Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This issue brief describes Medicaid initiatives to improve maternal and birth outcomes. Included are examples of state initiatives based on bundled payments, blended payment rates, reduced payment and nonpayment, pay for performance, and medical home models. Background information on maternity care, including cesarean deliveries, early elective deliveries, and prenatal and postpartum care is also provided.

Contact: Medicaid and CHIP Payment and Access Commission, 1800 M Street, N.W., Suite 360 South, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 350-2000 Fax: (202) 273-2452 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.macpac.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Childbirth, Cost containment, Fiscal Management, Health Insurance, Maternal health, Medicaid, Outcome and process assessment, Pregnancy, State initiatives

Annotation: This document outlines a strategic plan to improve population health outcomes of New Mexico residents through an engaged, empowered, and high-performing health work force and simple and effective processes that support health status improvement. Topics include mission and vision; guiding principles; strategic planning process and membership; external trends, events, and other factors affecting the work; strengths, weaknesses, opportunities, and challenges; results, priorities, and indicators; and results-based accountability and strategy execution. Strategies and actions include promoting access to person- and community-centered health and wellness by aligning and integrating public health, behavioral health, oral health, and primary care.

Contact: New Mexico Department of Health, 1190 South Saint Francis Drive, Santa Fe, NM 87505, Telephone: (505) 827-2613 Fax: (505) 827-2530 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://nmhealth.org Available from the website.

• FY17-FY19

Keywords: Accountability, Fiscal management, Health care systems, Health promotion, Health status, New Mexico, Outcome and process assessment, Program improvement, Public health agencies, Quality assurance, State programs, Strategic plans, Work force, Work force

Annotation: This toolkit for state dental associations and Medicaid programs focuses on key diagnostic elements to consider when developing a dental program contract. Topics include ensuring an adequate network, enrollment and credentialing, securing the dentist-patient relationship, continuity of care, fee schedule and reimbursement, claims processing and appeals, the role of peers in resolving issues, monitoring education and outreach, coordination of care, contractor administrative performance monitoring, use and quality of care for enrolled populations, use management, member and provider manuals, and medical necessity and processing policies.

Contact: American Dental Association, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-2678, Telephone: (312) 440-2500 Fax: (312) 440-7494 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ada.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Contract services, Diagnostic techniques, Fiscal management, Legal responsibility, Medicaid managed care, Model programs, Oral health, Policy development, Program coordination, Program development, Program improvement, Quality assurance, Reimbursement, State programs, Utilization review

Annotation: This document provides guidance to Medicaid-contracted dental benefit plan managers on submitting encounters (records of procedures and services provided to Medicaid recipients enrolled in the plan) to the Louisiana Department of Health and Hospitals. Topics include responsibilities, transaction instructions, denial edit codes and descriptions, electronic data interchange certification and testing, data management of file and encounter submissions, continuous quality improvement, data assessment, adjustment process, and Medicaid administrative retroactive enrollment correction process.

Contact: Louisiana Department of Health, 628 North Fourth Street, P.O. Box 629, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-0629, Telephone: (225) 342-9500 Fax: (225) 342-5568 Web Site: http://www.dhh.louisiana.gov Available from the website.

• PDF
• Program Website

Keywords: Contract services, Dental care, Dental insurance, Fiscal management, Louisiana, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral health, Provider networks, Quality assurance, Service delivery systems, State programs

Annotation: This report summarizes findings on the potential of practice-management consulting to strengthen community oral health practices. The report is based on an evaluation of a project to ascertain the effectiveness of an intensive year-long engagement of individualized assistance aimed at improving the long-term sustainability of safety net dental clinics. Contents include information about the project’s participating clinics and providers, implementation, and results. The consulting model, considerations for future work, and recommendations are also presented. The appendices address clinic case studies, attributes and data, goals and outcomes, communities, and interview participants.

Contact: Harder+Company, 299 Kansas Street, San Francisco, CA 94103, Telephone: (415) 522-5400 Fax: (415) 522-5445 Web Site: http://www.harderco.com Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adults, Clinic administration, Consultation, Cost effectiveness, Evaluation, Families, Fiscal management, Models, Operations research, Oral health, children

Annotation: This toolkit is designed as a guide for dental hygienists, dentists, and participating organizations in establishing dental hygiene services at Kansas Extended Care Permit sites and in community settings in other states. Contents are divided into the following sections: law and requirements; getting started; financial management; sponsoring dentists; and extended care permit sites (Head Start, school-based programs, local health departments, Federally-Qualified Health Centers, long-term care). Sample written agreements are included.

