Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.

Displaying records 1 through 20 (24 total).

Mohan A, Walker C. 2016. Migrant and Seasonal Head Start participants, programs, families, and staff in 2014. Washington, DC: Center for Law and Social Policy, 2 pp.

Annotation: This fact sheet uses data from the Head Start Program Information Report to describe the characteristics of children enrolled in Migrant and Seasonal Head Start and their families and the services provided to them. Data are presented on participants, families, programs, and staff. Topics include screenings, ongoing source of care, special health care needs, prenatal and postnatal health care, health insurance, oral examinations and mental health interventions, racial/ethnic and linguistic diversity, and child care subsidy.

Contact: Center for Law and Social Policy, 1200 18th Street, N.W., Suite 200, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 906-8000 Fax: (202) 842-2885 E-mail: http://www.clasp.org/about/contact Web Site: http://www.clasp.org Available from the website.

Fact Sheet

Keywords: Families, Farm workers, Federal programs, Head Start, Health services delivery, Low income groups, Migrants, Pregnant women, Statistics, Young children

Harder+Company. 2015. Improving the oral health of farmworker children and their families: Focus group at Western Forum for Migrant and Community Health. Bethesda, MD: National Association of Community Health Centers, 6 pp.

Annotation: This report summarizes findings from focus group discussions about improving the oral health of farmworker children and their families. Topics include integration models of care in community settings, key components of and barriers to integrated primary care and oral health care models, strategies to address key barriers, resources to support integration of primary care and oral health care, measuring success, and conclusions.

Contact: National Association of Community Health Centers, 7501 Wisconsin Avenue, Suite 1100W, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (301) 347-0400 Web Site: http://nachc.org Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Barriers, Community based services, Farm workers, Focus groups, Measurement, Migrant health, Model programs, Oral health, Primary care, Service integration

National Center for Farmworker Health. 2013. Oral health. Buda, TX: National Center for Farmworker Health, 4 pp.

Annotation: This fact sheet presents findings from an analysis of migrant health center data on oral health services received, visits for oral health services, and barriers to achieving optimal oral health among agricultural worker clients. Contents include general information about oral health and disease and epidemiology and disparities, and agricultural worker-specific risk factors and barriers to care. Topics include lack of dental insurance, long travel times to dental care, linguistic barriers, and shortages of oral health care providers.

Contact: National Center for Farmworker Health, 1770 FM 967, Buda, TX 78610, Telephone: (512) 312-2700 Fax: (512) 312-2600 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ncfh.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Adults, Barriers, Children, Dental care, Ethnic groups, Farm workers, Migrant health programs, Oral health, Risk factors, Rural population, Statistics

Jones CA, Parker TS, Ahearn M, Mishra AK, Variyam JN. 2009. Health status and health care access of farm and rural populations. Washington, DC: Economic Research Service, U.S. Department of Agriculture, 64 pp. (Economic information bulletin no. 57)

Annotation: This report focuses on the health care access and health outcomes of rural residents and farm operator households, in comparison with those of their urban and non-farm counterparts. Topics include profiles of farm and rural populations, health status and health risks, health care access, and implications for research and policy. A summary of the report is available.

Contact: U.S. Department of Agriculture, Economic Research Service, 1800 M Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20036-5831, Telephone: (202) 694-5050 E-mail: infocenterers.usda.gov Web Site: http://www.ers.usda.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Urban population, Access to health care, Farm workers, Health status, Public policy, Research, Rural population

Rosenbaum S. 2008. Medicaid portability in the context of oral health care for Head Start-enrolled children in migrant farmworker families. Washington, DC: George Washington University, School of Public Health and Health Services, 10 pp.

Annotation: This analysis examines opportunities and challenges in addressing Medicaid eligibility and enrollment for children of migrant and seasonal farmworkers. It examines Medicaid portability, that is, the ability of Medicaid to follow children from one state to another. The analysis presents an overview of Medicaid eligibility and enrollment and approaches to increasing Medicaid enrollment and portability for children in Migrant and Seasonal Head Start programs, using Head Start programs as a mechanism for identifying and enrolling children in Medicaid. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Child health services, Eligibility determination, Enrollment, Farm workers, Head Start, Medicaid, Migrant health programs, Migrants, Oral health, Young children

Community Health Resource and Development Center. 2006-. MiVIA de Salud: Online medical records for migrant and seasonal farmworkers. [Sonoma, CA: Community Health Resource and Development Center],

Annotation: This Web site is designed to improve health outcomes of migrant and seasonal farmworkers in California by providing a secure, online personal health record that can be accessed electronically by health care providers in different communities. The Web site provides information for consumers on being an active care consumer, obtaining health insurance, and on using the personal health record. Stories of individuals who have benefitted from MiVIA and news stories are included. The site is available in English and Spanish.

Contact: MiVIA, Telephone: (707) 935-4880 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.mivia.org Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Farm workers, Medical records, Migrants, Spanish language materials

Rosenbaum S, Shin P. 2005. Migrant and seasonal farmworkers: Health insurance coverage and access to care. Washington, DC: Kaiser Commission on Medicaid and the Uninsured, 24 pp.

