Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This online, searchable database is designed to provide program planners and public health practitioners with easy and immediate access to evidence-based cancer control interventions and program materials. Program areas include breast, cervical, colorectal, and prostate cancer screening; diet and nutrition; HPV vaccination; informed decision making; obesity; physical activity; public health genomics; sun safety; survivorship/supportive care; and tobacco control.

Contact: National Cancer Institute, 6116 Executive Boulevard, Suite 300, Bethesda, MD 20892-8322, Telephone: (800) 422-6237 Secondary Telephone: Fax: (301) 402-0555 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cancer.gov Available from the website. Document Number: NIH Pub. No. 12-7617.

• Link

Keywords: Breast cancer, Cervical cancer, Colon cancer, Decision making, Disease prevention, Evidence based medicine, Family support programs, Genomics, Human papillomavirus, Informed consent, Nutrition, Obesity, Online databases, Peer support programs, Physical activity, Prevention programs, Preventive health services, Risk factors, Screening, Smoking, Sun exposure, Survivors, Tobacco use, Vaccines

Annotation: These resources are designed to help coordinators, presenters, and teachers implement a tobacco-education program for students in grades 4 and 5. The program teaches students about the short-term consequences of tobacco use, the cost associated with using tobacco products, and the advertising techniques used by the tobacco industry to market their products to young people. Contents include guides containing tips for coordinating the program; program and classroom activities in English and Spanish for presenters; and tips for teachers, including forms to request a presentation and a questionnaire to provide feedback. Information for parents is included. A student contest is included as an optional activity.

Contact: American Academy of Family Physicians, P.O. Box 11210, Shawnee Mission, KS 66207-1210, Telephone: (913) 906-6000 Secondary Telephone: (800) 274-2237 Fax: (913) 906-6075 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.aafp.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Advertising, Consumer education, Family medicine, Health education, Nicotine, Oral health, Prevention programs, Resources for professionals, School age children, Schools, Spanish language materials, Teaching, Tobacco use

Annotation: This document reviews the National Committee for Quality Assurance (NCQA) Patient-Centered Medical Home (PCMH) Program standards as they relate to the integration of behavioral health and primary care. The review highlights four NCQA-PCMH standards which include elements and factors specific to behavioral health integration and applies an expanded interpretation of all standards through the lens of behavioral health integration. Topics include patient-centered access, team-based care, population health management, care management and support, care coordination and transitions, performance measurement and quality improvement. Detail about implementing the elements is included.

Contact: SAMHSA-HRSA Center for Integrated Health Solutions, National Council for Community Behavioral Healthcare, 1701 K Street, N.W., Suite 400, Washington, DC 20006, E-mail: integration@thenational council.org Web Site: http://www.integration.samhsa.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Behavior modification, Behavioral medicine, Family centered care, Medical home, Mental health, Model programs, Primary care, Program development, Program improvement, Quality assurance, Service integration, Standards

Annotation: This brief provides an overview of recent findings from a cross-section of Agency of Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)-supported research projects on conditions especially important to women's health. Examples of topics included in the brief are cardiovascular disease, cancer screening and treatment, reproductive health, women and medications, and prevention. For each topic, facts are presented and then elaborated upon. The studies from which the facts are drawn are identified by author names, journal in which the study appears, and (in some cases) AHRQ grant or contract number.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov Available from the website. Document Number: AHRQ pub. no.10-P005.

• Link

Keywords: AIDS, Access to health care, Alternative medicine, Cancer, Cardiovascular diseases, Costs, Family planning, HIV, Homelessness, Hysterectomy, Osteoporosis, Pregnancy, Prevention, Reproductive health, Research, Screening, Treatment, Violence, Women', Working women, s health

Annotation: This monograph presents tools to identify, recognize, and evaluate a practice as a pediatric medical home. Content addresses the concept of the patient- and family-centered medical home, measurement, tools, and future directions. Information on the background and purpose of each tool is provided, along with a description of its development and use. Appendices include the characteristics of the family medicine model, components of the advanced medical home model, joint principles of the patient-centered medical home, and guidelines for demonstration projects. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Data Resource Center for Child and Adolescent Health, Child and Adolescent Health Measurement Initiative, The Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, 615 North Wolfe Street, Baltimore, MD 21205, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://childhealthdata.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Demonstration programs, Evaluation methods, Family medicine, Measures, Medical home, Pediatric care, Theoretical models

Annotation: This book discusses evidence-based interventions for children and adolescents with severe emotional and behavioral disorders. It is divided into four parts: (1) context; (2) comprehensive interventions; (3) targeted interventions in education, substance abuse, and mental health, and (4) conclusion and commentary. Topics include case management, multisystemic therapy, mentoring, family support and education, special education best practices, and policy implications. One chapter provides an annotated review of psychosocial and psychopharmacological interventions in table format focussing on four common childhood disorders or related symptom patterns. References, information about the contributors, and an index conclude this book.

Contact: Oxford University Press, 198 Madison Avenue, New York, NY 10016, Telephone: (800) 451-7556 Secondary Telephone: (212)726-6000 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.oup.com/us Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-19-513457-5.

