Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This brief explains how economic and social conditions early in life shape children's health and development, affecting their health as adults; the evidence connecting early childhood programs with health; what works, apart from the need for services for parents; the business case for investing in early childhood programs; and examples of high-quality early childhood programs. A table highlighting several early childhood programs and the ways they affect health is included.

Contact: Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, 50 College Road East, Princeton, NJ 08540-6614, Telephone: (877) 843-7953 Fax: Web Site: http://www.rwjf.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Community programs, Early childhood development, Early childhood education, Family characteristics, Health status, Life course, Model programs, Quality assurance, Socioeconomic status, Young children

Annotation: This resource outlines a plan for improving access to comprehensive, coordinated health care and related services for children, youth, and adults with autism spectrum disorder and related developmental disabilities in Georgia. The plan addresses the following ten areas of activity: early identification and screening; referral and diagnosis; medical, behavioral health, and dental services; family support; early intervention and preschool services; elementary and secondary education; community services and supports; transition from youth to adult systems; adult services and supports; and emergency preparedness and first responders. For each area, the report provides a definition, quality indicators (problem statements and data drivers), and recommendations (objectives). The report also describes foundational supports considered in developing the recommendations including work force, awareness, informational resources, finances, and policy. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Georgia State University School of Public Health, Center for Leadership in Disability, 75 Piedmont Avenue, Suite 514, Atlanta, GA 30303, Telephone: (404) 413-1281 Fax: (404) 413-1012 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://disability.publichealth.gsu.edu/ Available from the website.

• Link
• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Autism, Community based services, Comprehensive health care, Diagnosis, Disaster planning, Early intervention, Educational objectives, Family centered care, Family support services, Financial planning, Georgia, Health care delivery, Life course, Policy development, Program coordination, Referrals, Screening, Special health care needs, State programs, Systems development, Transition planning, Work force

Annotation: This toolkit for parents, families and child services professionals introduces ways in which parents and caregivers can help their infants build secure attachments, examines challenges encountered in the process, and provides suggestions on how challenges may be overcome. The toolkit includes a 30 minute DVD, a quick-reference guide answering attachment and parenting questions, three informational brochures and tips printed on a magnet and a bookmark. It is available in English and Spanish.

Contact: Early Moments Matter, Web Site: http://www.earlymomentsmatter.org $10, plus $2.50 shipping and handling.

• Preview Video

Keywords: Audiovisual materials, Bonding, DVDs, Family life education, Fathers, Infant health, Maternal mental health, Mothers, Multimedia, Newborn infants, Parent child relations, Parenting skills, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This report focuses on the high rate of unwanted pregnancy among adolescents and young adults and the promotion of responsible behavior and policies that can help reduce unwanted pregnancy and the need for abortion in America. It discusses and promotes education about a range of topics on unwanted pregnancy among adolescents and young adults including work with leaders, policymakers, and program leaders at the national and state levels; the careful and consistent practice of family planning by all who are sexually active and not seeking pregnancy; the role of men in pregnancy prevention and planning; the engagement of entertainment media, faith communities, peers and others; and the support of practical, evidence-based policies. Statistical data are provided in charts and graphs throughout the report. Reference sources are provided along with a list of individuals on the National Campaign advisory groups.

Contact: National Campaign to Prevent Teen and Unplanned Pregnancy = Power to Decide, 1776 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W., Suite 200, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 478-8500 Fax: (202) 478-8588 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.thenationalcampaign.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Family life planning, Family planning, Family planning education, Prevention programs, Sexual behavior, Sexuality education, Unplanned pregnancy, Unwanted pregnancy, Young adults

Annotation: This report, prepared for the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, presents first-year impact findings of four selected programs that have received Title V, Section 510 Abstinence Education Program Funds since 1998. The four programs are My Choice, My Future in Powhatan, Virginia; ReCapturing the Vision in Miami, Florida; Teens in Control in Clarksdale, Mississippi; and Families United to Prevent Teen Pregnancy (FUPTP) in Milwaukee, Wisconsin. This report examines the extent to which the programs affected the level and nature of health, family life, and sex education services youth received during the first year after enrolling in the program, and it provides estimates of the first-year impacts of the Title V, Section 510 programs on intermediate outcomes that may be related to teen sexual activity and other risk-taking behavior. These outcomes include measures of views on abstinence, adolescent sex, and marriage; peer influences and relations; self-concept, refusal skills, and communications with parents; perceived consequences of adolescent and nonmarital sex; and expectations to abstain from sexual intercourse. Statistical data are presented in tables and figures throughout the report. Information on the study design and methodology is provided in addition to a discussion section and references. Appendices include support figures and tables, outlines of curricula used by the study programs, and survey questions.