Annotation: This brief provides an overview of migrant and seasonal farm workers and the health challenges they face and considers options for improving their health coverage and access to care. The brief, which includes an executive summary, discusses the study approach, provides a profile of farm workers and their families and of health centers that serve them, discusses barriers to Medicaid coverage in this population, and offers conclusions. Statistical information is presented in figures throughout the brief. Endnotes are included.

Contact: Kaiser Program on Medicaid and the Uninsured, 1330 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 347-5270 Fax: (202) 347-5274 E-mail: http://www.kff.org/about/contact.cfm Web Site: http://kff.org/about-kaiser-commission-on-medicaid-and-the-uninsured/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Families, Farm workers, Medicaid, Migrant health, Migrant health centers, Migrants

Hopewell A, Steffensen J. 2005. Enhancing Partnerships for Head Start and oral health: Special population forums—Final synthesis report. Washington, DC: Health Systems Research, 20 pp.

Annotation: This report synthesizes Head Start oral health forum participant suggestions for strategies for addressing oral health concerns of special populations enrolled in Head Start programs in Region XI and Region XII. The populations are identified as American Indian-Alaska Native and migrant and seasonal farmworkers. Topics include (1) an overview of the Head Start Bureau and Maternal and Child Health Bureau oral health partnership, (2) the special population forums, and (3) an overview of the special populations and their regions, including oral health care services available and cultural considerations. Additional topics include priority issues and strategies, including prevention, education, access to care, and cross-cutting recommendations. A brief conclusion completes the report. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Alaska natives, American Indians, Conferences, Families, Farm workers, Final reports, Head Start, Migrants, Oral health, Region XI, Region XII, Strategic plans, Young children

Cason KL, Snyder A. 2004. The health and nutrition of Hispanic migrant and seasonal farm workers. Harrisburg, PA: Center for Rural Pennsylvania, 18 pp.

Annotation: This report describes a study of migrant and seasonal farm workers in Chester and Adams counties, Pennsylvania. Topics include how the study population is defined and characteristics of the study counties and Pennsylvania's migrant and seasonal farm workers. The study methodology is detailed and results are discussed including demographic characteristics, food choices and influences on food choices, dietary acculturation, food sufficiency practices, and nutrition education. Focus group and key informant interviews are summarized and discussion of barriers to achieving good nutrition, meeting health care needs, and participation in food assistance programs are highlighted. Additional discussion provides conclusions and policy considerations.

Contact: Center for Rural Pennsylvania, 200 North Third Street, Suite 600, Harrisburg, PA 17101, Telephone: (717) 787-9555 Fax: (717) 772-3587 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ruralpa.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Barriers, Farm workers, Health services, Hispanic Americans, Migrants, Nutrition, Pennsylvania, Rural environment, Social services

Lombardi GR. [2001]. Migrant health issues: Dental/oral health services. Buda, TX: National Center for Farmworker Health, 7 pp. (Monograph no. 1)

Annotation: This monograph focuses on the lack of information for farmworkers about oral health and their lack of access to preventive or restorative oral health services. Topics include a review of access to fluoridated water, improved oral hygiene, and the application of sealants to the teeth of farmworker children; case studies of oral health access and poor dental outcomes in several states; and causes of high early childhood caries rates among low-income and migrant children from families.

Contact: National Center for Farmworker Health, 1770 FM 967, Buda, TX 78610, Telephone: (512) 312-2700 Fax: (512) 312-2600 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ncfh.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Barriers, Children, Early childhood caries, Families, Farm workers, Low income groups, Migrant health, Migrants, Oral health

Wilk VA. 1994. Farmworker women speak out: Priorities and policy recommendations to improve the lives of farmworker families. Washington, DC: Farmworker Justice Fund, 24 pp.

Annotation: This report traces the development of the Farmworker Women's Health Project in 1991. It focuses on the founding conference, the first meeting of the steering committee, and two subsequent conferences that focused on farmworker women and AIDS. The report describes events at each of the meetings that contributed to the formulation of the policy recommendations contained in the report. These recommendations cover specific health issues that are important to farmworker women such as AIDS, health, housing, exposure to pesticides, and wages and working conditions. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Farmworker Justice Fund, 1126 16th Street NW, Suite 270, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 293-5420 Fax: (202) 293-5427 Web Site: http://www.fwjustice.org/ Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: AIDS, Asian Americans, Blacks, Conferences, Employment, Farm workers, Housing, Mexican Americans, Migrants, Policy development, Public health, Puerto Ricans, Women, Women', s health

Johnston HL. 1985. Health for the nation's harvesters: A history of the migrant health program in its economic and social setting. Farmington Hills, MI: National Migrant Worker Council, 252 pp.

Annotation: The author begins with the origin of seasonal farm labor demand in the United States, and traces its history by describing population size and characteristics, housing, occupational hazards, and health conditions in general for this segment of workers. Developments leading to the Migrant Health Act of 1962, continuing program development, and projections of future trends are included.

Keywords: Farm workers, Federal legislation, History, Migrant health, Program development

Johnson ES. 1939. Welfare of families of sugar-beet laborers: A study of child labor and its relation to family work, income, and living conditions in 1935. Washington, DC: U.S. Government Printing Office, 100 pp. (Bureau publication (United States. Children's Bureau); no. 247)