Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This small pamphlet summarizes new knowledge about infant and toddler development and its impact on public policy. New research findings and clinical experience can be used to increase the effectiveness of legislation affecting children and families, programs for health screening, disease prevention and related issues for families, and public and private policies toward parents in the workplace.

Contact: ZERO TO THREE: National Center for Infants, Toddlers and Families, 1255 23rd Street, N.W., Suite 350, Washington, DC 20037, Telephone: (202) 638-1144 Contact Phone: (202) 638-0840 Fax: (202) 638-0851 Web Site: http://www.zerotothree.org

Keywords: Family support services, Health policy, Infant health services, Policy development

Annotation: This report provides an introduction to the Head Start-State Collaboration Projects, which involve Head Start in state planning and policy making efforts that affect low income children and families. It includes some fact sheets on the Collaboration Projects, project profiles and contact list, legislation regarding Head Start-State Collaboration Projects, and an excerpt from the report of the Advisory Committee on Head Start Quality and Expansion.

Contact: U.S. Administration for Children and Families, 370 L'Enfant Promenade, S.W., Washington, DC 20447, Telephone: (202) 401-9215 Secondary Telephone: (800) 422-4453 Web Site: http://www.acf.hhs.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Collaboration, Early childhood education, Family support, Head Start, Low income groups, Policy development, Program descriptions, Public private partnerships, State initiatives, Statewide planning

Annotation: This project sought to achieve comprehensive, coordinated, community-based services for children with special health needs and their families through improved collaboration among parents and public and private agencies at all levels within the service delivery system. Activities included maintaining a network of States, facilitating coalitions within States, brokering technical assistance, organizing conferences, and developing materials on topics such as the financing of services, service provision to culturally diverse groups, rural services, and collaboration between mental health professionals and other health care providers. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-147130.

Keywords: Child Care, Chronically Ill, Collaboration of Care, Community-Based Health Care, Families, Family-Based Health Care, Financing, Grandparents, Medicaid, Networks, Parent Support Groups, Parents, Rural Population

Annotation: The goal of this project was to ensure the successful transition to adulthood of adolescents with physical disabilities or chronic illnesses by means of interventions with families, the health care team, and the adolescents themselves. The project sought to encourage the involvement of families in planning for the health care of their children, to modify staff behaviors and institutional practices to promote family autonomy, and to broaden treatment goals so that they included health maintenance and future planning for adolescents with special needs. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-196962.

Keywords: ., Adolescents with special health care needs, Advocacy, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Families, Family-Centered Health Care Transition, Support Groups

Annotation: The Child and Family Support Project was designed to facilitate and support access to and coordination of health care services for children with chronic conditions and their families in order to strengthen family capacity to care for their child in the community setting. The project included activities to identify and develop models for services through: improvement of communication and coordination between community-based services; development of a data base of resources for the populations; enhancement of transition from institutional to community or least restrictive environment; and support for the families of children with chronic conditions. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB94-106291.

Keywords: Chronically Ill, Coordination of Health Care, Data Bases, Family Support, Family-Based Health Care, Networking

Annotation: This project was a partnership between families and their medical home to develop a demonstration model for care coordination for environmentally at-risk infants and toddlers in low-income culturally diverse urban and rural settings. The families were being served as part of the eligible population under P.L. 99–457, with an individualized family support plan (IFSP) developed for each family. The target population included many families of different ethnic origins. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB99-133969.

Keywords: Access to Health Care, Children with Special Health care Needs, Cultural Diversity, Families, Family Centered Health Care, Family Support Programs, Hawaiians, Health Promotion, Healthy Tomorrows Partnership for Children, Low Income Population, PL 99-457, Parents, Preschool Children, Primary Care, Rural Population, Service Coordination, Urban Population

Annotation: This brochure, which is geared toward mothers experiencing pregnancy or postpartum mood or anxiety disorders, provides questions for mothers and families to determine whether a mother needs help. Information about Postpartum Support International and the services it offers is provided, and a membership and donor form is included. It is available in English and Spanish.

Contact: Postpartum Support International, 6706 SW 54th Avenue , Portland, OR 97219, Telephone: (503) 894-9453 Secondary Telephone: (800) 944-4773 Fax: (503) 894-9452 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.postpartum.net Available from the website.

• English Version
• Spanish Version

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Disorders, Family support, Parents, Mothers, Postpartum depression, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This guide describes, step-by-step, how to make funeral arrangements for an infant who has died. It explains where to begin; describes the choices of cremation or burial, and discusses the various ways that grieving parents can make arrangements that will have special meaning to the family while also allowing others the opportunity to say goodbye. The guide includes lined pages where families are invited to write down their plans for the funeral.