Contact: Mathematica , P.O. Box 2393, Princeton, NJ 08543-2393, Telephone: (609) 799-3535 Fax: (609) 799-0005 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.mathematica-mpr.com Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Abstinence, Adolescent behavior, Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescents, Case studies, Community programs, Family life education, Federal programs, Florida, Mississippi, Prevention, Program descriptions, Program evaluations, Risk taking, Sexuality education, Statistics, Surveys, Virginia, Wisconsin

Annotation: This manual contains policies and procedures important to Healthy Start and Empowerment programs case managers in providing visiting nurse services to pregnant women and families with children to age five. The manual was developed for use in the Des Moines Healthy Start visiting nurse services program. The first section of the manual includes statements on participant rights, resources for case management agencies and a task force directory, program descriptions, a key to terms used, and qualifications and expectations for case managers. Part two details the case management model including key program features, guidelines, components, home visiting, facilitating services, and risk assessment criteria. The third part of the manual provides resource sheets for case managers to refer to when dealing with a variety of situations. Some of these topics include child abuse and neglect, domestic violence, emergency and basic needs, family planning, immunizations, infant home safety, lead poisoning, perinatal depression, preterm labor, subsequent pregnancies, sudden infant death syndrome, and others. The resource sheets provide information and additional print and organizational resources on each topic. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available for loan.

Keywords: Case management, Child care, Child health, Child safety, Family life education, Family support services, Health promotion, Healthy Start, Home care services, Home visiting, Infant care, Iowa, Manuals

Annotation: The activities in this book are designed to help black parents talk with their children about emotions, thoughts, and feelings that may be difficult to discuss so that families can begin dealing with feelings in positive, constructive ways. The book is divided into the following sections: (1) inspire hope in your child, (2) be still and listen to your child, (3) support, comfort, and love your child, (4) give your child information that is age-appropriate, (5) help your child feel safe, (6) making a plan with your child for emergencies, (7) help your child feel good about himself, (8) pay attention to what your child watches on TV, (9) share your faith with your child, and (10) just for parents. Each section provides an explanation of the goals of the activities within the section, an affirmation drawn from African and African American proverbs, and several activities. The book contains color photographs and illustrations.

Contact: Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development, P.O. Box 3006, Rockville, MD 20847, Telephone: (800) 370-2943 Secondary Telephone: (888) 320-6942 Fax: (866) 760-5947 Web Site: https://www.nichd.nih.gov/Pages/index.aspx Available from the website. Document Number: NIH Pub. No. 03-5362B.

• PDF

Keywords: Blacks, Child safety, Children, Communication, Coping, Cultural sensitivity, Emergencies, Emotional development, Emotions, Family life education, Materials for children, Parent child relations, Parent education, Parenting, Religion, Self esteem, Television

Annotation: This issue brief examines the federal, state, and local policies that guide approaches to sex education today. It also examines recent research into community-level experiences and practices, as well as emerging evidence about the effectiveness of different types of sex education curricula. Two charts provide statistical information.

Contact: Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation, 2400 Sand Hill Road, Menlo Park, CA 94025, Telephone: (650) 854-9400 Secondary Telephone: (202) 347-5270 Fax: (650) 854-4800 Web Site: http://www.kff.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: AIDS, Abstinence, Adolescent sexuality, Community participation, Contraception, Family life education, HIV, School health education, Sexuality education

Annotation: This publication guides parents and caregivers, policymakers, public agencies, and educators in locating high-quality programs and information on sexuality education. The first part of the report, authored by Doug Kirby, provides scientific analysis of the available research on the effectiveness of programs designed to increase parent-child communication about sexuality. Part two includes 10 innovative approaches and 45 examples from the field that have been used to increase parent-child communications about sexuality-related issues. Conclusions, recommendations, organizational contact information, and references are also provided for each section. Some content is provided in Spanish.

Contact: Sexuality Information and Education Council of the United States, 90 John Street Suite 402, New York, NY 10038, Telephone: (212) 819-9770 Fax: (212) 819-9776 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.siecus.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Case studies, Communication skills, Community programs, Family life education, Parent child relations, Parenting skills, Program descriptions, Sexuality education, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This statistical summary presents data that reflect the condition of women, their lives, and their opportunities throughout the world. The preface describes the intent, methodology, and organization of the volume, and provides information on its use. It includes published and non-published data from governmental and non-governmental sources. The individual tables provide source information; a complete list of sources consulted is also included, and detailed indexes are provided. The range of topics covered are: attitudes and opinions; business and economics; crime, law enforcement, and legal justice; domestic life; education; health and medical care; income, spending, and wealth; labor, employment, and occupations; the military; population and vital statistics; public life; religion; sexuality; and sports and recreation.

