Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This poster provides an overview of the programs sponsored by the two organizations aimed at achieving their goal of reducing the number of gun-related injuries and deaths. The poster lists efforts in eleven different areas including state and federal legislation, law enforcement, media relations, public health outreach, and youth education, among others.

Keywords: Federal legislation, Firearms, Gun control, Handguns, Injury prevention, Policy development, Posters, State legislation

Annotation: This paper presents an analytical method using rudimentary Boole-Schroder algebra for solving decision making problems in the establishment of policies and implementation of procedures. This paper is part of the documentation and assessment of the effect of P.L. 89-97, Title V. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Adolescent health programs, Child health programs, Children and Youth Projects, Federal MCH programs, Policy analysis, Policy development

Annotation: This chapter of the Indian Health Manual provides an introduction to the Indian Health Service Dental Program. It discusses program organization, operations, resources, and reporting.

Contact: U.S. Indian Health Service, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Web Site: https://www.ihs.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Administrative policy, Federal agencies, Manuals, Oral health, Standards

Annotation: This report highlights the common threads between housing and reproductive justice, emphasizing the importance of policy solutions that de-silo maternal health and address social and structural barriers. The first section describes how structural racism and structural disinvestment—including residential segregation, poor housing access and conditions, residential instability and gentrification, and the carceral apparatus—contribute to deleterious health outcomes among Black women and birthing people. The second section outlines how Black pregnancy is policed across the reproductive lifespan through forced evictions and displacement during pregnancy, double jeopardy of racism and discrimination in health care settings, and threatened Child Protective Services (CPS) involvement after birth. The third section highlights the status of housing reform in Washington, D.C. and potential opportunities for change. The report ends with Mamatoto Village’s housing justice framework, a summary of federal housing programs and policies, and links to annotated bibliography of key articles.

Contact: Georgetown University , Health Justice Alliance , 600 New Jersey Avenue, NW, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 662-9000 Web Site: https://www.law.georgetown.edu/health-justice-alliance/

• Link

Keywords: Barriers, Blacks, Civil rights, Federal programs , Housing, Housing programs, Maternal health, Policy development, Pregnancy, Racism, Social factors, Underserved communities

Annotation: This report outlines state Medicaid policy recommendations to support mental health for mothers and babies during the 12-month postpartum period. It draws from an October 2023 meeting of Medicaid policy and maternal health experts to recommend concrete steps for state agencies in five key areas: enhancing primary care as a family hub, monitoring care connections, financing appropriate services, supporting workforce capacity, and prioritizing maternal and infant-early childhood mental health in Medicaid. The document examines recent federal policy changes and includes detailed implementation guidance for states adopting extended postpartum coverage. It aims to help states leverage Medicaid to advance health equity and improve mental health outcomes for mothers and infants in the critical year following birth.

Contact: Georgetown University McCourt School of Public Policy , Center for Children and Families, 600 New Jersey Avenue , Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 687-0880 Fax: (202) 687-3110 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://ccf.georgetown.edu

• Link

Keywords: Federal policy, Health equity, Infant health, Maternal health, Medicaid, Mental health, Postpartum care, State policy

Annotation: In this episode of the AIM for Safer Birth podcast series, host Christie Allen is joined by Dr. Kristen Dillon, Chief Medical Officer at the Federal Office of Rural Health Policy within the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS). With an extensive background in public health, rural healthcare, and health policy, Dr. Dillon shares her journey from an urban upbringing in the San Francisco Bay Area to a dedicated career in rural medicine, including her experience overseeing Oregon's Pandemic Response Unit and working on health policy in Speaker Nancy Pelosi's office. Dr. Dillon discusses the unique challenges and solutions in providing quality maternity care in rural areas, the importance of telehealth and collaborative networks, and the critical role of emergency care providers. This episode is part of the AIM series of podcasts that dive deeper into the rising severe maternal morbidity and maternal mortality rates in the United States through a data-driven, quality improvement lens.

Contact: Alliance for Innovation on Maternal Health, 409 12th Street, S.W., Washington, DC 20024, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://saferbirth.org/

• Link
• Series Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Collaboration, Emergency medical services, Federal initiatives, Maternal health, Policy development , Rural health, State initiatives, Telemedicine

Annotation: This report tracks progress on key tobacco control policies at the state and federal levels, and assigns grades based on tobacco control laws and regulations in effect as of January 1, 2023. The federal government, all 50 state governments, and the District of Columbia have been given grade to reflect the extent to which tobacco control laws are adequately protecting citizens. The report summarizes the results of its findings and describes major trends regarding tobacco control policy efforts at the state and federal levels. Details about the methodology and the criteria used to assess the effectiveness of tobacco control policies are included.

