Skip Navigation

Strengthening the evidence for maternal and child health programs

Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 17 (17 total).

American Academy of Pediatrics, Healthy Tomorrows Partnership for Children Program. [2013]. Healthy Tomorrows Partnership for Children: A guide to developing your program proposal. Elk Grove Village, IL: American Academy of Pediatrics,, 30 pp.

Annotation: The proposal development guide is designed to assist community planners in developing programs that meet the grant requirements of the Healthy Tomorrows Partnership for Children Program (NTPCP), a collaboration between the American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP) and the Maternal and Child Health Bureau (MCHB); The guide provides suggestions for assessment and planning activities along with tips for promoting pediatrician involvement; creating an advisory board; developing an evaluation plan; and creating a budget. Listings of resources of use in community-based initiatives are also included.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Community programs, Evaluation, Fundraising, Grants, Manuals, Program development, Proposal writing, Proposals

Harvard Clinical and Translational Science Center, Community Health Innovation and Research Program. 2013. Toolkit for building primary care research at your community health center. Cambridge, MA: Harvard Clinical and Translational Science Center, Community Health Innovation and Research Program, 8 modules.

Annotation: This toolkit is designed to provide clinical and administrative staff at community health centers with the essentials needed to build a primary care research infrastructure. Organized into eight stand-alone audio-recorded modules, the toolkit helps health center clinicians and staff find information on: (1) introduction to quality improvement and research, (2) building primary care research infrastructure, (3) data: access and utilization, (4) study design and methods overview, (5) dissemination and action, (6) funding research, (7) partnerships for research, and (8) ethics and the Institutional Review Board. Appendices are included after each module to provide access to sample agreements, forms, policies, slides, and worksheets.

Contact: Harvard University, T.H. Chan School of Public Health, 677 Huntington Avenue, Boston, MA 02115, Telephone: (617) 495-1000 Web Site: https://www.hsph.harvard.edu Available from the website.

Keywords: Collaboration, Community health centers, Data collection, Data sources, Ethics, Fundraising, Primary care, Qualitative evaluation, Research, Research design, Research methodology

National Abandoned Infants Assistance Resource Center. 2006. Sustaining your child and family services organization in lean times. Berekeley, CA: National Abandoned Infants Assistance Resource Center, 8 pp.

Annotation: This issue brief focuses on the issue of child and family services program sustainability. The report discusses strategic planning, fundraising, the nonprofit funding environment, funding resources, diversified funding, fundraising partners, marketing and fundraising, building and nurturing a relationship with funders, and looking beyond donors toward self-reliance. A conclusion and endnotes are included.

Contact: National Abandoned Infants Assistance Resource Center, Center for Child & Youth Policy , University of California, Berkeley, 1950 Addison Street, Suite 104, , Berkeley, CA 94720-7402, Telephone: (510) 643-8390 Fax: (510) 643-7019 E-mail: aia@berkeley.edu Web Site: http://aia.berkeley.edu/ Available at no charge; also available from the website.

Keywords: Family support programs, Family support services, Financing, Fundraising, Marketing, Sustainability

Tomorrows Child Michigan SIDS. 2005. Little book of big ideas. Lansing, MI: Tomorrow's Child Michigan SIDS, 23 pp.

Annotation: This booklet serves as a guide on how to support Michigan Baby Walks, a fundraiser to support Tomorrow's Child/Michigan SIDS, an organization dedicated to advancing community efforts that prevent infant death and providing education that promotes infant well-being and grief support to those affected by an infant death. The booklet includes ideas on how to raise money; reach friends, families, and communities; and maintain support, among other topics. The booklet also provides background about the organization and presents personal stories.

Contact: Tomorrow's Child Michigan SIDS, 612 West Lake Lansing Road, Suite 800 , East Lansing, MI 48823, Telephone: (517) 485-7437 Secondary Telephone: (800) 331-7437 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.tomorrowschildmi.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Bereavement, Communities, Education, Families, Financial support, Fundraising, Grief, Infant death, Infant health, Michigan, Personal narratives, Prevention, Programs, SIDS

DeVita CJ, Mosher-Williams R , eds. 2001. Who speaks for America's children? The role of child advocates in public policy. Washington, DC: Urban Institute Press, 219 pp.

