Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.

Displaying records 1 through 11 (11 total).

Delta Dental of Michigan. 2019. Rethink your drink, choose water. Okemos, MI: Delta Dental Foundation, 2 items.

Annotation: This infographic provides information about sugar-sweetened beverages (SSBs) and tips on healthy alternatives. Topics include the potential impact of SSB consumption on oral health; the amount of sugar in different beverages; and recommended daily limits on sugar for infants, children, adolescents, and adults. Information about reading nutrition labels, limiting juice, and choosing water is provided.

Contact: Delta Dental Foundation, 4100 Okemos Road, Okemos, MI 48864, Telephone: (800) 524-0149 Web Site: http://www.deltadentalmi.com Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Adults, Children, Consumer education materials, Decision making, Fluid intake, Health behavior, Infants, Oral health, Resources for professionals, Sugar, Water

Healthy Eating Research. 2019. Healthy beverage consumption in early childhood: Recommendations from key national health and nutrition organizations--Consensus statement. Durham, NC: Healthy Eating Research, 15 pp. (Healthy eating research)

Annotation: This consensus statement provides evidence-based recommendations on beverage consumption for infants and children from birth to age 5. The document includes definitions of beverage types and describes the process for developing the recommendations. It offers information about beverages that are best for infants and children, beverages to limit, and beverages to avoid. For each beverage, recommended amounts to give infants and children of different ages are provided.

Contact: Healthy Eating Research, Duke Global Health Institute, Duke University, Duke Box 90519, Durham, NC 27708, Telephone: (800) 578-8636 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.healthyeatingresearch.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Fluid intake, Health promotion, Infant health, Nutrition, Young children

Gutierrez H, Hampton K, Hecht A, Patel A. [2016]. Parents making waves: A toolkit for promoting drinking water in schools. San Francisco, CA: University of California, San Francisco and California Food Policy Advocates, and Enigami Ventures, 40 pp.

Annotation: This toolkit is designed to help parents improve access to drinking water at school. Contents include a tip sheet, a sample school-wellness policy and letter to a school administrator, tools for conducting a drinking water inventory and observing students drinking water, and an action plan checklist. Topics include how to fund a school water program, ensuring that school water is safe, understanding tap water sources, and promoting water intake in schools.

Contact: California Food Policy Advocates, 436 14th Street, Suite 1220, Oakland, CA 94612, Telephone: (510) 433-1122 Fax: (510) 433-1131 Web Site: http://cfpa.net Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Children, Community action, Fluid intake, Health promotion, Parents, Policy development, Program development, Program planning, School health programs, Spanish language materials, Water

Hecht A, Buck S, Patel A. 2016. Water first: A toolkit for promoting water intake in community settings. Battle Creek, MI: W. K. Kellogg Foundation, 2 items.

Annotation: This guide is designed to help communities prevent dental caries and obesity by promoting drinking water as an alternative to sugar- sweetened beverages. Contents include strategies for building a team and defining and spreading the message in child care facilities, clinics, parks, schools, and other community-based settings. A two-page fact sheet is also available.

Contact: National Drinking Water Alliance, University of California, Division of Agriculture and Natural Resources, 6701 San Pablo Avenue, Second Floor, Oakland, CA 94608-1239, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.drinkingwateralliance.org Available from the website.

Toolkit And Fact Sheet

Keywords: Communities, Dental caries, Disease prevention, Fluid intake, Health promotion, Multimedia, Obesity, Oral health, Prevention programs, Program development, Program planning, Public awareness campaigns, Public health education, Public private partnerships, Water

Braff-Guajardo E, Hecht K. 2015. Kids and drinking water: A glass half full or half empty?. Washington, DC: Grantmakers In Health, 3 pp. (Views from the field)

Annotation: This paper discusses the importance of children drinking water. Topics include information about the importance of water consumption in preventing chronic disease; obstacles to ensuring that students have access to clean, safe drinking water in schools; drinking water challenges in communities; and opportunities for funders to increase children’s access to and consumption of free, safe drinking water. Improving access, prioritizing education, funding data collection and research, promoting multisectoral partnerships, and advocating for supportive policies are also discussed. In addition, the paper presents a policy framework to support healthy development in children by investing in accessible, safe drinking water.

Contact: Grantmakers In Health, 1100 Connecticut Avenue, N.W., Suite 1200, Washington, DC 20036-4101, Telephone: (202) 452-8331 Fax: (202) 452-8340 Web Site: http://www.gih.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Advocacy, Child health, Child safety, Community role, Environmental health, Environmental pollution, Financing, Fluid intake, Health promotion, Low income groups, Minority groups, Nutrition, Policy development, Public private partnerships, School role, Water

National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion. 2015. Comprehensive framework for addressing the school nutrition environment and services. Atlanta, GA: National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, 8 pp.

Annotation: This document describes components of the school nutrition environment and resources to support a healthy school nutrition environment. Topics include school meals, smart snacks in school; in-school fundraisers; classroom celebrations, events, and nonfood rewards; access to drinking water; staff role modeling; food and beverage marketing; and healthy eating learning opportunities.

