Skip Navigation

Strengthening the evidence for maternal and child health programs

Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 20 (254 total).

Child Welfare League of America. n.d.. The history of White House conferences on children and youth. Arlington, VA: Child Welfare League of America, 78 pp.

Annotation: This report provides information on White House conferences on children and youth, beginning in 1909 and extending through 1970. A description of each conference is included.The report is primarily composed of multiple appendices that include supplementary documents pertaining to the conferences.

Contact: Child Welfare League of America, 1726 M Street, N.W., Suite 500, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 688-4200 Fax: (202) 833-1689 Web Site: http://www.cwla.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, Child advocacy, Children, Conferences, Federal initiatives, Government, History, Youth

Consumer Product Safety Commission. n.d.. Crib Information Center. Bethesda, MD: Consumer Product Safety Commission, multiple items.

Annotation: These resources provide guidance for parents and other caregivers on creating a safe sleep environment for infants including bassinet, crib, and play yard safety. Resources include posters (Bare is Best and Keep Baby Safe in Play Yard Space), a safety guide (A Safer Generation of Cribs: New Federal Requirements), a 4-minute video (Learn How to Put Your Baby to Sleep Safely), and a 12-minute video (Safe Sleep for Babies). Links to guidance for businesses, news videos, recalls, a blog, and regulations are also provided.

Contact: Consumer Product Safety Commission, 4330 East-West Highway, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (301) 504-7923 Secondary Telephone: (800) 638-2772 Fax: (301) 504-0124 E-mail: info@cpsc.gov Web Site: http://www.cpsc.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Campaigns, Federal initiatives, Infant equipment, Multimedia, Safety, Sleep position

National Conference of State Legislatures. 2020. Children's health insurance program overview. Denver, CO: National Conference of State Legislatures, 1 v.

Annotation: This website provides information about the history and current status of the Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP), including information about coverage for pregnant women. State examples and additional resources about federal and state CHIP policy are also included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Conference of State Legislatures, 7700 East First Place, Denver, CO 80230, Telephone: (303) 364-7700 Fax: (303) 364-7800 Web Site: http://www.ncsl.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Children's Health Insurance Program, Federal initiatives, Legislation, Policy development, Pregnant women, State programs

U.S. Office of the Surgeon General. 2020. Smoking cessation: A report of the Surgeon General. Rockville, MD: U.S. Office of the Surgeon General, 675 pp. (exec. summ. 15 pp.).

Annotation: This Surgeon General’s report examines the effectiveness of various smoking cessation tools and resources; reviews the health effects of smoking and catalogues the improvements to health that can occur when smokers quit; highlights important new data on populations in which the prevalence of smoking is high and quit rates are low; and identifies gaps in the availability and utilization of programs, policies, and resources that can improve cessation rates and help smokers quit.

Contact: U.S. Office of the Surgeon General, Tower Building, Plaza Level 1, Room 100, 1101 Wootton Parkway, Rockville, MD 20852, Telephone: (240) 276-8853 Fax: (240) 453-6141 Web Site: http://www.surgeongeneral.gov/index.html Available from the website.

Keywords: Federal initiatives, Health behavior, Passive smoking, Research, Risk taking, Smoking, Smoking cessation, Smoking during pregnancy, Tobacco use

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. 2020. HHS initiatives to address the disparate impact of COVID-19 on African Americans and other racial and ethnic minorities. Washington, DC: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 4 pp.