Contact: North Dakota Department of Health and Human Services, 600 East Boulevard Avenue, Bismarck, ND 58505, Telephone: (701) 328-2372 Fax: (701) 328-4727 Web Site: https://www.hhs.nd.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Bereavement, Family support services, Funerals, Grief, Guidelines, Infant death

Annotation: This brief, which is intended for dentists who participate in Medicaid, outlines strategies to consider for maximizing practice productivity, reducing patient cancellations and missed appointments, and reducing administrative burdens. Strategies discussed include taking advantage of patient-support resources, incorporating scheduling best practices, using staff and expanded workforce models, and behaving compassionately toward patients experiencing challenges with keeping appointments.

Contact: American Dental Association, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-2678, Telephone: (312) 440-2500 Fax: (312) 440-7494 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ada.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Communication, Dentists, Family support services, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral health, Parent support services, Productivity

Annotation: This report presents findings on the state of women's and family health benefits in the workplace based on two surveys conducted in October-November 2024. It addresses challenges facing employees and employers, including rising healthcare costs, burnout among working parents, and increased anxiety around reproductive health. The report highlights how companies are responding through expanded benefits, with 69% planning to increase family health benefits vendors in the coming years. It discusses the benefits of offering comprehensive women's and family health support, including improved employee retention and reduced healthcare costs. The report includes specific statistics on employer and employee priorities, testimonials from benefits leaders, and guidance for designing effective family benefits programs. Sections cover topics such as fertility support, parenting challenges, men's reproductive health, and the role of digital health solutions in improving outcomes.

Contact: Maven Clinic , , New York, NY 10013, E-mail: https://www.mavenclinic.com/contact Web Site: https://www.mavenclinic.com/

• Link

Keywords: Employer health costs, Family support services, Health Benefits Plans, Employee, Insurance benefits, Maternal health, Perinatal care, Reproductive health services, Statistics, Surveys, Trends, Women', Workplace health promotion, s health

Annotation: This report describes the Family Connects Chicago program, a free in-home nurse visiting service available to all Chicago families with newborns born at participating hospitals. It explains how the program offers physical checkups for birthing parents and infants, connects families with community resources, and addresses health disparities, particularly the higher rates of maternal and infant mortality among Black families in Chicago. The report highlights FCC's 2023 results, including 2,649 nurse visits across 77 Chicago community areas, with 96% of participating families finding the program helpful. It features a map showing completed home visits by region and discusses the six Community Alignment Boards that help FCC understand and meet neighborhood-specific needs. The report includes photographs of diverse families with newborns and contains information about participating hospitals, program impacts, and ways to get involved or learn more about the program.

Contact: Family Connects Chicago , Chicago Department of Public Health , Chicago, IL E-mail: https://www.chicago.gov/city/en/sites/onechifam/home/contact.html Web Site: https://www.chicago.gov/city/en/sites/onechifam/home/family-wellness/family-connects.html

• PDF

Keywords: Community based services, Family support services, Home visiting, Illinois, Maternal health, Model programs, Newborn infants, Nurses, Postpartum care

Annotation: This resource provides individuals with special health care needs and their families with tools and strategies to advocate for whatever they may need. Topics include access to health care, accessible communities, advocacy and leadership skills, communicating about health, education services and support, insurance and financial assistance, legislation and political action, steps to employment success, transition to adulthood, and youth leadership.

Contact: Genetic Alliance, 4301 Connecticut Avenue, N.W., Suite 404, Washington, DC 20008-2369, Telephone: (202) 966-5557 Secondary Telephone: (800) 336-GENE Fax: (202) 966-8553 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.geneticalliance.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Advocacy, Communication, Family support services, Leadership, Life course, Special health care needs, Transitions

Annotation: This brief highlights home visiting models, affiliates, and initiatives serving the needs of adolescent parents. Examples include Teen Parent Connection: A Healthy Families America Affiliate, Family Spirit, Nurse-Family Partnership, and Show Me Strong (SMSF): A Parents as Teachers Initiative. The brief concludes with key service delivery features for consideration by other programs.

Contact: James Bell Associates, 3033 Wilson Boulevard, Suite 650, Arlington, VA 22201, Telephone: (800) 546-3230 Fax: (703) 243-3017 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.jbassoc.com

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent parents, Family support services, Home visiting, Parent support programs, Pregnant adolescents

Annotation: This brief summarizes several initiatives to advance health and/or racial equity in home visiting. Some examples include: Home Visiting Collaborative Improvement and Innovation Network 2.0 (HV CoIIN 2.0) Health Equity Collaborative, Michigan Home Visiting Initiative (MHV), and Massachusetts Racial Equity Movement. The brief also highlights the National Leadership Academy for the Public's Health (NLAPH) program.

Contact: James Bell Associates, 3033 Wilson Boulevard, Suite 650, Arlington, VA 22201, Telephone: (800) 546-3230 Fax: (703) 243-3017 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.jbassoc.com

• PDF

Keywords: Child health, Early childhood development, Ethnic groups, Family support services, Health equity, Home visiting, Model programs, Race, Social factors

Annotation: This yearbook presents 2021 data on early childhood home visiting and provides an up-to-date look at home visiting in action. The report answers critical questions about where home visiting programs are located; the number of families and children being served by home visiting programs; home visiting models; the staffing of home visiting programs; and what is happening in the states. The yearbook includes data on virtual home visits during the COVID-19 pandemic. The National Home Visiting Resource Center uses model, state, and administrative data sources, along with publicly available information, to present the national home visiting landscape.

