Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.

Displaying records 1 through 19 (19 total).

Guttmacher AE. 2012. Birth defects: The role of research. [Rockville, MD]: Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development, 1 video (12 min., 52 sec.).

Annotation: In this video presentation, NICHD Director Alan E. Guttmacher, M.D., describes the role of research in understanding, preventing, and treating birth defects. In his talk, Dr. Guttmacher provides some basic facts about birth defects and recounts how research led to the discovery that the vitamin folic acid could reduce the chances of neural tube defects. He also describes the role of model organisms, such as the zebrafish, in understanding developmental processes as an important step in uncovering the origins of birth defects. The video concludes with an introduction to the new technologies of systems biology and chemical genomics, which promise to yield new insights leading to greater understanding of birth defects and their eventual prevention and treatment.

Contact: Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development, P.O. Box 3006, Rockville, MD 20847, Telephone: (800) 370-2943 Secondary Telephone: (888) 320-6942 Fax: (866) 760-5947 Web Site: https://www.nichd.nih.gov/Pages/index.aspx Available from the website.

Keywords: Audiovisual materials, Congenital abnormalities, Folic acid, Genomics, Neural tube defects, Prevention, Research

National Center on Birth Defects and Developmental Disabilities. 2012. Preconception health. Atlanta, GA: National Center on Birth Defects and Developmental Disabilities, 1 video (4 min., 30 sec); script

Annotation: This videorecording provides information about preconception health. It discusses birth control, avoiding smoking and illegal drugs, abstaining from alcohol consumption during pregnancy, vaccinations, receiving regular checkups, taking multivitamins and folic acid, nutrition, and physical activity. Vignettes with women at different stages in their life are presented.

Contact: National Center on Birth Defects and Developmental Disabilities, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/ncbddd Available from the website.

Script Only

Keywords: Alcohol consumption, Birth control, Folic acid, Illicit drugs, Immunizations, Multimedia, Nutrition, Physical activity, Preconception care, Prenatal care, Prevention, Smoking, Vitamin supplements, Women', s health

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Public Health Grand Rounds. 2010. Folic acid in the prevention of birth defects. Atlanta, GA: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Public Health Grand Rounds,

Annotation: This webcast focuses on efforts currently under way to decrease the prevalence of neural tube defects (NTDs) in the United States and discusses global strategies to reduce the burden of NTDs worldwide through mandatory fortification of staple foods with folic acid.The webcast also includes information about NTDs, a discussion of possible harmful effects of folic acid, and information about next steps in folic acid fortification. A video of the webcast and a PowerPoint presentation are available.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: https://www.cdc.gov/cdc-info/forms/contact-us.html Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Anencephaly, Folic acid, Food additives, High risk groups, International health, Neural tube defects, Prevention, Public policy, Research, Spina bifida

Association of Reproductive Health Professionals. 2010. Counseling patients on preconception care: Folate and beyond. (Upd. ed.). Washington, DC: Association of Reproductive Health Professionals, 2 pp. (What you need to know)

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information about counseling women on preconception care, and in particular on folate intake. The fact sheet discusses preconception counseling as lifelong health promotion; neural tube defects, folate, and folic acid; folate intake and folic acid supplementation; environmental contaminants; and alcohol consumption during pregnancy. A list of folate and folic acid sources is included, along with recommendations.

Contact: Association of Reproductive Health Professionals, 1901 L Street, N.W., Suite 300, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 466-3825 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.arhp.org Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Alcohol use during pregnancy, Counseling, Environmental exposure, Folic acid, Health promotion, Neural tube defects, Pregnancy, Prenatal care, Prevention, Women', s health

Minnesota Department of Health, Environmental Impacts Analysis Unit - Birth Defects. 2008-2018 . Minnesota's folic acid guidelines for the prevention of neural tube defects (NTDs). St. Paul, MN: Minnesota Department of Health, 2 pp.

Annotation: This fact sheet recommends that all women of childbearing age maintain a proper level of folic acid since statistics indicate that folic acid can prevent 50 to 70 percent of neural tube defects (NTD's) and that 50 percent of pregnancies are unplanned. The fact sheet offers general recommendations on the amount of folic acid women need based on their health history and provides answers to commonly asked questions about folic acid supplementation.

