptimal birth outcomes in the mother's child such as infant low birthweight, preterm birth, infant respiratory distress syndrome, need for a cesarean section, gestational diabetes mellitus, or preeclampsia. Comparisons were made between four ethnic groups: non-Hispanic whites, African Americans, Native Americans, and Hispanics. The report provides a statement of the problem, research objectives, study design and methods, findings, policy implications, suggestions for future research, and a listing of presentations and publications arising from the research. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, Box 571272, Washington, DC 20057-1272, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Alaskan Natives, American Indians, Blacks, Cesarean section, Ethnic factors, Final reports, Gestational diabetes, Hispanic Americans, Infant health, Low birthweight, MCH research, Newborn infants, Preeclampsia, Pregnancy outcome, Pregnant women, Preterm birth, Respiratory instability

University of Minnesota, School of Public Health, Division of Epidemiology. 1995. University of Minnesota case studies: Iron deficiency anemia, gestational diabetes. Minneapolis, MN: University of Minnesota, Public Health Nutrition, Division of Epidemiology, 2 videotapes (37:38 minutes).

Annotation: This set of two videotapes explores two complications of pregnancy. Both videotapes are accompanied by a teaching guide. Gestational diabetes covers definition, prevalence, significance, screening, diagnosis, nutritional management, dietary strategies, monitoring and postpartum follow-up. Iron deficiency covers definition, prevalence, prevention, and treatment. Both of the guides contain references. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: University of Minnesota School of Public Health, Division of Epidemiology and Community Health, West Bank Office Building, 1300 S. Second Street, Suite 300, Minneapolis, MN 55454-1015, Telephone: (612) 624-1818 Fax: (612) 624-0315 Web Site: http://sph.umn.edu/epi $25 each videotape.

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Audiovisual materials, Dietary assessment, Gestational diabetes, Iron deficiency anemia, Iron supplements, Maternal health, Maternal nutrition, Patient education, Pregnancy complications, Prenatal care, Screening, Videotapes

Thomas-Dobersen D, Saliman GL, Dobersen MJ. 1989, 1993r. Understanding gestational diabetes: A practical guide to a healthy pregnancy. Bethesda, MD: National Institute of Child Health and Human Development, 46 pp.

Annotation: This consumer booklet provides information for women with gestational diabetes. It is designed in a question- and- answer format, and uses charts and tables to provide illustrations of the written material. The guide includes the following topics: a general discussion on gestational diabetes, blood glucose monitoring, dietary recommendations, weight gain, caffeine, and exercise. This publication was reprinted in 1993.

Contact: Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development, P.O. Box 3006, Rockville, MD 20847, Telephone: (800) 370-2943 Secondary Telephone: (888) 320-6942 Fax: (866) 760-5947 Web Site: https://www.nichd.nih.gov/Pages/index.aspx Document Number: NIH 93-2788.

Keywords: Gestational diabetes, Maternal health, Nutrition

March of Dimes Birth Defects Foundation. 1988. Maternal nutrition: Contemporary approaches to interdisciplinary care. White Plains, NY: March of Dimes Birth Defects Foundation, 10 v.

Annotation: This teaching curriculum is composed of 10 modules, each designed to be conducted as a seminar for a small interdisciplinary group of maternal health care professionals. Each set of curriculum materials is valued at over $400.00 and is packaged in 10 three-ring binders and includes 800 printed pages, a videotape, and over 400 slides. The course, developed at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, emphasizes the relationship of good nutrition both preconceptionally and during pregnancy to optimal pregnancy outcomes and addresses many topics including preconceptional nutrition, nutrition during pregnancy, high risk pregnancy, substance abuse, cultural influences on eating, guiding women to healthful food choices, counseling skills, community resources advocacy, and evaluating nutrition interventions. The titles of the ten modules are: 1. The Seamless Web of Influences: Linking Nutrition in Pregnancy with Birth Outcomes; 2. Planning for the Future: Preconceptional Health Care; 3. Eating for Health Outcomes: Nutrition during Pregnancy; 4. Special Diets for Special People: Nutrition Care for the Mother at Risk; 5. Better Living Without Chemistry: Smoking, Drinking, and Drugs in Pregnancy; 6. Pizza, Pickles, and Pica: Cultural Influences on Eating; 7. From Nutrient Needs to " What's for Dinner?:" Guiding Women to Healthful Food Choices; 8. Sharpening Counseling Skills: Working Together to Change Eating Habits; 9. The Community Connection: Resources for Pregnant Women; 10. So What's the Difference?: Measuring the Impact of Nutrition Interventions. Additional materials were added to the modules in February 1990.

Contact: March of Dimes, 1275 Mamaroneck Avenue, White Plains, NY 10605, Telephone: (914) 997-4488 Secondary Telephone: Web Site: http://www.marchofdimes.com Price unknown. Document Number: HRSA Info. Ctr. MCHC119.

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Advocacy, Alcohol, Caffeine, Cocaine, Cultural factors, Food habits, Gestational diabetes, High risk pregnancy, Interdisciplinary approach, Marijuana, Maternal health, Maternal nutrition, Nutrition assessment, Nutrition counseling, Preconception care, Pregnancy induced hypertension, Quality assurance, Substance abuse, Teamwork, Tobacco, Vegetarianism

San Francisco Bay Area Diabetes and Early Pregnancy Program and Sutter Memorial Hospital, Perinatal Center. 1986. Sweet success: Diabetes and pregnancy education program—A teaching-learning guide to promote a successful outcome for the pregnancy complicated by diabetes. Sacramento, CA: California Department of Health Services, 4 v.

Annotation: This series on diabetes and pregnancy was developed as a result of the Sweet Success, California diabetes and pregnancy program. This model of care emphasizes early recruitment of pre-pregnant and pregnant women with diabetes, and pregnant women who develop gestational diabetes into diabetes and pregnancy programs. Materials available from this project include the following: Four "Teaching Learning Guides," covering Prepregnancy, Pregnancy, Intrapartum Period, Postpartum Period, contain behavioral objectives, activities and resources to help the patients achieve the goals of the program. "Guidelines for Care" are based on the Teaching learning guides and provide the recommended content of services for pre-pregnant and pregnant woman with diabetes or gestational diabetes and describe the optimal level of care that can be implemented by health care providers and patients. "Patient Education Materials," produced in both English and Spanish, include a food guide; a food plan worksheet; a nutrition guide; a informational brochure; and a patient handbook with an overview of pregnancy and diabetes (in English only)

Keywords: Diabetes mellitus, Gestational diabetes, Maternal Nutrition, Maternal health, Nutrition education, Pregnancy, Prenatal care, Spanish language materials

   

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.