Keywords: Evidence based medicine, Adolescent mental health, Affective disorders, Child mental health, Community mental health centers, Family support services, Mentors, Psychosocial development, Special education, Youth development

Annotation: This report represents the proceedings of a scientific summit whose purpose was to summarize the state of the art research on early discharge of mothers and infants from the hospitals after the infant's birth and to identify evidence-based and outcomes-focused steps to strengthen America's families. The summit was divided into three panels (maternal, infant, and family) and the report reviews what issues were discussed in each. A review of the current scientific literature is provided as are ethical and legislative perspectives. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website. Document Number: HRSA Info. Ctr. MCHJ108.

• Link

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Child health services, Community based services, Evidence based medicine, Family centered services, Home visiting, Length of stay, Managed care, Maternal health services, Neonatal care, Newborn infants, Patient discharge, Pediatric care, Postpartum care, Postpartum care, Pregnancy

Annotation: This document explains how to apply for a federal grant for graduate medical education in obstetrics, gynecology, pediatrics, and family practice in historically or predominantly black medical schools. It describes the authority and purpose for the grants; program elements and requirements; special considerations; the review process and criteria; the application process; form, project plan, progress report, and abstract instructions; and reporting requirements. Appendices have additional instructions and sample reports. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Applications, Black colleges, Blacks, Family medicine, Federal grants, Gynecology, MCH training programs, Medical education, Medical schools, Obstetrics, Pediatrics, Program descriptions, SPRANS

Annotation: This annotated bibliography contains abstracts of journal articles, reports, book chapters, and monographs that focus on child abuse prevention and family preservation in African American communities.

Contact: Child Welfare Information Gateway, Administration on Children, Youth, and Families, Children's Bureau, 1250 Maryland Avenue, S.W., Eighth Floor, Washington, DC 20024, Telephone: (800) 394-3366 Secondary Telephone: E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.childwelfare.gov $3.00. Document Number: 07-93113.

Keywords: Bibliographies, Blacks, Child abuse, Child neglect, Counseling, Crisis intervention, Cultural diversity, Family preservation, Family violence, Folk medicine, Injury prevention, Mental health, Sexual abuse

Annotation: This publication provides texts or abstracts of presentations made at a conference held in conjunction with the annual conference of the Pennsylvania Chapter of the American Academy of Pediatrics. The conference focus was on training models for health professions. Concurrent sessions were held on the following: 1) the family's perspective; 2) health professionals in training; and 3) continuing education for health professionals in the community. A more detailed publication based on this conference, entitled Families, Physicians, and Children with Special Health Needs, will be published in 1993 or 1994 by Greenwood Publishing. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

• Link

Keywords: Child health services, Children with special health care needs, Early intervention, Family centered services, Family medicine, Family physicians, Infants with special health care needs, Inservice training, Pediatric care, Pediatricians, Physician patient relations, Professional education

Annotation: This publication is a final evaluative report of the Supported Parenting Project, which sought to improve the health status of children in families in which parents have mental retardation by reducing the risks associated with lack of immunization, poor nutrition, undiagnosed medical and developmental problems, injuries, and inadequate early stimulation. The project identified methods of support for parents who have mental retardation are applicable in a variety of systems and agencies. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Wisconsin Council on Developmental Disabilities, 201 West Washington Avenue, Suite 110, Madison, WI 53703, Telephone: (888) 332-1677 Secondary Telephone: (608) 266-7826 Fax: (608) 267-3906 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.wcdd.org/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Child health, Developmental disabilities, Family centered services, Family relations, Immunization, Injury prevention, Nutrition, Parent support services, Parenting, Preventive medicine

Annotation: This book, evolving from work done on an NCCAN grant at Penn State University, is based on an in-depth study of 64 families from 1981 through 1983, conducted to understand the origin, dynamics and outcomes of abuse and neglect in the lives of the adolescents involved. This 'Family Intervention Project' investigated psychological and social aspects of two-parent families coping with adolescents' behavior, ranging from normal to seriously pathological. The study focused on the degree to which parent adolescent relations were at risk for emotional or physical abuse. The book provides some theories concerning adolescent maltreatment, and concerning child abuse and juvenile delinquency. The concept of high risk is presented and defined as are the measurement tools for determining that high risk and the resulting characteristics of high risk families. Factors of adolescent competence, behavior problems, socioeconomic stress, changes in family structure (as in step-families) are explored. Current interventions, prevention strategies with parents, support strategies for adolescents are discussed. Future prospects and programs for intervention are presented along with current evaluations or indicated needs for evaluation. A final chapter discusses the investigators' prognosis for troubled adolescents in troubled families.

Contact: Walter de Gruyter, Inc., 545 Eighth Avenue, Suite 1650, New York, NY 10018, Telephone: (212) 564-9223 Fax: (212) 564-9224 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.degruyter.com/ $41.95 plus $3.50 shipping and handling.

Keywords: Adolescents, Alcohol abuse, Behavioral sciences, Child abuse, Clinical medicine, Counseling, Crisis intervention, Drug abuse, Family violence, Injury prevention, Physical abuse, Research, Risk factors, Socioeconomic status, Survey tools

Annotation: The purpose of this research is to investigate empirically the determinants of children's health with particular reference to home and local environmental variables such as family income; parents' schooling; preventive medical care; race differences; preventive medical care; cognitive development; the choice of diet for young children; and health manpower availability.

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 Contact Phone: (703) 487-4650 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Available in libraries.

Keywords: Child health, Cognitive development, Diet, Educational attainment, Family income, Health personnel, Preventive medicine, Research