Search Results: MCHLine

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child care, Child mental health, Foster care, Transitions

Annotation: This brief highlights the association between child welfare involvement and the lack of stable and adequate housing among children who end up in the foster care system. It presents an overview of the complex problem and provides examples of policy levers state governors have at their disposal to address housing challenges before children are removed from their homes and separated from their families.

Contact: National Governors Association, 444 North Capitol Street, Suite 267, Washington, DC 20001-1512, Telephone: (202) 624-5300 Secondary Telephone: Fax: (202) 624-5313 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nga.org

• PDF

Keywords: Child health, Families, Foster care, Homelessness Child welfare, Housing, Policy development , Prevention

Annotation: The report outlines how overdose-related deaths in pregnant and postpartum women can be prevented with evidence-based treatment for opioid use disorder like buprenorphine and methadone. It also describes systemic and cultural barriers that make accessing care difficult and outlines key actions the Biden-Harris Administration will take to connect pregnant women with substance use disorder to care.

Contact: White House, Executive Office of the President, Office of National Drug Control Policy , 1600 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W., Washington, DC 20500, Web Site: http://www.whitehouse.gov/administration/eop

• PDF

Keywords: Access to care, Barriers, Foster care, Prevention, Substance abusing mothers, Substance abusing pregnant women, Substance use disorders

Annotation: This report highlights the significantly higher rates of child welfare involvement among inadequately-housed families and children, often resulting in foster care placement. It describes how homelessness and housing instability impact children; outlines national efforts to address the housing crisis; and describes ways in which child protection agencies can work with system partners to keep families together whenever possible.

Contact: Casey Family Programs, 2001 Eighth Avenue, Suite 2700, Seattle, WA 98121, Telephone: (206) 282-7300 Fax: (202) 282-3555 E-mail: http://www.casey.org/ContactUs/EmailUs/[email protected]&officename=Casey%20Family%20%20Programs Web Site: http://www.casey.org

• PDF

Keywords: Barriers, Child health, Child protection agencies, Child welfare, Families, Foster care, Homelessness, Housing, Initiatives, Socioeconomic factors

Annotation: This issue brief describes the health care needs of children and youth in foster care and the pathways to Medicaid and non-Medicaid insurance coverage. Included is a list of health benefits provided by public and private insurers and recommendations on how to increase and improve coverage for children and youth in foster care and into adulthood.

Contact: U.S. Children's Bureau, Administration on Children, Youth, and Families , , 1250 Maryland Avenue, S.W., Eighth Floor , Washington, DC 20024, Telephone: Fax: E-mail: Web Site: http://www.acf.hhs.gov/programs/cb/

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Foster care, Foster children, Health insurance, Medicaid, Youth

Annotation: Because youth in foster care have a higher propensity for drug use, this report was written to inform child welfare professionals, treatment providers, families, and community members on the signs of drug use and the risk factors that and impact of substance abuse. The report also provides links and information on various prevention and treatment initiatives, including those determined to be culturally sensitive.

Contact: Child Welfare Information Gateway, Administration on Children, Youth, and Families, Children's Bureau, 1250 Maryland Avenue, S.W., Eighth Floor, Washington, DC 20024, Telephone: (800) 394-3366 Secondary Telephone: E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.childwelfare.gov

• PDF

Keywords: Alcohol abuse, Drug abuse, Drug affected children, Drug use behavior, Foster care, Foster children, Substance abuse prevention, Substance use disorders

Annotation: This report summarizes the successes and vision of a national initiative to help young people transition from foster care and thrive. Contents include information about the initiative's impact, timeline, core strategies, outcome areas, and next steps. The report describes how the initiative is helping young people in foster care achieve critical milestones in permanence, education, employment, financial capability, housing, physical and mental health, and social capital; how the initiative integrates young people's voices into its work; and how it collaborates with national and local partners, policymakers, and young people to create conditions that improve outcomes for youth transitioning to adulthood.

Contact: Annie E. Casey Foundation, 701 Saint Paul Street, Baltimore, MD 21202, Telephone: (410) 547-6600 Fax: (410) 547-6624 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.aecf.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescents, Collaboration, Foster care, National initiatives, Outcome and process assessment, Program descriptions, Program evaluation, Public private partnerships, School to work transition, Transition planning, Transition to independent living, Transitions, Young adults, Youth development, Youth in transition programs

Annotation: This document provides guidance for caseworkers, foster parents, and other caregivers on supporting children and adolescents who have experienced trauma and are working to improve their mental health. Topics include understanding trauma and behavioral/mental health of youth, understanding different treatment options, seeking help for youth, and monitoring treatment and supporting progress. Tips for using the guide with youth are included.

