Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This website describes a project that was developed from stakeholder concerns about the fragility of stable and adequate housing for families of children with chronic and complex conditions raised at the 2019 Levi Symposium hosted at the Berman Institute. The project is ongoing.

Contact: Johns Hopkins, Berman Institute of Bioethics , Deering Hal , 1809 Ashland Avenue, Baltimore , MD 20205, Telephone: (410) 614-5550 E-mail: [email protected]

• Link

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Financial barriers, Housing, Physical disabilities, State initiatives

Annotation: This brochure provides information for consumers about dental visits. Topics include what do do after a dental visit, advocating for oneself during a visit, caring for oneself before and after a visit, how to address barriers to visiting the dentist, determining goals for a dental visit, how to prepare for a visit, and other ways to access oral health care. A companion guide for oral health professionals is also available.

Contact: National Network for Oral Health Access, 181 East 56th Avenue, Suite 410, Denver, CO 80216, Telephone: (303) 957-0635 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nnoha.org Available from the website.

• Consumer Brochure
• Consumer And Professional Brochures

Keywords: Access to health care, Advocacy, Consumer education materials, Financial barriers, Oral health

Annotation: This report focuses on the financial hardships facing families raising children on the autism spectrum. It discusses disability and sociodemographic characteristics of children with autism spectrum disorders, levels of family financial hardship, and safety net program use. Recommendations are included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Drexel Autism Institute, Drexel University, 3141 Chestnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19104, E-mail: https://drexel.ed Web Site: https://drexel.edu/autisminstitute/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Autism, Children with special health care needs, Family support services, Financial barriers, Financial support, Statistics

Annotation: This brief examines the percentage of the U.S. population that indicated oral health care was needed but not obtained during the period 2013–2016. In particular, the brief compares financial and non-financial barriers to receiving oral health care among different age groups and income levels during the period. The brief introduces the issue, presents results, and discusses data and methods. Key points are included.

Contact: American Dental Association, Health Policy Institute, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-2678, Telephone: (312) 440-2500 Web Site: http://www.ada.org/en/science-research/health-policy-institute Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Costs, Financial barriers, Health insurance, Low-income groups, Medicaid, Oral health

Annotation: This online document summarizes research that shows how housing creates better educational opportunities for children, how healthy homes and communities make for healthier children, and how housing builds stronger economic foundations for the future. Links to research studies and related content are included.

Contact: Urban Institute, 2100 M Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20037, Telephone: (202) 833-7200 Fax: (202) 467-5775 E-mail: http://www.urban.org/about/contact.cfm Web Site: http://www.urban.org

• Link

Keywords: Child health, Educational attainment, Financial barriers, Homelessness, Housing

Annotation: This policy brief provides an overview of the federal law requiring states to ensure that homeless children have equal access to the same free, appropriate, public education, including a public preschool education, as provided to other children. The brief also discusses the law's limitations and barriers to pre-kindergarten (pre-k) attendance and describes policies that can help increase the number of homeless children included in pre-k programs. The brief is intended to serve as a resource for state policymakers and advocates seeking to maximize participation in pre-k programs.

Contact: Education Law Center, 60 Park Place, Suite 300, Newark, NJ 07102, Telephone: (973) 624-1815 Secondary Telephone: (973) 624-4618 Fax: (973) 624-7339 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.edlawcenter.org/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Legislation, Advocacy, Children, Cultural barriers, Early childhood education, Financial barriers, Homeless persons, Homelessness, Language barriers, Low income groups, Poverty, Preschool children, Public policy, Young children

Annotation: This brief uses data from the 2005 Kaiser Low-Income Coverage and Access Survey to examine health coverage, access, and the financial impact of health care for parents with low incomes and their families. The brief provides information on the following topics: (1) the incidence of parents with low incomes who lack health insurance for themselves and their children, (2) the affordability of employer coverage for this population, (3) the likelihood of uninsured parents having uninsured children, (4) the incidence of uninsured parents with low incomes who experience serious health problems, (5) access to health care for uninsured parents with low incomes, (6) costs, (7) financial hurdles associated with seeking care, (8) the health and financial stability of uninsured parents with low incomes and, and (9) the impact of paying out of pocket for health care. Endotes and a conclusion are included.

