Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This report presents findings from a national survey of state and local Fetal and Infant Mortality (FIMR) coordinators about their FIMR team structure, process, and activities. Contents include information about operations at the local level to examine medical, nonmedical, and systems-related factors and circumstances contributing to fetal and infant deaths. Information about FIMR and child death review collaboration is also included. Survey results are provided in a set of tables following the narrative. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Fatality Review and Prevention, c/o Michigan Public Health Institute, 1115 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W., Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (800) 656-2434 Secondary Telephone: (517) 614-0379 Fax: (517) 324-6009 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.ncfrp.org/ Available from the website.

• Link
• Link

Keywords: Collaboration, Community action, Community based services, County programs, Fetal death, Infant death, Infant death review committees, Injury prevention, Local initiatives, Outcome and process assessment, Program coordination, Systems development, Teamwork

Annotation: This action plan is based on epidemiology, evidence, and global and country learning, setting a framework to end preventable newborn deaths and stillbirths by 2035. Topics include information on existing commitments, rights, and the current situation; effective interventions for improving the health of newborns across the continuum of care; vision and goals; strategic objectives and principles; impact framework, coverage targets, measures of success, milestones, and core indicators; research priorities and coordination; and actions by constituency. A summary of the action plan process is included. The executive summary is available in English, French, and Spanish.

Contact: Partnership for Maternal, Newborn, and Child Health, World Health Organization, 20 avenue Appia, CH-1211, Geneva, Switzerland Telephone: +41 22 791 2595 Fax: +41 22 791 5854 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.who.int/pmnch/en Available from the website.

• PDF
• Link

Keywords: Community action, Early intervention, Fetal death, Health objectives, International health, Models, Neonatal screening, Newborn infants, Primary prevention

Annotation: This document outlines goals, outcome measures, and strategies to reduce infant mortality and improve infant health in Jackson County, Mississippi. Contents include data on infant mortality, adolescent and unintended pregnancy, racial disparities, prenatal care, smoking during pregnancy, infant death due to positional asphyxia, and infant sleep position and environment. The plan presents strategies to improve women's sexual health and experience of care before, during, and after pregnancy, as well as strategies to reduce the number of infant deaths due to positional asphyxia.

Contact: Jackson County Prenatal Task Force, One Jackson Square, 9th Floor, Jackson, MI Telephone: (517) 780-7306 Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Collaboration, Community action, County programs, Fetal death, Goals, Infant care, Infant death, Infant health, Infant mortality, Local initiatives, Measures, Mississippi, Prenatal care, Program development, Program improvement, Strategic plans

Annotation: This report provides statistical information about fetal and infant deaths in Florida and the United States up to 2011. Most of the information is presented in tabular form. Information is presented about deaths by race, by county, and by selected cause.

Contact: Florida Department of Health, 4052 Bald Cypress Way, Tallahassee, FL 32399, Telephone: (850) 245-4444 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.floridahealth.gov Available from the website.

• Full Report
• Press Release

Keywords: State surveys, Fetal death, Florida, Infant death, Racial factors, Trends

Annotation: This report presents fetal and perinatal mortality data by maternal age, marital status, race, Hispanic origin, and state of residence, as well as by fetal birthweight, gestational age, plurality, and sex. Trends in fetal and perinatal mortality are also examined.

Contact: National Center for Health Statistics, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 3311 Toledo Road, Room 5419, Hyattsville, MD 20782, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 Fax: (301) 458-4020 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/nchs Available from the website.

• PDF
• Link

Keywords: Fetal death, Perinatal health, Population surveillance, Pregnancy loss, Trends, Vital statistics

Annotation: This conference program outlines the agenda and activities of the 2012 international conference focusing on stillbirth, SIDS, and infant survival held in Baltimore, Maryland. Contents include lists of conference committees and exhibitors, the agenda, a speaker listing, abstracts of oral presentations, a list of poster presentations, and other information.

Contact: CJ First Candle, 49 Locust Avenue, Suite 104, New Canaan, CT 06840, Telephone: (800) 221-7437 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://cjfirstcandle.org/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Conferences, Fetal death, Infant death, Infant death, SIDS

Annotation: This document contains the original language as introduced in November 2011, to amend the Public Health Service Act to improve the health of children and reduce the occurrence of sudden unexpected infant death (SUID) and to enhance public health activities related to stillbirth. Topics include improving the completion of death scene investigation and autopsy; training on death scene investigation; building state capacity and implementing state and local child death review programs and prevention strategies; establishing a national registry for SUID and sudden unexpected death in childhood; establishing and implementing a culturally competent public health awareness and education campaign including educating individuals about safe sleep environments, sleep positions, and reducing exposure to smoking during pregnancy and after birth; establishing grants for providing support services to families who have had a infant or child die of sudden unexpected death; evaluating state and regional needs; and enhancing public health activities related to stillbirth.

Contact: U.S. Government Publishing Office, 732 North Capitol Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20401, Telephone: (202) 512-1800 Secondary Telephone: (866) 512-1800 Fax: (202) 512-2104 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gpo.gov Available from the website.