Annotation: This volume examines the history and experiences of child advocacy organizations in safeguarding and improving the welfare of children. Its objective is to explore how child advocacy organizations can more effectively raise the public's awareness of children's issues and advance public policy at the federal, state, and local levels. The volume is divided into two sections. The first section examines the current infrastructure for child advocacy organizations, the extent to which the organizations can rely on financial support from foundations, and the role of these organizations in the democratic decision-making process. Topics include the roles of nonprofit organizations; Medicaid and SCHIP; and the nonprofit sector. The second section looks at how child advocacy organizations have historically worked at creating and maintaining constituencies and at the prospects for creating a self-sustaining, constituent-based child advocacy movement in the future. Topics include advocacy for families and children, reform issues in Medicaid and SCHIP; preschool advocacy, and mobilizing parents and communities for children. The book concludes with an index.

Keywords: Access to health care, Child advocacy, Child welfare, Child welfare agencies, Children, Fundraising, Insurance, Medicaid, Nonprofit organizations, Policy development, Public policy, State Children's Health Insurance Program

Wishman A, Kates D, Kaufman R. 2001. Funding early childhood mental health services and supports. Washington, DC: Georgetown University Child Development Center, 76 pp.

Annotation: This document provides information on funding sources for mental health services and supports for young children. The first part of the document gives an overview of the importance of mental health services and supports for young children, the need for a systemic approach to financing, and how to use a matrix of early childhood mental health services, supports, and funding streams. The first appendix provides a blank matrix form that was developed in a 1999 meeting of stakeholders, consultants, and family members and tables listing early childhood mental health services and supports and potential funding agencies. The second appendix lists and describes specific programs that provide funding. The third appendix provides a list of meeting participants.

Contact: Georgetown University Center for Child and Human Development, Box 571485, Washington, DC 20057-1485, Telephone: (202) 687-5503 Secondary Telephone: (202) 687-5000 Fax: (202) 687-8899 E-mail: gucdc@georgetown.edu Web Site: http://gucchd.georgetown.edu $8.00, plus shipping and handling; also available from the website.

Keywords: Child mental health, Fundraising, Mental health services, Service delivery, Young children

Harbin GL, Shaw, D. 1998. United Way funding: Consequences for local service systems. [Chapel Hill, NC]: University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Early Childhood Research Institute on Service Utilization, 18 pp. (Early Child Research Institute: Service utilization—Raising issues)

Annotation: This publication raises an issue regarding United Way funding as raised in focus groups with community leaders in three different states and nine communities with varying sociodemographics, service configurations, and available resources. The need for local service systems to improve their understanding of the United Way in order to make better use of this important resource is discussed. The possible consequences of using this funding source in different situations is discussed.

Keywords: Fundraising, United Way

Williams K. 1997 . Meeting the needs of children: A guide to funding EMSC projects. Washington, DC: Emergency Medical Services for Children National Resource Center, 42 pp.

Annotation: This manual contains guidance on financing projects to provide emergency medical services for children. It explains the types of funding available which include federal, state, county, and local grants and foundation and corporate funding; it gives a step-by-step checklist to grant writing and offers a guide to developing a comprehensive plan. Finally, it provides case studies demonstrating how fundraising is carried out by services that provide emergency medical services for children. It also contains a bibliography on grant writing, federal funding, foundation funding, corporate funding, special events, direct mail, starting and managing a nonprofit organization, identifying wealthy individuals, planned giving, newsletters, using the Internet, state-specific funding directories, and regional and local directories. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Emergency Medical Services for Children (EMSC) National Resource Center, 801 Roeder Road, Suite 600, Silver Spring, MD 20910, Telephone: (301) 244-6300 Fax: (301) 244-6301 E-mail: emscinformation@childrensnational.org Web Site: http://www.emscnrc.org Contact for cost information.

Keywords: Bibliographies, Emergency medical services for children, Foundations, Fundraising, Grants, Manuals

Oryx Press. 1996. Funding sources for community and economic development: A guide to current sources for local programs and projects. Phoenix, AZ: Oryx Press, 416 pp.

