Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 20 (88 total).

National Conference of State Legislatures. 2020. Children's health insurance program overview. Denver, CO: National Conference of State Legislatures, 1 v.

Annotation: This website provides information about the history and current status of the Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP), including information about coverage for pregnant women. State examples and additional resources about federal and state CHIP policy are also included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Conference of State Legislatures, 7700 East First Place, Denver, CO 80230, Telephone: (303) 364-7700 Fax: (303) 364-7800 Web Site: http://www.ncsl.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Children's Health Insurance Program, Federal initiatives, Legislation, Policy development, Pregnant women, State programs

Georgetown University Health Policy Institute, Center for Children and Families. 2017. State snapshots of children's coverage. Washington, DC: Georgetown University Health Policy Institute, Center for Children and Families,

Annotation: This website offers fact sheets for the nation and each state about health insurance coverage for children from Medicaid, the Child Health Insurance Program (CHIP), and the Affordable Care Act.

Contact: Georgetown University Health Policy Institute, Center for Children and Families, 3300 Whitehaven Street, N.W., Suite 5000, Box 571444, Washington, DC 20057-1485, Telephone: (202) 687-0880 Fax: (202) 687-3110 E-mail: childhealth@georgetown.edu Web Site: http://ccf.georgetown.edu

Keywords: Child Health Insurance Program, Child health insurance, Federal programs, Medicaid, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, State programs

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. 2016. 2015 annual report on the quality of care for children in Medicaid and CHIP. Washington, DC: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 42 pp.

Annotation: This report shows the progress made by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services and states to systematically measure and report on the quality of care that children enrolled in Medicaid and the Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP) receive. Contents include information about state-specific findings on quality and access in Medicaid and CHIP and monitoring and improving care for children enrolled in managed care. Topics include primary care access and preventive care, management of acute and chronic conditions, childhood obesity, oral health care, prenatal and postpartum care, and adolescent well care.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Secondary Telephone: (410) 786-3000 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescent health, Child health, Children's Health Insurance Program, Federal programs, High risk children, Managed care, Measures, Medicaid, Nutrition, Oral health, Perinatal health, Preventive health services, Primary care, Program improvement, Progress reports, Quality assurance, State programs

National Partnership for Women and Families. 2015-2017. Supporting informed decision-making in the health insurance marketplace: A progress report. Washington, DC: National Partnership for Women and Families, 3 v.

Annotation: This report looks at how well the health insurance marketplace, composed of the federally-facilitated marketplace (Healthcare.gov) and 14 state-run marketplaces, is providing consumers with key information about available health plans. The report also assesses tools and promising practices that marketplace websites are employing to enhance the consumer browsing experience and to support informed decision-making.

Contact: National Partnership for Women and Families, 1875 Connecticut Avenue, N.W., Suite 650, Washington, DC 20009, Telephone: (202) 986-2600 Fax: (202) 986-2539 E-mail: info@nationalpartnership.org Web Site: http://www.nationalpartnership.org/site/PageServer Available from the website.

Keywords: Consumer education, Consumer protection, Consumers, Decision making, Federal health insurance programs, Health insurance

Children's Defense Fund. 2015. Children in the states. Washington, DC: Children's Defense Fund, multiple items.

Annotation: This report lists statistics by state for children participating in: federally subsidized programs, the National School Lunch program during FY 1996, the School Breakfast Program during FY 1996, and the WIC Food program during FY 1996. For each state there is also a page listing statistics in the form of "every 23 hours a baby died, every 7 days a youth committed suicide." These are for infant morbidity and mortality, violence, lack of prenatal care, child abuse, lack of health insurance, and teenage and unmarried mothers.

Contact: Children's Defense Fund, 25 E Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 628-8787 Secondary Telephone: (800) 233-1200 E-mail: cdfinfo@childrensdefense.org Web Site: http://www.childrensdefense.org $5.95 plus $3.00 shipping and handling for the first item ordered, and $1.00 for each additional item ordered.

