Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This poster provides an overview of the programs sponsored by the two organizations aimed at achieving their goal of reducing the number of gun-related injuries and deaths. The poster lists efforts in eleven different areas including state and federal legislation, law enforcement, media relations, public health outreach, and youth education, among others.

Keywords: Federal legislation, Firearms, Gun control, Handguns, Injury prevention, Policy development, Posters, State legislation

Annotation: This poster shows a safety pledge for children, in which they pledge to get an adult if they see a gun. It is available in English and Spanish.

Contact: Brady Center to Prevent Gun Violence, 1225 Eye Street, N.W., Suite 1100, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 289-7319 Fax: (202) 408-1851 Web Site: http://www.bradycenter.org Price unknown.

Keywords: Firearms, Gun control, Handguns, Injury prevention, Posters, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This poster bears the text: Thousands of kids are killed or badly hurt by guns every year. Now they can't play sports, can't drive, can't dance, can't even walk, talk or see. These are the kids who lived. It is available in English and Spanish.

Contact: Brady Center to Prevent Gun Violence, 1225 Eye Street, N.W., Suite 1100, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 289-7319 Fax: (202) 408-1851 Web Site: http://www.bradycenter.org Price unknown.

Keywords: Firearms, Gun control, Handguns, Injury prevention, Posters, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This poster shows three children finding a gun in a dresser drawer. It describes the danger to a family of a gun in the home and advises that any gun be emptied out and locked up. It is available in English and Spanish.

Contact: Brady Center to Prevent Gun Violence, 1225 Eye Street, N.W., Suite 1100, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 289-7319 Fax: (202) 408-1851 Web Site: http://www.bradycenter.org Price unknown.

Keywords: Firearms, Gun control, Handguns, Injury prevention, Posters, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This issue focus discusses federal research restrictions on gun violence prevention, status of the evidence base, and priorities for future research. It also lists examples of programs on this issue that are funded privately.

Contact: Grantmakers In Health, 1100 Connecticut Avenue, N.W., Suite 1200, Washington, DC 20036-4101, Telephone: (202) 452-8331 Fax: (202) 452-8340 Web Site: http://www.gih.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Firearm safety, Gun control, Research, Violence prevention

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information about firearm-related injuries and deaths among infants, children, and adolescents from birth through age 14 in the United States. Contents include data and information on the scope of the problem, the demographics of and circumstances surrounding firearm-related injuries to children, international comparison, and early prevention and safety education. Information on legislation and examples of state efforts to prevent firearm-related injuries to children is also included. A companion fact sheet addressing firearm injuries among adolescents and young adults ages 15 through 24 is also available. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Children's Safety Network, Education Development Center, 43 Foundry Avenue, Waltham, MA 02453-8313, Telephone: (617) 618-2918 Fax: (617) 969-9186 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.childrenssafetynetwork.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Death, Firearm injuries, Firearm safety, Firearms, Infants, Prevention programs, Protective factors

Annotation: This webinar focuses on law and policy issues in reducing firearm violence among children and adolescents. It addresses the scope of the problem of intentional and unintentional firearm-related injuries among teens and children; best practices, policies, and programs for reducing firearm-related injuries; commonly used practices, policies, and programs that have not proven to be effective; and the challenges in public health law related to firearms and what they mean for practitioners. The webinar was cosponsored by the Children's Safety Network and the Network for Public Health Law.

Contact: Children's Safety Network, Education Development Center, 43 Foundry Avenue, Waltham, MA 02453-8313, Telephone: (617) 618-2918 Fax: (617) 969-9186 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.childrenssafetynetwork.org Available from the website.

• Webinar
• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Child health, Firearm safety, Gun violence, Injury prevention, Legislation, Policy, Public health

Annotation: These resource books are designed to teach young children how to prevent fire-related injuries; they can be used alone or used to supplement the full Learn Not to Burn curriculum. The resource books use a four-step program for children in kindergarten or grade one; step one includes songs and finger plays, step two includes puppets with suggested activities, step three includes a play for the class to perform, and step four includes instructions and a masthead for developing a classroom fire safety newsletter. The set include a teacher's manual and an individual book for each of the four levels of activities.

Contact: National Fire Protection Association, One Batterymarch Park, Quincy, MA 02169, Telephone: (617) 770-3000 Secondary Telephone: (800) 344-3555 Contact Phone: (800) 344-3555 Fax: (617) 770-0700 Web Site: http://www.nfpa.org $36.50 per set; discounts available for bulk orders; teacher's guide $16.00.

