Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This report presents findings from a large-scale demonstration project and evaluation of Gender Matters (Gen.M), a sexuality education curriculum that aims to reduce adolescent pregnancy and associated sexual risk behaviors, in part by challenging commonly held perceptions of gender roles and promoting healthy, equitable relationships. The study reports final impacts of the program on adolescent sexual risk behaviors and other longer-term outcomes measured 18 months after participants enrolled in the study.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Adolescent Health, 1101 Wootton Parkway, Suite 700, Rockville, MD 20852, Telephone: (240) 453-2846 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.hhs.gov/ash/oah Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescents, Attitudes, Gender discrimination, Model programs, Prevention programs, Program evaluation, Relationships, Risk taking, Sex characteristics, Sexual health

Annotation: This video for health professionals and staff offers perspectives from transgender and gender non-conforming youth about their experiences and what they want from the health care system.

Contact: University of Michigan Health System, Adolescent Health Initiative, 2025 Traverwood Drive, Suite A6, Ann Arbor, MI 48105-2197, Telephone: (734) 998-2034 Fax: (734) 998-2213 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://umhs-adolescenthealth.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Gender discrimination, Health services delivery, Personal narratives, Sex characteristics, Sex role, Training, Young adults

Annotation: This book focuses on how the prospects for health and well-being are influenced by social inequalities. Contents include an overview of the early history of public health and how some of the greatest achievements prefigure a contemporary health equity practice; the root causes of health inequities including class, racism, and gender inequity and heterosexism; profiles of health equity practice; elements of health equity practice that have emerged from the work of state and local health departments across the United States; and reflections on a future health equity practice.

Contact: National Association of County and City Health Officials, 1100 17th Street, N.W., Seventh Floor, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 783-5550 Fax: (202) 783-1583 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.naccho.org $9.95 members; $19.95 nonmembers. Document Number: NA614.

Keywords: Civil rights, Equal opportunities, Gender discrimination, Public health agencies, Racial discrimination, Sexism, Social discrimination

Annotation: This webinar focuses on the new objective in Healthy People 2020's lesbian, gay, bisexual,and transgender topic area; transgender health; the development of gender identify; and health issues specific to transgender individuals. The webinar also discusses how the Affordable Care Act of 2010 affects individuals who are lesbian, gay, bisexual, or transgender (LGBT) and how the Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion is working to including LGBT issues in its health research. Efforts to increase access to care and improve the health of individuals with HIV/AIDS are also discussed.

Contact: U.S. Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, 1101 Wootton Parkway, Suite LL100, Rockville, MD 20852, Fax: (240) 453-8282 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://health.gov Available from the website.

• Webinar
• Archive Site With Materials

Keywords: AIDS, Access to health care, Discrimination, Gender discrimination, HIV infected patients, Health insurance, Health promotion, Healthy People 2020, High risk groups, Homosexuality, Legislation, Prevention, Research, Sexual identity

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information about sexual and reproductive health for transgender people.Topics include preventive health screenings, HIV and other sexually transmitted infections, unintended pregnancy, physical and sexual abuse, sexual and reproductive health care-seeking behavior, and access to health information. Recommendations to improve transgender sexual and reproductive health care are included.

Contact: National Center for Transgender Equality, 1325 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W., Suite 700, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 903-0112 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.TransEquality.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Barriers, Gender discrimination, Health behavior, Health care delivery, Health care utilization, Policy development, Program improvement, Reproductive health, Sexual health

Annotation: This report summarizes the discussion of a roundtable that took place at the Kaiser Family Foundation in November 2010. The roundtable examined the women, girls, and gender-equality principle of the U.S. Global Health Initiative (GHI). The report introduces the roundtable and presents the principle behind the GHI, discusses the guidance, and presents roundtable key issues.

Contact: Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation, 2400 Sand Hill Road, Menlo Park, CA 94025, Telephone: (650) 854-9400 Secondary Telephone: (202) 347-5270 Fax: (650) 854-4800 Web Site: http://www.kff.org Available from the website.

• Summary
• Matrix

Keywords: Female adolescents, Female children, Gender discrimination, Initiatives, International health, Women

Annotation: This paper discusses the distinctions between bullying and harassment and the priorities and responsibilities of school districts. Topics include the unintended consequences of ignoring the gendered dimensions of bullying and harassment in K-12 schools and strategies for collaborating with school personnel and students.