Keywords: Child health, Child welfare, Federal programs, Health insurance, School breakfast programs, School lunch programs, Statistics, Violence, WIC Program

Yarbrough C, Vujicic M, Nasseh K. 2015. More dental benefits options in 2015 health insurance marketplaces. Chicago, IL: American Dental Association, Health Policy Institute, 18 pp. (Research brief)

Annotation: This brief compares dental benefits offerings in 2015 to the offerings in 2014, focusing on the federally facilitated marketplace (FFM) and select state-based marketplaces. Topics include dental benefits offered within medical plans and stand-alone dental plans and the amount of information available to consumers when they are shopping for dental benefits through the FFM. The brief concludes with a discussion of the findings' policy implications.

Contact: American Dental Association, Health Policy Institute, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-2678, Telephone: (312) 440-2500 Web Site: http://www.ada.org/en/science-research/health-policy-institute Available from the website.

Keywords: Comparative analysis, Dental insurance, Federal health insurance programs, Oral health, Policy analysis, State health insurance programs, Statistical data

U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services. [2014]. State oral health action plans. Baltimore, MD: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, multiple items.

Annotation: These documents describe state plans for achieving the goals of the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services' Oral Health Initiative. Topics include type of delivery system, participating providers, activities, other oral-health-improvement initiatives, data measurement, reimbursement strategies, efforts related to dental sealants, collaboration with dental schools or dental hygiene schools and plans to expand dental school or dental hygiene program collaboration, electronic dental records, technical assistance, and materials and websites. A template to assist state programs in developing action plans is also available.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Secondary Telephone: (410) 786-3000 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Children's Health Insurance Program, Community action, Federal initiatives, Medicaid, Oral health, State programs, Statewide planning

Sebelius K. 2014. HHS Secretary's efforts to improve children's health care quality in Medicaid and CHIP. [Washington, DC: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services], 54 pp. (Report to Congress)

Annotation: This report provides information on the status of the secretary of the Department of Health and Human Service's (DHHS's) efforts to improve the quality of care provided to children eligible for Medicaid and the Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP). Topics include DHHS's efforts to improve the quality of care as well as the direction and stability of the health care coverage provided to children enrolled in Medicaid and CHIP, the status of voluntary reporting by states utilizing the initial core quality measurement set, a summary of findings from public comment and stakeholder reviews, and the secretary's recommendations for improving the quality of care for children enrolled in Medicaid and CHIP.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Secondary Telephone: (410) 786-3000 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Child health, Children's Health Insurance Program, Federal MCH programs, Federal agencies, Low income groups, Medicaid

Gross BJ, Turner W, Machledt D. 2014. Advocate's guide to MAGI (upd.). Washington, DC: National Health Law Program, 71 pp., plus appendices.

Annotation: This document describes the modified adjusted gross income (MAGI) methodology for evaluating eligibility for health care affordability program applicants and enrollees. It also provides guidance on implementing and governing the methodology. Topics include Medicaid and Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP) populations and eligibility categories subject or exempted from MAGI, determination of countable income, household composition in the marketplace vs. Medicaid/CHIP, household scenarios, MAGI conversion for Medicaid and CHIP, state options for the transition to MAGI-based eligibility systems, and MAGI and the single streamlined application. An accompanying webinar, The World According to MAGI, covers the ins-and-outs of the rules by working through hypothetical family scenarios.

Contact: National Health Law Program, 1441 I Street, N.W., Suite 1105, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 289-7724 E-mail: nhelp@healthlaw.org Web Site: http://www.healthlaw.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Applications, Children, Eligibility determination, Families, Family income, Federal initiatives, Health care reform, Health insurance, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, State programs

Fields J. 2014. EPSDT screening: Including sexuality education in health education. Washington, DC: National Health Law Program, 4 pp. (Health advocate)

Annotation: This issue brief focuses on opportunities for children and adolescents enrolled in Medicaid and some Children's Health Insurance Programs to receive periodic comprehensive screenings that include sexual health education. Contents include information about the Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnostic and Treatment (EPSDT) benefit for individuals under age 21, key components of the required medical screen including health education and anticipatory guidance, the need for sexual health education, and the challenges to ensuring its provision. Descriptions of key resources are included.