• Program Website

Keywords: Burns, Children, Curricula, Elementary schools, Fires, Prevention, Residential injuries

Annotation: This final report summarizes findings from a study to determine the best way to communicate safety messages to children ages 4-9 years old, conducted by the National Fire Protections Association and the Johns Hopkins Center for Injury Research and Policy. The findings indicate that children are more likely to retain safety information when presented with messages that demonstrate positive behavior and that parents play a critical role in reinforcing what children learn. Details on these findings, an overview of study methods, research tools used, and differences in outcomes among younger and older children are included in the report.

Contact: Johns Hopkins Center for Injury Research and Policy, Hampton House, Room 554, 624 North Broadway, Baltimore, MD 21205, Telephone: (410) 955-2221 Fax: (410) 614-2797 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.jhsph.edu/research/centers-and-institutes/johns-hopkins-center-for-injury-research-and-policy/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Burn prevention, Child safety, Children, Communication, Fire prevention, Injury prevention, Reports, Surveys

Annotation: This guide provides fire-prevention educators with information to help them make good decisions about creating and evaluating educational materials. The guide first briefly explains how children develop cognitively and socially. It then provides strategies to create effective fire-prevention educational materials and messages for children and families. Ideas are included for pre-testing materials, addressing the needs of low-literacy audiences, and involving parents. Tips on what to look for in educational materials and messages are also offered. Finally, the guide briefly describes steps in putting together a comprehensive plan than will maximize the effectiveness of educational communication programs.

Contact: Johns Hopkins Center for Injury Research and Policy, Hampton House, Room 554, 624 North Broadway, Baltimore, MD 21205, Telephone: (410) 955-2221 Fax: (410) 614-2797 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.jhsph.edu/research/centers-and-institutes/johns-hopkins-center-for-injury-research-and-policy/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child development, Children, Community programs, Educational materials, Educational programs, Families, Fire prevention, Low literacy materials, Parents, Safety

Annotation: This Web site provides users with links to the provisions of state codes that are directly related to healthy homes. The purpose of the site is to help states and localities in their efforts to ensure that buildings are well constructed and to reduce the likelihood of harmful environmental conditions in homes.

Contact: National Center for Healthy Housing, 10320 Little Patuxent Parkway, Suite 500 , Columbia, MD 21044, Telephone: (410) 992-0712 Secondary Telephone: (877) 312-3046 Fax: (443) 539-4150 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nchh.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Building codes, Environmental health, Fire prevention, House fires, Housing, Lead poisoning, Prevention, State legislation

Annotation: This Web site provides information about Start Safe, a fire- and burn-safety program for preschool-age children and their families. The site provides an overview of the program and offers tools for educators to use in the classroom and community and for parents to use at home. (Registration is required to access the tools.) Relevant programs, resources, and partners are highlighted on the site, as well.

Contact: Home Safety Council, 1250 Eye Street, NW, Suite 1000, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 330-4900 Fax: (202) 330-4901 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.homesafetycouncil.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Burn prevention, Consumer education materials, Families, Fire prevention, Programs, Safety, Teachers, Young children

Annotation: This Web site assists Child Death Review (CDR) team members and other public health professionals work to prevent child injury death. It examines a range of interventions designed to prevent youth injury and death due to drowning, suicide, firearms, child abuse, and motor vehicle crashes, the top causes of injury for children ages 0 to 18 living in Washington State. For each injury mechanism, interventions are identified, reviewed, and rated on the strength and quality of published evidence supporting the efficacy of the intervention. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Harborview Injury Prevention and Research Center, University of Washington, 325 Ninth Avenue, Box 359960, Seattle, WA 98104, Telephone: (206) 744-9430 Secondary Telephone: Fax: (206) 744-9962 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://depts.washington.edu/hiprc/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent death, Child abuse, Child death, Drowning, Firearms, Injury prevention, Intervention, Motor vehicle injuries, Motor vehicle safety, Suicide, Suicide prevention, Unintentional injuries, Washington

Annotation: This issue of "The Future of Children" focuses on youth gun violence in the United States, examining the impact of such violence upon children, families, and communities, and exploring policies that aim to reduce gun deaths and injuries to children and youth. The articles summarize the knowledge and research about how gun violence affects children and youth, and which policies hold promise for reducing youth gun violence. Also, program strategies are reviewed including efforts to change behavior regading gun ownership and storage among parents; engaging law enforcement and community leaders in anti-gun violence efforts; altering the design of guns to make them harder for children to use; and tightening laws refgarding gun sales to reduce youth access to guns. The issue also provides sections on federal firearm laws, a list of acronyms, and a selected bibliography. Each article includes endnotes and statistical information provided in narrative, graph, chart, and table formats.

