Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This directory lists federal maternal and child health information centers arranged by topic. Each entry includes annotations.

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org

Keywords: Child health, Federal government, Information centers, Maternal health

Annotation: This report provides information on White House conferences on children and youth, beginning in 1909 and extending through 1970. A description of each conference is included.The report is primarily composed of multiple appendices that include supplementary documents pertaining to the conferences.

Contact: Child Welfare League of America, 1726 M Street, N.W., Suite 500, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 688-4200 Fax: (202) 833-1689 Web Site: http://www.cwla.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Child advocacy, Children, Conferences, Federal initiatives, Government, History, Youth

Annotation: This report examines the status of federal public health funding for states, state public health funding, and key health facts. Topics include an overview of federal funding for states from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), CDC's Public Health and Prevention Funding for states, Health Resources and Services Administration's funding by state, state public health funding, key health facts, rising epidemics, effective investments to curb crises and cut costs, and recommendations.

Contact: Trust for America's Health, 1730 M Street, N.W., Suite 900, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 223-9870 Fax: (202) 223-9871 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://healthyamericans.org Available from the website.

• Full Report
• Detailed State-by-state Data

Keywords: Community based services, Data analysis, Federal programs, Government financing, Grants, Health statistics, Prevention programs, Public health infrastructure, State programs

Annotation: This e-book highlights lessons learned from the initial implementation of a federal initiative to support states in their efforts to align, coordinate, and improve the quality of existing early learning and development programs across multiple funding streams that support children from birth through age five. Contents include experience, trends, and reflections captured through interviews with state leaders. Topics include state systems building through governance, local systems building through coalitions, early learning-health connections, trends and innovations in early childhood education work force development, reform in vision and practice, improving systems of learning through the use of child standards and assessments, integrated data strategies, and the impact of the initiative on state Quality Rating Improvement Systems (QRIS).

Contact: Build Initiative, 89 South Street, Suite 700, Boston, MA 02111, Telephone: (617) 523-6565 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.buildinitiative.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Assessments, Child health, Coalitions, Data, Early childhood development, Early childhood education, Federal initiatives, Financing, Learning, Program coordination, Program improvement, Quality assurance, Service coordination, Service delivery systems, Standards, State government, Systems development, Trends, Work force

Annotation: This statement updates the November 2013 report published by the U.S. Government Accountabilty Office on federal autism activities. Topics include the extent to which federal agencies fund potentially duplicative autism research and the extent to which the Interagency Autism Coordinating Committee and agencies coordinate and monitor federal autism activities. The report presents an analysis of agencies' data and documents, and interviews with federal agency officials. Recommendations are included.

Contact: U.S. Government Accountability Office, 441 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20548, Telephone: (202) 512-3000 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gao.gov Available from the website. Document Number: GAO-14-613T.

• PDF

Keywords: Autism, Federal agencies, Federal initiatives, Federal programs, Government financing, MCH research, Policy analysis, Program coordination

Annotation: This advocacy tool describes how the federal budget process works, why it's important, and how to become involved in the process. Based on a model developed by the Center for Community Change, the tool provides a timeline of events that typically take place during the federal budget process and opportunities for action during each stage. The tool also provides links to video messages about the federal budget process and a glossary of policy and advocacy terms.

Contact: ZERO TO THREE: National Center for Infants, Toddlers and Families, 1255 23rd Street, N.W., Suite 350, Washington, DC 20037, Telephone: (202) 638-1144 Fax: (202) 638-0851 Web Site: http://www.zerotothree.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Advocacy, Budgeting, Budgets, Child advocacy, Federal government, Policy

Annotation: This report provides data on the key issues of health, child abuse, school readiness, child care, after school, and poverty. It focuses on the importance of federal programs for children and how proposed changes will affect them.

Contact: Every Child Matters Education Fund, 1023 15th Street, NW, Suite 401 , Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 223-8177 Fax: (202) 223-8499 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.everychildmatters.org Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 0-9790866-0-4.

• Link

Keywords: Child abuse, Child advocacy, Child health, Children, Costs, Federal government, Government role, Poverty, State programs, Taxes

Annotation: This report describes the efforts of two Centers of Excellence to address five objectives related to improving the public health work force: (1) outline options for developing a sustainable, systematic,and replicable plan for enumerating and characterizing the public health work force on an ongoing basis; (2) determine desired elements required to provide useful information about the public health work force; (3) review available data sources, assess usability of data, and identify information or elements that are unavailable; (4) develop formal recommendations; and (5) work with stakeholders to to build consensus for developing an enumeration plan.Topics include defining the work force, data sources, profiles of the work force by occupational classification and by industry; and future plans for developing and implementing a surveillance system.

Contact: Public Health Foundation, 1300 L Street, N.W., Suite 800, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 218-4400 Fax: (202) 218-4409 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.phf.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Evaluation, Federal government, Federal programs, Public health, Research, Work force

Annotation: This fact sheet advises child care providers about federal safety standards for cribs that are effective for manufacturers and retailers on June 28, 2011 and for child care facilities on December 28, 2012.