Contact: National Health Law Program, 1441 I Street, N.W., Suite 1105, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 289-7724 E-mail: nhelp@healthlaw.org Web Site: http://www.healthlaw.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, Anticipatory guidance, Children, Children's Health Insurance Program, EPSDT, Federal programs, Health education, Health services delivery, Medicaid, Prevention services, Screening, Sexual health, Sexuality education

Nasseh K, Vujicic M, Yarbrough C. 2014. A ten-year, state-by-state, analysis of Medicaid fee-for-service reimbursement rates for dental care services. Chicago, IL: American Dental Association, Health Policy Institute, 16 pp. (Research brief)

Annotation: This brief presents an analysis of pediatric Medicaid fee-for-service (FFS) reimbursement rate data for oral health care services relative to commercial insurance charges. The brief also provides information about changes in pediatric Medicaid FFS reimbursement rates between 2003 and 2013. Data are presented for all states and the District of Columbia. For adult services, data are presented for states that provide benefits beyond emergency care to the adult Medicaid population. Policy implications are also discussed.

Contact: American Dental Association, Health Policy Institute, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-2678, Telephone: (312) 440-2500 Web Site: http://www.ada.org/en/science-research/health-policy-institute Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, Adults, Children, Federal programs, Health care reform, Health insurance, Health services, Medicaid, Oral health, Point of service plans, Policy development, Preferred provider organizations, Reimbursement, State programs

Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs. 2013. The Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act: Summary of key maternal and child health related highlights with updates on status of implementation. Wahsington, DC: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 13 pp.

Annotation: This fact sheet provides a summary of the maternal and child health (MCH) related highlights and funding announcements of the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act (ACA) and related implementation of the law in states. Topics include descriptions of individual provisions in these categories: prevention and public health, coverage and benefits, access to health care services, workforce, other key MCH investments, and healthcare quality.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: info@amchp.org Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Expanded eligibility, Federal health insurance programs, Financing, Health care reform, Home visiting, MCH services, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Preventive health services, Quality assurance, State health insurance programs, Work force

Park MJ, English A. 2013. ACA implementation: What does it mean for adolescents and young adults?. San Francisco, CA: National Adolescent and Young Adult Health Information Center; Chapel Hill, NC; Center for Adolescent Health and the Law, 35 pp.

Annotation: These slides address the implementation of the Affordable Care Act (ACA) and how it will affect adolescents and young adults. Presented during the 2013 annual meeting of the Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs (AMCHP), the slides explain why health is so important for young people; address some of the health issues that adolescents and young adults face; and describe how health care can help youth in the transition into adulthood. The slides also cover public and private insurance under ACA and describe key issues to monitor as ACA implementation moves forward. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: info@amchp.org Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, Federal health insurance programs, Health care reform, Health reform, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Young adults, Youth

Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation. 2013. Summary of the Affordable Care Act [rev. ed.]. Menlo Park, CA: Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation, 12 pp. (Focus on health reform)

Annotation: This document summarizes the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act (P.L. 111-148) as signed into law on March 23, 2010 and changes made to the law by subsequent legislation. It focuses on provisions to expand coverage, control health care costs, and improve the health care delivery system. Information is divided into the following sections: individual mandate, employer requirements, expansion of public programs, premium and cost-sharing subsidies to individuals, premium subsidies to employers, tax changes related to health insurance or financing health reform, health insurance exchanges, benefit design, changes to private insurance, state role, cost containment, improving quality/health system performance, prevention and wellness, long-term care, and other investments.

Contact: Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation, 2400 Sand Hill Road, Menlo Park, CA 94025, Telephone: (650) 854-9400 Secondary Telephone: (202) 347-5270 Fax: (650) 854-4800 Web Site: http://www.kff.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Federal health insurance programs, Federal legislation, Health care reform, Health insurance, Medicare, Medicaid, Access to health care, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act

Hagan E. 2013. How the Affordable Care Act makes health coverage more affordable. Washington, DC: Families USA, 4 pp. (Fact sheet)

Annotation: This fact sheet describes the ways that the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act makes health insurance coverage more affordable for consumers through fairer premiums for people with pre-existing conditions, women, and older people, income-based subsidies, and new, affordable coverage options for young adults.

Contact: Families USA, 1225 New York Avenue, N.W., Suite 800, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 628-3030 Fax: (202) 347-2417 E-mail: info@familiesusa.org Web Site: http://www.familiesusa.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Costs, Expanded eligibility, Federal health insurance programs, Health care reform, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Women, Young adults

Spitzer E, Dunham C. 2012. Dental action plan template for Medicaid and CHIP Programs: [Comments]. Carrboro, NC: National Health Law Program; [Washington,DC]: Children's Dental Health Project, 8 pp.