• Full-text - Senate
• Full-text - House

Keywords: Child death, Data collection, Federal legislation, Fetal death, MCH research, Neonatal death, Prevention, SIDS, Sudden unexpected infant death

Annotation: This training manual provides materials to increase the capacity of faith based communities to provide bereavement support impacted by pregnancy or infant losses, to reduce depression and anxiety among families by promoting the use of mental health services, and to promote inter-conceptual care for families experiencing infant or fetal loss. The manual contains a tool kit of materials to conduct an in-person workshop including PowerPoint slides with notes on how to present the materials, handouts, audio-visual presentations, resource lists, and group exercises; as well as materials to provide evaluation feedback. The included trainer's guide provides tips and resources on effective training with adult learners, dealing with strong emotions of participants, a guide to structuring the training, a guide to using the electronic resources provided, and a module by module guide to presenting the training. The volume included a DVD of the curriculum and two other DVDs: Black and Blue: Depression in the African-American Community and Crisis in the Crib: Saving our Nation's Babies. A different version of this information is posted online.

Contact: National Center for Cultural Competence, Georgetown University Center for Child and Human Development, P.O. Box 571485, Washington, DC 20057-1485, Telephone: (202) 687-5387 Secondary Telephone: (800) 788-2066 Fax: (202) 687-8899 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://nccc.georgetown.edu Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Bereavement, Child death, Clergy, Fetal death, Grief, Infant death, Manuals, Pregnancy loss, Religious organizations, Resources for professionals, Training materials

Annotation: This webinar discusses the concepts of cultural and linguistic competence as they apply to the Fetal and Infant Mortality Review (FIMR) process and reviews the benefits, principles, and potential approaches to cultural and linguistic competence self-assessments that are appropriate for FIMR programs. The webinar also discusses the Cultural and Linguistic Competence Organizational Assessment Instrument for FIMR programs. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Cultural Competence, Georgetown University Center for Child and Human Development, P.O. Box 571485, Washington, DC 20057-1485, Telephone: (202) 687-5387 Secondary Telephone: (800) 788-2066 Fax: (202) 687-8899 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://nccc.georgetown.edu Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Cultural competence, Assessment, Fetal mortality, Infant death review committees, Language barriers, Multimedia, Programs

Annotation: This website presents a toolkit comprising eight modules designed to help the African-American Christian faith community improve supports for families who have experienced the loss of an infant during pregnancy or after birth. The toolkit is geared toward clergy in churches, chaplains in health care settings, pastoral counselors, and lay leaders. The toolkit can also be used in seminary courses and seminars to ensure that clergy in training are prepared to support bereaved families. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: SUID/SIDS Project at the National Center for Cultural Competence, 3300 Whitehaven Street, Suite 3300, Washington, DC 20057, Telephone: (202) 687-8914 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://nccc.georgetown.edu/projects/sids/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Blacks, Family support, Fetal death, Grief, Infant death, Perinatal bereavement, Religious organizations, Training materials

Annotation: This manual for California discusses background of the California Fetal and Infant Mortality Review (FIMR) Program, local FIMR activities, key personnel, standardized data collection and reporting, trainings and meetings, product and publication approval, and annual reports.

Contact: California Department of Public Health, Maternal, Child and Adolescent Health Program, MS 8305, P.O. Box 997420, Sacramento, CA 95899-7420, Telephone: (866) 241-0395 Fax: (916) 650-0305 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdph.ca.gov/programs/MCAH/Pages/default.aspx Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: California, Fetal mortality, Final reports, Infant death review committees, Infant mortality, State programs, Statistical data, Training

Annotation: This report, which is the fifth of its kind produced since 1995, summarizes what is known about factors that contribute to Milwaukee's high number of stillbirths and infant deaths in an effort to reduce infant mortality and eliminate racial and ethnic disparities in infant mortality. The report explains what the Fetal Infant Mortality Review is and discusses Milwaukee's infant mortality rate, racial disparities, cause of infant death and stillbirth in Milwaukee from 2005 to 2008, risk factors for infant death and stillbirth, autopsies and medical follow-up, social inequality and infant mortality, and community activities.

Contact: City of Milwaukee Health Department, 841 North Broadway, 3rd Floor, Milwaukee, WI 53202-3653, Telephone: (414) 286-3521 Web Site: http://city.milwaukee.gov/health Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Communities, Ethnic factors, Fetal death, Infant death, Infant death review committees, Infant mortality, Prevention, Racial factors, Risk factors, Wisconsin

Annotation: This website provides information about infant mortality in Milwaukee. It includes an overview of infant mortality and discusses leading causes, other factors affecting the infant mortality rate, and Fetal Infant Mortality Review. Links to additional infant mortality resources are provided.

Contact: City of Milwaukee Health Department, 841 North Broadway, 3rd Floor, Milwaukee, WI 53202-3653, Telephone: (414) 286-3521 Web Site: http://city.milwaukee.gov/health Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Congenital abnormalities, Fetal death, Infant death, Infant death review committees, Infant mortality, Premature infants, Racial factors, Risk factors, SIDS, State surveys, Wisconsin

Annotation: This brochure provides advice to grieving mothers and fathers who have lost an unborn or stillborn child. Topics include grief and bereavement, reserving the right to observe cultural beliefs in saying goodbye, considering an autopsy, funerals and memorials, and tips for coping after arriving home. The brochure is written with English on one side and Spanish on the other.