Contact: Minnesota Department of Health, P.O. Box 64975, St. Paul, MN 55164-0975, Telephone: (651) 201-5000 Secondary Telephone: (888) 345-0823 Web Site: http://www.health.state.mn.us Available from the website.

Reviewed In 2018

Keywords: Folic acid, Guidelines, Minnesota, Pregnancy, Prenatal care, Prenatal nutrition, Prevention programs, State initiatives, Women', s health

Minnesota Department of Health, Environmental Impacts Analysis Unit - Birth Defects. 2008. Minnesota's folic acid guidelines for the prevention of neural tube defects (NTDs): Literature reference manual. St. Paul, MN: Minnesota Department of Health, 15 pp.

Annotation: This literature reference manual is a supplement to Minnesota’s Folic Acid Guidelines for the Prevention of Neural Tube Defects (NTDs) produced by the Minnesota Department of Health Birth Defects Program. The manual describes what folic acid is and why it is important during pregnancy; discusses the daily allowance recommended by the Food and Nutrition Board of the Institute of Medicine (IOM); describes neural defects that can result from the lack of adequate amounts of folic acid; and addresses concerns related to the consumption of high doses of folic acid. It also describes special populations that may need additional folic acid supplementation in order to reduce the risk for NTD affected pregnancies.

Contact: Minnesota Department of Health, P.O. Box 64975, St. Paul, MN 55164-0975, Telephone: (651) 201-5000 Secondary Telephone: (888) 345-0823 Web Site: http://www.health.state.mn.us Available from the website.

Keywords: Folic acid, Guidelines, Literature reviews, Minnesota, Neutral tube defects, Prevention programs, State initiatives

National Center on Birth Defects and Developmental Disabilities. 2008. Folic acid: Helping to ensure a health pregnancy. [Atlanta, GA]: National Center on Birth Defects and Developmental Disabilities, (Birth defects)

Annotation: This podcast for consumers provides information about taking folic acid before and during pregnancy to help prevent neural tube defects, including spina bifida and anencephaly. The podcast explains why all women of childbearing age should take folic acid every day, discusses fetal development, and outlines different ways for women to ensure that they are taking in sufficient amounts of folic acid.

Contact: National Center on Birth Defects and Developmental Disabilities, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/ncbddd Available from the website.

Keywords: Anencephaly, Folic acid, Infant health, Neural tube defects, Pregnancy, Prevention, Reproductive health, Spina bifida

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. [2005]. Reducing the risk of a neural tube birth defect. Atlanta, GA: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 2 pp.

Annotation: This brochure, which is geared toward families who have had a pregnancy affected by a neural tube defect (NTD), provides an overview of NTDs, describes the three most common NTDs (anencephaly, spina bifida, and encephalocele), and explains that folic acid before pregnancy and early in pregnancy can reduce the risk of experiencing another pregnancy affected by an NTD.

Contact: National Birth Defects Prevention Network, 1321 Upland Drive, Suite 1561, Houston, TX 77043, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.nbdpn.org Available at no charge; also available from the website.

Keywords: Anencephaly, Encephalocele, Families, Folic acid, Neural tube defects, Pregnancy, Spina bifida

[Craig J]. 2005. Crozer-Keystone Healthy Start impact report. Chester, PA: Crozer-Keystone Health System, 41 pp., plus appendices.

Annotation: This report describes a Healthy Start project in Delaware County, Pennsylvania from 2001-2005 focusing on children with special health care needs, folic acid intake and neural tube defects, breast feeding education, disparities in birth outcomes, access to Medicaid and state children's health insurance programs and childhood immunization services to vulnerable high-risk pregnant girls and women, families, and sick young children. Report contents include an overview of the program and its services as well as racial and ethnic disparities addressed; descriptions of project implementation, management and governance, project accomplishments; the impact of the project on systems of care, the community, the state, the role of the local government, lessons learned. Additional sections discuss local evaluation, fetal and infant mortality review, as well as products produced and data collected during the project. Appendices include budget details, data collection forms and reports, performance measures, participant data, risk reduction and prevention services data, and a major service table. Samples of health education surveys are provided along with printed PowerPoint presentation slides of the project and a copy of the local evaluation report. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org

Keywords: Breastfeeding promotion, Children with special health care needs, Final reports, Folic acid, Health education, Healthy Start, Local initiatives, MCH services, MCH services, Neural tube defects, Pennsylvania, Pregnant women, Prenatal care, Prevention programs

National Alliance for Hispanic Health. 2004. Folic acid: Before and during pregnancy?. Washington, DC: National Alliance for Hispanic Health, 4 pp.