Annotation: [This fact sheet is focused on the immediate steps the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) has taken to address the disparate impact of COVID-19 on African Americans and other racial and ethnic minorities. Topics include (1) improving understanding of COVID-19's impact on minorities through data collection and reporting by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, (2) making testing and treatment more accessible and affordable through funding and regulations, (3) providing tailored guidance for those most at risk, (4); expanding telehealth options to ensure access to needed care, and (5) strengthening outreach and effective communication on COVID-19 to minority communities.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 200 Independence Avenue, S.W., Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (202) 619-0257 Secondary Telephone: (877) 696-6775 Web Site: http://www.hhs.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Disease transmission, Federal initiatives, Infectious diseases, Minority groups, Prevention programs, Virus diseases

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion. 2020. Healthy People 2030. Rockville, MD: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion,

Annotation: Healthy People 2030 sets data-driven national objectives to improve health and well-being over the next decade. It includes 355 core--or measurable--objectives as well as developmental and research objectives. This resource provides the objectives, leading health indicators, social determinants of health, data sources and methods, and tools for action, including a promotional toolkit.

Contact: U.S. Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, 1101 Wootton Parkway, Suite LL100, Rockville, MD 20852, Fax: (240) 453-8282 E-mail: odphpinfo@hhs.gov Web Site: https://health.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Disease prevention, Federal initiatives, Health promotion

U.S. Office of the Surgeon General. 2020. The Surgeon General's call to action to improve maternal health. Rockville, MD: U.S. Office of the Surgeon General, 70 pp. (exec. summ. 5 pp.).

Annotation: This Call to Action is intended to engage and equip individuals, organizations, and communities with actions to improve women’s health prior to, during, and following pregnancy. It describes the current state of maternal mortality and morbidity in the United States, risk factors present prior to pregnancy that may worsen or cause complications during pregnancy, strategies and actions to improve maternal health and reduce maternal mortality and morbidity. It includes a glossary, information on data systems, and government programs and resources.

Contact: U.S. Office of the Surgeon General, Tower Building, Plaza Level 1, Room 100, 1101 Wootton Parkway, Rockville, MD 20852, Telephone: (240) 276-8853 Fax: (240) 453-6141 Web Site: http://www.surgeongeneral.gov/index.html Available from the website.

Keywords: Federal initiatives, Federal programs, Maternal morbidity, Maternal morbidity, Pregnancy, Pregnant women

Mann R, Mays A. 2017. State ESSA plans to support student health and wellness: A framework for action (3rd ed.). Chicago, IL: Healthy Schools Campaign, 29 pp.

Annotation: This document provides guidance on developing state plans for implementing the Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA) in ways that support student health and wellness. Topics include engaging stakeholders in a way that ensures an effective ESSA state plan is developed and implemented; implementing a state accountability system and creating a school report card that supports the health and learning connection; integrating health and wellness into standards, assessments, and a well-rounded education; integrating student learning through staff wellness and professional development; supporting the transition from early childhood programs to elementary school; transferring funding to strengthen ESSA health and wellness programming; the Student Support and Academic Enrichment grant; and looking ahead. For each topic, the document outlines why it's important, what the law says, action steps, and resources. An overview of ESSA is included.

Contact: Healthy Schools Campaign, 175 N. Franklin, Suite 300, Chicago, IL 60606, Telephone: (312) 419-1810 Fax: (312) 419-1806 Web Site: http://www.healthyschoolscampaign.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Academic achievement, Accountability, Adolescent health, Case studies, Child health, Federal initiatives, Financing, Grants, Learning, Needs Assessment, Organizational change, Policy development, School age children, School health programs, Schools, Service integration, Standards, Statewide planning, Students, Transitions

Office of the U.S. Surgeon General, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention Office on Smoking and Health. 2017. Know the Risks: E-cigarettes & young people. Rockville, MD: U.S. Office of the Surgeon General, multiple items.

Annotation: This website provides information about the risks electronic cigarette (e-cigarette) use poses to youth and young adults, as well as resources for expanding and sharing knowledge about e-cigarettes and their impact on young people. Contents include the Surgeon General's report on the use of e-cigarettes by youth and young adults and information about the role of parents, health care professionals, and others in preventing harm and reducing young people's exposure to e-cigarettes. Resources include a fact sheet focusing on trends and heath risks, a quiz, a parent tip sheet, a health care provider conversation card, and responses to frequently asked questions. The fact sheet, tip sheet, and conversation card are available in English and Spanish.