Contact: National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.cdc.gov/chronicdisease/index.htm Available from the website.

Keywords: Fluid intake, Food consumption, Health policy, Health promotion, Learning, Marketing, Models, Nutrition, Policy development, Role models, School health services, Schools, Snacks, Water

National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, Division of Population Health, School Health Branch. 2014. Increasing access to drinking water in schools. Atlanta, GA: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 52 pp.

Annotation: This toolkit describes key steps that schools can take to meet federal requirements for drinking water during meal periods, as well as to make drinking water available and accessible across the school campus. Topics include conducting a needs assessment of current drinking water policies and practices, developing a school water access plan, implementing the school water access plan, and evaluating the success of the plan. Appendices include a school drinking water needs assessment checklist and planning guide, a diagram of water testing in schools, examples of water dispensers for schools, strategies for overcoming potential challenges, and water access key stakeholder interview questions.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Fluid intake, Fluorides, Nutrition, Oral health, Policy development, School age children, Schools, Water

National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, Division of Nutrition, Physical Activity, and Obesity. 2014. Increasing access to drinking water and other healthier beverages in early care and education settings. Atlanta, GA: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 43 pp.

Annotation: This guide provides information about why early childhood programs and child care programs should serve water, rather than soda, fruit drinks, or sports drinks, to young children, and offers suggestion for how to do this. The guide also includes a performance standards checklist for water and other healthy drinks; provides ideas and resources for promoting water and other healthy drinks to children, parents, and staff; and discusses how to create an action plan for reaching healthier beverage goals. A sample letter for parents and information on how to determine whether a drink contains 100 percent fruit juice vs. a lower percentage of fruit juice is included.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Child care centers, Early childhood education, Family child care, Fluid intake, Fluorides, Nutrition, Oral health, Policy development, Water, Young children

Harvard School of Public Health Prevention Research Center. 2014. Keep it flowing: A practical guide to school drinking water planning, maintenance and repair. Boston, MA: Harvard School of Public Health Prevention Research Center, 30 pp.

Annotation: This guide addresses the need for drinking water in schools and outlines steps for providing adequate numbers of drinking fountains and tap water dispensers in school buildings. The content is organized to mirror typical school organizational structure, providing information about policy and oversight for state and tribal agencies and information focused on implementation and maintenance for schools. Topics include access to free and safe drinking water within a convenient distance of any location on school grounds; factors that impact whether water is safe to drink and appealing to students, teachers, and staff; and campaigns and policies designed to increase student water consumption.

Contact: Harvard University, T.H. Chan School of Public Health, 677 Huntington Avenue, Boston, MA 02115, Telephone: (617) 495-1000 Web Site: https://www.hsph.harvard.edu Available from the website.

Keywords: Facility design and construction, Fluid intake, Nutrition, Oral health, Policy development, Public health infrastructure, Safety, School age children, Schools, Water

Grummon A, Hampton K, Oliva A, Brindis C, Patel A. 2014. Water works: A guide to improving water access and consumption in schools to improve health and support learning. [Oakland, CA: California Food Policy Advocates], 72 pp.

Annotation: This document provides guidance on implementing a comprehensive program to increase access to safe, appealing, low-cost drinking water sources in schools. Topics include the importance of improving access to and consumption of water in schools, gathering support and building a team, serving safe and appealing water, enhancing and sustaining a water program, monitoring progress and making improvements, and funding a water program. Ideas, materials, and resources for increasing water consumption within the school community, including resources for evaluating the impact of the water program, are provided.

Contact: California Food Policy Advocates, 436 14th Street, Suite 1220, Oakland, CA 94612, Telephone: (510) 433-1122 Fax: (510) 433-1131 Web Site: http://cfpa.net Available from the website.

Keywords: Financing, Fluid intake, Learning, Oral health, Program evaluation, Program planning, Public private partnerships, Resources for professionals, School age children, Schools, Students, Sustainability, Teamwork, Water

National Academy of Sciences, National Research Council, Committee on Pesticide Residues in the Diets of Infants and Children. 1993. Pesticides in the diets of infants and children. Washington, DC: National Academy Press, 386 pp.

Annotation: This report is a comprehensive examination of pesticide use in agriculture and subsequent exposure to pesticides in the diets of infants and children. It examines infant and child development and explains how children metabolize pesticides differently from adults. The report focuses on perinatal exposure, food and water consumption by children, toxicity testing, federal pesticide regulations, and current methods of pesticide exposure risk assessment. Recommendations of the Committee on Pesticide Residues in the Diet of Infants and Children are emphasized throughout the report. Statistics and extensive bibliographies are provided.

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Contact Phone: (800) 624-6242 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nap.edu Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-309-04875-3.

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Carcinogens, Child nutrition, Fluid intake, Food consumption, Food safety, Infant formula, Infant nutrition, Nutrition research, Perinatal health, Pesticides, Statistics, Toxicity, Water safety