Contact: U.S. Children's Bureau, Administration on Children, Youth, and Families , , 1250 Maryland Avenue, S.W., Eighth Floor , Washington, DC 20024, Telephone: Fax: E-mail: Web Site: http://www.acf.hhs.gov/programs/cb/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent mental health, Caregivers, Case management, Child mental health, Confidentiality, Decision making, Foster care, Foster children, Health literacy, Mental health services, Patient rights

Annotation: This guide for pediatricians comprises a series of six documents on adverse childhood experiences (ACEs) and the process of asking families about exposure to ACEs or other traumatic events. The guide also provides resources on helping families with foster and adoptive children cope with trauma. Materials for families are included. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Healthy Foster Care America, American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (800) 433-9016, x4273 or x7119 Fax: (847) 228-7320 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.aap.org/fostercare Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adopted children, Adoptive parents, Adverse effects, Children, Families, Foster children, Foster parents, Pediatric care, Primary care, Resources for professionals, Trauma, Vulnerability

Annotation: This textbook covers a range of topics associated with child abuse and neglect. It provides an overview on the problem, considers the rights and responsibilities of parents and children, and reviews the effects of abuse and neglect on the development of children. Individual chapters cover physical, emotional, and sexual abuse, and neglect. Other chapters examine ways to prevent or intervene in abusive situations through the judicial system and consider treatment methodologies including the use of foster care. The book also includes a chapter on adults who were abused as children but who had not reported the fact.

Keywords: Child abuse, Child neglect, Children, Children', Emotional abuse, Families, Family characteristics, Foster care, Incest, Intervention, Legal issues, Parent rights, Parenting, Physical abuse, Prevention, Sexual abuse, Social work, s rights

Annotation: This document describes how California has implemented the Affordable Care Act (ACA) for the benefit of young adults (ages 18 and older) who were in foster care or who came to California from foster care in another state. Topics include efforts to enact legislation, develop a simplified application form, provide instructions to counties, and develop a desk aid for eligibility workers.

Contact: National Health Law Program, 1441 I Street, N.W., Suite 1105, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 289-7724 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.healthlaw.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, California, Children, Eligibility, Enrollment, Foster care, Health care reform, Health insurance, Medicaid, Patient Protection and Affordable Act, State legislation, Young adults

Annotation: This fact sheet examines implications of the Affordable Care Act for specific populations of adolescents and young adults including those aging out of foster care, involved in juvenile and criminal justice systems, or homeless. Contents include common characteristics of these populations and the obstacles that could prevent them from securing health insurance coverage. Topics include state Medicaid expansion and complexities of the application and enrollment process. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Adolescent and Young Adult Health Information Center, University of California, San Francisco, LHTS Suite 245, Box 0503, San Francisco, CA 94143-0503, Telephone: (415) 502-4856 Fax: (415) 502-4858 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://nahic.ucsf.edu Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Barriers, Eligibility, Enrollment, Foster care, Health care reform, Health insurance, Homeless persons, Juvenile delinquents, Medicaid, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Young adults

Annotation: This issue brief explores the implications of the Affordable Care Act (ACA) for adolescents and young adults who are aging out of foster care, involved in juvenile and criminal justice systems, or homeless. For each group, the brief provides an overview of demographic characteristics and health status, and discusses access to health care and health insurance before and after the ACA. The brief concludes with a discussion of common themes and upcoming challenges for the three populations. An accompanying fact sheet summarizes the ACA's implications for these groups. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Adolescent and Young Adult Health Information Center, University of California, San Francisco, LHTS Suite 245, Box 0503, San Francisco, CA 94143-0503, Telephone: (415) 502-4856 Fax: (415) 502-4858 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://nahic.ucsf.edu Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Barriers, Eligibility, Enrollment, Foster care, Health care reform, Health insurance, Health status, Homeless persons, Juvenile delinquents, Medicaid, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Young adults

Contact: Community Catalyst, 30 Winter Street, 10th Floor, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 338-6035 Fax: (617) 451-5838 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.communitycatalyst.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Expanded eligibility, Foster care, Health reform, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Transitions, Youth

Annotation: This report updates the December 2011 report published by the U.S. Government Accountability Office on foster children in selected states that were prescribed psychotropic medications at rates higher than nonfoster children in Medicaid in 2008. The current report examines instances of foster children being prescribed psychotropic medications in the following five states: Florida, Massachusetts, Michigan, Oregon, and Texas. The report assesses the extent that documentation supported the use of psychotropic medications, describes states' policies related to psychotropic medication, and assesses the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services' actions since GAO's 2011 report.