Contact: Cengage Learning, P.O. Box 6904, Florence, KY 41022-6904, Telephone: (800) 354-9706 Fax: (800) 487-8488 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cengage.com/ Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-8103-8872-3.

Keywords: Attitudes, Business, Careers, Costs, Crime, Criminal justice system, Data, Demographics, Economic factors, Education, Employment, Family economics, Family income, Family life, Government, Health, Health services, International data, Labor, Law enforcement, Military, Political systems, Religion, Sex role, Sexuality, Sports, Vital statistics, Women, Women', s rights

Annotation: This teaching guide helps educators prepare adolescents in grades 7–12 to make decisions about topics that will affect their lives. It covers the skills and information adolescents need to make transitions from school to adulthood. The guide uses exercises and activities that rely on the experiences of the participants to reinforce the lesson. Chapters cover these topics: self perception and self image; personal, family, and community values; communication; relationships; sexuality; community participation; goal setting; decision making; gender roles; parenting; responding to violence; health care; reducing sexual risks, and employment. The guide includes an evaluation form and lists sources of videotapes. An earlier edition of this title was released in 1989 by the Center for Population Options, which was the publisher's name at that time. It is being revised in 2015. It is also available in Polish, Portuguese, and Spanish.

Contact: Advocates for Youth, 2000 M Street, N.W., Suite 750, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 419-3420 Fax: (202) 419-1448 Web Site: http://www.advocatesforyouth.org $44.95 plus 20 percent shipping and handling.

• Link

Keywords: AIDS, Adolescent parents, Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescents, Communication skills, Decision making, Educational materials, Employment, Family planning, HIV, Health, Interpersonal relations, Life skills, Non English language materials, Parenting, Planning, Problem solving, Resources for professionals, Risk factors, Self concept, Sex role, Sexuality education, Sexually transmitted diseases, Social values, Spanish language materials, Violence prevention

Annotation: This statistical summary provides data on a wide range of topics that relate to health and well-being of children to the age of 14. The focus is primarily on children in the United States, but international data are provided for selected topics. Data cover adolescents between the ages 12–17 for certain subjects. The broad categories included are: population; vital statistics; education; health, nutrition, and medical care; child care; income and expenditures; crimes, misdemeanors, and violence; domestic life; sports and recreation; and international comparisons. The intent, organization, and methodology for the publication is discussed in the preface. Sources of information are provided for each data table, and a complete list of sources consulted is also included.

Contact: Cengage Learning, P.O. Box 6904, Florence, KY 41022-6904, Telephone: (800) 354-9706 Contact Phone: (800) 877-4253 Fax: (800) 487-8488 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cengage.com/ $99.00; no shipping and handling if prepaid. Document Number: ISBN 0-8103-9196-1.

Keywords: Child care, Children, Costs, Crime, Data, Demographics, Education, Family economics, Family income, Family life, Health, Health services, International data, Nutrition, Sports, United States, Violence, Vital statistics

Annotation: This curriculum was developed to provide assistance to schools and communities in initiating or upgrading programs of family life sexuality education. It was designed to be implemented in twenty-four consecutive classroom days with young adolescents in public health education classes. The curriculum's philosophy is to promote the learning of life planning skills, foster self discipline, enhance communication, and assist young people in the establishment of meaningful life goals to encourage the postponement of early sexual involvement. It includes teaching objectives, instructor background information, lecture/discussion information, learning activities, handouts, and transparencies.

Contact: University of Arkansas Press, McIlroy House, 105 N.McIlroy Avenue, Fayetteville, AR 72701, Telephone: 800-626-0090 Secondary Telephone: 479-575-3246 Fax: 479-575-6044 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.uark.edu/~uaprinfo/indices/indexsp08.html $35.00.

Keywords: Adolescent sexuality, Adolescents, Communication, Curricula, Family life education, Life skills, Sexuality education

Annotation: This report provides an evaluation of the State of California's Adolescent Family Life Program. The report evaluates the health, education, public assistance, and repeat pregnancy outcomes of over 7, 000 clients in a 27 site program during a three year period from 1986 through 1988. The report includes the following: 1) a description of the program and evaluation design, 2) sociodemographic profiles, 3) psychosocial risk profiles, 4) an analysis of client outcomes and service tracking, 5) case management models, and 6) a series of recommendations. It is designed for policy makers, program planners, project directors, and evaluators interested in adolescent pregnancy and parenting.

