Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Sign up for MCHalert eNewsletter

Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.

Displaying records 1 through 4 (4 total).

U.S. Department of Agriculture, Agricultural Research Service, Nutrient Data Laboratory. 2016. USDA food composition databases (rev.). Washington, DC: U.S. Department of Agriculture, Agricultural Research Service, multiple items. (Released September 2015; slightly revised May 2016. (JMB))

Annotation: This website allows users to search U.S. Department of Agriculture food-composition databases, including the National Nutrient Database for Standard Reference and the Branded Food Products Database. Users can search the databases by food item, food group, or manufacturer's name to find the nutrient information for food items. Users can also generate lists of foods sorted by nutrient content. In addition, data from the Special Interest Databases are shown, along with the corresponding food items from the National Nutrient Database for Standard Reference.

Contact: U.S. Department of Agriculture, Agricultural Research Service, Jamie L. Whitten Building, Room 302A, 1400 Independence Avenue, S.W., Washington, DC 20250, Telephone: (202) 720-3656 Fax: (202) 720-5427 Available from the website.

Keywords: Data sources, Federal programs, Food additives, Nutrients, Nutrition

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Public Health Grand Rounds. 2010. Folic acid in the prevention of birth defects. Atlanta, GA: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Public Health Grand Rounds,

Annotation: This webcast focuses on efforts currently under way to decrease the prevalence of neural tube defects (NTDs) in the United States and discusses global strategies to reduce the burden of NTDs worldwide through mandatory fortification of staple foods with folic acid.The webcast also includes information about NTDs, a discussion of possible harmful effects of folic acid, and information about next steps in folic acid fortification. A video of the webcast and a PowerPoint presentation are available.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: https://www.cdc.gov/cdc-info/forms/contact-us.html Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Anencephaly, Folic acid, Food additives, High risk groups, International health, Neural tube defects, Prevention, Public policy, Research, Spina bifida

National Advisory Committee on Hyperkinesis and Food Additives. 1980. Final report to the Nutrition Foundation. Washington, DC: Nutrition Foundation, 48 pp.

Annotation: This report provides a critique of the research findings on the subject of hyperkinesis and food additives. It begins with the Feingold claims, then looks at problems in research design for such a subject. The report then concludes with reviews of the studies and its conclusions and recommendations.

Contact: Nutrition Foundation, 888 17th Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20006, Price unknown.

Keywords: Child nutrition, Food additives, Hyperactivity, Research reviews

American Academy of Pediatrics, Committee on Nutrition. 1962-. Collected reprints. Evanston, IL: American Academy of Pediatrics, Committee on Nutrition, irregular.

Annotation: This collection of reprints from the journal, Pediatrics, discusses ethics and etiquette in advertising, water requirement in relation to Osmolar load as it applies to infant feeding, conduct of clinical trials of substances proposed for the nutrition of infants and children, feeding of solid foods to infants, appraisal of the use of vitamins B 1 and B 12 as supplements promoted for the stimulation of growth and appetite in children, proteolytic enzymes in milk in relation to infant feeding, residues and additives in foods, estrogenic and androgenic agents in meats and poultry, trace elements in infant nutrition, composition of milks, vitamin K compounds and water-soluable analogues, human body composition, infantile scurvy and nutritional rickets in the United States, and selected references on feeding and nutrition.

Keywords: Advertising, Body composition, Food additives, Infant feeding, Infant nutrition, Milk, Pediatrics, Rickets, Vitamin B 12, Vitamin deficiencies
   

The MCH Digital Library is one of six special collections at Geogetown University, the nation's oldest Jesuit institution of higher education. It is supported in part by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under award number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy with an award of $700,000/year. The library is also supported through foundation and univerity funding. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.