Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information on the New Hampshire Department of Health and Human Services, Oral Health Program's school dental sealant programs. Topics include the total number of students in the programs who received an oral health screening, who received sealants, who received fluoride varnish. who had untreated tooth decay, and who had urgent oral health needs. The number of potential school days saved is also presented, along with an explanation of how this number was calculated.

Contact: New Hampshire Department of Health and Human Services, Oral Health Program, 29 Hazen Drive, Concord, NH 03301-3852, Telephone: (603) 271-4535 Secondary Telephone: (800) 852-3345, ext. 4535 Fax: (603) 271-4506 E-mail: http://business.nh.gov/EmailContact/EmailContact.aspx?a=cdpc&b=Chronic%20Disease%20Prevention%20and%20Control Web Site: https://www.dhhs.nh.gov/programs-services/disease-prevention/oral-health-program

• PDF

Keywords: Data, Dental caries, Dental sealants, Fluoride varnish, Health screenings, New Hampshire, Oral health, State information, State information, State programs

Annotation: This state oral health plan for 2022–2027 summarizes goals of the Tennessee Department of Health related to improving the oral health of Tennessee residents. The report discusses the importance of oral health, the department's past oral-health-related accomplishments, and the department's role in providing oral health care. Also discussed are access to oral health care, oral health education and advocacy, oral disease prevention, oral health resources, and the oral health workforce. The state's Healthy Smiles Initiative is described, along with the future of oral health in Tennessee.

Contact: Tennessee Department of Health, Oral Health Services Section, 710 James Robertson Parkway, Andrew Johnson Tower, Nashville, TN 37243, Telephone: (615) 741-3111 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://tn.gov/health/section/oralhealth Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Advocacy, Dental caries, Dental sealants, Fluoride varnish, Health education, Oral health, Prevention, Silver diamine fluoride, State initiatives, State materials, Tennessee, Workforce

Annotation: This report provides an analysis of data from the 2023 Keep Smiling Vermont Basic Screening Survey, a survey of the oral health status of children in kindergarten and third grade in the state. The report introduces the issue and presents key findings on the following topics: tooth decay experience, trends in prevalence of tooth decay and in dental treatment needs, prevalence of dental sealants among children in third grade, the impact of socioeconomic status on oral health, and receipt of fluoride varnish and other preventive oral health measures. The report also offers recommendations, discusses health equity, and presents limitations of the survey.

Contact: Vermont Department of Health, Office of Oral Health, 108 Cherry Street, Burlington, VT 05402, Telephone: (802) 863-7497 Secondary Telephone: (800) 464-4343 Fax: (802) 865-7554 Web Site: http://healthvermont.gov/family/dental/services.aspx Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Data, Dental caries, Dental sealants, Fluoride varnish, Kindergarten, Oral health, Prevention, School age children, Socioeconomic factors, State information, Surveys, Trends, Vermont

Annotation: This parent oral health survey form was sent to parents or caregivers of children who received care from the Rocky Mountain Network of Oral Health, which was part of the Networks for Oral Health Integration (NOHI) Within the Maternal and Child Health Safety Net program. The form includes questions related to fluoride varnish, the respondent's knowledge about oral health care and oral hygiene for children, oral health care that the child has received, and background information about the respondent.

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Attitudes, Caregivers, Dental caries, Fluoride varnish, Health care utilization, Oral health, Oral hygiene, Parents, Prevention, Surveys

Annotation: This report provides information about efforts of the Tennessee Department of Health, Oral Health Services' Section (OHS) to prevent and control oral disease through organized community efforts. The report introduces the issues; lists oral health services OHS provides, the number of people served, and the number of services provided; and describes the state's Nurse's Fluoride Varnish Program and School Based Dental Prevention Program. Also discussed are public health dental clinics in the state, the School Dental Transport program that transports children from schools to dental clinics, the Adult Dental Funding Program, and how OHS disseminates oral health information.