Contact: American Lung Association, 1300 Pennsylvania Ave., N.W., Suite 800, Washington, DC 20004, Telephone: (202) 785-3355 Secondary Telephone: (800) 548-8252 Fax: (202) 452-1805 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.lungusa.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Comparative analysis, Data, Federal programs, Health status, Policy, Smoking, Smoking cessation, State programs, Tobacco, Trends

Annotation: This action plan is based on an internal determination that the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) must urgently assess and, if needed, change policies, programs, and processes the department administers. The plan discusses HHS’s shift in the culture, resources, and approaches available to staff to institutionalize a focus on equity, including health equity. The plan provides a summary of early accomplishments and discusses civil rights protections and language access, acquisitions (opportunities for small businesses owned by individuals from disadvantaged populations to apply for contracts within HHS procurement programs), grants, capacity building, and maternal mortality.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 200 Independence Avenue, S.W., Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (877) 696-6775 Web Site: http://www.hhs.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Civil rights, Federal programs, Health equity, Low income groups, Maternal mortality, Policy

Annotation: This framework describes the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services’ (CMS’s) plan to incorporate health equity and efforts to address health disparities as a foundational element across all its work. It discusses five priority areas: (1) expand the collection, reporting, and analysis of standardized data; (2) assess causes of disparities within CMS programs and address inequalities in policies and operations; (3) build capacity of health care organizations and the workforce to reduce health and health care disparities; (4) advance language access, health literacy, and the provision of culturally tailored services; and (5) increase access to health care and coverage.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (800) 633-4227 Secondary Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Federal programs, Health equity, Health literacy, Policy, Statistical data

Annotation: This Medicaid policy cheat sheet explores what states are doing to improve maternal health outcomes and what additional opportunities exist. Some strategies suggested include: extending postpartum coverage; enhancing benefits to cover evidence-based models, such as home visiting programs; developing value-based payment models that reward health outcomes and close racial and ethnic disparity gaps; and enhancing data collection on maternal mortality and morbidity. The document also provides examples of notable policies that have been implemented by states, such as payment reforms, models of care delivery, managed care organization data reporting requirements, midwifery-led care, doula services, postpartum coverage expansion, use of telemedicine, and provider bias training.

Contact: Center for Health Care Strategies, 300 American Metro Boulevard, Suite 125, Hamilton, NJ 08619, Telephone: (609) 528-8400 Fax: (609) 586-3679 Web Site: http://www.chcs.org

• Link

Keywords: Federal health insurance programs, Maternal health, Medicaid, Policy analysis, Public policy, State health insurance programs

Annotation: This report offers recommendations for policy makers to integrate individuals with lived expertise as partners in program and policy design, implementation, and evaluation to more effectively address food insecurity. Access to affordable, nutritious food is a significant challenge for many individuals enrolled in Medicaid. Experts with lived experience joined state policy makers and representatives from national health care and social services organizations to address hunger by increasing cross-agency partnerships and identifying solutions.

Contact: Center for Health Care Strategies, 300 American Metro Boulevard, Suite 125, Hamilton, NJ 08619, Telephone: (609) 528-8400 Fax: (609) 586-3679 Web Site: http://www.chcs.org

• Link

Keywords: Child health, Evaluation, Federal programs, Food insecurity, Health care disparities, Health equity, Health status disparities, Hunger, Medicaid, Policy development, Poverty, Social factors

Annotation: [in process]

Contact: U.S. Office of the Surgeon General, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 200 Independence Ave., SW, Humphrey Bldg., Suite 701H, Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (240) 276-8853 Fax: (202) 401-7529 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.surgeongeneral.gov/index.html

• PDF

Keywords: Federal initiatives, Health policy, Mental health, National programs, Prevention services, Public policy, Strategic plans, Suicide, Suicide prevention

Annotation: This toolkit contains information to help pediatricians and their key partners learn about food insecurity, screen and identify children at risk, connect families to available federal, state, and local food and nutrition programs, and support policies that address food insecurity and its root causes, including poverty, inadequate wages, housing insecurity, food deserts, and structural racism.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: 800/433-9016 Secondary Telephone: 202/347-8600 E-mail: https://www.aap.org/en/pages/contact-us/contact-national-headquarters/ Web Site: https://www.aap.org

• PDF

Keywords: Advocacy, Children, Consumer education, Families, Federal programs, Food, Intervention, Nutrition, Nutrition education, Nutrition programs, Pediatric care, Policy development, Resources for professionals, Screening

Annotation: This report presents findings from a five-year nationwide initiative to improve population-based children's developmental health and family well-being outcomes across 12 states. The evaluation focuses on four key areas: building connections between state and local early childhood systems, expanding early childhood systems through infrastructure and capacity building, implementing policy changes, and developing partnerships. The report examines efforts to increase age-appropriate development skills among 3-year-old children and reduce developmental disparities. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Institute for Children's Health Quality, 30 Winter Street, Sixth Floor, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 391-2700 Secondary Telephone: (866) 787-0832 Fax: (617) 391-2701 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nichq.org

• Link

Keywords: Collaboration, Community coordination, Developmental screening, Early childhood development, Federal initiatives, Model programs, Partnership, Policy development, Service delivery systems, State initiatives

Annotation: This resource provides an equity lens tool for health departments and sister agencies to use when making decisions related to COVID-19. The publication provides five steps that are involved in the process, including establishing parameters for assessment, designing community involvement, developing an assessment and communications plan, conducting the assessment, and communicating the findings. The resource gives examples from communities that have applied an equity lens when making decisions, provides questions for reflection, lists groups to consider in assessing impacts, and illustrates examples of challenges faced by specific populations at higher risk of exposure and illness.