Contact: California Department of Public Health, Maternal, Child and Adolescent Health Program, MS 8305, P.O. Box 997420, Sacramento, CA 95899-7420, Telephone: (866) 241-0395 Fax: (916) 650-0305 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdph.ca.gov/programs/MCAH/Pages/default.aspx Available at no charge.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent parents, Adolescent pregnancy, California, Case management, Community health services, Community programs, Data analysis, Demographics, Evaluation, Family life education, Outcome and process assessment, Outcome evaluation, Program evaluation, Progress reports, Statistics

Annotation: This publication presents the text of a hearing before the Subcommittee on Children, Family, Drugs and Alcoholism of the Committee on Labor and Human Resources, U.S. Senate, 101st Congress, on September 27, 1990. The hearing examined proposed legislation to authorize funds for certain child abuse and neglect programs, and contains the testimony and prepared statements of both experts and those who have personal experience of abuse and neglect.

Contact: U.S. Government Publishing Office, 732 North Capitol Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20401, Telephone: (202) 512-1800 Secondary Telephone: (866) 512-1800 Fax: (202) 512-2104 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gpo.gov $4.25.

• Link

Keywords: Child abuse, Child care, Child neglect, Child sexual abuse, Congressional hearings, Family life education, Family preservation, Family support programs, Family violence, Parent education, Prevention, Proposed legislation, Substance abuse

Annotation: This teaching guide offers family life educators a theoretical framework and specific tools for developing curricula that are culturally relevant and appropriate for multicultural classrooms. The guide notes the significance of teaching life skills within a cultural context and provides guidelines both for educators and school district administrators. Guidelines for curricula are suggested, and four sample lessons that were developed for multicultural classrooms are included. A resource list includes citations to other curricula, journal articles, and books and pamphlets in Spanish and English.

Contact: ETR Associates, 4 Carbonero Way, Scotts Valley, CA 95066-4200, Telephone: (831) 438-4060 Secondary Telephone: (800) 321-4407 Fax: (800) 435-8433 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.etr.org Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 1-56071-025-X.

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Family life education, Minority groups, Multicultural populations, Resources for professionals, School health education, Spanish language materials

Keywords: Adolescents, Curricula, Family life education, Parent education

Annotation: This paper, as part of the Family Impact Seminar's Teenage Pregnancy and Family Impact Study, describes the variety of sex education being offered throughout the country in terms of: 1) the kinds of sex education and family life education being offered, 2) the relationship between families and these problems, and 3) the best guess as to how different institutions and agents can be supportive of sex education and family life education and how such education can reflect the diversity of interests and values of the community. The paper also discusses how the extent, organization, and effectiveness of current approaches to sex education influence adolescent pregnancy.

Contact: Institute for Educational Leadership, 4301 Connecticut Avenue, N.W., Suite 100, Washington, DC 2008-2304, Telephone: (202) 822-8405 Fax: (202) 872-4050 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.iel.org $2.50; prepayment required; make check payable to George Washington University; discounts available for bulk orders.

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Community role, Family life education, Government programs, Government role, Program evaluation, Sexuality education

Annotation: This booklet is a sampling of the kinds of programs being offered by a variety of organizations and groups to protect and promote the well-being of parents and families. The contents include family life education programs, communication workshops, discussion groups and clinics, helpful organizations, and miscellaneous services.

Keywords: Communication, Family life education, Parent support services

Annotation: This publication is an outcome of a national consultation sponsored by the Subcommittee on Parent and Family Life Education of the Interdepartmental Committee on Children and Youth, convened in December 1964. The purposes of the consultation were to pool the knowledge and ideas of practitioners and subcommittee members, to increase communication between professionals engaged in parent and family life education, and to produce some practical guides for leaders working with low-income families. Topics covered include (1) parent and family life education for low-income families, (2) some basic principles, (3) reaching low-income families, (4) developing program content and methods, (5) staff development and leadership training, (6) evaluation and research, and (7) cooperative efforts needed. The publication includes a list of subcommittee members. A selected bibliography is also included. It is a publication of the U.S. Department of Labor, Children's Bureau.

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Communication, Evaluation, Families, Family life education, Family support, Leadership training, Low income groups, Outreach, Parents, Program development, Research, Staff development