Annotation: This fact sheet for consumers on the importance of folic acid before and during pregnancy explains what folic acid and folate are, why it is important to take folic acid, what neural tube defects are, how much folic acid to take, how to take folic acid, how to get folic acid from food, what else can be done to ensure a healthy baby, and how a woman's partner can be involved. Resources are included.

Contact: National Alliance for Hispanic Health, 1501 16th Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20036-1401, Telephone: (202) 387-5000 Secondary Telephone: (866) 783-2645 Fax: E-mail: Web Site: http://www.hispanichealth.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Folic acid, Infant health, Neural tube defects, Pregnancy

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. 2002. Folic acid and prevention of spina bifida and anencephaly: 10 years after the U.S. Public Health Service recommendation. MMWR Recommendations and Reports 51(RR-13):1-19,

Annotation: This issue of the Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report presents data to assess the impact of efforts to prevent neural tube defects (NTDs) through increased folic acid consumption. Article contents include results of surveys of selected populations of serum folate levels and prevalence of spina bifida and anencephaly.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: https://www.cdc.gov/cdc-info/forms/contact-us.html Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available at no charge; also available from the website.

Keywords: Anencephaly, Congenital abnormalities, Disease prevention, Folic acid, Neutral tube defects, Prenatal care, Program evaluation, Public awareness campaigns, Spina bifida, Statistics, Surveys

North Dakota Department of Health, Division of Maternal and Child Health. [2001]. Pre-pregnancy vitamins: Maternal and child health fact sheet. Bismarck, ND: North Dakota Department of Human Services, Children's Special Health Services, 2 pp.

Annotation: This fact sheet presents information about the importance of folic acid and other vitamins in a healthy pregnancy and the prevention of neural tube defects in three sections: the problem, the effects, and the response. Once chart compares statistics of women who took a vitamin supplement every day for three months prior to pregnancy between, all women and those who did and did not participate in the Womens, Infants, and Children Program. The response section describes steps the state is taking to improve the problem.

Contact: North Dakota Department of Health, Division of Maternal and Child Health, 600 East Boulevard Avenue, Department 301, Bismarck, ND 58505-0200, Telephone: (701) 328-2493 Secondary Telephone: (800) 472-2286 Contact Phone: (701) 328-4963 Web Site: http://www.ndmch.com Available from the website.

Keywords: Congenital abnormalities, Folic acid, North Dakota, Preconceptional nutrition, Prevention, State MCH programs, State initiatives, State initiatives, Vitamin supplements

Association of Schools of Public Health and March of Dimes. 2001. Advocating for folic acid: A guide for health professionals. Washington, DC: Association of Schools of Public Health; White Plains, NY: March of Dimes,

Annotation: This self-contained Web-based module aims to train health professionals and students to counsel on the benefits of folic acid in the prevention of birth defects and other conditions. It takes approximately 30 minutes to complete. It contains instruction about how folic acid works in the body and how it prevents birth defects and other conditions, and contains a resource list including a glossary, and materials for provider and patient education.

Link

Keywords: Anencephaly, Congenital abnormalities, Disease prevention, Electronic publications, Folic acid, Neutral tube defects, Prenatal care, Professional education, Spina bifida, Training materials

March of Dimes. 2000-. Folic acid and the prevention of birth defects: A national survey of pre-pregnancy awareness and behavior among women of childbearing age 1995-2005. New York, NY: March of Dimes, annual.

Annotation: These reports provide data from a series of surveys of women of childbearing age to assess their knowledge and behaviors relative to daily consumption of folic acid and other pre-pregnancy health issues. The first survey was made in 1995, and has been repeated every one or two years. Survey topics include vitamin use; folic acid benefits and sources; reducing the risk of birth defects, and prepregnancy and pregnancy health information. The reports conclude with a technical appendix containing survey information such as sampling tolerances, response rate, and region identification.

Contact: Greater New York March of Dimes, 233 Park Avenue South, New York, NY 10003, Telephone: 212) 353-8353 Fax: (212) 254-3518 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.marchofdimes.com/newyork/ Available in libraries. Document Number: 31-1404-00 (2000), 21-1596-01 (2001).