Annotation: This directory lists sources of funding that local organizations, citizens groups, or government agencies can contact to develop community programs and projects. It provides access to funding sources from the private sector and the federal government and is based on the publisher's GRANTS database. The volume contains an essay, "A Guide to Proposal Planning and Writing, " by Lynn E. Miner; the listing of funding sources; and indexes for subjects, the organizations, program type, and geographic regions. Entries typically provide an annotation, list restrictions and requirements, indicate funding levels and deadlines, and include contact information.

Keywords: Community development, Directories, Fundraising, Government financing, Private sector

Wallin HK, Printz TJ, Coughlan P. 1996. Fundraising for family-centered organizations in the District of Columbia. Washington, DC: Georgetown University, Graduate Public Policy Program; Arlington, VA: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, 2 v. (DC Family Policy Seminar background briefing report)

Annotation: This report provides a brief introduction to issues addressed by a DC Family Policy Seminar in July 1996 that focused on identifying proven and successful practices for local nonprofit organizations to access funds from public and private sources. Volume 1 (written by Helena Wallin, Tobi Printz, and Pamela Coughlan) serves as a resource guide for District of Columbia organizations looking for funding sources and information on applying for and managing the grant/fundraising process. It provides a annotated bibliography on a number of topics that include: 1) federal resources and block grants, 2) resources for managing grants and the grant application process, 3) issue-specific funding resources and technical reports, and 4) private sector resources. Volume 2 provides highlights of the seminar's discussions. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Box 571272, Washington, DC 20057-1272, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu Web Site: https://www.ncemch.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Community programs, District of Columbia, Family centered care, Family centered services, Financing, Foundations, Fundraising, Grant management, Grants, Nonprofit organizations

National Association of Community Health Centers. 1996. Winning approaches to securing funding from the private-sector. Washington, DC: National Association of Community Health Centers, 40 pp.

Annotation: This report contains reference materials from a workshop at the twenty seventh annual convention and Community Health Institute of the National Association of Community Health Centers held in San Francisco, California August 26, 1996. The workshop was designed to help CHC staff understand the field of private-sector fundraising, be clear on the differences between raising funds from public and private sectors, and avoid common problems. The papers presented are: Preparing your organization to seek private sector funding, by Emily Gantz McKay; Identifying and researching prospective funders, by Shawn Phillips; and Pfizer Incorporated: A case study of one corporation's approach to philanthropy, by Paula Luff.

Contact: National Association of Community Health Centers, 7501 Wisconsin Avenue, Suite 1100W, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (301) 347-0400 Web Site: http://nachc.org Available at no charge.

Keywords: Conferences, Fundraising, Private sector

Ferguson J. 1994. The effective grant office: Streamlining grants development and management. Alexandria, VA: Capitol Publications, 94 pp.

Annotation: This manual provides suggestions for establishing and running grants offices in nonprofit organizations. It discusses the primary responsibilities of the grant office in general; and it contains chapters that cover planning, developing, managing, training and professional development, and evaluating, among other topics. It also provides a listing of other useful resources in an appendix.

Contact: Aspen Publishers, 76 Ninth Avenue, Seventh Floor, New York, NY 10011, Telephone: (800) 234-1660 Secondary Telephone: (212) 771-0600 Contact Phone: (800) 655-5597 Fax: (212) 771-0885 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.aspenpublishers.com $62.00 plus $3.00 shipping and handling. Document Number: ISBN 1-56925-014-6.

Keywords: Fundraising, Grants, Manuals, Nonprofit organizations

Geever JC, McNeill P. 1993. The Foundation Center's guide to proposal writing. New York, NY: Foundation Center, 191 pp.

Annotation: This manual covers the critical steps in writing proposals to obtain grants from foundations and corporations. The manual provides a detailed guide for each stage of the process which include positioning the agency and setting funding priorities, determining stages related to developing the master proposal, and packaging and formatting the proposal. It also includes material on researching and contacting potential sources of funding. Appendices contain a sample proposal, insights based on interviews with the grant makers in various foundations, and an annotated bibliography.