Annotation: This document provides comments on the proposed Dental Action Plan Template for Medicaid and CHIP (Children’s Health Insurance Program) published December 23, 2011. Topics include goals, instructions and next steps, activities, measurement, reimbursement, dental sealants, collaboration, and electronic records. Recommendations are included.

Contact: Children's Dental Health Project, 1020 19th Street, N.W., Suite 400, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 833-8288 Fax: (202) 331-1432 E-mail: info@cdhp.org Web Site: https://www.cdhp.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Children, Children's Health Insurance Program, Federal programs, Medicaid, Oral health, Program development, Program planning

McManus P. 2012. A comparative review of essential health benefits pertinent to children in large federal, state, and small group health insurance plans: Implications for selecting state benchmark plans. Elk Grove Village, IL: American Academy of Pediatrics, 44 pp.

Annotation: This report examines essential health benefits (EHBs) for children required by the Affordable Care Act and coverage in federal and state benchmark plans. The report compares federal and state employee and small group insurance plans, as well as policies in separate Children's Health Insurance Programs (CHIPs) and Medicaid and Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnostic, and Treatment (EPSDT) programs. The report also outlines the plans' strengths and weaknesses by EHB category, including pediatric preventive, diagnostic, and restorative oral health services.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, Benchmarking, Children, Cost-sharing, Employee benefits, Federal health insurance programs, Health care reform, Policy analysis, Special health care needs, State health insurance programs

U.S. Government Accountability Office. 2012. Medicaid and CHIP: Considerations for express lane eligibility. Washington, DC: U.S. Government Accountability Office, 14 pp.

Annotation: This report provides information about the usefulness of Express Lane Eligibility (ELE) to help Congress determine whether to authorize the program beyond September 30,2013, when authorization of the program is currently set to expire. ELE allows states to determine children's eligibility for Medicaid and the Children's Health Insurance Program by using certain information, such as information from other public-assistance programs that enroll children. The report, which also provides background information, compiles some key considerations related to the availability of ELE beyond September 30, 2013.

Contact: U.S. Government Accountability Office, 441 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20548, Telephone: (202) 512-3000 Secondary Telephone: E-mail: contact@gao.gov Web Site: http://www.gao.gov Available from the website. Document Number: GAO-13-178R.

Keywords: Availability, Child health, Children's Health Insurance Program, Eligibility, Federal programs, Low income groups, Medicaid, State programs, Uninsured persons

Kinney ML. 2011. Starting points for Idaho youth. Boise, ID: Mountain States Group, 20 pp.

Annotation: This final report describes a Healthy Tomorrows project in Idaho from March 2006 through February 2011. The project focused on reaching and enrolling low-income, uninsured youth, ages 13 to 19 years, into Idaho's children's health insurance programs. The report contains the project's abstract and a summary of activities; descriptions of the project's purpose, goals and objectives, methodology, evaluation, and results and outcomes. Additional information is provided on publications and products delivered during the project, and the dissemination and utilization of results. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, Federal MCH programs, Final reports, Health insurance, Healthy Tomorrows Partnership for Children, Idaho, Low income groups, State programs, Uninsured persons

Kaiser Commission on Medicaid and the Uninsured. 2011. Medicaid's role for black Americans. Washington, DC: Kaiser Commission on Medicaid and the Uninsured, 2 pp. (Medicaid facts)

Annotation: This fact sheet examines Medicaid's role for black Americans. It includes data on Medicaid's coverage of black Americans and the program's impact on their access to care, as well as the impacts of the recent recession and the coming expansion of Medicaid under health reform on enrollment in Medicaid among black Americans. The fact sheet also has a chart showing state-by-state data on health insurance coverage of black Americans.

Contact: Kaiser Program on Medicaid and the Uninsured, 1330 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 347-5270 Fax: (202) 347-5274 E-mail: http://www.kff.org/about/contact.cfm Web Site: http://kff.org/about-kaiser-commission-on-medicaid-and-the-uninsured/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Blacks, Federal health insurance programs, Health care reform, Low income groups, Medicaid, Minority groups, State health insurance programs

    Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.