Contact: Human Impact Partners, 304 12th Street, Suite 2B, Oakland, CA 94607, Telephone: (510) 452-9442 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://humanimpact.org/

• PDF

Keywords: Discrimination, Federal initiatives, Infectious diseases, Minority groups, Prevention programs, Public policy, State initiatives, Virus diseases

Annotation: This report focuses on measures to promote mental, emotional, and behavioral (MEB) development and health among children and youth, with an emphasis on achieving population-level effects. The report is divided into the following sections: Part I. Mental, emotional, and behavioral development, including information on the neurobiological basis of MEB outcomes, preconception and prenatal factors, infancy and childhood, adolescence, family influences, chronic illness and severe health problems, and societal influences; Part II: Strategies for fostering health mental, emotional, and behavioral development in children and youth, including parenting interventions, strategies for educational settings, strategies for healthcare settings, and policy strategies; Part III: Implementation and scale-up of effective interventions; Part IV: Next steps, including a sampling of promising efforts at the federal, state, and local levels, and a plan for a comprehensive, national approach.

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nap.edu

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent mental health, Adolescents, Child mental health, Children, Families, Federal programs, Mental health, Mental health services, Policy development, State programs

Annotation: This document provides guidance on developing state plans for implementing the Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA) in ways that support student health and wellness. Topics include engaging stakeholders in a way that ensures an effective ESSA state plan is developed and implemented; implementing a state accountability system and creating a school report card that supports the health and learning connection; integrating health and wellness into standards, assessments, and a well-rounded education; integrating student learning through staff wellness and professional development; supporting the transition from early childhood programs to elementary school; transferring funding to strengthen ESSA health and wellness programming; the Student Support and Academic Enrichment grant; and looking ahead. For each topic, the document outlines why it's important, what the law says, action steps, and resources. An overview of ESSA is included.

Contact: Healthy Schools Campaign, 175 N. Franklin, Suite 300, Chicago, IL 60606, Telephone: (312) 419-1810 Fax: (312) 419-1806 Web Site: http://www.healthyschoolscampaign.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Academic achievement, Accountability, Adolescent health, Case studies, Child health, Federal initiatives, Financing, Grants, Learning, Needs Assessment, Organizational change, Policy development, School age children, School health programs, Schools, Service integration, Standards, Statewide planning, Students, Transitions

Annotation: This brief provides information about the effects of oral disease on pregnant women and infants and state actions to prevent disease and reduce costs. It examines insurance coverage for care, including publicly funded coverage and reimbursement rates; dental expenditures; and where to find state-specific statistics on health status and coverage rates. The brief also discusses state strategies to help pregnant women receive care and provisions in the Affordable Care Act, such as public education and tobacco-cessation services.

Contact: National Conference of State Legislatures, 7700 East First Place, Denver, CO 80230, Telephone: (303) 364-7700 Fax: (303) 364-7800 Web Site: http://www.ncsl.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Costs, Dental care, Dental insurance, Federal initiatives, Medicaid, Oral health, Policy development, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Preventive health services, Reimbursement, Smoking cessation, State legislation

Annotation: This paper summarizes epidemiology reports and other evidence of drinking fountain-related health issues to reveal the extent of the problem and explores changes needed to improve the quality and use of this hydration option. Topics include a brief history of water fountains, evidence of contamination at water fountains such as microbial and heavy metal contamination, the Safe Drinking Water Act and national drinking water standards, and guidelines for cleaning and maintaining drinking water fountains. The paper concludes with a discussion of efforts needed to expand the science and practice of ensuring that drinking fountains remain clean, safe, and accessible.

Contact: Pacific Institute, 654 13th Street, Preservation Park, Oakland, CA Telephone: (510) 251-1600 Fax: (510) 251-2203 Web Site: http://www.pacinst.org Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 978-1-893790-77-3.

• Link

Keywords: Community base services, Environmental exposure, Federal legislation, Guidelines, Policy development, Public health infrastructure, Regulations, Safety, Standards, Water, Water pollution

Annotation: These resources are designed to help pediatricians and their practice teams screen for food insecurity, connect families with food and nutrition resources in the community, and support national and local policies that increase access to adequate healthy food for all children and their families. Contents include an infographic, information on food insecurity and federal nutrition programs, tips on preparing for and using the Hunger Vital Sign (a validated screening tool), interventions to address food insecurity, and resources to support advocacy and educational efforts.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: 800/433-9016 Secondary Telephone: 202/347-8600 E-mail: https://www.aap.org/en/pages/contact-us/contact-national-headquarters/ Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Advocacy, Children, Consumer education, Families, Federal programs, Food, Intervention, Nutrition, Nutrition education, Nutrition programs, Pediatric care, Policy development, Resources for professionals, Screening