Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This booklet provides information and forms to help families work with their health insurance companies. It includes questions to ask the insurance company and billing office, tips for keeping records of bills and claims, and who to talk with for assistance. A glossary of terms and list of publications on health insurance are included. Resource organizations in Cuyahoga County and the state of Ohio are also listed. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

• Link

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Family centered, community based care, Health care financing, Insurance, Medical records

Annotation: This guide provides facilitators with material they need to conduct a group exercise in recognizing family-centered care. This activity is part of the first module of the Project Copernicus' training program for professionals, Introduction to Family-Centered Care. The program is directed to professionals who provide services to children with special needs and their families. The guide describes how to conduct the exercise, and includes handouts and overhead transparencies that can be copied for use when conducting the exercise. A description of how to apply family-centered care to practice and a list of publications on family-centered care are included. Previous editions of this publications had a slightly different title: "Recognizing Family-Centered Care." [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Family centered, community based care

Annotation: These proceedings summarize the presentations at the fifth national SPRANS workshop held in San Francisco February 6-8, 1991. Presentations covered the dynamics of change, planning for change, pressures for change and a new vision, assessing the environment, empowerment, collaboration, and work groups on vehicles for change. A list of participants is included. The workshop was sponsored by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

• Link

Keywords: Child health, Family centered, community based care, Organizational change, SPRANS

Annotation: This booklet includes abstracts of 19 projects funded by the Habilitative Services Branch of the Division of Services for Children with Special Needs, Maternal and Child Health Bureau, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services on family-centered care. It also includes a bibliography of books, reports, other printed materials, films, and videotapes produced by the projects. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

• Link

Keywords: Bibliographies, Child health, Children with special health care needs, Directories, Family centered, community based care, Federal MCH programs, SPRANS

Annotation: This report describes a transdisciplinary model of comprehensive services designed to meet the special feeding needs of infants and children with chronic medical conditions. This model promotes collaboration and coordination of services across multiple disciplines, and was designed to be functional across all environments: home, school, community, hospital, and clinic. Included in the report are assessment tools based on characteristics of the child and of the care provider; principles of intervention; intervention considerations; case studies; and a resource list. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Family centered, community based care, Infants with special health care needs, Nutrition, Region V, Research, SPRANS

Annotation: These proceedings present information from the 1990 Public Health Social Work Institute sponsored by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, and the University of Pittsburgh Public Health Social Work Training Program. The keynote address discussed public health social work and family centered health care. Other presentations discussed treatment of chemically dependent pregnant and postpartum women, enhanced care and care management, family centered care for handicapped children requiring high technology care, providing health care for children of the working poor, and a current review of MCHB block grants. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website. Document Number: HRSA Info. Ctr. MCHE045.

• Link

Keywords: Family centered, community based care, Public health programs, Social work

Annotation: This document summarizes the presentations made at this conference that focused on how parents and professionals can work together to care for children with special needs and their families in West Virginia. Topics included children with special needs and education; redirecting children's behavior; the challenge to meet the health care needs of every child in the community; and empowering parents to deal with state government. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: W. G. Klingberg Center for Child Development, West Virginia University Health Sciences Center, P.O. Box 9100, Morgantown, WV 26506-9100, Telephone: (800)-842-3627 ext. 293-7331 Contact Phone: (304) 293-7331 Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Family centered, community based care, Service coordination, West Virginia

Annotation: This document provides a summary of a conference concerned with providing family centered, community based, coordinated care to West Virginia children with special needs and their families. This publication lists specific key issues and recommendations that were made at the four major workshops: 'Special children and special education: Parents and professionals working together;' 'Critical components of family support;' 'Health care in the community: The medical home concept;' and 'Financial support for families.' [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: W. G. Klingberg Center for Child Development, West Virginia University Health Sciences Center, P.O. Box 9100, Morgantown, WV 26506-9100, Telephone: (800)-842-3627 ext. 293-7331 Contact Phone: (304) 293-7331 Price unknown.

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Family centered, community based care, Service coordination, West Virginia

Annotation: This report describes services to special needs children in England, the Netherlands, and Norway, including medical-health services, family support services, and financing. A general description of each country, its health status, and its health system is included.

Keywords: England, Family centered, community based care, Netherlands, Norway