Contact: Foundation Center, 79 Fifth Avenue/16th Street, New York, NY 10003, Telephone: (212) 620-4230 Secondary Telephone: (800) 424-9836 Contact Phone: (800) 424-9836 Fax: (212) 807-3677 E-mail: communications@foundationcenter.org Web Site: http://www.fdncenter.org Price unknown. Document Number: ISBN 0-87954-492-9.

Keywords: Fundraising, Grants, Manuals, Proposal writing, Proposals

Swift C, Givens S, Zimmerman M, Calley S. 1993. Opening doors for healthier families: How to start a resource mothers program (implementation guidelines). Washington, DC: National Commission to Prevent Infant Mortality, 105 pp.

Annotation: The implementation guidelines detail the steps involved in starting a community resource mothers program. Chapters focus on program planning, evaluation, management, and funding. Needs assessment forms are included along with sample client contact sheets, work logs, consent forms, check lists, job descriptions, and reports. Funding tools include a chart of states covering home visiting under Medicaid and sample fundraising fact sheets.

Contact: International Medical Services for Health, MotherNet America Program, 45449 Severn Way, Suite 161, Sterling, VA 20166-8918, Telephone: (703) 444-4477 Secondary Telephone: (800) 521-1175 Fax: (703) 444-4471 $15.00 plus $6.00 shipping for 1-5 books; prepayment required.

Keywords: Budgets, Fundraising, Guidelines, Home visiting, Interagency cooperation, Medicaid, Needs assessment, Program development, Program evaluation, Resource mothers, Training programs

Ferguson J. 1993. The grants development kit. Alexandria, VA: Capitol Publications, ca. 100 pp.

Annotation: This manual includes a set of forms, charts, outlines, checklists, tips, and strategies to streamline the grantseeking process. Sections cover the following topics: developing project ideas, researching funders, preparing to write proposals, writing proposals, and completing and submitting proposals.

Contact: Aspen Publishers, 76 Ninth Avenue, Seventh Floor, New York, NY 10011, Telephone: (800) 234-1660 Secondary Telephone: (212) 771-0600 Contact Phone: (800) 655-5597 Fax: (212) 771-0885 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.aspenpublishers.com $45.00 plus $3 shipping and handling.

Keywords: Development, Fundraising, Grants, Proposal writing

Brindis CD with Pittman K, Reyes P, Adams-Taylor S. 1991. Adolescent pregnancy prevention: A guidebook for communities. Palo Alto, CA: Stanford Health Promotion Resource Center, 279 pp.

Annotation: This book was written for agencies and community groups working in the field of adolescent pregnancy. It includes a description of the problem and provides a step-by-step guide for planning a successful program. Action steps described include: coalition building, fund raising, needs assessment, impact evaluation, and developing strategies to implement plans. The book also contains a resource directory, charts, and worksheets.

Contact: Stanford Health Promotion Resource Center, Stanford University School of Medicine, Hoover Pavilion, Mail Code 5705, 211 Quarry Road, Ground Floor , Stanford, CA 94305-5705, Telephone: (650) 725-4406 Fax: (650) 498-4828 Web Site: http://hip.stanford.edu/community-outreach/hprc.html Available in libraries.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescent pregnancy, Coalitions, Evaluation, Fundraising, Needs assessment, Program planning

Siemon D. 1990. Creative sources of funding for programs for homeless families. Washington, DC: Georgetown University Child Development Center, Child and Adolescent Service Support Program Technical Assistance Center, 112 pp.

Annotation: The purpose of this publication is to inform organizations working with homeless families about some potential sources of funding for their programs and to briefly describe the benefits available to homeless families. The focus throughout is exclusively on services and not on housing. While not exhaustive, this book will guide the reader to the major resources available through the federal government and the private sector. It also discusses successful fundraising strategies used by homeless providers and includes a few creative ideas for special fundraising events. The publication includes an annotated bibliography and an annotated address list of useful organizations.

Contact: Georgetown University Center for Child and Human Development, Box 571485, Washington, DC 20057-1485, Telephone: (202) 687-5503 Secondary Telephone: (202) 687-5000 Contact Phone: (202) 338-1831 Fax: (202) 687-8899 E-mail: gucdc@georgetown.edu Web Site: http://gucchd.georgetown.edu Available from the website.

Keywords: Families, Financing, Fundraising, Homeless persons

   

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.