Contact: Consumer Product Safety Commission, 4330 East-West Highway, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (301) 504-7923 Secondary Telephone: (800) 638-2772 Fax: (301) 504-0124 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cpsc.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child care centers, Federal government, Infant furniture, Product safety, Regulations, Standards

Annotation: This report examines the role of the United States government in improving maternal, newborn, and child health (MNCH) around the globe, including the emphasis placed on these issues by the Obama Administration's Global Health Initiaitive. The report provides an overview of international efforts, including a detailed look at the U.S. government's response to global maternal and child health challenges. It also reviews U.S. funding trends for global maternal and child health, U.S. agencies' activities in related areas, and U.S. participation in international multilateral efforts. Key policy issues surrounding the future of U.S. involvement are also discussed. Appendices include a glossary of global maternal and child health terms and acronyms; international statistics on the causes of maternal, newborn, and child mortality; descriptions of key approaches and interventions to improve global maternal and child health; a list of global efforts by country; and funding efforts by country and region related to maternal, newborn, and child nutrition.

Contact: Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation, 2400 Sand Hill Road, Menlo Park, CA 94025, Telephone: (650) 854-9400 Secondary Telephone: (202) 347-5270 Fax: (650) 854-4800 Web Site: http://www.kff.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child health, Disease prevention, Federal initiatives, Government financing, Government role, Health policy , Health promotion, Health statistics, Infant health, International health, Maternal health, Newborn infants

Annotation: This report provides data from an analysis of more than 100 programs through which the federal government spends money on children under the age of 3, to use as a baseline for informed conversations about future investments. The report discusses how much, where, and how the funds are spent, and provides an extensive data appendix covering income security, nutrition, housing, tax credits, health, social services, education, and training.

Contact: Urban Institute, 500 L'Enfant Plaza, SW, Washington, DC 20024, E-mail: https://www.urban.org/about/contact-us Web Site: http://www.urban.org Available from the website.

• Full Report
• Data Appendix

Keywords: Early Head Start, Federal government, Federal programs, Infants, Medicaid, Policy development, Toddlers, Young children

Annotation: This document summarizes discussions held on June 25, 2008, concerning the role of government in assisting low-income families, income supports and low-income families, early care and education for low-income children, education for disadvantaged children, health care and low-income children and families, and the long-term fiscal challenges faced by the federal government in providing assistance to disadvantaged children and families. Appendices include two presentations addressing the role of federal spending on children and families to ensure the nation's future, and the changing roles of children in an aging society.

Contact: U.S. Government Accountability Office, 441 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20548, Telephone: (202) 512-3000 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gao.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Budgets, Education, Federal agencies, Federal government, Financial support, Low income groups, Public policy

Annotation: This thesaurus is a basic indexing vocabulary for Federal regulations which are published in the Federal Register and the Code of Federal Regulations. The indexing terms are intended to express and organize the often technical regulatory concepts in research terms familiar to the lay person. It has two sections; an alphabetical list of all indexing terms and a grouping of terms under broad categories.

Contact: U.S. National Archives and Records Administration, 700 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W., Washington, DC 20408, Telephone: (202) 523-5227 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.archives.gov/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Federal government, Reference materials, Regulations, Thesauri

Annotation: This directory, which is intended as a reference tool for programs and agencies serving the health care needs of homeless people in the United States, is meant to foster collaboration and communication among those working in this field. The directory provides current (as of September 2001) contact information and project descriptions for 138 health care for the homeless (HCH) grantees, 10 homeless children's program grantees, over 300 subcontractors, and 70 government and private agencies. It also includes information on outreach and primary health services for homeless children, a summary of HCH projects, and references. At the end of the directory is an additions and corrections form and an order form.

Keywords: Directories, Directories, Federal grants, Government programs, Health programs, Homeless persons, Outreach, Program descriptions

Annotation: This report presents proceedings of the Surgeon General's Workshop on Improving Health Literacy held on September 7, 2006, in Bethesda, Maryland. The goal of the workshop was to present the state of the science in the field of health literacy from a variety of perspectives, including those of health professionals and organizations, the research community, and educators. During the workshop, participants identified the public health consequences of limited health literacy and established an evidence base for taking action. Panels covered health literacy, literacy, and health outcomes; meeting the health literacy needs of non-English speakers, minority populations, older adults, and children; and helping the public become more involved in meeting their health-information needs. Action steps are included.

