Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.

Displaying records 1 through 20 (613 total).

Handgun Control Inc., and Center to Prevent Handgun Violence. n.d.. We have a comprehensive program to combat gun violence. Washington, DC: Handgun Control, Inc., and Center to Prevent Handgun Violence, 1 p.

Harry Lyons. N.D.. "Digest of State Legislation for the Education of Mentally Retarded Children to Determine Applicability to Cerebral Palsied," prepared by Harry Lyons, United Cerebral Palsy Association, Inc.. Washington DC: National Archives, (National Archives Children's Bureau Collection)

Annotation: This historical document is from the U.S. Children's Bureau records collection 1912-1969—permanently housed at the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) and digitized for ease of access by the Maternal and Child Health (MCH) Library at Georgetown University.

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Document Number: NA2-12-5.

Keywords: Child health, Children, Children', Federal Initiatives, History, Legislation, s Bureau

Association of University Centers on Disabilities, National Association of Councils on Developmental Disabilities, National Disability Rights Network. 2021-. HCBS advocacy. Silver Spring, MD: Association of University Centers on Disabilities, multiple items.

Annotation: This website provides a platform for the aging and disability communities to post information and resources about the home and community-based services (HCBS) settings rule and steps each state is making to comply with the rule. Contents include resources, dates and deadlines, documents, news, and other information organized by state. Additional contents include official resources and information from the federal government about the HCBS rule including guidance and a settings requirements and compliance toolkit.

Contact: Association of University Centers on Disabilities, 1010 Wayne Avenue, Suite 1000, Silver Spring, MD 20910, Telephone: (301) 588-8252 Fax: (301) 588-2842 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.aucd.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Advocacy, Community based services, Compliance, Disabilities, Federal legislation, Guidelines, Information sources, Medicaid, Networking, Public private partnerships, Transition planning

Ralls, Matthew. 2021. Understanding today's federal policy landscape for supporting family caregivers. Hamilton, NJ: Center for Health Care Strategies, 1 item. (Medicaid policy cheat sheet)

Annotation: This Medicaid Policy Cheat Sheet details the importance of family caregivers and reviews legislation that supports this unpaid workforce. The document defines family caregivers and their tasks and lists hardships that family caregivers face as a result of providing care. Recent enacted federal legislation aimed at supporting family caregivers include the Recognize, Assist, Support and Engage (RAISE) Family Caregivers Act (2018) and the American Rescue Plan (2021). Proposed legislation includes the American Families Plan and the American Jobs Plan.

Contact: Center for Health Care Strategies, 200 American Metro Boulevard, Suite 119, Hamilton, NJ 08619, Telephone: (609) 528-8400 Fax: (609) 586-3679 Web Site: http://www.chcs.org

Keywords: Caregivers, Elder care, Family centered care, Family economics, Federal health insurance programs, Federal legislation, Home care, Medicaid

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services . 2021. Efforts to improve the quality of health care for children and adults enrolled in Medicaid and the Children’s Health Insurance Program (CHIP) 2017-2019 report to Congress. Washington, DC: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services , 129 pp.

Annotation: This report to Congress describes (1) the efforts undertaken by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) between 2017 and 2019 to advance access and quality of care for children and adults enrolled in Medicaid and the Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP); (2) the status of state reporting of the Child and Adult Core Set of healthcare quality measures; and (3) recommendations for legislative changes needed to improve the quality of care in Medicaid and CHIP.

Keywords: Access to health care, Adults, Children, Children', Data, Enrollment, Federal legislation , Measures, Medicaid, Program improvement, Quality assurance, Recommendations, s Health Insurance Program

Ranji U, Gomez I , Salganicoff A . 2021. Expanding postpartum Medicaid coverage . Menlo Park, CA: Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation,

Annotation: This issue brief discusses Medicaid’s eligibility for pregnancy and postpartum care, describes gaps in coverage, particularly for low-income women who live in states that have not expanded Medicaid under the Affordable Care Act, and highlights several state and federal efforts to extend postpartum coverage for a longer period of time.

Contact: Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation, 2400 Sand Hill Road, Menlo Park, CA 94025, Telephone: (650) 854-9400 Secondary Telephone: (202) 347-5270 Fax: (650) 854-4800 Web Site: http://www.kff.org

Keywords: Eligibility, Federal legislation , Health care delivery, Medicaid, Perinatal care, Postpartum care, State initiatives

Barraza L, Lebedevitch C, Stuebe A. 2020. The role of law and policy in assisting families to reach Healthy People's maternal, infant, and child health breastfeeding goals in the United States. Rockville, MD: U.S. Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, 102 pp.