Contact: U.S. Office of the Surgeon General, Tower Building, Plaza Level 1, Room 100, 1101 Wootton Parkway, Rockville, MD 20852, Telephone: (240) 276-8853 Fax: (240) 453-6141 Web Site: http://www.surgeongeneral.gov/index.html Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, Adverse effects, Beliefs, Communication, Consumer education materials, Disease prevention, Federal initiatives, Marketing, Public awareness campaign materials, Risk factors, Smoking, Spanish language materials, Tobacco, Trends, Young adults

U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration, Office of Women's Health. 2017. The HRSA strategy to address intimate partner violence 2017-2020. Rockville, MD: U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration, Office of Women's Health, 53 pp.

Annotation: This document presents the Health Resources and Services Administration’s (HRSA’s) Office of Women’s Health’s agency-wide collaborative initiative that puts into practice a strategy to address intimate partner violence (IPV). The document is organized into four priority areas describing how HRSA employees can address IPV: (1) train the health care and public health work force to address IPV, (2) develop partnerships, (3) increase access to high-quality IPV-informed health care, and (4) address gaps in knowledge about IPV. For each priority area, objectives, activities, and key outcomes are presented, and lead agencies and collaborators are identified.

Contact: U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration, Office of Women's Health, Parklawn Building, Room 18-46, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-8664 Fax: (301) 443-8587 E-mail: smatoff-stepp@hrsa.gov Web Site: http://www.hrsa.gov/WomensHealth Available from the website.

Keywords: Collaboration, Family violence, Federal initiatives, Professional training: Access to health care, Women’s health

Lombardi J, Harding JF, Connors MC, Friednam-Krauss AH, Dichter H, Ponder K, Sells J, Wolfe RB, Tarrant K, Scott-Little C, Maxwell KL, Jordan E, King C, Mathias D. 2016–. Rising to the challenge: Building effective systems for young children and families, a BUILD e-book. Boston, MA: Build Initiative, multiple items.

Annotation: This e-book highlights lessons learned from the initial implementation of a federal initiative to support states in their efforts to align, coordinate, and improve the quality of existing early learning and development programs across multiple funding streams that support children from birth through age five. Contents include experience, trends, and reflections captured through interviews with state leaders. Topics include state systems building through governance, local systems building through coalitions, early learning-health connections, trends and innovations in early childhood education work force development, reform in vision and practice, improving systems of learning through the use of child standards and assessments, integrated data strategies, and the impact of the initiative on state Quality Rating Improvement Systems (QRIS).

Contact: Build Initiative, 89 South Street, Suite 700, Boston, MA 02111, Telephone: (617) 523-6565 E-mail: info@buildinitiative.org Web Site: http://www.buildinitiative.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Assessments, Child health, Coalitions, Data, Early childhood development, Early childhood education, Federal initiatives, Financing, Learning, Program coordination, Program improvement, Quality assurance, Service coordination, Service delivery systems, Standards, State government, Systems development, Trends, Work force

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services Oral Health Coordinating Committee. 2016. U.S. Department of Health and Human Services oral health strategic framework 2014–2017. Washington, DC: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 48 pp.

Annotation: This framework provides the context for leveraging oral health priorities and actions across the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services and partner agencies. The framework aligns key activities with goals and associated strategies in response to recommendations from the Institute of Medicine and discussions with external stakeholders. Topics include integrating oral health care and primary care, preventing oral disease and promoting oral health, increasing access to oral health care and eliminating disparities, increasing the dissemination of information and improving health literacy, and advancing oral health in public policy and research.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 200 Independence Avenue, S.W., Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (202) 619-0257 Secondary Telephone: (877) 696-6775 Web Site: http://www.hhs.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Disease prevention, Federal initiatives, Health disparities, Health literacy, Health promotion, Interagency cooperation, Oral health, Policy development, Primary care, Program improvement, Research, Service integration, Strategic plans, Work force