Contact: Oral Health Kansas, 800 S.W. Jackson, Suite 1120, Topeka, KS 66612, Telephone: (785) 235-6039 Fax: (785) 235-5064 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.oralhealthkansas.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Children, Community based services, Fiscal management, Health services delivery, Kansas, Legislation, Oral health, Preventive health services, Public health dental hygienists

Annotation: This training manual outlines core competencies required to effectively manage an oral health program within a health center, consistent with standards and guidelines established by the U.S. Bureau of Primary Health Care. The content emphasizes that comprehensive health care includes oral health services. Chapters include fundamentals, leadership, financials, risk management, workforce and staffing, and quality. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Network for Oral Health Access, 181 East 56th Avenue, Suite 410, Denver, CO 80216, Telephone: (303) 957-0635 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nnoha.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Community health centers, Fiscal management, Leadership, Oral health, Program management, Quality assurance, Risk management, Training materials, Work force

Annotation: This is one of a series of four reports identifying innovative state efforts to enhance access to care, coverage, and efficiency in health care spending. This report focuses on selected state programs for advanced care and disease management in people with chronic conditions. Each state profile includes the purpose or goal of the program, key participants, a program description, the survey time frame, required legislation or authority, funding mechanisms, efficiencies, and challenges and future plans. States discussed are North Carolina, Colorado, Indiana, Florida, Texas, Washington, Vermont, Kentucky, and New Mexico. Contact information and additional notes are provided.

Contact: Commonwealth Fund, One East 75th Street, New York, NY 10021, Telephone: (212) 606-3800 Fax: (212) 606-3500 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.commonwealthfund.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Case studies, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Colorado, Cost effectiveness, Fiscal management, Florida, Health care financing, Indiana, Kentucky, New Mexico, North Carolina, Service coordination, State programs, Texas, Vermont, Washington

Annotation: This guide is for employers interested in health improvement, regardless of whether the company is looking to design a new program altogether or thinking about options to improve or expand existing programs. It provides the following: (1) information on the structure of health improvement programs, (2) the business case for health improvement, (3) examples of best practices, and (4) the means for evaluation. A summary is provided as well as tips and resources for employers. References are also included.

Contact: National Business Group on Health, 20 F Street, N.W., Suite 200, Washington, DC 20001-6700, Telephone: (202) 558-3000 Fax: (202) 628-9244 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.businessgrouphealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Business, Employee assistance programs, Employee benefits, Fiscal management, Models, Program development, Program evaluation, Workplace health promotion

Annotation: This report describes the Title V Maternal and Child Health Block Grant to States program and provides a national statistical overview of Title V programs. The report includes a listing of the Special Projects of Regional and National Significance (SPRANS) and other federal MCH grants to each state and jurisdiction. The data presented are for FY 98. The bulk of the report consists of a statistical summary for individual states. Each summary includes data about (1) the number of pregnant women, infants, children, and children with special health care needs (CSHCN) who were served by Title V; (2) a full picture of the sources of funding for maternal and child health (MCH); (3) the relative allocation of resources among four levels of service on the MCH pyramid of services; and (4) a selection of performance and outcome measures. The report also describes the electronic reporting package (ERP) used for data collection, and includes the Maternal and Child Health Bureau strategic plan, a list of resource organizations, and a glossary. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Block grants, Child health, Children with special health care needs, Financing, Fiscal management, MCH programs, Maternal health, Outcome and process assessment, Outcome evaluation, Resource allocation, SPRANS, State programs, Statistics, Title V programs

Annotation: This report describes the Title V Maternal and Child Health Block Grant to State program and provides a national statistical overview of Title V programs. The bulk of the report consists of a statistical summary for individual states. Each summary includes data about (1) the number of pregnant women, infants, children, and children with special health care needs (CSHCN) who were served by Title V; (2) a full picture of the sources of funding for maternal and child health (MCH); (3) the relative allocation of resources among four levels of service on the MCH pyramid of services; and (4) a selection of performance and outcome measures. The report also describes the electronic reporting package (ERP) used for data collection, and includes a list of resource organizations and a glossary. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Block grants, Child health, Children with special health care needs, Financing, Fiscal management, MCH programs, Maternal health, Outcome and process assessment, Outcome evaluation, Resource allocation, State programs, Statistics, Title V programs

Annotation: This special report provides information related to the technical reports entitles, Public Health Agencies 1983, as conveyed to the Association of State and Territorial Health Officials Foundation (ASTHO) Foundation by the state and territorial health agencies. [Funded in part by the Division of Maternal and Child Health]

Keywords: Costs, Financing, Fiscal management, Reports, State health agencies

Annotation: This report presents a comprehensive overview of the fiscal characteristics and staffs of the nations' State Health Agencies (SHA). It describes the funding and expenditures of the nation's SHAs, and highlights aspects such as sources of funds for SHA personal health programs, SHA expenditures for prevention, and staffing of SHAs. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Public Health Foundation, 1300 L Street, N.W., Suite 800, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 218-4400 Fax: (202) 218-4409 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.phf.org Available in libraries.

Keywords: Costs, Financing, Fiscal management, Reports, State health agencies

Annotation: This report presents a comprehensive overview of the fiscal characteristics and staffs of the nations' State Health Agencies (SHA). It describes the funding and expenditures of the nation's SHAs, and highlights aspects such as sources of funds for SHA personal health programs, SHA expenditures for prevention, and staffing of SHAs. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org Available in libraries.

Keywords: Costs, Financing, Fiscal management, Reports, State health agencies