Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This chart provides information about state-specific legislation that mandates the coverage of medically necessary foods by employer-sponsored health insurance, Medicaid, and coverage and related services funded by other state programs such as the Supplemental Food Program for Women, Infants, and Children (WIC); Title V; or relief funds. Contents include descriptions of medical foods products, abbreviations and definitions, a list of coverage types for dietary treatments of disorders identified through newborn screening, and a list of states that provide phenylketonuria (PKU) only coverage. Details about covered services and any benefit limits or age and income restrictions are included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Catalyst Center, the National Center for Health Insurance and Financing for Children and Youth with Special Health Care Needs, Boston University School of Public Health, Center for Advancing Health Policy and Practice, 801 Massachusetts Avenue, Boston, MA 02218-2526, Telephone: (617) 638-1930 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://ciswh.org/project/the-catalyst-center/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Diet therapy, Dietary assessment, Financing, Food supplements, Genetic disorders, Health insurance, Medicaid, Metabolic diseases, Newborn infants, Newborn screening, Nutrition, Phenylketonuria, Postnatal care, Regulations, Special health care needs, State legislation, State programs, Title V programs, Unfunded mandates, WIC program

Annotation: This book presents physical activity guidelines and tools emphasizing health promotion, disease prevention, and early recognition of physical activity issues and concerns of infants, children, and adolescents. The introduction discusses the Surgeon General's report on physical activity and health, and how partnerships between health professionals, families, and communities can promote physical activity. Section two includes how physical activity can be a part of each developmental stage, including infancy, early childhood, middle childhood, and adolescence. The third section discusses these issues and concerns: asthma; children and adolescents with special health care needs; developmental coordination disorder; diabetes; eating disorders; ergogenic aids; girls and female adolescents in physical activity; heat-related illness; injury; nutrition; and obesity. Section four provides tools for defining physical activity; improving physical activity behaviors; characteristics of excellent programs and coaching; resources; Healthy People 2010 objectives; and growth charts. The guide concludes with indexes for development, tools, and topics. An evaluation form is included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Bright Futures at Georgetown University, Telephone: (202) 784-9772 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.brightfutures.org/georgetown.html Available from the website. Document Number: BF0900-004.

• Link

Keywords: Asthma, Bright Futures, Children with special health care needs, Food supplements, Guidelines, Health promotion, Nutrition, Obesity, Physical activity, Physical development, Steroids, Vitamins

Annotation: This workshop discussed three major programs (in Guatemala, Montreal, and Taiwan) for supplementing the diets of pregnant women with calories and protein. It also examined a metabolic balance study of pregnant adolescents with an emphasis on protein. Finally, studies using formula dietary supplements in New York, Omaha, San Francisco, and Washington, D.C. were considered. The goals of the workshop were to focus attention on problems, gaps, and omissions in nutrition services for pregnant women; to assemble and evaluate current data on the dietary needs of pregnant women; and to prepare an interim report on the value of nutritional supplementation during pregnancy, with emphasis on calories and protein. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Service]

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, California, Calories, District of Columbia, Food supplements, Guatemala, Metabolism, Montreal, Nebraska, New York, Nutrition services, Pregnant women, Protein, Taiwan