U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration, U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services. 2016. Coverage of maternal, infant, and early childhood home visiting services. Baltimore, MD: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, Center for Medicaid & CHIP Services, 12 pp. (Joint informational bulletin)

Annotation: This memorandum to states provides information about resources available to help them meet the needs of pregnant women and families with young children, specifically with respect to home visiting services. Topics include background on common services in a home visiting model, financing approaches, and additional information and resources for designing a home visiting program.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Secondary Telephone: (410) 786-3000 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Collaboration, Federal initiatives, Financing, Home visiting, Medicaid, Model programs, Program development, Public private partnerships, State programs

Lee E, Hutchison L, Burgess K. 2016. The integration of early childhood data: State profiles and a report from the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services and the U.S. Department of Education. [Washington, DC]: U.S. Administration for Children and Families, 46 pp.

Annotation: This report provides a vision for integrated early childhood (EC) data and explains how states can use integrated data to inform decisions. The report also covers key considerations when integrating and linking EC data based on best practices from the field and lessons learned from eight states that are actively engaged in developing integrated EC data systems. Details about the eight profiled states (Georgia, Maryland, Minnesota, North Carolina, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, and Utah), federal resources to support data integration, data privacy laws and regulations, and data sharing opportunities are included.

Contact: U.S. Administration for Children and Families, 370 L'Enfant Promenade, S.W., Washington, DC 20447, Telephone: (202) 401-9215 Secondary Telephone: (800) 422-4453 Web Site: http://www.acf.hhs.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Data linkage, Decision making, Early childhood development, Early childhood education, Federal initiatives, Integrated information systems, Interagency cooperation, Learning, Program coordination, Program improvement, Public policy, Quality assurance, State initiatives, Systems development, Young children

National Advisory Committee on Rural Health and Human Services. 2016. Families in crisis: The human services implications of rural opioid misuse. [Rockville, MD]: National Advisory Committee on Rural Health and Human Services, 9 pp.

Annotation: This policy brief discusses the unique rural challenges related to opioid use disorder and the experiences of families in crisis and recommendations for federal action. Topics include the opioid epidemic as a national problem with rural differentials, opioid abuse trends in rural communities, substance abuse and child welfare, the role of federal block grants, and barriers to treatment and services. Opportunities for creating a stronger treatment system for opioid use disorders are also addressed including the role of support services, care coordination and mental health workers to address current shortages in rural communities, increasing the availability of treatment programs, and research. A case study from Indiana is included.

Contact: National Advisory Committee on Rural Health and Human Services, Health Resources and Services Administration, Federal Office of Rural Health Policy, 5600 Fishers Lane, 17W59D, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-0835 Fax: (301) 443-2803 Web Site: http://www.hrsa.gov/advisorycommittees/rural/index.html Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Barriers, Child welfare, Crisis intervention, Drug addiction, Family support services, Federal initiatives, Health care systems, Health policy, Interagency cooperation, Mental health, Opiates, Policy development, Program coordination, Rural population, Service coordination, Substance abuse prevention programs, Substance abuse treatment services, Substance use disorders, Systems development, Work force

U.S. Government Accountability Office. 2016. Health care quality: HHS should set priorities and comprehensively plan its efforts to better align health quality measures. Washington, DC: U.S. Government Accountability Office, 37 pp.

Annotation: This report examines the use of measures to improve health care quality across the Department of Health and Human Services' (DHHS's) programs and private payers, with a focus on reducing burden. Topics include what is known about the extent and effects of quality-measure alignment, key factors that can contribute to misalignment, and efforts to address misalignment. Recommendations for (1) prioritizing development of electronic quality measures and related data elements for the core measures DHHS and private payers have agreed to use and (2) comprehensively planning efforts to develop more meaningful quality measures are included.

Contact: U.S. Government Accountability Office, 441 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20548, Telephone: (202) 512-3000 Secondary Telephone: E-mail: contact@gao.gov Web Site: http://www.gao.gov Available from the website. Document Number: GAO-17-5.