Contact: U.S. Office of the Surgeon General, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 200 Independence Ave., SW, Humphrey Bldg., Suite 701H, Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (240) 276-8853 Fax: (202) 401-7529 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.surgeongeneral.gov/index.html Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Conference proceedings, Evidence based health care, Federal government, Health literacy, Low literacy, Outcome evaluation

Annotation: This guide, intended for those working in the media, provides information about how the public health system is preparing for and will respond to terrorist acts and other public health emergencies. The guide addresses the following topics: (1) planning for the unthinkable: preparation and response in public health, (2) biological agents, (3) chemical agents, (4) radiation emergenices, (5) terrorism and the food supply, (6) environmental safety and testing, (7) the role of the federal government, (8) self-care for media, (9) range of public reactions, (10) risk communications during a terrorist attack or other public health emergency, (11) history of biological, chemical, and radiation emergencies, and (12) media contacts. The guide includes 10 appendices: acronyms, selected Web sites, a glossary, description of relevant acts, family disaster planning, disaster supplies and personal workplace supplies kit, self-monitoring checklist, reducing stress and renewing energy, and helping children and adolescents cope.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of the Assistant Secretary for Public Affairs, 200 Independence Avenue, S.W., Room 647-D, Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (202) 690-7850 Web Site: http://www.hhs.gov/news/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Disaster planning, Disasters, Emergencies, Environmental health, Families, Federal government, Manuals, Mass media, Public health, Terrorism

Annotation: This book examines the role of poison control services within the context of the larger public health system, the injury prevention and control field, and the fields of general medical care and medical and clinical toxicology. It also examines how poison control centers function relative to the functions performed by other health care agencies and government organizations at the federal, state, and local levels. The book, which includes an executive summary, is presented in three parts. Part 1 provides an overview of the Institute of Medicine's Committee on Poison Prevention and Control's proposal for a future poison prevention and control system. Part 2 reviews the historical development of the poison control network, the current status of poisoning as a public health problem, and the principal functional elements of the system. Part 3 summarizes arguments for a new poison prevention control system by focusing on the committee's conclusions and recommendations. Statistical information and other information is presented in tables and figures throughout the book. Two appendices include a list of contributors and committee and staff biographies. The book also includes a list of references and an index. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nap.edu Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 0-309-09194-2.

• Link

Keywords: Federal government, Health agencies, Health care systems, Injury prevention, Local government, Poison control centers, Poisoning, Public health, State government, Toxicology

Annotation: The purpose of this guide is to walk the reader through the steps required to become a federally certified rural health clinic (RHC) and to complete the necessary financial audit to determine the clinic's per visit rate. The goals of RHCs are to improve access to primary health care in rural, underserved communities and to promote a collaborative model of health care delivery using physicians, nurse practitioners, and physician assistants. The guide includes the following sections: (1) overview of the RHC Program, (2) getting started -- does your site qualify?, (3) feasibility analysis -- is the RHC program for you?, (4) how to file the RHC application, (5) preparing for the RCH certification inspection, (6) completing the cost report, and (7) RCH coding and billing issues. The guide includes five appendices: (1) state survey and certification agencies, (2) state offices of rural health, (3) criteria for designation as an HPSA or MUA, (4) sample policy and procedures manual, and (5) other resources.

Keywords: Auditing, Clinic administration, Clinic characteristics, Clinical coding, Collaboration, Costs, Federal government, Federal programs, Health care delivery, Nurse practitioners, Office visits, Physician assistants, Physicians, Primary health care, Rural health, Underserved communities

Annotation: This brief highlights some promising local approaches to improving access to health care for vulnerable communities. These approaches could be used as models for large-scale or federal reforms. The brief describes ways that states and the federal government can directly support local efforts as well as reduce the burden on communities by expanding public and private coverage on a statewide basis. The brief concludes by emphasizing the importance of community initiatives while pointing to the need for a broader, multi-level, fundamental reform of the U.S. health care system in the long run.

Contact: Community Voices, Health Care for the Underserved, Morehouse School of Medicine, National Center for Primary Care, , 720 Westview Drive, S.W., Atlanta, GA 30310, Telephone: (404) 756-8914 Fax: (404) 752-1198 Web Site: http://communityvoices.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Community programs, Federal government, Health care delivery, Health care reform, Health care systems, Health insurance, Local initiatives, Low income groups, State government, Uninsured persons, Vulnerability

Annotation: These resources for advocates, educators, policymakers, public health professionals, parents, youth, and community stakeholders comprise profiles of sexuality education programs in the United States. The profiles include an overview of each state’s current sex education laws, policies, and guidelines, newly introduced legislation, and relevant action that advocates have taken to advance or defend sex education in their communities. This report also incorporates the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention’s School Health Profiles data to help paint a comprehensive picture of what sexual health education topics are, or are not, being taught to young people in the classroom. The current and 3 most recent editions are posted on the website, and older editions may be requested.

Contact: Sexuality Information and Education Council of the United States, 90 John Street Suite 402, New York, NY 10038, Telephone: (212) 819-9770 Fax: (212) 819-9776 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.siecus.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: AIDS, Abstinence, Federal MCH programs, Government financing, HIV, Model programs, Prevention programs, Sexual health, Sexuality education, Sexually transmitted diseases, State MCH programs