Contact: Tennessee Department of Health, Oral Health Services Section, 710 James Robertson Parkway, Andrew Johnson Tower, Nashville, TN 37243, Telephone: (615) 741-3111 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://tn.gov/health/section/oralhealth Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Adult health, Data, Dental clinics, Dental sealants, Fluoride varnish, Oral health, Prevention, Public health, School health, School-age children, State information, State programs, Tennessee

Annotation: This fact sheet for parents answers common questions about fluoride varnish. It explains what it is and why fluoride varnish application is recommended. It discusses the safety of fluoride varnish for infants and children, how it is applied, and how long it remains effective after application. Instructions related to eating, drinking, and toothbrushing after application are provided, along with information about insurance coverage.

Contact: University of Hawaii at Manoa, Nancy Atmospera-Walch School of Nursing, , 2528 McCarthy Mall, Webster Hall 402 , Honolulu, HI 96822, Telephone: 808-956-8522 Fax: 808-956-3257 Web Site: http://www.nursing.hawaii.edu/ Available from the website.

• Fact Sheet
• Toolkit

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Fluoride varnish, Infant health, Prevention, Safety, Young children

Annotation: These resources offers instructions for how to provide five essential oral health services (caries risk assessment, knee-to-knee oral examination, fluoride varnish application, education/anticipatory guidance, and referral for a dental home) during a well-child visit. The tool also includes steps for fluoride varnish application and photographs to help health professionals identify tooth decay in infants and young children. A fluoride-varnish-progress-note template is included.

Contact: University of Hawaii at Manoa, Nancy Atmospera-Walch School of Nursing, , 2528 McCarthy Mall, Webster Hall 402 , Honolulu, HI 96822, Telephone: 808-956-8522 Fax: 808-956-3257 Web Site: http://www.nursing.hawaii.edu/ Available from the website.

• PDF
• Link

Keywords: Dental caries, Fluoride varnish, Infant health, Oral health, Prevention, Videos, Young children

Annotation: This resource guide is designed to help health professionals, program administrators, educators, and others understand the benefits and drawbacks of fluoride varnish and silver diamine fluoride. The guide provides an annotated list of resources on the use and application of fluoride varnish and silver diamine fluoride, including materials on data and surveillance, professional education and training, and public education. Descriptions of and contact information for relevant organizations are also included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Fluoride varnish, Oral health, Prevention, Treatment

Annotation: This report provides information about an evaluation of the North Dakota Department of Health, Oral Health Program’s school-based dental sealant program, SEAL!ND, which has been providing oral health screenings, dental sealant and fluoride varnish applications, education, and referrals for students throughout North Dakota since 2012. The report covers the following topics: evaluation; clinical reach and dental referrals; participating school personnel perceptions of SEAL!ND; and reach of the related program, Ronald McDonald Care Mobile in partnership with Bridging the Dental Gap, which offers access to oral health care at additional schools in the state.

Contact: North Dakota Department of Health and Human Services, Oral Health Program, 600 East Boulevard Avenue, Department 310, Bismarck, ND 58505-0250, Telephone: (800) 472-2286 Secondary Telephone: (701) 328-2356 Fax: (701) 328-1412 Web Site: https://www.hhs.nd.gov/health/oral-health-program Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: , Dental sealants, Fluoride varnish, Health education, North Dakota, Oral health, Prevention, School health, State programs

Annotation: This series of fact sheets provides information for consumers about a variety of oral-health-related topics. Topics include accessing oral health care in Illinois, anticipatory guidance and fluoride varnish application for health professionals who accept Medicaid, bad breath, breastfeeding and oral health, careers, cancer, cleft lip and cleft palate, daily care of teeth, dental and dental hygiene schools in Illinois, dental sealants, dentures, oral health during pregnancy, diabetes, early childhood tooth decay, e-cigarettes and vaping, flossing, fluoride, human papillomavirus,infants and oral health, oral cancer, orthodontics, oral health and learning, pain-management options for oral health care, periodontal disease, tobacco and tobacco cessation, sugary drinks and foods, the community health worker, water, and women's oral health.