Contact: David and Lucile Packard Foundation, 343 Second Street, Los Altos, CA 94022, Telephone: (650) 948-7658 E-mail: https://www.packard.org/contact-us Web Site: https://www.packard.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child safety, Children, Crime, Firearm safety, Gun violence, Injury prevention, Mortality, Program evaluation, Statistics, Weapons, Youth

Annotation: The purpose of this research update is to provide guidance for state child care agencies as they think about revising their state child care regulations. The document provides information on 13 indicators of quality child care: (1) child abuse, (2) immunization, (3) staff child ratio and group size, (4) staff qualifications (2 indicators), (5) staff training, (6) supervision and discipline, (7) fire drills, (8) medication, (9) emergency plan and contact, (10) outdoor playground, (11) toxic substances, and (12) handwashing and diapering. The document also offers a conclusion and contains a list of references. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of the Assistant Secretary for Planning and Evaluation, Hubert H. Humphrey Building, 200 Independence Avenue, S.W., Room 415 F, Washington, DC 20201, Contact Fax: xxx Web Site: http://aspe.hhs.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child abuse, Child care, Child care centers, Diapering, Discipline, Emergencies, Fire prevention, Handwashing, Immunization, Medicine, Playgrounds, Regulations, State agencies, Supervision, Training

Annotation: This report provides a brief introduction to issues addressed by a DC Family Policy Seminar in September 1996 which focused on injury prevention in the District of Columbia's public schools and was aimed at providing research information to help communities, schools, and families decrease the frequency of childhood injury on school property. Volume 1 (written by Helena Wallin) provides an introduction and background on some of the key components of childhood injury prevention, discusses four major injury areas in DC schools (lead poisoning, transportation/pedestrian, fire, and playground), presents policy options, and lists local and national organizations working in the injury prevention field. Volume 2 provides highlights of the seminar's discussions. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.ncemch.org Available from the website.

• Background Briefing Report

Keywords: District of Columbia, Fire prevention, Injury prevention, Lead poisoning, Playground injuries, Prevention programs, Risk prevention, School safety

Annotation: This book contains a collection of essays by individual authors; each addresses some aspect of the epidemiology and prevention of adolescent injuries. The individual essays follow a brief commentary on methodological and conceptual issues. Topics covered are: traffic-related injuries, drowning, suicide, the role of handguns in homicides among adolescents and young adults, family violence and development during adolescence, occupational injuries, adolescent injury prevention in primary care, peer violence prevention programs in middle and high schools, post-traumatic stress disorder, and the role of mass media in injury causation and prevention.

Contact: Hanley and Belfus, 210 South 13th Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107, Telephone: (215) 546-4995 Contact Phone: (800) 962-1892 $33.00, no shipping and handling charge if prepaid. Document Number: ISBN 1-56053-190-8.

Keywords: Adolescent development, Adolescents, Drowning, Epidemiology, Family violence, Firearms, High schools, Homicide, Injuries, Mass media, Middle schools, Motor vehicle injuries, Occupational injuries, Peer groups, Physician patient relations, Posttraumatic stress disorder, Prevention, Prevention programs, Primary care, School based programs, Suicide, Violence prevention, Young adults

Annotation: This packet contains materials promoting Child Health Day, October 2, 1995, which focused on violence prevention. The packet includes the history of Child Health Day, and fact sheets on the U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, the Children's Safety Network, and the Emergency Medical Services for Children program. Other fact sheets and brochures cover firearms and safety, child abuse and neglect, building safe communities, and bibliographies. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, Contact Fax: xxx E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Photocopy available at no charge.

Keywords: Child abuse, Child health, Child neglect, Community action, Firearm safety, Firearms, Health observances, Public awareness campaigns, Public awareness materials, Violence prevention

Annotation: This manual provides descriptions of injury prevention projects implemented in several states. These projects were carried out by state and local departments of health, and by other health/injury-related entities. Interventions cover 12 specific injuries and two overarching contributing factors—firearms and alcohol. For each project, the manual describes the problem, the project objective(s), components, maternal and child health (MCH) role, resources needed, lessons learned, and evaluation. These cases represent concrete examples of what has been tried, what has worked, and what has not. The case studies are indexed by age group protected, by primary target audience, by state, and by MCH setting. Appendices include nine key injury prevention activities for state MCH agencies, and a sample case study format. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available for loan.

• PDF

Keywords: Alcohol, Assault, Bicycles, Burns, Case studies, Correlates of injury, Drowning, Evaluation, Family violence, Firearms, Homicide, Injury prevention, Motor vehicles, Occupational injuries, Playgrounds, Program development, Residential injuries, Sexual abuse, Sports, Suicide

Annotation: This poster shows a clock face with photos of children. It describes the danger to a family of a gun in the home and advises that any gun be emptied out and locked up.

Contact: Brady Center to Prevent Gun Violence, 1225 Eye Street, N.W., Suite 1100, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 289-7319 Fax: (202) 408-1851 Web Site: http://www.bradycenter.org Price unknown.

Keywords: Firearms, Gun control, Handguns, Injury prevention, Posters