Contact: U.S. Government Accountability Office, 441 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20548, Telephone: (202) 512-3000 Secondary Telephone: E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gao.gov Available from the website. Document Number: GAO-14-362.

• PDF

Keywords: Drugs, Federal initiatives, Florida, Foster children, Massachusetts, Medicaid managed care, Mental health services, Michigan, Oregon, Policy analysis, State programs, Texas, Utilization review

Annotation: This compendium lists programs, interventions, and initiatives that are evidence-informed and those that hold promise for serving expectant and parenting youth and their children within foster care systems. The contents are organized into three major categories: parenting supports, developmental supports for children and parents, and preparation for adulthood. Each entry includes the name of the program, initiative, intervention, or training curriculum; results that the program, intervention, initiative, or training curriculum attempts to achieve; the target population; a description; the source of the evidence-informed clearinghouse; evidence of effectiveness; a location; and the website source or key contact for more information. Related resources such as fact sheets, reports, toolkits, and guides are also included.

Contact: Center for the Study of Social Policy, 1575 Eye Street, N.W., Suite 500, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 371-1565 Fax: (202) 371-1472 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cssp.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent parents, Curricula, Foster care, Intervention, Model programs, Pregnant adolescents, Program evaluation, Resources for professionals, Training

Annotation: This tool summarizes authorization requirements for psychotropic medications to ensure appropriate medication use for children and youth covered by Medicaid. Contents include a table highlighting prior authorization parameters used by 14 states to reduce the inappropriate use of psychotropic medications among children and youth covered by Medicaid including those in foster care.

Contact: Center for Health Care Strategies, 200 American Metro Boulevard, Suite 119, Hamilton, NJ 08619, Telephone: (609) 528-8400 Fax: (609) 586-3679 Web Site: http://www.chcs.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Drug therapy, Foster care, Medicaid, Mental health, Quality assurance, State programs, State regulations

Annotation: This compendium of program summaries describes the approaches of American Academy of Pediatrics' state chapters to promote adolescent health in California, Maine, New York, North Carolina, and Rhode Island. Topics include a partnership to eliminate bias and increase safety for sexual minority youth; an adolescent medicine learning collaborative; a public private partnership to connect youth transitioning out of foster care to an adolescent/young adult-friendly medical home; a project to provide comprehensive adolescent health screening; and medical-legal partnerships to foster healthy transitions. Each summary includes information about program collaboration, evaluation and measurement, outcomes, barriers and lessons learned, and future plans.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent health, Barriers, Collaboration, Community action, Foster care, Healthy People 2020, Medical home, Model programs, Program descriptions, Public private partnerships, Screening, Transitions

Annotation: This document provides information about the implications of the Affordable Care (ACA) for families involved in the child welfare system, particularly youth who have aged out of foster care. Topics include the need for health coverage among youth aging out of foster care, ACA provisions that affect coverage and care for youth aging out of foster care, the role of federal and state officials, state child welfare experts and advocates, practitioners, and philanthropists in ensuring that former foster youth are taking advantage of the full benefits that health reform offers, and opportunities to increase the levels of health coverage and improve the quality of care for vulnerable populations.

Contact: First Focus, 1400 Eye Street, N.W., Suite 650, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 657-0670 Fax: (202) 657-0671 Web Site: http://www.firstfocus.net Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Foster children, Health care reform, Health insurance, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Program improvement, Quality assurance, Role, Vulnerability, Young adults, Youth

Annotation: This brief provides information about the health care needs of children in foster care and the role of Medicaid in providing health coverage for this population. The brief also highlights existing policy levers that may help address some of the health and well-being issues that children in foster care face.

Contact: First Focus, 1400 Eye Street, N.W., Suite 650, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 657-0670 Fax: (202) 657-0671 Web Site: http://www.firstfocus.net Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Academic achievement, Access to health care, Behavior problems, Child health, Child welfare, Emotional instability, Foster care, Foster children, Health care systems, Juvenile justice, Medicaid, Mental health, Public policy