Annotation: This report reviews federal and state laws and policies that can enable women to initiate and sustain breastfeeding successfully through the first year of the infant's life. It reviews the effect of health care delivery, insurance coverage, paid parental leave, workplace and child care policies, and legal protections for breastfeeding in public spaces. It also considers integration of breastfeeding into existing public health and assistance programs. The report concludes with a review of emerging trends and research needs informing future efforts to enable breastfeeding, thereby improving health across 2 generations.

Contact: U.S. Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, 1101 Wootton Parkway, Suite LL100, Rockville, MD 20852, Fax: (240) 453-8282 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://health.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Evidence based practice, Federal legislation, Federal programs, Research, State legislation, State programs

National Indian Health Board, Tribal Oral Health Initiative. [2019]. Dental therapy start up guide for tribal leaders. Washington, DC: National Indian Health Board, 88 pp.

Annotation: This guide discusses oral health issues in tribal communities and offers potential solutions to these communities’ oral health challenges. Topics include how Alaska has used dental therapists (instead of dentists) to provide needed oral health services, how tribes can evaluate the potential of using dental therapists to meet their oral health needs, complying with state statutes and regulations, implementing tribal licensing, developing the workforce, building financial stability, and integrating dental therapists into a tribe’s oral health team. Stories from individuals and a tribe are included.

Contact: National Indian Health Board, 926 Pennsylvania Avenue, S.E., Washington, DC 20003, Telephone: (202) 507-4070 Fax: (202) 507-4071 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nihb.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Alaska, Alaska natives, American Indians, Federal legislation, Oral health, State programs

Skinner E. 2017. Oral health care and coverage during pregnancy. Denver, CO: National Conference of State Legislatures, 2 pp. (Legisbrief; v. 24, no. 48)

Annotation: This brief provides information about the effects of oral disease on pregnant women and infants and state actions to prevent disease and reduce costs. It examines insurance coverage for care, including publicly funded coverage and reimbursement rates; dental expenditures; and where to find state-specific statistics on health status and coverage rates. The brief also discusses state strategies to help pregnant women receive care and provisions in the Affordable Care Act, such as public education and tobacco-cessation services.

Contact: National Conference of State Legislatures, 7700 East First Place, Denver, CO 80230, Telephone: (303) 364-7700 Fax: (303) 364-7800 Web Site: http://www.ncsl.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Costs, Dental care, Dental insurance, Federal initiatives, Medicaid, Oral health, Policy development, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Preventive health services, Reimbursement, Smoking cessation, State legislation

Phurisamban R, Gleick P. 2017. Drinking fountains and public health: Improving national water infrastructure to rebuild trust and ensure access. Oakland, CA: Pacific Institute, 13 pp.

Annotation: This paper summarizes epidemiology reports and other evidence of drinking fountain-related health issues to reveal the extent of the problem and explores changes needed to improve the quality and use of this hydration option. Topics include a brief history of water fountains, evidence of contamination at water fountains such as microbial and heavy metal contamination, the Safe Drinking Water Act and national drinking water standards, and guidelines for cleaning and maintaining drinking water fountains. The paper concludes with a discussion of efforts needed to expand the science and practice of ensuring that drinking fountains remain clean, safe, and accessible.

Contact: Pacific Institute, 654 13th Street, Preservation Park, Oakland, CA Telephone: (510) 251-1600 Fax: (510) 251-2203 Web Site: http://www.pacinst.org Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 978-1-893790-77-3.

Keywords: Community base services, Environmental exposure, Federal legislation, Guidelines, Policy development, Public health infrastructure, Regulations, Safety, Standards, Water, Water pollution

Oakes J, Maier A, Daniel J. 2017. Community schools: An evidence-based strategy for equitable school improvement. Boulder, CO: National Education Policy Center and Palo Alto, CA: Learning Policy Institute, 26 pp.

Annotation: This brief examines the research on community schools, with two primary emphases. First, it explores whether the 2015 federal Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA) opens the possibility of investing in well-designed community schools to meet the educational needs of low-achieving students in high-poverty schools. And second, it provides support to school, district, and state leaders as they consider, propose, or implement a community school intervention in schools targeted for comprehensive support. An online research compendium summarizing the referenced studies referenced is also available.