Contact: Illinois Department of Public Health, Division of Oral Health, 535 West Jefferson Street, Third Floor, Springfield, IL 62761, Telephone: (217) 785-4899 Secondary Telephone: (800) 547-0466 Fax: (217) 524-4201 Web Site: https://dph.illinois.gov/topics-services/prevention-wellness/oral-health Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Breastfeeding, Cleft lip, Cleft palate, Fluoride varnish, Illinois, Medicaid, Oral health, Pain management, Pregnant women, Smokeless tobacco, State materials

Annotation: These forms are intended for use in implementing a school-based oral hygiene program to provide preventive oral health services (screenings, cleanings, fluoride varnish applications, dental sealant application, and education) for children from families with low incomes in Nevada. Contents include a consent form, a data-collection form, a parent letter, and a privacy notice.

Contact: Future Smiles, 3074 Arville Street, Las Vegas, NV 89102, Telephone: (702) 889-3763 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.futuresmiles.net Available from the website.

• Link
• PDF

Keywords: Dental sealants, Fluoride varnish, Forms, Low income groups, Nevada, Oral health, Oral hygiene, Prevention, School health programs, State programs

Annotation: This paper highlights interdisciplinary approaches for improving oral health: (1) human papillomavirus vaccination uptake, (2) fluoride varnish application, and (3) emergency department utilization for nontraumatic or preventable oral conditions. Each example highlights how population health can be improved with integrated health practices. Each describes the public health significance of the action; highlights best, evidence-based strategies; presents stories from the field to illustrate the impact of the action; and suggests how oral health professionals can advocate for change while optimizing oral health and overall health.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Suite 1600, Chicago, IL 60611-2637, Telephone: (312) 337-2169 Fax: (312) 337-6329 Web Site: http://www.aapd.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Advocacy, Fluoride varnish, Human papillomavirus, Oral health, Public health, Service integration, Vaccination

Annotation: This document provides information about fluoride varnish for health professionals and parents. Topics include how fluoride varnish works, whether it is safe, how often it should be applied, and why it is recommended. An application protocol is provided, and the advantages of fluoride varnish are discussed.

Contact: Tennessee Department of Health, Oral Health Services Section, 710 James Robertson Parkway, Andrew Johnson Tower, Nashville, TN 37243, Telephone: (615) 741-3111 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://tn.gov/health/section/oralhealth Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Dental caries, Fluoride varnish, Oral health, Prevention, Safety, State programs, Tennessee

Annotation: This video for health professionals explains what fluoride varnish is, why it is important, and how it is applied to the teeth of infants and young children. The video shows a dentist applying fluoride varnish to a young child’s teeth with a parent using the knee-to-knee position, explaining the procedure step by step and providing the parent with post-application instructions.

Contact: Minnesota Oral Health Coalition, 4190 Vinewood Lane N, #111-416, Plymouth, MN 55442, Telephone: (763) 381-1701 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.minnesotaoralhealthcoalition.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Fluoride varnish, Infant health, Oral health, Videotapes, Young children

Annotation: This review provides information about the effectiveness and safety of fluoride varnishes in preventing dental caries in children and adolescents and examines factors potentially modifying their effect. The review presents a summary of findings, background, objectives, methods, results, and a discussion. Implications for practice are presented.

Contact: Cochrane Library, Wiley, The Atrium, Southern Gate, Chichester, West Sussex, United Kingdom P019 8SQ UK, Telephone: +44 (0)1865 476 722 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.cochranelibrary.com/ Available from the website.

• Review
• Related Information

Keywords: Fluoride varnish, Oral health, Prevention, Research, Safety

Annotation: This fact sheet for parents and caregivers provides information about fluoride varnish (FV). The fact sheet explains what FV is, how it strengthens teeth, and how and how often it is applied. Also discussed is the safety of FV, what to expect after FV is applied, and how to help ensure that children receive the benefits of FV after application.

Contact: Washington State Department of Health, P.O. Box 47890, Olympia, WA 98504-7890, Telephone: (800) 525-0127 Secondary Telephone: (360) 236-4030 Web Site: http://www.doh.wa.gov Available from the website. Document Number: DOH 160-022.

• PDF

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Fluoride varnish, Oral health, Prevention, Safety