Keywords: Data collection, Federal initiatives, Health care systems, Information systems, Measures, Medicaid, Program improvement, Program planning, Public private partnerships, Quality assurance, Systems development, Third party payers

Skinner E. 2016. Oral health care and coverage during pregnancy. Denver, CO: National Conference of State Legislatures, 2 pp. (Legisbrief; v. 24, no. 48)

Annotation: This brief provides information about the effects of oral disease on pregnant women and infants and state actions to prevent disease and reduce costs. It examines insurance coverage for care, including publicly funded coverage and reimbursement rates; dental expenditures; and where to find state-specific statistics on health status and coverage rates. The brief also discusses state strategies to help pregnant women receive care and provisions in the Affordable Care Act, such as public education and tobacco-cessation services.

Contact: National Conference of State Legislatures, 7700 East First Place, Denver, CO 80230, Telephone: (303) 364-7700 Fax: (303) 364-7800 Web Site: http://www.ncsl.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Costs, Dental care, Dental insurance, Federal initiatives, Medicaid, Oral health, Policy development, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Preventive health services, Reimbursement, Smoking cessation, State legislation

National Center for HIV/AIDS, Viral Hepatitis, STD, and TB Prevention, Division of Adolescent and School Health. 2016. CDC Division of Adolescent and School Health DASH strategic plan for fiscal years 2015–2020. Atlanta, GA: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 44 pp.

Annotation: This document presents a strategic framework and 5-year plan for maximizing opportunities for primary prevention of HIV and other sexually transmitted infections and pregnancy among adolescents. Contents include the history of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention's Division of Adolescent and School Health (DASH); information about adolescent health and schools as a venue for health promotion and disease prevention among adolescents; and DASH's mission, approach, vision, goals, core business, strategic imperatives, objectives and indicators, strategies and activities, and strategic feedback loop. The appendices contain information about school-based surveillance systems, middle and high school sexual health education topic indicators, and DASH's research agenda.

Contact: National Center for HIV/AIDS, Viral Hepatits, STD, and TB Prevention, Division of Adolescent and School Health, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 4770 Buford Highway, N.E., Mailstop K-29, Atlanta, GA 30341-3724, Telephone: 800-232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: cdcinfo@cdc.gov Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/healthyyouth Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescent pregnancy prevention, Federal initiatives, HIV, Health promotion, Primary prevention, School health education, Schools, Sexual health, Sexually transmitted diseases, Strategic plans

U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality. 2015–. National healthcare quality and disparities reports. Rockville, MD: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, annual.

Annotation: These annual reports focuses on the success of efforts to achieve better health and health care and reduce disparities. The reports measure trends in effectiveness of care, patient safety, timeliness of care, patient centeredness, and efficiency of care. Findings on quality of and access to health care are presented in chart form. The 2015 report also addresses progress at the five-year anniversary of the National Quality Strategy.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Federal initiatives, Health care disparities, Measures, Progress reports, Quality assurance, Safety, Statistical data, Strategic plans, Trends

U.S. Office of Minority Health. 2015. Tracking CLAS. Rockville, MD: U.S. Office of Minority Health, 1 v.

Annotation: This map tracks efforts to promote or implement culturally and linguistically appropriate services (CLAS). Contents include state legislation pertaining to CLAS training for health professionals and state-sponsored activities for implementing the National Standards for Culturally and Linguistically Appropriate Services in Health and Health Care.

Contact: U.S. Office of Minority Health, The Tower Building, 1101 Wootton Parkway, Suite 600, Rockville, MD 20852, Telephone: (240) 453-2882 Secondary Telephone: (240) 453-2883 Fax: (240) 453-2883 E-mail: info@minorityhealth.hhs.gov Web Site: http://www.minorityhealth.hhs.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Culturally competent services, Federal initiatives, Language, Professional training, Standards, State legislation

    Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.