Keywords: Congenital abnormalities, Folic acid, Health surveys, Maternal nutrition, National surveys, Patient education, Prevention programs

Institute of Medicine, Standing Committee on the Scientific Evaluation of Dietary Reference Intakes. 1998. Dietary reference intakes for thiamin, riboflavin, niacin, vitamin B6, folate, vitamin B12, pantothenic acid, biotin, and choline. Washington, DC: National Academy Press, 564 pp.

Annotation: This report is the second in a series that presents a comprehensive set of reference values for nutrient intakes for healthy populations. It establishes a set of reference values for the B vitamins and choline to replace the previously published recommended dietary allowances.

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Contact Phone: (800) 624-6242 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nap.edu Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 0-309-06554-2.

Link

Keywords: Folic acid, Niacin, Nutrients, Recommended dietary allowances, Statistics, Vitamin B complex

Children's Hospital Medical Center of Akron. 1997. What you should know about folic acid: For parents who have lost a pregnancy or had a child with spina bifida, anencephaly, or encephalocele. [Akron, OH?]: Children's Hospital Medical Center of Akron, 6 pp.

Annotation: This brochure explains neural tube defects and how they can be lessened by folic acid intake. The brochure is available in English and Spanish. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website. Document Number: HRSA Info. Ctr. MCHJ107 (English), MCHK112 (Spanish).

Keywords: Folic acid, Maternal health, Neural tube defects, Nutrition, Patient education materials, Risk prevention, Spanish language materials

Mitchell AA. 1992. Periconceptional vitamin use and neural tube defects. Arlington, VA: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, 3 pp. (Research roundtable summary; no. 1)

Annotation: This paper summarizes a MCHB-funded research project examining whether multi-vitamin use or folate supplements during the first months of pregnancy reduces neural tube birth defects. The project is also considering the effects of excessive vitamin or mineral use in the first months of pregnancy. Mothers of infants with neural tube birth defects and other major birth defects will be interviewed. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Congenital abnormalities, First pregnancy trimester, Folic acid, MCH research, Neural tube defects, Vitamin supplements

National Research Council, Food and Nutrition Board, Committee on Maternal Nutrition. 1970. Annotated bibliography on maternal nutrition. Washington, DC: Maternal and Child Health Service, U.S. Health Services and Mental Health Administration; for sale by the U.S. Government Printing Office, 199 pp.

Annotation: This bibliography is intended for physicians, nutritionists, and others concerned with applying the research findings reported in the literature on maternal nutrition. Only materials published in English are included. Materials that appeared in popular magazines have not been included. The bibliography is divided into the following sections: (1) general references and (2) references on specific topics. The specific topics covered include (1) adolescence, (2) birthweight, (3) diabetes, (4) diet, (5) folic acid, (6) iron status, (7) nutritional deficiencies, (8) physiological adjustments, (9) the role of the placenta, (10) pregravid weight and weight gain, (11) social, economic, and other variables that affect pregnancy, and (12) the toxemias.

Link

Keywords: Adolescence, Bibliographies, Diabetes, Diet, Economic factors, Folic acid, Iron, Maternal nutrition, Nutritional status, Nutritionists, Physicians, Placenta, Pregnancy, Pregnancy toxemias, Weight gain

Toverud KU, Stearns G, Macy IG. 1950. Maternal nutrition and child health: An interpretative review. Washington, DC: National Research Council, National Academy of Sciences, 174 pp. (Bulletin of the National Research Council; no. 123)

Annotation: This report focuses on maternal nutrition and child health. Topics covered include maternal and infant mortality, specific nutritional factors in maternal and infant health (energy value and proximate composition, composition of milk, calcifying processes, vitamin D, vitamin A, vitamin C, thiamine, riboflavin, niacin, folic acid, iron, vitamin K, vitamin E, iodine), and prematernal, prenatal, and postnatal care. Statistical information is presented in figures and tables throughout the report. The report concludes with a bibliography.

Keywords: Child health, Folic acid, Food composition, Infant health, Infant mortality, Maternal health, Maternal mortality, Maternal nutrition, Minerals, Nutritional requirements, Postnatal care, Prenatal care, Vitamins