Contact: Kaiser Program on Medicaid and the Uninsured, 1330 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 347-5270 Fax: (202) 347-5274 E-mail: http://www.kff.org/about/contact.cfm Web Site: http://kff.org/about-kaiser-commission-on-medicaid-and-the-uninsured/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Child health, Children, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Costs, Families, Financial barriers, Health, Health insurance, Low income groups, Parents, Uninsured persons

Annotation: This brief describes Caring for Kids, a multi-site national grant program established by The Robert Wood Johnson Foundation to develop sustainable mental and oral health care for young people by locating them in school-based health centers. The brief describes the crisis in oral health care for children, including problems resulting from high costs and limited access. It also discusses solutions, such as providing oral health care in schools, ensuring financial security for school-based oral health services, and tracking program results.

Contact: Center for Health and Health Care in Schools, George Washington University Milken Institute School of Public Health, 2175 K Street, N.W., Suite 200, Room 213, Washington, DC 20037, Telephone: (202) 994-4895 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.healthinschools.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Barriers, Case studies, Child health, Child health, Community programs, Costs, Dental care, Financial support, Grants, Low income groups, Oral health, School based clinics, School dentistry, School health services, Young children

Annotation: This book examines what is known about the needs of children who are dying, as well as the needs of their families; the extent to which these needs are being met; and what can be done to provide more competent, compassionate, and consistent care. The book offers recommendations for involving the child and parents in treatment decisions, strengthening the organization and delivery of services, hospice care, reducing financial barriers to care, developing support programs for bereaved families, training health professionals, ethical and legal issues; and expanding the knowledge base to guide clinicians and families. Nine appendices provide information on study origins and activities, prognostication scores, assess health-related quality of life in end-of-life care, bereavement experiences, end-of-life care in emergency medical services, education in pediatric palliative care, a description of a New York state demonstration project, and committee biographical statements. The book also includes a summary, a list of reviewers, a reference list, and an index.

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nap.edu Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-309-08437-7.

Keywords: Bereavement, Child death, Ethics, Families, Family support, Fetal death, Financial barriers, Health care delivery, Hospice services, Infant death, Palliative treatment, Parent professional relations, Professional training, Terminal care, Terminal illness

Annotation: This issue brief is organized into two sections. Section 1 provides background information on oral disease, including a review of the burden of disease for society's most vulnerable populations (children, older adults, minorities, and families with low incomes), and identification of the unique factors that contribute to the oral health crisis. Section 2 illustrates a number of strategies for improving oral health. It begins by presenting a conceptual framework that categorizes various interventions into three types of efforts: those aimed at improving oral health status, those focused on increasing access to oral health care, and those oriented toward improving and maximizing the impact of public policy. Lastly, the activities of federal and state governments, as well as those of the private and non-profit sectors (including foundations) are highlighted.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Children, Dental care, Dental insurance, Economic factors, Financial barriers, Fluorides, Foundations, Medicaid, Minority groups, Older adults, Oral health, Outreach, Program descriptions, Provider participation, Research, Socioeconomic factors, State Children', s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: This report contains major strategies and recommendations generated at the National Symposium on Genetic Services for Underserved Populations held May 7–9, 1989. The symposium was organized to promote maximum delivery of medical genetics services to persons for whom this care may be inaccessible because of ethnocultural distinctiveness, geographic isolation, language barriers, religious beliefs, personnel shortages, racial differences, or economic disadvantages. The first section of the report provides the consensus recommendations developed by the executive planning committee and plenary session chairs from the recommendations of the 30 workshop sessions. The second section lists the complete workshop recommendations. The symposium was sponsored by the Mid-Atlantic Regional Human Genetics Network, the March of Dimes Birth Defects Foundation, and the Maternal and Child Health Bureau in association with the National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website. Document Number: HRSA Info. Ctr. MCHC072.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Barriers, Cultural barriers, Culturally competent services, Financial barriers, Genetic disorders, Genetic services, Language barriers, Minority groups

Annotation: This book is the third publication presenting issues in genetics; it results from collaboration between the March of Dimes Birth Defects Foundation and the federal maternal and child health program. It contains the proceedings of a symposium held in Washington, D.C., in May 1989. The symposium was directed at special populations receiving inadequate health services, including genetic services. Participants recognized that the rapid growth of minority populations; the switch in sources of migration from western and southern Europe to Asia, Central America, and eastern Europe; religious differences; and economic disadvantage are among those factors contributing to underservice. The proceedings contain discussion of these and other issues and strategies and recommendations to overcome them. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website. Document Number: HRSA Info. Ctr. MCHD047.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Barriers, Cultural barriers, Culturally competent services, Financial barriers, Genetic disorders, Genetic services, Minority groups