Contact: Learning Policy Institute, 1530 Page Mill Road, Suite 200, Palo Alto, CA 94303, Telephone: (650) 332-9797 Web Site: https://learningpolicyinstitute.org/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Academic achievement, Barriers, Collaboration, Community based services, Community development, Costs, Federal legislation, Intervention, Leadership, Policy analysis, Poverty, Program evaluation, Program improvement, Public policy, Public private partnerships, Research, Schools, Service integration, Students, Vulnerability

Cole P, Henry-Spires D, Spires, MJ. 2016. The next horizon for home visiting: A white paper on policy discussions among stakeholders. Washington, DC: ZERO TO THREE: National Center for Infants, Toddlers and Families, Policy Center, 16 pp.

Annotation: This paper documents the joint efforts, thoughts, and calls to action shared by national and state home visiting leaders before and during a policy convening held on February 25, 2016, in Washington, DC, to explore the successes and challenges of the Maternal, Infant, and Early Childhood Home Visiting (MIECHV) Program, identify solutions to move the field forward, and discuss the next iteration of advocacy efforts needed to impact reauthorization. Topics include collaboration and integration, infrastructure, enhancing professional development and training, establishing a research and evaluation agenda, funding and infrastructure, compass points for the next horizon of home visiting, keeping families at the center, advocacy, and conclusion. Pre-meeting survey questions, and the meeting agenda and participant list are also available.

Contact: ZERO TO THREE: National Center for Infants, Toddlers and Families, 1255 23rd Street, N.W., Suite 350, Washington, DC 20037, Telephone: (202) 638-1144 Fax: (202) 638-0851 Web Site: http://www.zerotothree.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Advocacy, Collaboration, Evaluation, Family centered care, Federal programs, Financing, Home visiting, Legislation, Policy development, Public health infrastructure, Research, Service Integration, Training, Work force

Piekarz E, Schermbeck R, Young SK, Leider J, Ziemann M, Chriqui JF. 2016. School district wellness policies: Evaluating progress and potential for improving children's health eight years after the federal mandate–Volume 4. Chicago, IL: University of Illinois at Chicago, Institute for Health Research and Policy, 184 pp.

Annotation: This monograph reports key findings from a comprehensive, ongoing, nationwide evaluation of written school district wellness policies. Contents include data from school years 2006–2007 through 2013–2014, the first eight years following the required implementation data for wellness policies. Topics include background on the federal requirement for school district wellness policies, methodology for assessing policy strength and district characteristics, comprehensiveness and strength of wellness policies, key findings of wellness policy provisions, and future research needs.

Contact: University of Illinois at Chicago, Institute for Health Research and Policy, 1747 West Roosevelt Road, 5th Floor, Chicago, IL 60608-1264, Telephone: (312) 996-7222 Secondary Telephone: (866) 757-4507 Fax: (312) 996-2703 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ihrp.uic.edu Available from the website.

Keywords: Federal legislation, Health policy, Nutrition education, Physical activity, Physical education, Policy development, Regulations, Research, School districts, School food services, Trends

U.S. Administration for Children and Families and U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration. 2016. Demonstrating improvement in the maternal, infant, and early childhood home visiting program: A report to Congress. [Washington, DC]: U.S. Administration for Children and Families; [Rockville, MD]: U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration, 39 pp.

Annotation: This report summarizes the successes of the federal home visiting program's state grantees in serving high-risk populations and substantially expanding home visiting services nationwide. Topics include the extent to which state grantees demonstrated improvements in each of the benchmark areas, technical assistance provided to grantees including the type of assistance provided, and recommendations for legislative or administrative action.

Contact: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Division of Home Visiting and Early Childhood Systems, Health Resources and Services Administration , 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-8590 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://mchb.hrsa.gov/maternal-child-health-initiatives/home-visiting Available from the website.

Keywords: Federal legislation, Health care reform, Health services delivery, High risk groups, Home visiting, MCH research, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Program improvement, Quality assurance, State MCH programs, Technical assistance

Wiener R, Goldstein M. 2016. Advancing equity through ESSA: Strategies for state leaders. Washington, DC: Council of Chief State School Officers and Aspen Institute, Education and Society Program, 36 pp.