Contact: National Online Resource Center on Violence Against Women, National Resource Center on Domestic Violence, 3605 Vartan Way, Suite 101, Harrisburg, PA 17110, Telephone: (800) 537-2238 Secondary Telephone: (800) 553.2508 Fax: (717) 545-9456 Web Site: http://www.vawnet.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Bullying, Gender discrimination, Legal responsibility, Policy analysis, Schools, Sexual harassment, Violence prevention

Annotation: This report describes the National School Climate Survey conducted by the Gay, Lesbian and Straight Education Network. The survey asked lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender (LGBT) youth about biased language in their schools; feelings of comfort and safety in school; and experiences of verbal, physical, and sexual harassment based on sexual orientation, gender, gender expression, race/ethnicity, disability, and religion. The report, which includes an executive summary, also contains a description of the study's methodology, results, and a conclusion. Extensive statistical information is presented in figures and tables throughout the report.

Contact: Gay, Lesbian and Straight Education Network, 90 Broad Street, Second Floor, New York, NY 10004, Telephone: (212) 727-0135 Fax: (212) 727-0254 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.glsen.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent sexuality, Adolescents, Ethnic factors, Gender discrimination, Homosexuality, Language, Racial factors, Religion, Safety, Schools, Sexual harassment, Surveys

Annotation: This publication demonstrates how schools can meet the educational and psychological needs of America's increasingly diverse student population. Illustrative programs are described that value the uniqueness of each individual and recognize and respect student diversity as a strength. Articles include information that promote knowledge and understanding of the effects of culture, race, ethnicity, religion, gender, sexual orientation, disability, and language on students' learning and behavior. Overall, the articles provide approaches to promote a safe learning environment for children. The guide is intended for parents, educators, administrators, pupil services providers, and policy makers.

Contact: National Association of School Psychologists, 4340 East West Highway, Suite 402, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (301) 657-0270 Secondary Telephone: (866) 331-NASP Fax: (301) 657-0275 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nasponline.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Cultural diversity, Cultural sensitivity, Disabilities, Ethnic factors, Gender discrimination, Homosexuality, Racial factors, Religion, Students

Annotation: This book is a collection of nine essays that examine women's health status and health care delivery in different countries and the assumptions behind the dominant medical model of solving problems without regard to social conditions. The authors are members of the Feminist Health Care Ethics Research Network, an interdisciplinary group of scholars and practitioners whose primary interest is in feminist approaches to women's health. The book is the result of a four-year collaborative research project supported by the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada. The essays are entitled: A Relational Approach to Autonomy in Health Care; Situating Women in the Politics of Health; The Politics of Health: Geneticization Versus Health Promotion; Contested Bodies, Contested Knowledges: Women, Health, and the Politics of Medicalization; Agency, Diversity, and Constraints: Women and Their Physicians, Canada, 1850-1950; Reflections on the Transfer of "Progress": The Case of Reproduction; Anomalous Women and Political Strategies for Aging Societies; (Re)fashioning Medicine's Response to Wife Abuse; and Reframing Research Involving Humans. Notes are provided at the end of each essay. A list of references and biographies of the authors are included in the book.

Contact: Temple University Press, 1601 North Broad Street, Philadelphia, PA 19122, Telephone: (800) 621-2736 Fax: (800) 621-8471 Web Site: http://www.temple.edu/tempress/ Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 1-56639-598-4.

Keywords: Africa, Bioethics, Canada, Ethics, Gender discrimination, Health care delivery, Health promotion, Japan, North America, Research, Women', s health

Annotation: This book draws on research data and interviews to explore current issues in gender, health and the combination of various life roles for women. The author discusses the costs and benefits of being a working mother, the link between life circumstances and well being or lack of it, how children are faring, and how men fit into the life of women who are juggling different roles.

Keywords: Employment, Families, Gender discrimination, Sex role, Working mothers

Annotation: This book was developed for service providers, parents, and others interested in education-provided health services. The book provides a framework to assess health services at schools and colleges, evaluate whether or not these services are sex fair, and identify and implement needed changes. Specific topic areas include: schools and pregnant students, sex education and birth control services and programs, gynecologic and reproductive health care, student health insurance, sports medicine, alcohol and drug abuse services and programs, mental health services, and other health services and programs. The conclusion provides a summary of the principles for evaluating sex fairness in each of these eight areas. Appendices include an outline of the provisions in the Title IX statute, the law prohibiting sex discrimination in federally funded education programs; model assessment tools to gather information regarding Title IX and school health services; and a bibliography listing pertinent sources and references.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Educational programs, Gender discrimination, Health services