Contact: James Bell Associates, 3033 Wilson Boulevard, Suite 650, Arlington, VA 22201, Telephone: (800) 546-3230 Fax: (703) 243-3017 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.jbassoc.com

• Link

Keywords: Child health, Early childhood development, Family support programs, Home visiting, Maternal health

Annotation: This recorded webinar from August 18, 2022, features Molly Martzke, Senior Program Manager at the National Genetics Education and Family Support Center at Expecting Health, sharing insights on their shift to virtual family engagement programming during the pandemic and the sustainable practices that emerged. Martzke provides an overview of HRSA's Division of Services for Children with Special Health Needs (DSCHSN) genetics programs, including their educational initiatives, the coordination between seven regional genetics networks, and the function of the national coordinating center. The presentation highlights Expecting Health's collaborative approach with partner organizations like Parent to Parent, while introducing participants to valuable Family Center Resources including their website, podcast series, and ongoing webinars designed to support families navigating genetic conditions and services across different regions of the country.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Disaster planning, Family support services, Genetic screening, Regional genetics networks, Deafness, Hearing disorders

Annotation: This May 31, 2022 recording features Candace Lindow-Davies, Outreach Director for Hands & Voices, detailing the organization's nationwide virtual family engagement initiatives within Early Hearing Detection and Intervention (EHDI) programs, showcasing adaptations made during and after the pandemic. Lindow-Davies comprehensively outlines their multilingual resources, including English and Spanish literature, printable Family Activity Plans for home use, and various digital tools and applications designed to support families with children who are deaf or hard of hearing. The presentation highlights a robust calendar of live virtual opportunities specifically developed to cultivate parent leadership skills, alongside ongoing virtual support systems and events that maintain community connections while addressing the unique needs of these families through accessible, remote engagement strategies that evolved from pandemic-era necessity into sustainable programming models. The slides from the presentation are available for download.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Telemedicine, Family support services, Disaster planning, Deafness, Hearing tests, Hearing screening

Annotation: This videorecording documents a multi-state roundtable discussion on telehealth applications for individuals with hearing impairments, drawing participation from 31 states and territories. The presenters—McVicar (Utah), Stone (Massachusetts), Kirschner (Montana), Culpepper (Georgia), and Messersmith (South Dakota)—share diverse perspectives on teleaudiology implementation within Early Hearing Detection and Intervention (EHDI) programs, including universal newborn screening initiatives. Their presentations highlight both successes and persistent challenges: while telehealth expands access to specialized audiological services, barriers remain including geographic isolation, transportation costs, equipment accessibility, parental hesitation to engage with public health systems, and technical limitations for certain procedures like cochlear implant testing. The interactive format allowed participants to pose questions directly to presenters, and concluded with the sharing of a comprehensive resource website to support ongoing telehealth advancement for hearing-impaired populations across diverse regional contexts.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Telemedicine, Deafness, Developmental screening, Children with special health care needs, Youth with special health care needs, Utah, Massachusetts, Montana, Family support services, Georgia, South Dakota, Staff development

Annotation: This presentation by Marsha Quinn, Co-Executive Director of Parent to Parent USA (P2P USA), outlines how the organization virtually supports families of children with special needs. As a mother of two children, Quinn addresses MCH leaders about P2P USA's comprehensive support system, which includes providing resources and best practices, facilitating member communication through various platforms, offering Spanish language services, and organizing virtual events like Coffee Talks and webinars. The presentation emphasizes how Alliance Members provide virtual family support through family/professional partnerships, information sharing, and emotional support via one-on-one matches and virtual support groups. It also highlights the organization's commitment to diversity, equity, and inclusion, particularly in reaching underserved communities, and provides information on how families can connect with P2P programs both locally and nationally.

Contact: Parent to Parent USA , P.O. Box 9054, Austin, TX 78766, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.p2pusa.org

• Link

Keywords: Telemedicine, Family support services, Children with special health care needs, Youth with special health care needs

Annotation: This report identifies key policy flexibilities enacted during the COVID-19 public health emergency. It summarizes stakeholders' perspectives about the impact of the pandemic and policy flexibilities on children and youth with special health care needs and their families and providers. The authors present recommendations for continuing or ceasing temporary policy changes after the public health emergency, as well as new policies and actions to best support children and youth with special heath care needs and their families.

Contact: Lucile Packard Foundation for Children's Health, 400 Hamilton Avenue, Suite 340, Palo Alto, CA 94301, Telephone: (650) 497-8365 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.lpfch.org

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Children with special health care needs, Family support, Federal initiatives, Infectious diseases, Medicaid, Mental health, Telehealth, Virus diseases, Work force