Contact: CJ First Candle, 49 Locust Avenue, Suite 104, New Canaan, CT 06840, Telephone: (800) 221-7437 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://cjfirstcandle.org/ Available from the website.

• English Version
• Spanish Version

Keywords: Bereavement, Consumer education materials, Coping, Fathers, Fetal death, Grief, Mothers, Spanish language materials, Spontaneous abortion

Annotation: This brochure focuses on the grief of fathers who have lost a child to stillbirth. Topics include tips for addressing personal grief as well as the grief in the relationship, in the workplace, and in the future. The brochure is written with English on one side and Spanish on the other.

Contact: CJ First Candle, 49 Locust Avenue, Suite 104, New Canaan, CT 06840, Telephone: (800) 221-7437 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://cjfirstcandle.org/ Available from the website.

• English Version
• Spanish Version

Keywords: Bereavement, Consumer education materials, Coping, Fathers, Fetal death, Grief, Spanish language materials, Spontaneous abortion

Annotation: This book, directed to consumers grieving the death of a child, offers perspectives on ways to grieve and heal after the loss of a child, and how to make difficult decisions regarding a dying or deceased child. Apart from her personal perspectives, the author recounts the child loss related experiences of many others as well.

Contact: New Futures, 6110 Bellamah, NorthEast, Albuquerque, NM 87110, Telephone: (505) 872-0463 Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 978-1-55725-585-3.

Keywords: Bereavement, Consumer education materials, Fetal death, Infant death, Neonatal death, Perinatal bereavement, Personal narratives, SIDS, Spontaneous abortion

Annotation: This report examines data from the National Vital Statistics System for fetal death of 20 weeks gestation or more. Topics include the impact of fetal mortality on families, recent trends, differences among racial and ethnic groups, rates among twins or other multiple pregnancies, relationship between fetal mortality and maternal age, and fetal mortality rates by number of previous pregnancies.

Contact: National Center for Health Statistics, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 3311 Toledo Road, Room 5419, Hyattsville, MD 20782, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 Fax: (301) 458-4020 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/nchs Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Ethnic factors, Fetal death, Fetal mortality, Maternal age, Multiple pregnancy, National surveys, Population surveillance, Pregnancy loss, Racial factors, Statistical data, Statistics

Annotation: This Webcast describes the National Sudden Unexpected Infant Death (SUID)/Child death and pregnancy loss programs and four program centers: Project IMPACT, Resource Center at Georgetown University, program support center First Candle, and the National Center for Cultural Competence at Georgetown University; examines national trends in SIDS and SUID; presents a February 2009 Pediatrics article: Infant Accidental Suffocation and Strangulation in Bed; and describes CDC SUID initiative and case registry pilot. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-2170 Web Site: https://mchb.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Federal programs, Fetal death, Infant death, Resource materials, SIDS

Annotation: This organizational self-assessment instrument is intended to help fetal and infant mortality review programs (FIMRs) to (1) plan for and incorporate culturally and linguistically competent policies, structures, and practices in all aspects of their work; (2) enhance the quality of case reviews and action plans within diverse and underserved communities; and (3) promote cultural and linguistic competence as an essential approach in the elimination of disparities and the promotion of health and mental health equity. The instrument gives definitions of terms used in the instrument, and a series of statements to assess the organization in these areas: (1) world view and practices related to cultural and linguistic competence; (2) staff diversity and training; (3) core functions including information gathering, case review, and community engagement; and (4) infrastructure, and funding. A companion document provides guidance on the use of this assessment tool. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Cultural Competence, Georgetown University Center for Child and Human Development, P.O. Box 571485, Washington, DC 20057-1485, Telephone: (202) 687-5387 Secondary Telephone: (800) 788-2066 Fax: (202) 687-8899 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://nccc.georgetown.edu Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Questionnaires, Cultural competence, Cultural diversity, Fetal death, Health promotion, Infant death review, Infant mortality, Local programs, Low income groups, Mental health, Underserved communities

Annotation: This document provides guidance on using an accompanying self-assessment instrument to evaluate the cultural and linguistic competence of fetal and infant mortality review programs (FIMRs). It describes the benefits, values, and principles of self-assessment for organizations; the nature of the instrument; and a recommended four-phase approach to organizational self-assessment. It also provides answers to frequently asked questions; definitions of key terms; and a process for community engagement in self-assessment, including a focus group protocol. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Cultural Competence, Georgetown University Center for Child and Human Development, P.O. Box 571485, Washington, DC 20057-1485, Telephone: (202) 687-5387 Secondary Telephone: (800) 788-2066 Fax: (202) 687-8899 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://nccc.georgetown.edu Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Cultural competence, Cultural diversity, Fetal death, Guidelines, Health promotion, Infant death review, Infant mortality, Local programs, Low income groups, Mental health, Underserved communities