Annotation: This document for state leaders presents a framework for advancing equity in education through the implementation of the Every Student Succeeds Act. The framework identifies eight equity priorities and illustrates how states could leverage the federal law to improve equity in opportunity and outcomes for all students. Topics include closing funding gaps, improving low-performing schools, increasing access to effective teachers and leaders, supporting English learners, increasing access to advanced coursework, addressing disproportionate discipline practices, addressing students' social-emotional learning needs, and improving access to high-quality instructional materials.

Contact: Council of Chief State School Officers, One Massachusetts Avenue, N.W., Suite 700, Washington, DC 20001-1431, Telephone: (202) 336-7000 Fax: (202) 408-8072 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ccsso.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Educational change, Equal opportunities, Federal legislation, Leadership, Learning, Mental health, Program improvement, Psychosocial development, Quality assurance, Students, Teaching

American Academy of Pediatrics. 2016. Blueprint for children: How the next president can build a foundation for a healthy future. Elk Grove Village, IL: American Academy of Pediatrics, 58 pp.

Annotation: This document outlines a vision for what the federal government can do to improve the lives of children. Contents include a child health policy agenda followed by specific recommendations for each of the relevant federal agencies and departments. Recommendations for administrative and congressional actions and funding priorities are included.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Advocacy, Child health, Family centered care, Federal agencies, Financing, Health insurance, Health services, Legislation, Pediatric care, Policy development, Strategic plans

U.S. Office of Minority Health. 2015. Tracking CLAS. Rockville, MD: U.S. Office of Minority Health, 1 v.

Annotation: This map tracks efforts to promote or implement culturally and linguistically appropriate services (CLAS). Contents include state legislation pertaining to CLAS training for health professionals and state-sponsored activities for implementing the National Standards for Culturally and Linguistically Appropriate Services in Health and Health Care.

Contact: U.S. Office of Minority Health, The Tower Building, 1101 Wootton Parkway, Suite 600, Rockville, MD 20852, Telephone: (240) 453-2882 Secondary Telephone: (240) 453-2883 Fax: (240) 453-2883 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://minorityhealth.hhs.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Culturally competent services, Federal initiatives, Language, Professional training, Standards, State legislation

National Institute of Mental Health, Office of Autism Research Coordination. 2014. Report to Congress on activities related to autism spectrum disorder and other developmental disabilities under the Combating Autism Act of 2006 and Combating Autism Reauthorization Act of 2011 (FY2010–FY2012). Washington, DC: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 104 pp.

Annotation: This annual report, required by public law, describes progress and expenditures made in autism spectrum disorder (ASD)-related research and services activities across the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, the U.S. Department of Education, the U.S. Department of Defense, the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency and the National Science Foundation. Topics include progress and expenditures; prevalence of ASD; average age of diagnosis; average age for intervention; average time between screening, diagnosis, and intervention; effectiveness and outcomes of interventions; and adult services and supports. The appendices contain a list of acronyms, a summary of the previous report, and related publications.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Interagency Autism Coordinating Committee, 200 Independence Avenue, SW, Washington, DC 20201, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://iacc.hhs.gov/ Available from the website. Document Number: DHHS 14-8012.

Keywords: Autism, Costs, Early intervention, Family support services, Federal legislation, Interagency cooperation, Prevalence, Research, Screening, Treatment outcome

Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation. 2014. The U.S. government and international family planning and reproductive health: Statutory requirements and policies. Menlo Park, CA: Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation, 3 pp.

U.S. Government Accountability Office. 2013. Combating Autism Act: HHS agencies responded with new and continuing activities, including oversight. Washington, DC: U.S. Government Accountability Office, 36 pp.

Annotation: This report describes how U.S. Department of Health and Services (HHS) agencies responded Combating Autism Act of 2006 (CAA) by establishing some new autism activities and continuing others. Included are descriptions of activities carried out in response to the CAA by the National Institutes of Health (NIH), the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA), and the Office of Autism Coordinating Committee (OACC). The appendices list funding amounts (in millions of dollars) provided for autism activities within each of the HHS agencies and also provides funding amounts awarded to individual grantees (organized by type of program) for the period 2008-2011. A description of autism and the challenges in diagnosing this developmental disability are included in the background information.

Contact: U.S. Government Accountability Office, 441 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20548, Telephone: (202) 512-3000 Secondary Telephone: E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gao.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Accountability, Autism, Federal agencies, Federal legislation, Regulation, Reports
    Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.